A/R 5k TT 25th April ‘20.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,827 ✭✭✭OOnegative

KSU wrote: »
    Just a spit ball idea but maybe use results from the last TT to seed teams (can add anyone who missed last one and rely on there honesty for an accurate prediction of fitness)

4 runners, 3 runners running 10k with top seeded runner doing 12.195k.

Team aspect could just add an extra dynamic and total distance might keep the marathoners sane this year :D.

(seperate of course to a mile TT;))

Thing with teams is one runner could pull out at last minute for a valid reason then the team is left high & dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

Our club did it this weekend, they announced the teams only last weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 946 ✭✭✭KSU

OOnegative wrote: »
    Thing with teams is one runner could pull out at last minute for a valid reason then the team is left high & dry.

Optional 5th runner with 4 to score to alievate the risk (and if everyone runs count 5 per team)?

Again just an idea that could add camaraderie and get people interacting more directly with people on the board they might not usually.

The other option could be to seed the teams retroactively. We do this with our club summer series to randomize additional points added each round for overall league positions at the end of the series (individual and team points added for cumulative total)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭Itziger

Folks, I'm a ****e organiser but a good adviser. KEEP IT SIMPLE. I know teams and handicaps and all that might add to the fun but you could also kill the goose that's laying the eggs.

If we go for a mile next time, a mile it should be although tbh I think people doing downhill runs would need to have a little peek in the mirror.

I agree too that we shouldn't necessarily rush it. A couple of weeks or 3 or 4, I'm fine with that although I'm fooking really looking forward to that 55th birthday in June!!

As for the Mile.....could we use a track if they're available?

A downhill mile, what a great idea

Of course you could use a track but you will be faster in you run in one direction that gives you the wind on your back...

IvoryTower wrote: »

Of course you could use a track but you will be faster in you run in one direction that gives you the wind on your back...

Surely the preferred option would be downhill with strong tail-wind. A kind of Boston Marathon effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭MrMacPhisto

Itziger wrote: »
    Surely the preferred option would be downhill with strong tail-wind. A kind of Boston Marathon effort.

or a Spanish half pb.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,916 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

The mile is excellent for TTs in my opinion. Our club did an event last week, even had the results posted on My Run Results. Very successful.

Forget adding time for specific training - a few Sets of 400s at mile pace and/or 200s flat out and you’ll be grand.

Why not stop at mile - 800, 400, maybe Chivito will even join in.

The great thing about short events is quick recovery.

Teams are a great idea but agree that simplicity should be favoured in the short term. And no downhills or downwinds - short loops or out and back. Strongly policed, no excuses. And learn to use the watch!

One event per month, maybe on a set weekend, with 24 hours to complete.

Is it elevation loss on the Garmin for how far you ran down hill? 33m? Is that impressive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 946 ✭✭✭KSU

An homage to the golden age

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=39&v=ZMQy824gvv0&feature=emb_logo

Is it elevation loss on the Garmin for how far you ran down hill? 33m? Is that impressive?

It depends on the corresponding elevation gain.

Murph_D wrote: »
    Strongly policed, no excuses.

Ah leave me alone ya big bully:P

You’re definitely a pushover. Can’t believe you fell for that ‘stopped watch to pick up a teddy bear’ story! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,805 ✭✭✭skyblue46

You’re definitely a pushover. Can’t believe you fell for that ‘stopped watch to pick up a teddy bear’ story! :pac:

There were some very selective rulings alright :rolleyes:

It depends on the corresponding elevation gain.

4m

skyblue46 wrote: »
    There were some very selective rulings alright :rolleyes:

Sandbaggers be punished!!

Not them all...;)

4m

I could have done a net 61m downhill but I don't possess a fraction of your willingness to embrace wanker status...maybe next time :cool:

Think I had a net -80m available. Maybe more.

Joking aside, I don’t understand why that basic and easy to follow rule was abandoned. Thought originally being loose might bring more people aboard, but majority seemed to pick a fair course. At least IT was very upfront about it (but I’d still have DQ’d him from the results). :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Murph_D wrote:
    One event per month, maybe on a set weekend, with 24 hours to complete.

I'd be a bit looser with the time restriction on people and run it over a weekend but just my opinion.

Ah sure it's only for yourself, if I was in contention for anything I wouldn't do it. In my club relay everyone who lives in my vicinity ran down the dublin road so I dont feel too bad.

Ran the mile flat, probably just cause it means more to me and I want it to count just a little bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Slow_Runner

Deffo on for a mile TT, target time should be off whatever people ran in the 5k TT ( as per McMillian pace converter), best improvement on target wins bragging rights and shames the sandbaggers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

May 6th is anniversary of first 4 min mile. Could be good week to do a downhill mile TT ??

dna_leri wrote: »
    May 6th is anniversary of first 4 min mile. Could be good week to do a downhill mile TT ??

I think a downhill mile is a great idea too.

or a Spanish half pb.....

Hey, I never count that. And it's sub 80 mins an' all. Check out me Strava ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Congrats everyone on amazing performances from one and all. Whatever about physically I don't know how ye had the mental strength to keep pushing solo and post such times and then to see so many PBs on the Strava feed.

Fair play to ya B on organising. This whole forum would be such a poorer place without your enthusiasm and wit. Hope ya are over the worst of it and are back to full fitness soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

A great idea, brought to life and a large number of people engaging with it.
    Certainly made my weekend......actually my week.

Doing the results from your sick bed is 'hero status'.

Super work Barry. Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭66_Lad

Thanks for organising Barry, made my donation there now also.

I'm up for a mile TT over the next wk or two. I agree that it would be good to have the option to run the TT over 2 days of the wkend in case of other events/family etc.

Ideally if having a TT every 4 wks or so, try have people donate an 'entry fee' of 5/10 eur etc, good way to raise some funds for a charity. My local athletic club ran a virtual 5k today and got people to send pic of themselves to the FB page, no focus on times ... Over 15k raised so far for 3 local care homes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭MY BAD

As most of you are marathon runners this lock down gives a great opportunity to try new things and work on your turn over. I'd keep it at races between 800 and 5km. Bring back the mile and bring the pain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

I'm all for a mile TT. I might even step out onto the road because mile pace on the treadmill sounds dangerous.

Also, going one mile in any direction from my house is downhill :D

In addition to that, as far as I am aware we are still supposed to keep daily outside exercise to 30 minutes, so a 10k TT might not be such a great idea.