Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chitchat 10/10- Now VIRUS-FREE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

davidk1394 wrote: »
    I'm sure it's been mentioned, but whats the story with the old threads ?

There's a lot of pressure on the servers with the amount of people online at the one time so the site protection software kicks into action to prevent the site going down.

And there appears to be some small glitch in the software that's causing a few issues as well but the IT guys are flat out keeping the site online atm and haven't had a chance to try to find it and fix it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Typical Twitter and Facebook "pile on" by the easily outraged.
    350 a week to sit on the sofa, verses 380 a week to do 8 hours a day in a poly tunnel on your knees? (minus deductions for food and lodgings)?
    Most of those faceless warriors would be gone by 11am on the first day.
    Probably call into Lidl and buy German jam ( picked by Romanians) at 99 cent a jar instead of buying Irish anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,748 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Glorious sunsets the past few evenings - I am surprised how far north they are on the horizon for April, usually see sunset in the south west sky not the north west at this time of the year.
    I noticed that too especially on Tuesday and Wednesday night. I presume that it's down to the atmosphere been a little clearer with less pollution?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,577 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Base price wrote: »
    I noticed that too especially on Tuesday and Wednesday night. I presume that it's down to the atmosphere been a little clearer with less pollution?

These glorious sunsets are the result of the mountains being set ablaze this past week.
    If there was no smoke in the air you wouldn't get these red sunsets. It's the particles in the air that the light bounces off and shows up.

Mt Leinster has been ablaze the last five days on and off. Wicklow I think it's everyday.

Even further afield Krakatoa erupted but I doubt that's any effect here yet.
    The wildfires in the U.S. last year gave us some great sunsets that everyone noticed. Same with the fires in Portugal the smoke came up here too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,346 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Gents and maybe Ladies too, hair and beard trimmer on sale in Lidl on Monday for €15.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,373 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Typical Twitter and Facebook "pile on" by the easily outraged.
    350 a week to sit on the sofa, verses 380 a week to do 8 hours a day in a poly tunnel on your knees? (minus deductions for food and lodgings)?
    Most of those faceless warriors would be gone by 11am on the first day.
    Probably call into Lidl and buy German jam ( picked by Romanians) at 99 cent a jar instead of buying Irish anyway.

This exactly!! people that wouldnt work in the good times arent going to work now. Fair play to them lads at it. Im working from home at the moment thank god but id have no problem going doing that to keep food on the table. I did worse jobs in the past when in college etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,390 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Clear herd test. Had a cow with massive horns skulled. Big enough to make pint glasses out of. Glad to have that job done.

Good to pass, will be reading myself later. Those horns might be handy to those doing biodynamic farming. Don't they fill them with something and bury them in the field for the winter?

Water John wrote: »
    Good to pass, will be reading myself later. Those horns might be handy to those doing biodynamic farming. Don't they fill them with something and bury them in the field for the winter?

Special dates according to the moon.
    Dung and clay and the microbes from the pit for the winter.
    Crushed silica rock and something else for the summer.
    I mightnt be 100% on that.
    Horns have to be from a milking cow.

Yippee, clear TB test. Was a little concerned as all are bought in animals from 9 different herds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,748 ✭✭✭✭Base price

These glorious sunsets are the result of the mountains being set ablaze this past week.
    If there was no smoke in the air you wouldn't get these red sunsets. It's the particles in the air that the light bounces off and shows up.

Mt Leinster has been ablaze the last five days on and off. Wicklow I think it's everyday.

Even further afield Krakatoa erupted but I doubt that's any effect here yet.
    The wildfires in the U.S. last year gave us some great sunsets that everyone noticed. Same with the fires in Portugal the smoke came up here too.
    I don't think so. We had stunning sunsets last month and there wasn't any mountains on fire.

Actually Siobhan Ryan (Met Eireann) gives an excellent explanation here - https://www.irishtimes.com/news/environment/why-are-we-having-such-spectacular-sunsets-it-s-all-down-to-the-light-1.4209069

I don't think so. We had stunning sunsets last month and there wasn't any mountains on fire.

Actually Siobhan Ryan (Met Eireann) gives an excellent explanation here - https://www.irishtimes.com/news/environment/why-are-we-having-such-spectacular-sunsets-it-s-all-down-to-the-light-1.4209069

Apologies. You're completely correct.

Water John wrote: »
    Yippee, clear TB test. Was a little concerned as all are bought in animals from 9 different herds.

Great. Always a relief.
    As for the horns, my brother asked for them- he is into being self reliant etc so will see what he does with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,011 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Oh used 2 horns off a bully cow that we skilled last week

whelan2 wrote: »

Did ye boil out the core? My vet was saying some people locally use them as holy water fonts.

Brother wants them for gun powder horns- he doesn’t have muskets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,011 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Did ye boil out the core? My vet was saying some people locally use them as holy water fonts.

Brother wants them for gun powder horns- he doesn’t have muskets.

He washed them out with boiling water and put meat detail in them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

In times past, large cow horns with the tip cut off, were used for dosing cattle. I have one belonging to an ancestor, it has the Landlord's initials imprinted on it.

The run of bulls is truly over- a red limo heifer this evening. Still happy out. Have one black limo cow, one red and then two speckle parks left to calf.

In times past, large cow horns with the tip cut off, were used for dosing cattle. I have one belonging to an ancestor, it has the Landlord's initials imprinted on it.

What did they dose cattle with and what for in times past?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Around here I saw them used at the end of a handle on a slean. Finished it off nicely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

What did they dose cattle with and what for in times past?

No idea, but I have seen a similar one on display in a Palatine museum.

Maybe paraffin oil for bloat or something.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,947 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

whelan2 wrote: »

I'm always reminded of boss Hogg's Cadillac in the Duke's of Hazard when I see something like the above. You'd see some fine specimens going through the mart on occasion. I've already taken to wearing a cowboy hat as protection against the midday sun lately so I suppose a pair of horns mounted on the bonnet of the jeep could only finish off the look.

Maybe paraffin oil for bloat or something.
    + Bluestone (copper sulphate), treacle and epsom salts.

And tea, forge water, waste water from poitin still.

Waste water form a still is distilled water - the clue is in the name. What is forge water?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Waste water form a still is distilled water - the clue is in the name. What is forge water?.

The water used for dousing during forging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,283 ✭✭✭Good loser

Presumably put the horn in the mouth and then pour the dose into the big end?

ganmo wrote: »
    The water used for dousing during forging
    Doh :o

How long after castrating bullocks can they mix with heifers?