Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motley Fool & others

Options
  • 28-04-2020 7:49pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭

I’ve been using Motley Fool now for a few months and personally I feel it’s a sham. Constantly pushing you up to a newer more expensive subscription. The information on their website is dated and the stock picks are for some reason all UK based.

I mostly do my own research and scanning Seeking Alpha, Stocktwits etc, is anyone using anything else?

Comments

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 9,989 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

AmberGold wrote: »
    I’ve been using Motley Fool now for a few months and personally I feel it’s a sham. Constantly pushing you up to a newer more expensive subscription. The information on their website is dated and the stock picks are for some reason all UK based.

I mostly do my own research and scanning Seeking Alpha, Stocktwits etc, is anyone using anything else?

Maybe you have subscribed to a UK service instead of the US one...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

I haven't got any other recommendations apart from doing your own research. I feel like the Motley Fool reads like clickbait, the same information re-packaged over and over again. Discussion forums are to be taken with a pinch of salt. Other forums besides Boards are full of people who think stocks will go to the moon, without any analyses they throw out numbers like confetti, and people who enjoy after-timing with their winners but no mention of their losers.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,304 ✭✭✭p to the e

GazzaL wrote: »