Most miserable and grim towns and villages in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Tim76

tastyt wrote: »
    The answer to this question has always been either Tipperary town or Athy in any other thread I have seen on it, and it’s hard to argue with that

+1 for Tipp Town. Or should that be minus one? Either way it's The Armpit of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭onrail

There’s a tendency here to be harsh on ourselves, but having lived and travelled New Zealand and UK for the last 10 years, we are absolutely blessed if we think Arklow or Fethard are as bad as it gets.

You wouldn’t believe the state of the ****holes in NZ once you get away from the tourist hotspots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Ich liebe Berlin

I'm surprised nobody has mentioned Ennis yet. It's a horrible place to live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

onrail wrote: »
    There’s a tendency here to be harsh on ourselves, but having lived and travelled New Zealand and UK for the last 10 years, we are absolutely blessed if we think Arklow or Fethard are as bad as it gets.

You wouldn’t believe the state of the ****holes in NZ once you get away from the tourist hotspots.

Ye. Oldham, Stockport amd Bradford. FFS.

NZ is basically a shanty town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

onrail wrote: »

A tendency.

This thread comes around every now and again. Just like the dole one, the traveller ones and all the threads about excrement.

I think there are some people on here who need help, but why would you need help when you can start a controversial thread and watch people batter each other about where they're from!

The joys of the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭corks finest

An Ri rua wrote: »
    I have to say that I like Cahir. Very pleasant on a sunny day.

Cahir is ok, great tour of the castle a must if there

Sam Hain wrote: »
    The Midlands definitely has the monopoly on grim in both the towns and the dwellers.

Yep Midlands is just not nice,too far away from the sea for me,,, another kip Cootehill co Cavan ,rather be in limbo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,146 ✭✭✭Radio5

I'm surprised nobody has mentioned Ennis yet. It's a horrible place to live.

Why?

Radio5 wrote: »
    Why?

Nothing there- was bad enough years ago having to be stuck in traffic there

Uninspired and uninspiring locals, happy with mediocrity. People have to get off their holes too, Kinsale was once a rough as a badgers arse fishing village and look at it now.
    Yep it's dire as is passage west

PTH2009 wrote: »
    The whole county of Tipperary is grim and Limerick too

Theres a village in Limerick which still has there Special Olympics signs up
    Up
    Courtown Harbour in Wexford sounds grims and has that social welfare summer holiday caravan feel to it. Holiday shops cheap and tacky grim feeling. Rosslare is a kip too (fishguard in Wales is nothing better either)

Limerick oh God only reason to go there is to pass through it ,,,, quickly

An Ri rua wrote: »
    You need to walk the wide leaning boulevards of Daingean. You will change your mind. The jewel in Henry VIII's crown and voted best reformatory for over 100 years in a row. The place oozes. Just oozes...

U mean boozes boozes and it's Dingle,,,,,, couldn't resist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Ich liebe Berlin

Radio5 wrote: »
    Why?

There's absolutely nothing to do there. The locals are very clannish. Nightlife non existant for over 35s. Feral teenagers everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Populated by die hard pub republicans festering in dingy bars. Highlights are a boarded up convent school and the scrap metal pile.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Casey78

Tallaght

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,548 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

If we are including Northern Ireland...I vote for larne...kip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Many country towns started declining in the 70:80s emigration period but as what remained died off in the last twenty years there’s nobody left to replace them . Many of the brainier young people had to go to Dublin or abroad for jobs .
    Drugs in the last ten years have accelerated the demise of many towns and village's, no garda stations , no employment .

Finglas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭snotboogie

Seamai wrote: »
    Well as someone who has Glanmire in my address and I am the fifth generation of my family to have lived there I feel I must come to it's defence. When I was young Glanmire and Riverstown were two distinct villages a mile apart, Riverstown always had a bit of a rougher reputation but due to geography (Glanmire proper had nowhere to expand) it's grown huge sucking any bit of life out of Glanmire, I remember when it had 3 shops and 3 pubs, even Glanmire post office is now in Riverstown.
    Most of the people living in Riverstown will tell you they live in Glanmire, in fact I hear the name Riverstown rarely being used these days.
    True there is little in Glanmire proper but you have to admit that the view of it from the road near the entrance to the Vienna Woods hotel with the river , steep wooded hills and church steeple is one of the prettiest villagescapes in the country.

Nobody cares about de parish boundaries from half a century ago. You're all in Cork city now, get with the program :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

L1011 wrote: »
    Kiltimagh. One of the grimmest places I've ever had to stay over in.

Charlestown up the road is pretty bad too; and Swinford further up. An axis of awful

Nah Charlestown is grand enough.

Think more Ballaghadereen. Hope left Ballagh a long time ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

Someone mentioned Balbriggan. The town centre is totally run down, so many boarded up buildings and pubs left there to rot. The coastline and surrounding areas there are fantastic though. It definitely has potential if Fingal County Council bothered to invest properly in it.

”If I offended you, you needed it!!” - Corey Taylor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,941 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

Longford - by a mile. Actually by several miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

If they just planted some trees it would make a huge difference. That's why most of them look so bleak and desolate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Spencer Brown

It got worse in the last twenty years. These places don't the population to support thriving towns and most of the people who have the power or means to effect change in these towns don't actually live in them so they have no incentive to do anything.

It's too far from Waterford and Cork cities to be considered a commuter town. This is probably the main reason it has gone downhill over the years. A poster was bemoaning the conversion of the railway line into a greenway but this could actually work out well for Youghal. It won't attract workers with a railway line but it might do well out of attracting tourists for the greenway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,501 ✭✭✭Curb Your Enthusiasm

Passage West has come on leaps and bounds over the years. Locals care about the place, Tidy Towns, newish local Market too. Greenway is very nice, and in a few years time, with proper investment, I can see it and Monkstown becoming a minor tourist attraction - especially now that they're so close to the Ringaskiddy port and Glenbrook ferry for Cobh (also big with tourists)

Huge potential in our harbour towns in Cork to be fair. But yes, neglect for the past few decades have caused them to look and feel rough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Someone mentioned Balbriggan. The town centre is totally run down, so many boarded up buildings and pubs left there to rot. The coastline and surrounding areas there are fantastic though. It definitely has potential if Fingal County Council bothered to invest properly in it.

awful dump considering its location

Kilkenny.

Im sorry if you are from there. But just nope. Maybe its me.

kilkenny is a great spot , great tourism , plenty of wealth ( as rural ireland goes ) around its catchment area too

Driven through Athenry a few times. Seems very run down.

not run down , just never awake , place people sleep in , they work , shop and party in galway

you never experience anything exciting or dangerous in athenry

PTH2009 wrote: »
    The whole county of Tipperary is grim and Limerick too

Theres a village in Limerick which still has there Special Olympics signs up

Courtown Harbour in Wexford sounds grims and has that social welfare summer holiday caravan feel to it. Holiday shops cheap and tacky grim feeling. Rosslare is a kip too (fishguard in Wales is nothing better either)

Tipp folk are a naturally surly bunch

Clondalkin