Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Witcher Werewolf - GAMETHREAD

• Forum Games Player Posts: 3,531 ✭✭✭Holly WW

Abigail WW wrote: »
    Late to the party today because of a Guinea pig related emergency.

Not game related but i REALLY want to know more about this emergency.

Anyone have any feedback on my earlier question about the voting method? That its on an open boards thread?

I've never played with that before and wondering if we need to use/not use it in certain ways

• Forum Games Player Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭Gertrude WW

Phil why do you think Ciri is the one who heals Striga bites?
    Phil WW wrote: »
    I assume only Ciri will be Pm'd as she is the only one that can heal the bite.
    I really doubt it.

I think just Ciri will be pm'd and will make the decision.

• Forum Games Player Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭Barbara WW

Holly WW wrote: »

Anyone have any feedback on my earlier question about the voting method? That its on an open boards thread?

I've never played with that before and wondering if we need to use/not use it in certain ways

I suppose it can be used to see when people vote for others, when bandwagons were joined and force people into telling the truth about that. People might say they've switched a few times but they can't do that here unless they actually do switch, for example.

• Forum Games Player Posts: 4,145 ✭✭✭Phil WW

Phil why do you think Ciri is the one who heals Striga bites?

Sorry, I meant Triss.

You can vote as many times as you like. You use the format "Vote **** WW". It's just like normal voting but it's in the open so can be tracked for timing which can be useful later to see if there are any inconsistencies.
    Holly WW wrote: »

• Forum Games Player Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Patrick WW

So did a read back and here's where I'm at right now.

Not enough to go on yet
    Angus WW
    Emily WW
    Gertrude WW
    Holly WW
    Eva WW

No Posts Yet
    Ewan WW

Possibly Bad
    Barbara WW
    Phil WW
    Vernon WW
    Liam WW
    Abi WW
    Lucy WW

Possibly Good
    Conor WW
    Derry WW
    Nigel WW
    Orla WW
    Jake WW
    Gabriel WW

• Forum Games Player Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭Derry WW

So I'm going to start with Frank who was munched this morning. Reading back on his posts the one in response to Derry asking about Ciri stood out.

This to me reads as an informed post so very possible the wolves thought Frank was one of the three RVs.

Derry then ISOs Franks posts stating who he interacted with and puts it down to his GIF posting which to me reads as Derry trying to distance himself away from the above interaction with Frank as he was the one who asked the question about Ciri in the first place.

I think the wolves took a chance role hunting with Frank for this post, my thinking is either Derry set the question up hoping somebody clued in would respond to it or a wolf read what I did in that post and munched Frank for it.

Derry what are your thoughts on the above?

I honestly didn't know what the word masoned meant. I could have googled it but I prefer to ask questions on thread to get people talking. Hadn't thought of that reason for Frank getting munched. If so then sorry Frank :-/

Sorry, I meant Triss.

You ok buddy :D

• Forum Games Player Posts: 4,233 ✭✭✭Orla WW

Sorry, I meant Triss.

You reply to this but not the various other ones?

• Forum Games Player Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Conor WW

VERNON

Normal opening for start of game.
    Vernon WW wrote: »
    evening folks

Picks Phil up when Phil says he has posted twice. The conversation between the two ends at this post but a quote below raises my suspicions a bit.
    when was the 1st?

We’re all chatting Sunday afternoon slow thread ****e.
    i made lego

Posted just after an hour after lynch. It was pretty obvious that those in red hadn’t posted. It had been mentioned not that many posts before I think and the thread was still very slow moving at this time. Post for the sake of posting?
    why are there 3 highlighted in red above?

The Phil saying Vernon posted twice comes up again. Why did it take a 3rd party raising the issue the next day for you to then question Phil?
    no he never responded.

yo phil, what up?

Takes an interest in Gertrude saying she will do a read.
    let us know how you get on gerty

This post right here raises my suspicions. In a slow enough moving thread you’re gonna notice those posts than involve you more than any others. So, Phil says Vernon has done something that didn’t happen. If Phil had made that post about you, would you miss stuff relating to it? Once again I will stress, THIS IS A SLOW MOVING THREAD. How can you miss stuff?
    i miss stuff, apologies

Shade onto Barbara should Phil turn out to be good?
    which begs the questions, was barbara **** stirring?

having said that, i cannot find your clarification

Au contraire, my petit filous. There is a bit of method to my madness.
    i think he is picking low posters

Think this is Phil discussion still.
    few posts above

It sure is good Vernon.
    chatting is good.

Currently, Vernon will be making my list of 3. There’s no game solving going on at all.

Orla WW wrote: »
    You reply to this but not the various other ones?

We've just spent the whole afternoon discussing my various other answers...

Where was the first apology you referenced?

Whats the craic with Abigail post as referenced by Derry?

Your clearly watching but not responding to any of these questions!

Derry WW wrote: »
    read back my friend :rolleyes:

I asked Abi about reads and you told me she posted them a page back, even though she hadn't.

Abi has been missing, with an excuse as we now know. Did she tell you in your backroom hat she'd be away so you stepped in to cover for her? hmmmm? HMMMMM?? DID SHE??

• Forum Games Player Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Emily WW

Orla WW wrote: »
    Where was the first apology you referenced?

I can dismiss the others as simple mistakes or whatever but the phantom apology is very strange

Conor WW wrote: »
    VERNON

Think this is Phil discussion still.

That is you discussion. Angus has literally @'d you in the post Vernon is responding to.

I know this has been mentioned but I just wanted to add an extra part to this.
    Barbara WW wrote: »
    This is a fairly strong reaction early in the game. Although I could probably see myself doing something similar if in the same position.

Barbara calls out Gabriel for a strong reaction however says they could see them self doing similar.
    Just I read Frank's comment as quite jokey and you didn't it seems. Just think it is an interesting comment to make straight after he died. Being around for the munch doesn't make you a wolf, but going into a longer explanation (not a massive explanation granted) about it seems strong. As I said, I could see myself doing something similar in your shoes if a wolf and just accused about something that doesn't actually make me wolfy.

She goes on to explain what she meant by the above, adds in that she could see herself doing similar as a wolf.
    Well I could see myself doing it, as both good and bad. Gabriel is top of my list at the minute anyway.

Saying I could see myself doing it as good or bad looks like she was putting the information out there but could easily back out of it later.
    Seeing myself doing it either way doesn't mean that I'm 50:50. I don't believe I've said that I can see myself evenly doing either. I think it is more likely to be a wolfy post but it might be innocent. It, along with the posts by Phil, are the things that have stood out to me.

I agree Barbaras posts read like she was distancing away from the Gabriel shading this morning. When questioned on this she confirms she's still suspicious of Gabriel and Phil. Is this an effort to double down on her earlier posts to seem more genuine?
    Oh I saw what you meant after I posted that, as per the following post. I read it as distancing myself from Gabriel which I thought was odd.

Surely any vote where a villager is lynched isn't a good place to be. Me leading a lynch mob again Gabriel say is still only worth 1 vote. Everyone else has to make their own mind up. I've said a number of times he's top of my list, I don't think anyone else has yet suspected Gabriel so I think we're far away from a mob forming. You and Conor have both ignored the post that raised my suspicions, but have focused on me instead. Do you find anything suspicious in Gabriel's post?

I find the above response a bit strange. Trying to explain how she wasn't trying to start a wagon but just because you're the only person who is suspicious now doesn't mean you bringing their posts to attention won't be the basis of one forming. It's been done time and time again, put something out there and hope it sticks, possibly vote elsewhere and then blame those who voted for that person when they flip village.
    Phil's current stance made me doubt myself but I double checked. Not really sure why he wouldn't have actually apologised though if he did make the mistake. It does seem like he made a mistake and confused Vernon with someone else, but would go to this length to deny it?
    I do see your point though, it would seem even more bizarre to act as phil has if he's a baddy.

Again pulling posts out and questioning people but then stepping away from it

Thoughts Barbara?

Opening post. Straight to work alongside his salutation. Good sign.
    Patrick WW wrote: »
    Eh, where was the first post? In a backroom perhaps?

Evening all.

Sunday afternoon/evening chit chat with everyone else.
    Just watched the first couple of episodes myself. It's good. And that tune is an earworm.

Engaged in thread before munch.
    Morning. Slow enough around these parts.

What did you think he played nicely, Patrick?
    Nicely played by Frank. Wolves were role hunting obviously.

Keeping the thread relevant with stuff we need to know.
    I was assuming monster hits would be announced at morning munch and deaths at lynch time. Announcing at lynch time may keep thread moving though.

Response and agreement with me. All posts below on point.
    I'd prefer to do them so second vote here for FFAs
    New village new rules could be a factor.
    You need to do more just than throwing out names. You need to give reasons - that's what wolves struggle with because they are having to make things up rather than working blind like the village. Also, having to do an FFA makes people look at others posts critically and helps stop lazy villaging. FFAs are far less useful if they are just names, although even that is better than nothing.

You could mark it with an all singing all dancing hula girl and still people rarely go back and look...

And if you did flag one, you know it would be the throwaway post that you didn't flag which would have the relevant info :D

Asking me about Phil.
    Mistakes like what exactly?

Ooooh you’ve bundled them into sixes too.

Not enough to go on yet
    Angus WW
    Emily WW
    Gertrude WW
    Holly WW
    Eva WW

No Posts Yet
    Ewan WW

Possibly Bad
    Barbara WW
    Phil WW
    Vernon WW
    Liam WW
    Abi WW
    Lucy WW

Possibly Good
    Conor WW
    Derry WW
    Nigel WW
    Orla WW
    Jake WW
    Gabriel WW

It will break my heart if Patrick is evil. I have him so far up my good pile I think he’s stuck!

Genuinely feel like your trying to be lynched Phil

Phil your posts read like you've been smoking crack :pac:
    That's your second post of the day that's just a greeting...

notes.gif?w=400&dpr=2.6

Mistake #1
    She posted them a page back.
    What Abigail mistake?

Mistake #2
    I assume only Ciri will be Pm'd as she is the only one that can heal the bite.
    I really doubt it.

I think just Ciri will be pm'd and will make the decision.

Mistake #3
    Instead of being part of a gang-handed attack on me, if you read the thread you would see that I apologised already for that mistake. I mixed you up with someone else.
    Is anyone reading this thread?
    Even more suspicious from you to go out of your way to not read ten posts previous.
    Orla and Emily straight onto my FFA. No way two people could be so oblivious to a couple of posts around them.

Mistake #4

Phil what's going on? Why all the mistakes and why are you not answering peoples questions when there is clear proof that what you are saying is wrong on multiple occasions? As said you're on thread reading so why can't you answer that?

If you're a villager and just being a bit mad you should know from past games that those are usually the first ones out. Just answer what people are asking you and don't waste peoples votes on you if you are village. You say the whole afternoon has been spent discussing your various answers but that's because your posts make no sense. Do you not think that time could have been better spent looking into and questioning others?

Not enough to go on yet
    Angus WW
    Emily WW
    Gertrude WW
    Holly WW
    Eva WW

No Posts Yet
    Ewan WW

Possibly Bad
    Barbara WW
    Phil WW
    Vernon WW
    Liam WW
    Abi WW
    Lucy WW

Possibly Good
    Conor WW
    Derry WW
    Nigel WW
    Orla WW
    Jake WW
    Gabriel WW

So yeah, threw that up as I didn't want to lose it and had a meeting. To practice what I preach, my reasons for the possibly bads are

Barbara WW - Posting feels tentative and hedging bets. To soft
    Phil WW - Vernon post rang my bell instantly. Feel like the weird stuff since then is a kind of cover.
    Vernon WW - Took a day to challenge (ok maybe not reading) but could be a lack of strategy.
    Liam WW - There is something off about his posts. Read as tasky.
    Abi WW - Probably least likely to go for until I see more but link to Phil is worth a watch.
    Lucy WW - Again too little bar a "helpful" table but post about 'bit bit' could be read as task too. Possible grasping at straws here.

Would like to hear more from the too little to go ons. There's always wolves in the long grass.

I really, sincerely, and truly cannot make it more obvious that I am village.

You could respond to ANY of the previous posts questioning your various mistakes! Again, your online reading them but ignoring them and posting some random non committal crap like above! Helps no one, you are a time sink at this point

The fact that nobody has actually paid attention to it is testament to how little work people are actually doing in the thread.

It should head as a warning to up yer efforts.

Just reading back OP to check if there might've been a "There is no tasks" rule and noticed this. "Triss Merigold will have a chance to heal 1 target by 9pm." Bold is mine. So likely no on thread announcement of Striga's attacks rather than attack happening later.

Which I pointed out several hours ago but people were more focused on me mixing up two names.

Which 2 names was that?

• Forum Games Player Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Emily WW

Would you be able to point out where the earlier "apology" that you claim to have made is?
    …..if you read the thread you would see that I apologised already for that mistake...……..

• Forum Games Player Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭Barbara WW

I know this has been mentioned but I just wanted to add an extra part to this.

Barbara calls out Gabriel for a strong reaction however says they could see them self doing similar.

She goes on to explain what she meant by the above, adds in that she could see herself doing similar as a wolf.

Saying I could see myself doing it as good or bad looks like she was putting the information out there but could easily back out of it later.

I agree Barbaras posts read like she was distancing away from the Gabriel shading this morning. When questioned on this she confirms she's still suspicious of Gabriel and Phil. Is this an effort to double down on her earlier posts to seem more genuine?

I find the above response a bit strange. Trying to explain how she wasn't trying to start a wagon but just because you're the only person who is suspicious now doesn't mean you bringing their posts to attention won't be the basis of one forming. It's been done time and time again, put something out there and hope it sticks, possibly vote elsewhere and then blame those who voted for that person when they flip village.

Again pulling posts out and questioning people but then stepping away from it

Thoughts Barbara?

Yes, I didn't come out and say Gabriel is a wolf because of his post because I'm not certain. I thought it looked suspicious. I made that clear, but also that it wasn't a smoking gun as I could see myself doing the same. I maintain that I could see myself doing that as either, but that I think as a wolf accused over something small makes more sense to me. I don't plan on 'backing out' at all. I'll say I was wrong to vote for him if he's a villager but that won't change my thoughts on that post. You can quote this back to me if I try.

As regards Phil, you skipped a post where I was replying to Conor saying why would a wolf make those mistakes and I said well why would anyone, but then noted that he probably does have a point. Phil probably still in the top two to tell the truth.

Whilst you can say that I've been qualifying my accusations I've still been putting my thoughts out there and quite clear that they're my top two suspects.

Which 2 names was that?

Ciri and Triss.

That is you discussion. Angus has literally @'d you in the post Vernon is responding to.

You’re right. I’m swapping between touch and full site to quote all the posts. As I get nearer to the bottom of the quotes (when I add in my own thoughts), I can forget with whom the convo was with.

I feel like I'm missing something lore wise. Anyone familiar with the subject matter want to wade in?