Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post pics of your watches ***Please NO QUOTING PHOTOS***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,128 ✭✭✭This is it

unkel wrote: »
    I remember my first proper Swiss automatic watch. Saw it on this forum first. It was towards the end of the big recession, which had hit me hard but I was coming out of it. I was delighted with it. And with myself! It cost €210 brand new incl. shipping. A beautiful great watch does not have to be expensive.

I've been slowly working my way through a lot of watches since though. It's a disease. Be careful. I'm telling ya! :p

I had a PM written to you earlier about the Tag and I backed out. I need to be careful :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,720 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Oh no, don't be careful, spend your monies on my watch right now! :p

But in seriousness, a very good deal is available if I can get the cash for it before tomorrow mid afternoon. The reason for that? I'm buying another watch...

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

I really like the look of it. As someone who's new to watches, what's the craic with getting them polished up? Like the bezel and strap? Decent DIY job or costly professional job? Can take to PM if you'd prefer.

I honestly don't know anything about watch polishing. Maybe someone else on here can advise.

Personally I prefer watches (and cars, and even people!) that are not mint :)

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,337 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Dev1234 - did you buy the Speedmaster new? Any deals to be had?

Also what size is your wrist if you don't mind me asking? I'm guessing it might be a while before you can walk into a shop and try a watch on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,923 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Portuguese today don't wear it as much these days still like new and 12 years old

Effs8hm.jpg

Must get it services some time jaysus

Only watch I've had long enough that it would be an issue

Still keeps good time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Cyrus wrote: »

Still keeps good time

Its a looker, how does it wear compared to your GMT?

It's as thin as I'd like a watch and wears big as the bezel is small so it's all face

But all in all its very wearable , nice with a shirt / suit but not so delicate that you can't wear casually !

41mm I think

meant to say

You are welcome to try it on any time if you want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

Cyrus wrote: »

Still keeps good time

Can be cheaper (over long run) to get a service sooner than later (although if watch not worn then less of an issue). It makes it more likely that only oiling will be necessary vs replacement of wheels etc.

Though there are plenty of proponents for "service only when timing goes wrong" - I guess the same arguments can be made for car servicing - some do it annually, some only do it when things go wrong. No NCT for watches :D

Thirdfox wrote: »
    Can be cheaper (over long run) to get a service sooner than later (although if watch not worn then less of an issue). It makes it more likely that only oiling will be necessary vs replacement of wheels etc.

Though there are plenty of proponents for "service only when timing goes wrong" - I guess the same arguments can be made for car servicing - some do it annually, some only do it when things go wrong. No NCT for watches :D

After 12 years I'm sure it'll be a pants down job but it'll go back to richemont so would have been anyway !

New watch today. I traded my Omega Speedmaster and then as if by fate, this watch came up for sale.

I am not a big submariner fan usually, except for the vintage models. I am however not willing to get involved in vintage watches.

Mostly I dont like the new version, while the ceramic bezel is lovely, the super-case is not for me (I moved on a GMT2 because of it). Too thick and too high off the wrist. The dial is also cluttered with the bigger indices, hands and writing.

So this comes up a 14060m....the new movement but with only two lines of text, the small case (still 40mm but wear very tidy, low profile) and no date. Cleanest dial you can get (rehaut is not even engraved), perfect symmetry and a nod to the vintage (size, drilled lugs etc). Traded my Seamaster on this also, so two omegas out and another Rolex in. Is it unimaginative...yes. But its class and absolutely nails the dive watch in my collection. Deal I got was reasonable, I am safe enough in it.

Cons: Hollow end links and a rattly bracelet as normal for the time (2002 Y serial). The worlds most forged watch. Crown on the clasp is a little overpolished and has lost definition somewhat. No date subs are the flavour of the month with youtubers both successful and unsuccessful. At least I will be able to keep mine.

20200510-114500-1.jpg

20200510-111801.jpg

20200510-113946.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭fulladapipes

Am considering doing something I can't find on the inter web - putting a two-tone 16233 Datejust on a bund... In the meantime, I pulled out the Bark & Jack nato (they're good) - looks ok to me. Although nothing beats the bracelet.

X2MBOQo.jpg

Am considering doing something I can't find on the inter web - putting a two-tone 16233 Datejust on a bund... In the meantime, I pulled out the Bark & Jack nato (they're good) - looks ok to me. Although nothing beats the bracelet.

A Bund is a brave move for any watch, and with the small case size you might look like a gladiator with a leather bracelet, and a S&M aficionado. Still if works for you, do it.

Very true. I was going to look for a bund that goes around the watch rather than one of the large ones that are more like a leather cuff. Also, some bunds come in different sizes so I've found one for 36mm watches.

See the first image here: https://forums.watchuseek.com/f222/bunds-make-smaller-watches-more-fun-wearable-show-yours-if-you-have-them-3768906.html

A Bund is a brave move for any watch, and with the small case size you might look like a gladiator with a leather bracelet, and a S&M aficionado. Still if works for you, do it.

SNIP

seriously leave it on the bracelet it looks class :cool:

They certainly a unconventional choice, but seem to be for retro aesthetic reasons more than function (looks positively cumbersome). I suppose Brad Pitt, or Paul Newman or some skinny rockstar can pull them off, but those handsome sods can pull off anything. Those of us blessed with more conventional features need to be sure we dont appear to be trying too hard.

I am only doing a bit of research here now, and there is a few funny threads about them....TZ.co.uk forums had one amusing thread that described bunds as the watch equivalent as wearing "socks with sandals"

https://forum.tz-uk.com/showthread.php?372882-In-defense-of-bund-straps

https://timeandtidewatches.com/not-on-my-watch-please-stop-with-the-bund-strap/

Agree with Cyrus, the Datejust on a bracelet is a classic, tried, tested, and its long run would attest that its perfect just the way it is.

The lads in those threads do give it some thought:

"Wearing a bund strap is like slipping your grandma a length. Sturdy, comfortable but ultimately, wrong on every level."

They certainly a unconventional choice, but seem to be for retro aesthetic reasons more than function (looks positively cumbersome). I suppose Brad Pitt, or Paul Newman or some skinny rockstar can pull them off, but those handsome sods can pull off anything. Those of us blessed with more conventional features need to be sure we dont appear to be trying too hard.

I am only doing a bit of research here now, and there is a few funny threads about them....TZ.co.uk forums had one amusing thread that described bunds as the watch equivalent as wearing "socks with sandals"

https://forum.tz-uk.com/showthread.php?372882-In-defense-of-bund-straps

https://timeandtidewatches.com/not-on-my-watch-please-stop-with-the-bund-strap/

Agree with Cyrus, the Datejust on a bracelet is a classic, tried, tested, and its long run would attest that its perfect just the way it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Dev1234

Dev1234 - did you buy the Speedmaster new? Any deals to be had?

Also what size is your wrist if you don't mind me asking? I'm guessing it might be a while before you can walk into a shop and try a watch on

Bought it new on Chrono24. Took a while to get it delivered so had to be patient. I bought it in early January and it was delivered mid March. Probably better deals to be had now I'd suspect.

My wrist is around 6 inches (probably a joke in there somewhere). Had to get a couple of links removed as a result.

"Wearing a bund strap is like slipping your grandma a length. Sturdy, comfortable but ultimately, wrong on every level."

That degenerated quickly :eek: :p:D

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

Someone tell the Japanese they've been wearing sandals wrong then... :D

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tabi

https://www.google.com/search?q=japanese+socks+sandals&client=firefox-b-d&sxsrf=ALeKk02R8-ip5-xPIZPDs1uFeLXQn6SnrQ:1589122453225&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwinw9C6xqnpAhV1SBUIHVbmB5QQ_AUoAXoECA4QAw&biw=1920&bih=966

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,138 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

This is it wrote: »
    I really like the look of it. As someone who's new to watches, what's the craic with getting them polished up? Like the bezel and strap? Decent DIY job or costly professional job? Can take to PM if you'd prefer.

Depends on the watch. As in the cost. Obviously a €200 polish on a €100 watch isn't worth it. And how deep the scratches are and the finish required. Professional job would involve taking the movement and glass out and using a series of compounds, rough to smooth on a bench polisher. I bought a load of sandpaper grades and a few compounds on the net to give it a go for something to try for the fun. No bench polisher, I just do it by hand. Try it on something junk. Some people use handheld tools like a dremel but it's not ideal for starters as it concentrates pressure on too small an area.
    Going too hard can remove the finish edge of a watch. If you want to to just freshen up an old cheap watch yourself with minimum effort, get some like a cape cod cloth on ebay.

If it's a high end watch definitely don't do it yourself

Thirdfox wrote: »
    Someone tell the Japanese they've been wearing sandals wrong then... :D

Lots of things the Japanese can pull off that us Europeans cannot.

nintchdbpict000408128301.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Gavin1

So this comes up a 14060m....the new movement but with only two lines of text, the small case (still 40mm but wear very tidy, low profile) and no date. Cleanest dial you can get (rehaut is not even engraved), perfect symmetry and a nod to the vintage (size, drilled lugs etc).

Cracker of a watch. One of my biggest selling regrets if not the biggest!!

Old school and better than the current models IMHO. Love the flat profile. The rattles give it a character.

Local or international deal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,803 ✭✭✭893bet

I need a beater.

Forgot to take this off after dinner.

B5310-B2-F-D4-EC-4-A9-F-BAB8-EA42-D94-BF089.jpg

(I have taken it off now obviously, would be concerned a spring bar would put under pressure lugging timber).

893bet wrote: »
    I need a beater.

Forgot to take this off after dinner.

(I have taken it off now obviously, would be concerned a spring bar would put under pressure lugging timber).

Put on the 5167 sure thats wrecked already.......:D
    Gavin1 wrote: »

Local or international deal?

Local, guy who trades on adverts all the time, good guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,803 ✭✭✭893bet

Put on the 5167 sure thats wrecked already.......:D

Can’t bring myself to wear that anymore.

I've been eyeing up this watch on various adverts.ie ads for a long time. And now it's mine :)

512477.jpg

I'm not normally a bracelet man, but this one is more comfortable than any other I have worn. By some margin. I think I will keep it on.

My ads on adverts.ie:

Really nice, well wear :)