Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A/R 5k TT 25th April ‘20.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

In addition to that, as far as I am aware we are still supposed to keep daily outside exercise to 30 minutes, so a 10k TT might not be such a great idea.

Let's not go there

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭Ecoenergy

I like the idea of having one TT per month and alternating between 5k one month and 1m the next. This gives us a chance to improve on our times which would be harder to do if there is a larger variety of distances. All this speed work will stand to us when we finally get back to marathon training.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭py

Thumbs up to whatever TT is going to be next, it's a nice little change from the monotony of quarantine.

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭MisterJinx

I'd be up flie the mile TT. Has to be at least 25 years since I tried to race that distance, and very unsuccessfully at that. Interesting as there is plenty of time to be spent deciding on a course and then some nice research time on a training plan of sorts and figuring out how to pace it, I can see this being a good way to mull over any spare moments!

Not sure about it being any more frequent than monthly though as tbh wouldn't want to be out on the roads running hard very often.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Bluesquare

1 mile TT sounds horrific . I’m in !

• Registered Users Posts: 567 ✭✭✭sdevine89

Missed this but would love to join for the next one. Will you be using the same Strava group?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭crisco10

Itziger wrote: »
    Folks, I'm a ****e organiser but a good adviser. KEEP IT SIMPLE. I know teams and handicaps and all that might add to the fun but you could also kill the goose that's laying the eggs.

If we go for a mile next time, a mile it should be although tbh I think people doing downhill runs would need to have a little peek in the mirror.

I agree too that we shouldn't necessarily rush it. A couple of weeks or 3 or 4, I'm fine with that although I'm fooking really looking forward to that 55th birthday in June!!

As for the Mile.....could we use a track if they're available?

Couldn't agree more with this. Keep it simple. I'd say a significant number of people (myself included) only signed up in the week or so in advance. If you have teams and handicaps, it takes away the spontaneous nature of it.

That said, one suggestion I did like was that for anyone who does the next TT who also competed on Saturday, their predicted time is based on the 5k time using an agreed/dictated calculator..

Finally, now I'm back at the laptop, I had a look at the 3 x 1 mile I did 10 days before. The average pace of those reps was ~3:47 min/km, which allowing for the perfect weather conditions on Saturday puts it down as a fairly good predictor of my TT which I did at 3:43 pace. Good to know for the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

Tend to keep the laptop closed for the weekend, so missed all of the posts since Friday evening. Ill give them a read now.

Really loved the event and a big thanks to OOnegative again from organizing. I posted up something similar on Strava on Saturday morning, but thanks again.

By way of a very brief race report (as I have not being keeping my log update recently), opted for the local St Annes Parkrun course. It offered a 2 lap, mostly flat, and sheltered route. Started early 7:59am to avoid the walkers and dogs.

Gave it everything i had on the day 6:37, 6:46, 6:34, 5:43, and pretty happy with the 20:37. The lack of group sessions and structured reps probably robbed me of 30 odd seconds. Still great to get the race nerves and run at race pace effort again.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

MisterDrak wrote: »
    Tend to keep the laptop closed for the weekend, so missed all of the posts since Friday evening. Ill give them a read now.

Just reading through posts from Friday evening on and I posted on Saturday at 9:27, what the hell ????

Cant remember that at all, stupid lock-down :confused::confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

MisterDrak wrote: »
    Just reading through posts from Friday evening on and I posted on Saturday at 9:27, what the hell ????

Cant remember that at all, stupid lock-down :confused::confused:

.............The brain is custard ;)

I’ve never done a race report before so though I might actually do one, not sure if it’s the type of thing people here like to read but though I might give it a go for my own amusement……

So 10 days out and I’m definitely not treating this as a race, sure you can’t under these circumstances, off to the park to do a speed session… it been a while…that hurt, still haven’t managed to control my pace doing these types of sessions, legs are going way faster than the breathing can control, need to take a few days off,…still not a race.

Week before hand, still not a race but sure I’d better take it easy this week, few walks with the dogs and 2 easy runs, over 6 mins per km, try and ease the legs back in after the speed session, god that did hurt, wonder if it was any good for me at all, legs not too sore or stiff, ok not bad. Leave off on Wednesday, not running again, still not a race just going out for a 5k…

Friday night, not a race but will go to bed early-ish, midnight, sure might a well turn on that virtual concert I was going to watch, the OH “another beer” sure why not.. 1am, right bed, not too late but I have the dogs in the morning ☹ 6am..dogs.. decided in bed that I’d kip on the couch for an hour then walk them early and go run, not a race, doesn’t count… back to bed for 2 hours, more comfortable.

Walk the dogs in the park, see serious runner going down the road, looks strong, not a race but must remember to stand tall. Back and the glorious OH is up and pottering, tea and toast, amazing. Not a race but only half a cup of tea and small bit of toast, don’t want to feck up my run…. Forgot to charge the earphones, can’t run, or do anything else much without music, quick charge, be grand.

Little groggy, no coffee, hunt in the top cabinet, ah ha, free bubble gum caffeine shot thingy from some event “no new things on race day” – sure it’s not a race… tastes gross, smell turns OH off her porridge. Change and out the door.

Warm up.. only ever done in group session or before a race, bad habit, not a race but feeling racy, must be the caffeine. Try really hard to remember routines, get lungs open, quick feet on high knees, lunges, strides, couple more strides, nerves, ok but it’s not a race.

Trot down to start line, man potting plants at the base of a tree thinks I’m mad, probably am. Look for a break in the traffic, no cars behind me and we’re off. Active running, on the toes, les going, heart going, fecking races, hard work and it’s only been 30 seconds. Look down 2:53, slow the f**k down man it’s not a race, ok catch breathing get steady, get a rhythm, 4.10 up this hill was the plan, 3.50, your going to burn out, f**k it, be fine, it’s a race.

Jesus that car came close, running up the road facing traffic, how could he cut that close to me, could have touched the car with a slight flick of the wrist, 4:20 lost concentration, back up again.

You can’t hold that pace but good going so far. Round the corner, still uphill. Was there not something you read about going uphill, too late, nearly half way, just under 4min pace, holding it, half way there downhill all the way.

This is really tough. 3k, I’m shot here, deep breaths, downhill, knackered, this is supposed to be the good bit. Pace slowing, couple of roads to cross and step on and off the path down the bus lane, ok average time not ok, not sub 20 but maybe pb.

Round the corner, I though this was flat…… 4.20 slowing. 4k, 4 minutes left, sure who needs to stop with only 4 minutes running left, it’s only 4 minutes, crest of the “hill”, seems monstrous, it’s as gentle as a new born lamb…..perception is reality.

600 meters to go, decision made, left for downhill, couldn’t manage uphill. Didn’t measure it, check the watch, god knows, keep running… Aim for the parked car, looks about right, what was that again about Strava, yeah extra .1k, that’s why races never show up the times. F**k not 5k, get to the end of the road, all out now, stretch the legs, if only I could use these more often, stop breathing, get to the end of the road, cover the distance.

Stop, breathe again, nice, need more air, what was the time.. bloody watch, bargain basement but does a job, many clicks,,, 4min average, maybe just, maybe. Avoid people and slink home try not to leak toxic sweat.

Home, feckin watch, 3 attempts, uploaded, 4 seconds…what-if’s, can’t be disappointed, look at the graph, jesus that was all over the place, so much for steady pacing, more to learn. OH offers congrats and to make brunch for keeping me up late, can’t say no. Not a race anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭crisco10

I enjoyed that

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭MrSkinny

Brilliant!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

MisterJinx wrote: »
    I’ve never done a race report before so though I might actually do one, not sure if it’s the type of thing people here like to read but though I might give it a go for my own amusement……
    You have hidden talents. Looking forward to the next one already. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,016 ✭✭✭Itziger

crisco10 wrote: »
    I enjoyed that

Different in a good way! What was the time though or did the watch ever manage to spit it out?

Itziger wrote: »
    Different in a good way! What was the time though or did the watch ever manage to spit it out?

It was 20.03.... If I hadn't misplaced my decimal point during the final dash to the corner then I could have started the final push earlier and made to final 200 meters count, in race there would be a banner but this wasn't a race.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,438 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

As promised, a version of the results including cagtegory age grading. Not everyone’s bag (and please feel free to ignore it if you object to AG). Just a bit of fun, to put some performances in more perspective and to allow at least a rudimentary (some would say meaningless) comparison between age categories and genders.

For those not familiar, Age Grading expresses your time as a percentage of the world record (road) for your age (or in this case, your age category). The ‘adjusted time’ (if I’ve done the sums right) expresses your result in terms of the equivalent performance by a senior male (ie 18-34 years) runner.

Again, just a bit of fun. :) Let me know if you spot any mistakes. The original spreadsheet is on Google Docs here:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1TMq_uqFNJlpbDZtTIFhIs6Xe8V7VnNP5ck9xPx8xg0s/edit#gid=1166895528

Name |Cat |Prediction|Actual|AG|Adjusted|Sandbag Factor
    ReeReeG|F|22:30|21:56|67.2|19:08|00:34
    blackbird86|F35|26:30|26:45|57.6|22:19|-00:15
    Hannibal Smith|FS?|n/a|35:42|41.3|31:08|
    Hedgehoggy|F35|20:30|20:34|74.9|17:10|-00:04
    career move|F35|21:20|21:51|70.5|18:14|-00:31
    laura_ac3|F35|n/a|26:30|58.1|22:07|
    Laineyfrecks|F40|20:30|20:36|76.6|16:46|-00:06
    Sussex18|F40|22:00|20:54|75.5|17:01|01:06
    ariana’|F40|23:30|22:55|68.9|18:39|00:35
    Bluesquare|F40|25:00|24:11|65.3|19:41|00:49
    Younganne|F45|28:00|DNS|0|0|
    Annie Get Your Run|F45|29:00|29:04|55.9|23:01|-00:04
    juke|F50|n/a|28:40|58.1|22:07|

Crisco10|M|19:10|18:33|69.3|18:33|00:37
    Damo2k9|M|n/a|DNF|0|0|
    KSU|M|17:30|17:40|72.7|17:40|-00:10
    deconduo|M|24:00|DNS|0|0|
    pconn062|M|17:48|17:09|74.9|17:09|00:39
    yiddo 1882|M|19:50|22:02|58.3|22:02|-02:12
    token56|M|20:30|20:28|62.8|20:28|00:02

zico10|M35|17:10|16:24|82.2|15:38|00:46
    Dudda|M35|18:00|18:24|73.3|17:32|-00:24
    justdoit|M35|19:20|19:55|67.7|18:59|-00:35
    duffyshuffle|M35|19:59|19:44|68.3|18:48|00:15
    healy1835|M35|17:05|17:30|77.0|16:41|-00:25
    djemba djemba|M35|18:00|18:22|73.4|17:30|-00:22
    MY6.2/MYBAD|M35|17:59|17:13|78.3|16:24|00:46
    Butterbeans|M35|n/a|DNS|0|0|
    Swashbuckler|M35|18:15|18:06|74.5|17:15|00:09
    Guill|M35|n/a|21:49|61.8|20:48|
    Omeceron|M35|21:59|22:18|60.5|21:15|-00:19
    racersedge|M35|21:30|DNS|0|0|
    Lambay Island|M35|17:45|16:56|79.6|16:08|00:49
    quick feet|M35|18:45|18:29|72.9|17:37|00:16
    IvoryTower|M35|19:25|18:15|73.9|17:24|01:10
    diego_b|M35|22:00|22:23|60.2|21:20|-00:23
    Dubh Geannain|M35|17:59|18:10|74.2|17:19|-00:11
    dickidy|M35|n/a|DNS|0|0|
    Clash City Rocker|M35|17:59|17:27|77.3|16:38|00:32
    MrMacPhisto|M35|18:10|17:48|75.7|16:58|00:22
    Diablo Verde|M35|18:20|17:59|75.0|17:08|00:21
    py|M35|24:00|22:14|60.6|21:11|01:46

OOnegative|M40|n/a|DNS|0|0|
    shotgunmcos|M40|19:47|18:53|72.2|17:48|00:54
    ComicBookGuy|M40|n/a|DNS|0|0|
    average_runner|M40|21:20|DNS|0|0|
    Zebra3|M40|22:30|22:22|61.0|21:05|00:08
    Marty Bird|M40|n/a|17:27|78.1|16:27|
    adrian522|M40|25:00|26:30|53.3|24:07|-00:35
    66_Lad|M40|n/a|16:50|81.0|15:52|
    dangerous quack|M40|18:45|DNS|0|0|
    Treviso|M40|17:59|17:48|76.6|16:47|00:11
    Lazare|M40|19:50|DNS|0|0|
    mister paul|M40|19:48|23:26|58.2|22:05|-03:38
    ofthelord|M40|21:00|19:56|68.4|18:47|01:04
    Singer|M40|19:59|19:46|69.0|18:38|00:13
    spc78|M40|17:45|DNS|0|0|
    wookiesleep|M40|19:45|19:00|71.8|17:54|00:45
    MisterJinx|M40|21:30|20:03|68.0|18:54|01:27
    Ecoenergy|M40|19:45|20:09|67.7|19:00|-00:24
    Woody1 |M40|21:55|DNS|0|0|

jamule|M45|17:45|DNF|0|0|
    krusty_clown|M45|17:30|18:18|79.1|16:14|-00:48
    coogy|M45|19:30|DNF|0|0|
    MrSkinny|M45|20:00|21:42|66.7|19:15|-01:42
    WubbleWubble|M45|21:30|21:11|68.4|18:48|00:19
    Slow_Runner|M45|19:59|20:38|70.2|18:18|-00:39
    AuldManKing|M45|17:49|17:56|80.8|15:55|-00:07
    DeepBlue|M45|20:50|21:16|68.1|18:52|-00:26
    Sideswipe|M45|19:29|DNS|0|0|
    Kurt Godel|M45|21:00|DNF|0|0|
    ultrapercy|M45|16:59|16:38|87.1|14:45|00:21
    PaulieYifter|M45|18:45|17:42|81.8|15:42|01:03

Itziger|M50|18:30|18:36|80.6|15:56|-00:06
    skyblue46|M50|20:00|19:13|78.1|16:28|00:47
    snailsong|M50|20:00|20:55|71.7|17:55|-00:55
    dna_leri|M50|17:30|17:40|84.9|15:08|-00:10
    BeepBeep67|M50|17:30|DNS|0|0|
    MisterDrak|M50|20:50|20:37|72.8|17:40|00:13
    Speedy44|M50|21:59|21:43|69.1|18:36|00:16
    TFBubendorfer|M50|20:00|19:44|76.0|16:54|00:16

EnPassant|M55|23:14|23:42|65.5|19:38|-00:28
    Murph_D|M55|21:00|21:03|73.7|17:26|-00:03

Pherekydes|M60|32:00|31:36|50.9|25:13|00:24

By this measure, the top 3 AG performances are:

1. ultrapercy 87.1%
    2. dna_leri 84.9%
    3. zico10 82.2%

The three best female AG performances are:

1. Laineyfrecks 76.6%
    2. Sussex18 75.5%
    3. Hedgehoggy 74.9%

Other observations:

Biggest sandbaggers are:

1. py (01:46)
    2. MisterJinx (01:27)
    3. Ivory Tower (01:10)

Most optimistic predictors:

Anyone with a DNF (4),

Best predictors:
    1. token56 (-2 secs)
    2. Murph_D (+3 secs)
    3. AGYR / /hedgehoggy (+4 secs)

(Didn't do the sums but in general women seem better at predicting their times than the lads.)

Median AG: 71.8%

Women are less likely to DNS (only 1) and DNF (0).

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Murph_D wrote: »
    As promised, a version of the results including cagtegory age grading. Not everyone’s bag (and please feel free to ignore it if you object to AG). Just a bit of fun, to put some performances in more perspective and to allow at least a rudimentary (some would say meaningless) comparison between age categories and genders. (Because it's based on Categories, your actual AG, based on your actual age, may be slightly higher or lower than these numbers).

The table auto sorts by AG (descending) and can be re-sorted by clicking on the head of any column (maybe not on your smartphone).

For those not familiar, Age Grading expresses your time as a percentage of the world record for your age (or in this case, your age category). The ‘adjusted time’ (if I’ve done the sums right) expresses your result in terms of the equivalent performance by a senior male runner (ie 18-34 years) runner.

Again, just a bit of fun. :) Let me know if you spot any mistakes. The original spreadsheet is on Google Docs here:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1TMq_uqFNJlpbDZtTIFhIs6Xe8V7VnNP5ck9xPx8xg0s/edit#gid=1166895528

Damo2k9|M|n/a|DNF|0|0|

dickidy|M35|n/a|DNS|0|0|

TFBubendorfer|M50|20:00|19:44|76|16:54|00:16

1. ultrapercy 87.1%
    2. dna_leri 84.9%
    3. zico10 82.2%

1. Laineyfrecks 76.6%
    2. Sussex18 75.5%
    3. Hedgehoggy 74.9%

Other observations:

Biggest sandbaggers are:

Anyone with a DNF (4),

Best predictors:
    1. token56 (-2 secs)
    2. Murph_D (+3 secs)

(Didn't do the sums but in general women seem better at predicting their times than the lads.)

That’s excellent D, thanks for going to the bother of doing that. Some of the figures/data guys will enjoy crunching the numbers.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

That's brilliant D, a lot of work went into it. Thanks a million.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭woody1

well done, lot of work
    you have me down as dns though, ran 20.01

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭yido1882

Thanks for all the efforts on this, was good craic taking part and seeing all the results coming on the day. Good to do it for a cause too. Look forward to the next one!

Just if anyone is updating the table again, I ran 19:45 on the day but my time above is showing as 22:02 :(

I'm not bothered about it though, honestly.........

woody1 wrote: »
    well done, lot of work
    you have me down as dns though, ran 20.01

Congratulations!!!! New winner of the Biggest Sandbagger title :pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,500 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

As promised, a version of the results including cagtegory age grading. Not everyone’s bag (and please feel free to ignore it if you object to AG). Just a bit of fun, to put some performances in more perspective and to allow at least a rudimentary (some would say meaningless) comparison between age categories and genders. (Because it's based on Categories, your actual AG, based on your actual age, may be slightly higher or lower than these numbers).

The table auto sorts by AG (descending) and can be re-sorted by clicking on the head of any column (maybe not on your smartphone).

For those not familiar, Age Grading expresses your time as a percentage of the world record for your age (or in this case, your age category). The ‘adjusted time’ (if I’ve done the sums right) expresses your result in terms of the equivalent performance by a senior male runner (ie 18-34 years) runner.

Damo2k9|M|n/a|DNF|0|0|

dickidy|M35|n/a|DNS|0|0|

TFBubendorfer|M50|20:00|19:44|76|16:54|00:16

1. ultrapercy 87.1%
    2. dna_leri 84.9%
    3. zico10 82.2%

1. Laineyfrecks 76.6%
    2. Sussex18 75.5%
    3. Hedgehoggy 74.9%

Other observations:

Biggest sandbaggers are:

Anyone with a DNF (4),

Best predictors:
    1. token56 (-2 secs)
    2. Murph_D (+3 secs)

Aren't women just great :D
    And men seem to be the biggest sandbaggers:eek: (surprise, surprise)

Thanks for this D, looks like a lot of work & it's nice to see the run in regards to age/gender.

yido1882 wrote: »
    Thanks for all the efforts on this, was good craic taking part and seeing all the results coming on the day. Good to do it for a cause too. Look forward to the next one!

Just if anyone is updating the table again, I ran 19:45 on the day but my time above is showing as 22:02 :(

B shafted me too......

I'm totally over it though.....

Really....

I don't even think about it anymore....

It was so long ago.....

yido1882 wrote: »

That’s my fault, I obviously got you mixed up with another runner, my bad. I’ll let Murph amend your time if he’d be so good to do so. I’d mess the table up!!

skyblue46 wrote: »
    B shafted me too......

I'm totally over it though.....

Really....

I don't even think about it anymore....

It was so long ago.....

Jesus........

D will you also amend the Northside moaners time to whatever he wants, fook it say he ran 11 minutes something just to keep him happy!!

OOnegative wrote: »
    Jesus........

D will you also amend the Northside moaners time to whatever he wants, fook it say he ran 11 minutes something just to keep him happy!!

Ah B, don't be getting all soft...you have a reputation to uphold. I will happily accept the penalty for not knowing how to use my own watch :(

I placed, delighted, might have been for sandbagging but it's a place none the less :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

Disgusted i got out sandbagged, so eh, 8 minute mile?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭zico10

1. ultrapercy 87.1%
    2. dna_leri 84.9%
    3. zico10 82.2%

That's fair enough. After seeing ultrapercy's route profile, I felt guilty taking the crown anyway.