Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blackface

• 09-06-2020 5:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭

I couldn't see any other thread about this.

https://news.sky.com/story/little-britain-removed-from-iplayer-and-netflix-after-blackface-criticism-12003558

In a nut shell comedians are having to apologise for black facing themselves in their sketches over the years.jimmy fallon apologising for a sketch he did on snl 20 years ago.
    Its absolutely pathetic and a world gone mad.
    Little Britain is one of them.that is comedy gold and having to apologise for some sketches now is a disgrace.
    Its like erasing bits of history just because it offends a certain section.
    There's isnt a race on the planet that hasn't had the piss taken out of it.
    A load of bollox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

They'll be digging up Spike Milligan and Alvin Stardust

Irony not lost on Matt Lucas does voiceover on "It was alright in the 80's"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

The chinese, a great bunch of lads.

Absolutely ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭shaveAbullock

There must be some misunderstanding, white chicks is still available on streaming services.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

There must be some misunderstanding, white chicks is still available on streaming services.

THATS COMPLETELY DIFFERENT

Saw"Iron Sky" with white face character on somewhere last week, saying that it did have Nazis on the moon and Sarah Palin in the White house

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,172 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

It's a pity one of them hasn't the balls to refuse and state it was of its time.

Lyons Tea will have to apologise for the minstrels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

Oh look another thread stoking up the race hate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Father Ted had an episode where Fr. Dick Byrne and the lads blacked up and pretended to be the Supremes.

That will have to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

for the love of god, open the pubs and let young people get back to drinking and debauchery , they have too much time on their hands

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,619 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

It's a pity one of them hasn't the balls to refuse and state it was of its time.

One of the jam brands had them too, and then there's the Gollybar.

golly-bar-33fe850b-8409-4d7a-ab53-00f88566588-resize-750.jpeg

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I've a feeling they already did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,312 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Oreos will be next.

Not your ornery onager

Father Ted had an episode where Fr. Dick Byrne and the lads blacked up and pretended to be the Supremes.

That will have to go.

I'm writing a very angry email to RTE and Channel 4 right now!

z5c11i3ybmz21.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Sure didn’t Justin Trudeau still get re-elected as Canadian PM, despite being caught out ‘mis-remembering’ the number of times he blackfaced while teaching at the private school.

There is a lesson in there for the rest of us.

I'm writing a very angry email to RTE and Channel 4 right now!

IMG]

What does a photo of the Supremes have to do with the thread topic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,946 ✭✭✭buried

Sure didn’t Justin Trudeau still get re-elected as Canadian PM, despite being caught out ‘mis-remembering’ the number of times he blackfaced while teaching at the private school.

There is a lesson in there for the rest of us.

I think the lesson may be that it's not actually that funny. And if someone like Justin Trudeau found it funny, then maybe best to take that as an example to not emulate the lame silly twit.

Make America Get Out of Here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

My general rule where blackface is concerned is that if it's in a show that I already like, I'll turn a blind eye. But if someone I don't like does it, a line has been crossed and they should be cancelled immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Robert Downey Jr's blackface in Tropic Thunder was a breath of fresh air.

It's the age of outrage and it's nearly all bad. Even the understandable outrage of the Floyd murder has been tainted now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,518 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I couldn't see any other thread about this.

https://news.sky.com/story/little-britain-removed-from-iplayer-and-netflix-after-blackface-criticism-12003558

In a nut shell comedians are having to apologise for black facing themselves in their sketches over the years.jimmy fallon apologising for a sketch he did on snl 20 years ago.
    Its absolutely pathetic and a world gone mad.
    Little Britain is one of them.that is comedy gold and having to apologise for some sketches now is a disgrace.
    Its like erasing bits of history just because it offends a certain section.
    There's isnt a race on the planet that hasn't had the piss taken out of it.
    A load of bollox.

Just to be clear, these people aren’t being forced to apologise by anyone, to anyone. They’re apologising of their own volition, and many are acknowledging that what they considered material appropriate for comedy then, they would not consider it appropriate now.

The only thing any of them have to apologise for is being greedy, spineless twats that still need the validation from the public to massage their fragile egos.

Just to be clear, these people aren’t being forced to apologise by anyone, to anyone. They’re apologising of their own volition, and many are acknowledging that what they considered material appropriate for comedy then, they would not consider it appropriate now.

The only thing any of them have to apologise for is being greedy, spineless twats that still need the validation from the public to massage their fragile egos.

They’re getting in before they’re forced. No need to pretend it’s something it isn’t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,518 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

They’re getting in before they’re forced. No need to pretend it’s something it isn’t.

It’s the OP is pretending it’s something it isn’t, and now you? They’re getting in simply because they want to be on the right side of history from their perspective as it were. It’s self-flagellation and prostrating themselves to remain relevant, trying to appeal to an audience which doesn’t actually care what they do.

You don’t see Brendan O’ Carroll apologising for inflicting that pile of shìte he calls comedy on people. Inflicting is probably a bit strong, he’ll keep producing it as long as people want it. The same way all these people wouldn’t be apologising if people still wanted their comedy.

You don’t get ‘cancelled’ for being unfunny, even if you are are claiming to be a comedian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,088 ✭✭✭OU812

Robert Downey Jr's blackface in Tropic Thunder was a breath of fresh air.

It's the age of outrage and it's nearly all bad. Even the understandable outrage of the Floyd murder has been tainted now.

He even did the commentary track in character

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,298 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Ooooh Aaaah Paul McGrath

I'm guessing that is two days in the PC stocks for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,581 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Bloody awful "comedy" shows from the early 2000s are dropping like flies recently. If only something unsavory could happen to Ricky Gervais and we'd be entirely free of the era.

Actually, League of Gentlemen somehow survived its scandals, so Little Britain / Come Fly With Me could somehow survive too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

OU812 wrote: »
    He even did the commentary track in character

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,527 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

That will have to go.

just googled to see who played him, came across this 'where are they now' article from 2015, with a quote from the man himself

https://www.thejournal.ie/father-ted-priests-2053996-Apr2015/
    there was so much expertise and awareness in how something should be pitched in terms of longevity, as comedy.

I’m quite sure that the values they were applying to the comedy and to the production made sure that it was going to last – that it was going to have as much resonance in five or six years’ time as now. That the essence of the comedy would still hold up. And they were right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,120 ✭✭✭furiousox

L1011 wrote: »
    Bloody awful "comedy" shows from the early 2000s are dropping like flies recently. If only something unsavory could happen to Ricky Gervais and we'd be entirely free of the era.

Little Britain was an awful show, I never understood it's popularity.
    Most sketches seemed to be based around bodily fluids....with "hilarious" consequences.....:rolleyes:

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Saw"Iron Sky" with white face character on somewhere last week, saying that it did have Nazis on the moon and Sarah Palin in the White house

And the black character that's "white-faced" is done so by a moon-Nazi doctor in an attempt to "Aryanize" him.

I'm not making any point, just you don't often see the brilliance that is Iron Sky (with a soundtrack by the undisputed best band in the world: Laibach) discussed in public, and I felt like joining in.

furiousox wrote: »
    Little Britain was an awful show, I never understood it's popularity.
    Most sketches seemed to be based around bodily fluids....with "hilarious" consequences.....:rolleyes:

Good news, I've just checked and the league of gentlement is still available on BBC iPlayer.

qVljqpq.gif

And the black character that's "white-faced" is done so by a moon-Nazi doctor in an attempt to "Aryanize" him.

I'm not making any point, just you don't often see the brilliance that is Iron Sky (with a soundtrack by the undisputed best band in the world: Laibach) discussed in public, and I felt like joining in.

Yes, it is co-incidentally in my small pile of DVDs to be re-watched in the next week.

Didn't expect much of it but it's quite funny, watched Justice League the next night and was not impressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

Good news, I've just checked and the league of gentlement is still available on BBC iPlayer.

qVljqpq.gif

It's all about context. Papa Lazarou is a very obvious grotesque caricature of a minstrel and not merely an example of a white actor pretending to be a black character. There's a big difference between that and Matt Lucas or David Walliams dressing up as grotesque caricatures of actual black or Asian people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

All this anti-racism is making me racist.

Was anyone pissed off by Tropic Thunder? I remember plenty of black comedians defending it. I'll hazard a guess that a lot of the people outraged over it were outraged on someone else's behalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,783 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

White chicks don’t matter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Wait till everyone see the pictures of Prince or former Prince Harry dressed up as Hitler, they are going to lose their sh*t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,519 ✭✭✭KevRossi

I support this as it means RTE can get Twink the fu*k off the Telly for good.

This is from The Live Mike a few years back.

Chinasea wrote: »
    Oh look another thread stoking up the race hate.

Oh look... It's hatred to realise that anything a white person does can be consider racist.

****... I owned a gollywog. ****, I thought packie Bonners name was funny when I was a kid.

You are a racist if you think you are better than someone else based on the colour of your skin or ethnicity.

That is it.

I'm not a racist because you have happen to be offended more easily than most.

Race hate happens because of people like you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

kowloon wrote: »
    Was anyone pissed off by Tropic Thunder? I remember plenty of black comedians defending it. I'll hazard a guess that a lot of the people outraged over it were outraged on someone else's behalf.

I don’t remember there being any outrage about it. I do remember not finding it that funny the 1st time I watched it. It’s one that gets better the more you watch it.

I do remember not finding it that funny the 1st time I watched it. It’s one that gets better the more you watch it.

The same, can't put my finger on it. Anchorman was also better on second viewing.

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    White chicks don’t matter

Fairly racist and fairly sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,527 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

dont think anybody actually was,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,747 ✭✭✭HBC08

I dressed up as Ali G for Halloween in 2005.

Thats me ****ed now if I ever want to run for office.

HBC08 wrote: »

Is it coz I is black?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Craic killers
    Better them than me
    Craic Killers
    **** BLM brutality!

HBC08 wrote: »

The only way to purge your shame and restore your honour is to ritually disembowel yourself before the minister for justice and equality lops off your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,653 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Somewhere there's a photo of a 24/5 yo cj maxx in Rasta gear with a mop on his head ( ala dreads) and smoking massive cone joint. I really hope it never gets out :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

I'll hazard a guess that a lot of the people outraged ... on someone else's behalf.

Outrage culture;

Nothing new... condescending assholes just stroking their faux morality ego, and getting validation from their echo chambers, to feel good about themselves.