Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The UK response to Covid-19 [MOD WARNING 1ST POST]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

I certainly dont have any great expectations about a revolution coming out of this anyway. Just a little less tolerance of abject spin and outright lying would be a start and we just about might get that. If they cant tell the truth about what's happened, i honestly dont know why anyone could trust a word of what they are saying about the present or the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Acosta

Brexit and the last election has done a number on so many people that even with 800 plus dying a day because the government got it spectacularly wrong early on they will still be firmly entrenched in their support for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,061 ✭✭✭Enzokk

Lots of deflection and avoiding blame from IDS there. It was China, it was the WHO, it was the advice we were following to the letter. You will notice there is no inclination to look at themselves. These stand up politicians will be in charge for the next 4 or so years. So if you excuse their incompetence now when it is so clear and stark, don't be surprised if it continues to be a mess for the next 4 years.

As for the talk about the inquiry, as this tweet points out what that actually also means is that those whose decisions have led to the needless deaths of people will not be in public life or government any longer.

https://twitter.com/davidallengreen/status/1251819446844493825?s=20

As for Johnson, so he chaired his first COBRA meeting on the 2nd March after they had 5 already before that. The WHO, who seems to have acted late and who's fault this is only declared it a Public Health Emergency of International Concern (PHEIC) on the 30th of January. So why would he after chairing his first meeting and the WHO concerns about the virus and its spread be saying this?

https://twitter.com/Femi_Sorry/status/1251834826811998209?s=20

Funny that the 2 countries with absolute clowns in charge who will possibly be the worst affected areas when all is said and done is now blaming the WHO. I am still astonished there are people willing to give these charlatans the benefit of the doubt. When they tell you it is raining, you check to make sure and you record it because they will deny they told you it was raining and blame you for it not raining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭letowski

Interesting Gove then dismisses Sunday Times story as "wildly off beam" but doesnt refute claim that Johnson skipped 5 cobra meetings. Says you only had to look at what happened to Boris to know he was obviously providing great inspiring leadership. Hmm, that's some fairly weak sauce right there.

I think your being too harsh on Boris. The man has been spending the last 4 years calling experts 'scaremongers' and 'merchants of doom'. Why would he listen to them now?

He is true to his convictions. ;)

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭devnull

Acosta wrote: »
    Brexit and the last election has done a number on so many people that even with 800 plus dying a day because the government got it spectacularly wrong early on they will still be firmly entrenched in their support for them.

And IDS himself has tried to use that as leverage here:
    https://twitter.com/MPIainDS/status/1251795121894498304

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

from guardian

Of the 482 new deaths announced today:

- 118 occurred on 18 April

- 243 occurred on 17 April

- 62 occurred on 16 April

obviously weekend tally caveats apply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,445 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Scotland:
    In hospital: 1,797 (+4)
    In ICU: 174 (-8)
    Total confirmed cases: 8,187 (+367)
    Total deaths with confirmed COVID-19: 903 (+10)

Therefore as it stands, there are a minimum of 1,297 (903+394) deaths in Scotland (confirmed and suspected)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Yes, I'm saying that if something had happened to 'permanently incapacitate' Enda Kenny in 2015, that the then Tanaiste Joan Burton would have had no effective power to act as Taoiseach regardless of what the Constitution says about the role. She could chair meetings to her hearts content, but would have no authority.
    The Council of State (also part of the Constitution) would likely have advised the president of this imo.
    Potentially a constitutional crisis, though we tend to sort these things out quite civilly.

The USA system, where no-one could be any doubt that Pence would assume the role with full authority is clearly different imo.

But hey, I seem to be in a minority of one thinking the office of An Tanaiste is in real terms close to meaningless, so I could well be wrong.

I think it's interesting that you point to the USA as "being in no doubt", but the very clear role demarcated in Article 28.6 of our Constitution seems to cause you confusion.

Just because you "feel" like they have no authority doesn't make it so.

They have a clear Constitutional role in the Irish govt.

The intention is that a new Taoiseach would be elected by the Dáil and appointed by the President in due course.

Anyway, we're off course. So we'll park it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

devnull wrote: »
    IDS Meltdown after presenter wouldn't allow him to pass off fake news as fact and also was avoiding answering questions by making general statements about the WHO and China.

https://twitter.com/JohnCon75779360/status/1251817400099627008
    Can we start the dilution of fake news here?

"...pass off lies as fact..."

Is more powerful and more damning.

Sorry, not a direct criticism at you devnull. We just need to be be more considerate of not letting bullshítters get away with anything. Especially these cretinous Tories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,445 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

I have just read that Sunday Times article - it is unreal how this bunch of pathetic individuals are ruling the UK. Not a sliver of leadership between them

The deputy CEO for england has just described the UK as an "international exemplar for preparedness" at the daily briefing.

I wonder if you did a poll of other countries about who they'd hold up as an exemplar, how many would pick the uk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 KingofSheep

Going outside at all is a risk. It is a calculated risk however. If I stay inside for the vast majority of the time bar going for a walk or going for a run or going to the supermarket for necessities I still have reduced social contact by well over 95%. That will still be effective in reducing the spread. Provided people are constantly moving the risk of the virus spreading is minimal.

It's worth pointing out that the time the strictest measures can be in place is limited. We're seeing other countries in Europe reducing the restrictions. At most I can only see the UK extending it beyond the next bank holiday. The government need to use the time that we are giving them to come up with other solutions including contact tracing and rolling out the app. Political pressure will increase. That's true in respect to Ireland too.

As Angela Merkel has been telling the German people we will need to learn how to adapt and live with the virus. Shielding the most vulnerable will need to continue but these measures won't be kept in their strictest form until there is a vaccine.

I'm all for people leaving their flats/ homes for some fresh air or excercise. However, what I'm seeing is about as reckless as it gets. Almost shoulder to shoulder literally as I type this. Its a degree of ignorance that makes a mockery of those that dont have a choice and are spending 14 hour shifts at the bedspace of the critically ill. I'm aware not all will share my disgust, but I still think it's a valid concern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭RobMc59

UK deaths being reported at 596 today which is encouraging to hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭declanflynn

The deputy CEO for england has just described the UK as an "international exemplar for preparedness" at the daily briefing.

I wonder if you did a poll of other countries about who they'd hold up as an exemplar, how many would pick the uk?
    I think we all know the answer to that question
    Gavin Williamson is very good at talking without saying anything, his tone would put you to sleep

RobMc59 wrote: »
    Heat from a house fire will reduce your heating bill

I think we all know the answer to that question
    Gavin Williamson is very good at talking without saying anything, his tone would put you to sleep

Harries the deputy cmo is some politician herself. That was some tongue twisting defending her position back in march that mass testing wasnt the answer. Why is it suddenly the answer now but not then? She might have all the degrees but that still doesnt make any sense to me.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭devnull

Deaths always take a dip at weekends because of the reporting systems.

Theres an inverse relationship between the frequency of robs posts here and his acceptance that the UK government have managed this pandemic poorly

The deaths in hospital going down is a positive, but who knows what the deaths are in the community. If the situation is anything like it is here, then there is surely a time bomb that will need to be realized.

As for Williamson, he says nothing and like declanflynn points out, he will put you to sleep. He just now spoke for a very long time on a question that staff will face a shortage of PPE until June about how everyone is facing the global crises and didn't address the question. The PPE from Turkey isn't coming today for the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭Smegging hell

There's always a dip on a Sunday. Should wait until there's a sustained dip over a week or so before drawing conclusions.

Just in case anybody doubts it, yes, she said it:

https://twitter.com/NadineElEnany/status/1251903127676162049?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Enzokk wrote: »
    The deaths in hospital going down is a positive, but who knows what the deaths are in the community. If the situation is anything like it is here, then there is surely a time bomb that will need to be realized.

As for Williamson, he says nothing and like declanflynn points out, he will put you to sleep. He just now spoke for a very long time on a question that staff will face a shortage of PPE until June about how everyone is facing the global crises and didn't address the question. The PPE from Turkey isn't coming today for the UK.

After reading this post I actually paid attention for a few minutes. The reporter from Nottingham asked two questions - neither were answered in the subsequent 5 minutes of droning.

An important point has just been raised about PPE in Nottingham, the question was about social homes in Nottingham has been experiencing a shortage and in Nottingham they have received only 40% of their request previously, so has the Government been over promising on delivery of PPE stocks to areas?

I will be honest, both those answering the questions is so boring and say so much without saying anything in this critical time. I blanked out and forgot what the question was during the time they both droned on about something or other related to PPE but nowhere close to answering the question posed.

Some masterstroke from the Government trying to avoid tough questions to send the most boring person in the cabinet to answer questions and to have him not in any way in charge of one of the big or important offices on the day where questions are being asked on the competence of the supreme leader. What was he going to say on Johnson not chairing COBRA meetings? He is no threat to Johnson and he will surely not want to lose his position by providing anything useful or new.

This is all normal for this UK Government, trying to avoid scrutiny at all costs and shift the blame as well.

The scary thing is the tories arent even scraping the bottom of the barrel yet. Wait for the liz truss briefing. Crash helmets obligatory.

Anybody here can offer clarity on the UK death figures? Sky has it that 596 people have died according to the government. Their breakdown for the regions are as follows,

England - 482
    Wales - 41
    Scotland - 10

What the heck is happening with their figures? They aren't telling us that 63 people died in NI in one day, so why are the figures not collating to their breakdowns? Or have we just seen a massive spike in deaths in a country smaller than ours and only in hospital settings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭RobMc59

Theres an inverse relationship between the frequency of robs posts here and his acceptance that the UK government have managed this pandemic poorly

Not really, I just wanted to see the reaction to a slight drop in UK deaths and as I suspected the usual anti British brigade somehow manage to put a negative spin on it.

Somehow managed by referring to a clearly followed pattern since this all began. Try harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

It’s a statement of fact. Alway less deaths reported at the weekend. And yeah Ireland has been far from perfect in this but the U.K. govt handling has been incompetent and negligent. Even the British media who have been playing the patriotic card are finally asking the hard questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,180 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Wow check out the victim complex on you, people here arent anti british they are simply and rightly critical of the government and its abysmal handling of the crisis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,410 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Enzokk wrote: »
    Anybody here can offer clarity on the UK death figures? Sky has it that 596 people have died according to the government. Their breakdown for the regions are as follows,

England - 482
    Wales - 41
    Scotland - 10

What the heck is happening with their figures? They aren't telling us that 63 people died in NI in one day, so why are the figures not collating to their breakdowns? Or have we just seen a massive spike in deaths in a country smaller than ours and only in hospital settings?

Yes, it doesn't add up. Northern Ireland reported just 1 additional death today.