Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it just me or have SF vanished?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭piplip87

Fallen Provos, right :cool:

Which leads me to the 2nd part of my question. If SF get into government can they continue to have their Easter Monday march (in commemoration of the Provos)?

Of course they will. The will have to keep their base in tact.
    The question is would a SF lead government use the instruments of the state to commerate those who tried to overthrow it

Oh so Dublin is a ****hole now and that's the reason a lad won't work?????

Back to bed for you.

You SF lads are something else.

I lived in similar sized cities to dublin....its quality of life it offer citizens is a sh1thole status

Im up since before 7 mate,some of us need to keep working,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,153 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

I lived in similar sized cities to dublin....its quality of life it offer citizens is a sh1thole status

Im up since before 7 mate,some of us need to keep working,

Sorry I don't believe you.

Factory lines of sparks and plumbers milking cows.

Sounds like a fairytale.

But most of what SF come out with is so you're in safe hands.

Sorry I don't believe you.

Factory lines of sparks and plumbers milking cows.

Sounds like a fairytale.

But most of what SF come out with is so you're in safe hands.
    Well....your free not to believe me...but it is the truth....my normal.job leads me to meet all sorts

These lads do nixers enmass at weekends,most make a grand a month cash-in-hand on top of their wages

Lads are gonna be needing to clear 2.5 to 3K minimum a month to give it up like (maybe need add few hundred a month for dublin based people?)....cant see too many building companies willing to compete with pharma sectors for employee...

i know lads left perth to go do concrete work on the new underground in london few years ago as they were getting substancially more(along with lifestyle benefit)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tikkahunter

I am not.....i know dozens of lads working in factories etc,pay enough and you'll soon find em

Well out where i is anyway....but i know several civils companies who cant get staff to work in dublin alright and no longer price for jobs there....lads wont travel to work there,becuase its a sh1thole
    Funny how I work with lads travelling up from Wexford, Wicklow and the midlands everyday and ones who rent during their shift from the west and north then go back home after.A lot of them have family farms but choose to come to Dublin to work , your talking through your arse .

I know lads coming from newry and beyond aswell....never said it wasnt happening (seriously read,what i said)??

Just that i know civils companies,who wont price work up.there as they cant get people to travel...given a choice with any regional cities,where they also do work,noone picks dublin

Indeed ask your mates travelling and double renting,if.they would rather work nearer home,if their companies had work there or be pricking about in dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Sultan_of_Ping

I know lads coming from newry and beyond aswell....never said it wasnt happening (seriously read,what i said)??

Just that i know civils companies,who wont price work up.there as they cant get people to travel...given a choice with any regional cities,where they also do work,noone picks dublin

Indeed ask your mates travelling and double renting,if.they would rather work nearer home,if their companies had work there or be pricking about in dublin?

Well that could a be problem for SF's housing policy.

Lorcan Sirr, cited with authority earlier as something of a sage, has highlighted how Dublin is pretty much "it" when it comes to housing etc ("To solve housing crisis, we must get over our problem with cities").....
    Dublin’s demographic and economic magnetism is such that no plan will stop it, and nor should any try. As more than half the country’s tax take comes from Dublin, what’s good for Dublin is good for Ireland. The issue is how does the rest of Ireland respond.

.....so people want to live in Dublin, but, per your post, builders/tradespeople don't want to work in Dublin.....how then will SF deliver on their promised housing policy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tikkahunter

Well they all pass other Pharma companies on the way up who are hiring for the positions they have so they mustn’t think it’s that much of a ****hole .

Well that could a be problem for SF's housing policy.

Lorcan Sirr, cited with authority earlier as something of a sage, has highlighted how Dublin is pretty much "it" when it comes to housing etc ("To solve housing crisis, we must get over our problem with cities").....

.....so people want to live in Dublin, but, per your post, builders/tradespeople don't want to work in Dublin.....how then will SF deliver on their promised housing policy?

Social housing is needed across the state,you have areas like piltown,south kk now listed as rent pressure zones

Rest of state is roughly 18 months behind dublin in terms of housing shortage,the scale of problem developing outside dublin and noone reporting on it,just highlights how completly dublin-centric and ignore rest of the state tge media here is(rents in my local village are now starting at e900 a month,its a nice place...but not worth that)

......instead we will do usual retard thing politians here,embark upon,wait for problem to develop and then walk around blaming everyone else for not proactively getting ahead of problem....lack of political.leadership and vision is a disgrace here

Well they all pass other Pharma companies on the way up who are hiring for the positions they have so they mustn’t think it’s that much of a ****hole .

And yet again,im talking about civil companies,not pricing in dublin due to not being able to get staff to go there??
    (Ive no doubt your buddies,travel.distance to go there,but realistically,most would prefer a 30 min commute vs 3 plus hours,same as most would prefer to pay 1 rent vs 2)

Just because we barely disagree politically,deosnt mean you have to oppose everything,water is wet irregardless of who says it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Phoebas wrote: »
    Have you no self awareness!

What's incorrect there? He is a liar. It's proven.

https://www.thejournal.ie/waterford-hospital-varadkar-2-4620107-May2019/

smurgen wrote: »
    What's incorrect there? He is a liar. It's proven.

https://www.thejournal.ie/waterford-hospital-varadkar-2-4620107-May2019/

This likely cost FG a seat in waterford

I know members of FG,who refused to canvass/put up posters in local elections down here after his carryon (iirc correctly was around that time?)

Social housing is needed across the state,you have areas like piltown,south kk now listed as rent pressure zones

Rest of state is roughly 18 months behind dublin in terms of housing shortage,the scale of problem developing outside dublin and noone reporting on it,just highlights how completly dublin-centric and ignore rest of the state tge media here is(rents in my local village are now starting at e900 a month,its a nice place...but not worth that)

......instead we will do usual retard thing politians here,embark upon,wait for problem to develop and then walk around blaming everyone else for not proactively getting ahead of problem....lack of political.leadership and vision is a disgrace here

Love it :D

Lorcan Sirr is an oracle when he suggests SF's housing proposals have merit, but is to be ignored when he suggests Dublin takes priority.

Love it :D

Lorcan Sirr is an oracle when he suggests SF's housing proposals have merit, but is to be ignored when he suggests Dublin takes priority.

I have never said dublin shouldnt take prioirty nor ever heard of lorcan sirr??

Quite how yous managed to draw that from my post is beyond me??

,but anything that you need to run away from debate,sure throw up a few rubbishy uncalibrated graphs while your at it

This likely cost FG a seat in waterford

I know members of FG,who refused to canvass/put up posters in local elections down here after his carryon (iirc correctly was around that time?)

Yep they ran 3 candidates and for the first time didn't get one elected in Waterford.

I have never said dublin shouldnt take prioirty nor ever heard of lorcan sirr??

Quite how yous managed to draw that from my post is beyond me??

,but anything that you need to run away from debate,sure throw up a few rubbishy uncalibrated graphs while your at it

Yeah, I'm still trying to figure out what an "uncalibrated" graph is?

Do you mean to say that the axes of the graph that showed that SF TDs own (or have an interest in) land to a greater degree than any other party, was scaled in relativities or indices rather than in absolutes?

Again, nothing wrong with that - for example, dose / response curves are often specified using such techniques as it aids understanding, likewise a lot of economic data is specified relative a fixed base and expressed as an index.

Anyway, another poster was citing Lorcan Sirr, (lecturer in housing studies and urban economics with DIT/TU-Dublin) because he, to a degree, endorsed SF's housing policy proposals - it seems Sirr's bona fides have not permeated fully through the Shinner-verse.

Yeah, I'm still trying to figure out what an "uncalibrated" graph is?

Do you mean to say that the axes of the graph that showed that SF TDs own (or have an interest in) land to a greater degree than any other party, was scaled in relativities or indices rather than in absolutes?

Again, nothing wrong with that - for example, dose / response curves are often specified using such techniques as it aids understanding, likewise a lot of economic data is specified relative a fixed base and expressed as an index.

Anyway, another poster was citing Lorcan Sirr, (lecturer in housing studies and urban economics with DIT/TU-Dublin) because he, to a degree, endorsed SF's housing policy proposals - it seems Sirr's bona fides have not permeated fully through the Shinner-verse.

Meh lookit,some of us obviously have/require higher/basic standreds for evidence/proof and thats ok too....just seems hypocritical to sneer at shinners for being poor at maths,while running with uncalibrated graphs to indulge said sneering

But everyone is entitled to their view/way of doing things i guess

Meh lookit,some of us obviously have/require higher/basic standreds for evidence/proof and thats ok too....just seems hypocritical to sneer at shinners for being poor at maths,while running with uncalibrated graphs to indulge said sneering

But everyone is entitled to their view/way of doing things i guess

So how does one "calibrate" a graph?

And it's not just maths SF are bad at - some of their bright young things called to canvass my father-in-law on his farm.......and proceeded with their spiel about SF and agriculture.....which was all centred on beef and dairy farming......they didn't realise they were on a tillage holding and when he asked about grain supports they were, to say the least, perplexed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Lol. Expecting canvassers to be aut fait with grain subsidy policy. How well do think the average FG canvasser would fare on your pop quiz?

Yurt! wrote: »
    Lol. Expecting canvassers to be aut fait with grain subsidy policy. How well do think the average FG canvasser would fare on your pop quiz?

Not at all, but I'd expect canvassers to know the difference between a livestock and tillage holding - it's not that they look totally different, they even smell totally different.

Why does Lieo have an alternative flag for Easter?What has the U.N got to do with Easter?

https://twitter.com/LeoVaradkar/status/1249278839466983424?s=19

509487.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,332 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Why does Lieo have an alternative flag for Easter?What has the U.N got to do with Easter?

Oh look, its the Irish version of Alex Jones.

markodaly wrote: »
    Oh look, its the Irish version of Alex Jones.

The Tricolour is on the GPO but that's not what Leo made a song and dance about on twitter is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

The Tricolour is on the GPO but that's not what Leo made a song and dance about on twitter is it?

You're the one making a song and dance. :D:D:D

Ah so you're just defending a false narrative.Glad we cleared that up. Continue! :)

Sending out a tweet is now making a "song and dance"?

So what? He chose to emphasise one part of the commemoration - I'm guessing if he didn't tweet you'd be commenting adversely on that, and if he tweeted about some other part of it, you'd comment adversely on that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

Ah so you're just defending a false narrative.Glad we cleared that up. Continue! :)

I'm not defending anything. i'm just laughing at your hissy fit.:D

Sending out a tweet is now making a "song and dance"?

So what? He chose to emphasise one part of the commemoration - I'm guessing if he didn't tweet you'd be commenting adversely on that, and if he tweeted about some other part of it, you'd comment adversely on that ;)

Pretty much, like if FG decided to give away 30,000 houses worth of land to developers for free it would be decried by some on here as the privatisation of public resources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Pretty much, like if FG decided to give away 30,000 houses worth of land to developers for free it would be decried by some on here as the privatisation of public resources.

Except the proposed model isn't to give it away to developers to practice arbitrage, which would be madness.

It is handed over to approved housing bodies who will construct affordable housing for sale at more or less cost of construction.

Way to miss the point, again. Fine Gael will simply never crack housing, ever.

Yurt! wrote: »
    Except the proposed model isn't to give it away to developers to practice arbitrage, which would be madness.

It is handed over to approved housing bodies who will construct affordable housing for sale at more or less cost of construction.

Way to miss the point, again. Fine Gael will simply never crack housing, ever.

What's the value of the land you want to give away for free?

SF are talking about scaling up from 50 units to 10,000 units immediately, where do you think these approved bodies are going to come from? What's to stop a developer from applying to be an approved body? What % profit should these approved bodies be allowed make?

And can you answer the other two questions I asked two days ago?