Restrictions extended until 5th May

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,996 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

keynes wrote: »
    as almost every other country in the world is putting border restrictions in place, we're letting British holiday makers pour in here on ferries for the weekend. Given that Covid is ravaging the UK, its fanciful to suggest that this won't lead to infections here.

Have you any actual evidence for this, other than “someone on Facebook said it’s happening”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,849 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

All of this is guesswork while the Testing is still not right.

We don’t have any idea how many cases there are.
    We dont know if the restrictions are working.

And if we don’t know that then we can’t make decisions based on facts.

Including the next bank holiday is probably the right thing to do, because it eliminates a potential second wave of infection if the country lets loose over a bank holiday.

But let’s be clear it’s not based on facts.
    Because there are not enough facts to make that decision.

Hospitalisations, ICU numbers and deaths are facts. The most relevant ones.

They tell a part of the story, but according to the statistics they only tell 20%, 5% and 2% of the story respectively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

I can understand reviews being carried out on a per weekly basis after May 5th but only if there’s a dramatic decrease in deaths, growth rate and the number of cases

Bad day for me today. My first proper low day since this all started.

I feel like I'm screaming into the void at people. I live with a nurse who is incapable of cleaning up or being hygienic at the best of times, let alone now. I work in a shop and am dealing with customers abuse, families crying at me because we have no 99 cone machine, eighty year olds in to check their lotto, the homeless in dire straits because there's no one on the streets throwing them petty change. We have been roared at for asking people to use gloves, we have been roared at for asking people to wait outside, roared at for low stock, roared at for cutting our opening hours. I make less than 350 a week.

My aunt is sick with COVID, I cannot help. My sister is a nurse, I can't go console her for the things she's seen the past month. My grandad cannot speak on the phone or make food for himself. He doesn't understand what's going on and is afraid. I am trying to work on my PhD.

It's just so much, with no end in sight.

Head up.
    Humans have endured far far worse than this and thrived, this period in time might teach you more about the world than any PHd ever will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 505 ✭✭✭ax530

Its a great time for saving ;)

No excuse for anybodys house to be a tip
    3 young kids 'running things' while parents trying to get days work done. My house has never been so bad toddler obsession is pouring, mixing & spilling. Late bed time so I don't even get my normal evening jobs done right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

De Danann wrote: »
    I'm very sorry for your situation, that sounds dreadful. It was indeed a bit of a shock.

I know some people say if they extend it by 2 weeks each time, people are just being fooled into taking a long lockdown in bitesize chunks...but to be honest I think that method is more bearable even it's a sort of trick.

I have to agree. Announcing 2 weeks here and 3 weeks there is a lot more appealing than a sudden 6 week lockdown announced even though when the 3 week extension is over, the total lockdown time to date will almost have been 2 months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,892 ✭✭✭circadian

I feel like I'm screaming into the void at people. I live with a nurse who is incapable of cleaning up or being hygienic at the best of times, let alone now. I work in a shop and am dealing with customers abuse, families crying at me because we have no 99 cone machine, eighty year olds in to check their lotto, the homeless in dire straits because there's no one on the streets throwing them petty change. We have been roared at for asking people to use gloves, we have been roared at for asking people to wait outside, roared at for low stock, roared at for cutting our opening hours. I make less than 350 a week.

My aunt is sick with COVID, I cannot help. My sister is a nurse, I can't go console her for the things she's seen the past month. My grandad cannot speak on the phone or make food for himself. He doesn't understand what's going on and is afraid. I am trying to work on my PhD.

I know the feeling. I've removed myself from most messaging groups because of the amount of "just a flu" or playing it down. One group I'm in has a member who is currently 12 days in a coma in ICU because of it. He's 34 and it's not looking good. The just a flu lads had their minds sharpened pretty quickly but for a lot of people it's outside their sphere of influence. All they see is numbers, there's nothing personal to hit home for them and it's nothing more than an inconvenience.

I feel for all the people in shops at the minute. You have people just oblivious to what's really happening and getting frustrated about not getting what they're used to. I can't believe people are still doing a daily shop instead of a weekly one or at least attempting to reduce their time somewhere like that. I'd imagine because being staff at the minute is massively stressful especially because there's a lack of PPE too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,457 ✭✭✭✭beauf

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    Online order & have it delivered. Only one person should be shopping. Husband should not be going in with the wife or vise versa.

There is a choice do lots of little shops or one larger one. The larger one will be too much for one person. Two people will be a lot shorter time in the shop. In additional many people are shopping multiple households.

https://www.boredpanda.com/grocery-hoarding-panic-buying-pandemic/?utm_source=androidapp&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=androidapp

If this had happened 2 yrs ago we would be looking after 4 households. At the moment is only 2.

They are asking people not to use online if you don't have to. Prioritize people who can't get to the shops.

There are certainly people who don't give a toss. But consider when you see people shopping you might not know their personal situation.

circadian wrote: »
    I know the feeling. I've removed myself from most messaging groups because of the amount of "just a flu" or playing it down. One group I'm in has a member who is currently 12 days in a coma in ICU because of it. He's 34 and it's not looking good. The just a flu lads had their minds sharpened pretty quickly but for a lot of people it's outside their sphere of influence. All they see is numbers, there's nothing personal to hit home for them and it's nothing more than an inconvenience.

I feel for all the people in shops at the minute. You have people just oblivious to what's really happening and getting frustrated about not getting what they're used to. I can't believe people are still doing a daily shop instead of a weekly one or at least attempting to reduce their time somewhere like that. I'd imagine because being staff at the minute is massively stressful especially because there's a lack of PPE too.

Sorry to hear of your friend. It is not looking good for my auntie either, and we have already lost one other 2 weeks ago.

Work is just crazy. We unfortunately have many regulars who continue to come in multiple times a day, for one or two items. I am blue in the face offering to deliver groceries and telling people to stay at home. Many of my colleagues are facing final assignments and online exams in the next few weeks for college, and are trying to stay in good health. It is infuriating to deal with customers who expect us to take money that has just been in between their teeth while they search for change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭The Oort Cloud

There will be a human experiment done in mid June, releasing a few human cows into the wild to test the virus's existance. If there is a sign of the second wave, then we will all be in lock-down again. There will be a few further lock-downs as we go along for the next few months that's guaranteed. The second wave always catches people out.

Deadly second wave

The second wave of the 1918 pandemic was much more deadly than the first. The first wave had resembled typical flu epidemics; those most at risk were the sick and elderly, while younger, healthier people recovered easily. By August, when the second wave began in France, Sierra Leone, and the United States, the virus had mutated to a much more deadly form. October 1918 was the month with the highest fatality rate of the whole pandemic.

Individual people have different thoughts and understanding in regard to others opinions, but the problem is this... there are some people out there that will do everything in their power to cut you off when they do not like your opinion even when it is truth.

https://youtu.be/v8EseBe4eIU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,682 ✭✭✭✭looksee

It is so much, and there is no end in sight, but - Pro tip :D deal with one aggravation at a time and don't add them up. Adding up your aggravations does not improve the situation and makes you feel much worse.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭nthclare

Head up.
    Humans have endured far far worse than this and thrived, this period in time might teach you more about the world than any PHd ever will.

Unfortunately PhDs and Doctorates don't cure idiocy or ineptitude.

As an old guy down the road says the university of life.

I notice some posters seem to be trying to undermine the people who seem to be strident about the lockdown or are living rurally and are content because they are adapting ok and can live in peace and tranquility.
    Avoided the trouble of toil and town, old man platypus drifting down, drifting down the river...

There's an undercurrent of some, not all urban dwellers telling us rural people we're delighted with the lockdown and rubbing people's noses in it.

Well I don't think that's the case, its just we observe boundaries and we wouldn't like be passing on the virus to ye too.

It doesn't discriminate, we could have it too, and one mistake by picking up a carton of milk a slight rub of the eye or mouth and you could as easily catch it rurally as you could in an urban area.

Its nothing to do with location or anything, it's just the right thing to do, to stay safe and look after ourselves.

beauf wrote:
    There is a choice do lots of little shops or one larger one. The larger one will be too much for one person. Two people will be a lot shorter time in the shop. In additional many people are shopping multiple households.

The local Centra and SuperValu are Delivering for free. Same day delivery. Local butchers is doing the same. Even take aways that don't have a delivery service are Delivering for anyone cocooning. Anyone of any age can cocoon for any reason. There is no excuse for bringing children or your partner into the shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,177 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

The garden will be in unbelievable shape by then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,150 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

0_I200402_172015_2448259oTextTRMRMMGLPICT000209987104o.jpg

The provisional IRA saved Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,177 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Massive queue outside aldi today

Went next door to smaller spar shop and the place was deserted in comparison

Even managed to get wholemeal flour, which had been out of stock in Aldi for 3 weeks

Huzzah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭The Oort Cloud

This is a very good documentary from BBC.2... 'Secret Universe. The hidden Life Of The Cell'. It really shows the intelligence or craftyness of the virus's strategies into proceeding with its main goal.

https://www.dailymotion.com/video/xzh0kb

Individual people have different thoughts and understanding in regard to others opinions, but the problem is this... there are some people out there that will do everything in their power to cut you off when they do not like your opinion even when it is truth.

https://youtu.be/v8EseBe4eIU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The provisional IRA saved Ireland?
    youre over thinking it

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,418 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

The local Centra and SuperValu are Delivering for free. Same day delivery. Local butchers is doing the same. Even take aways that don't have a delivery service are Delivering for anyone cocooning. Anyone of any age can cocoon for any reason. There is no excuse for bringing children or your partner into the shops.

I dont have a local any of those. And I'd rather not have my kid get used to over priced and over cooked grease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,097 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

The garden will be in unbelievable shape by then

Unless you are someone that relies on a gardener.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,892 ✭✭✭circadian

Discodog wrote: »
    Unless you are someone that relies on a gardener.

It'll still be unbelievable, just not a good unbelievable.

I dont have a local any of those. And I'd rather not have my kid get used to over priced and over cooked grease.

Regardless your kids shouldn't be in shops with you. Only one person needs to shop. Kids are banned from many shops in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,228 ✭✭✭jackboy

Regardless your kids shouldn't be in shops with you. Only one person needs to shop. Kids are banned from many shops in Dublin

That’s ridiculous. So single parents are banned from many shops in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

jackboy wrote: »

They’re not banned so much as discouraged as far as I’ve seen (kids, not single parents)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Minier81

jackboy wrote: »

And partners/spouses of health care workers?! Not everyone has another adult at home to mind children.

jackboy wrote:

No. Only their children.

Shops in Dublin offer free online & delivery. Restaurants offering take out will deliver free for cocooners. There isn't a Townland in Dublin where local shops don't provide this service. Then there are volunteers in most areas who will do the shopping for you. The Gardai are organising this in areas along with local GAA, Football clubs etc

Being a single parent isn't a good enough reason to put your children & others at risk. Saying I have no other option is a cop out. How do you suppose people with or without kids that are cocooning manage to get food and meds? Every town & village in Ireland has services set up for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,228 ✭✭✭jackboy

Being a single parent isn't a good enough reason to put your children & others at risk. Saying I have no other option is a cop out. How do you suppose people with or without kids that are cocooning manage to get food and meds? Every town & village in Ireland has services set up for this.

I’m sure that’s a great comfort to a single parent who has just realised that their baby is down to the last nappy or they are out of formula. Sure they can just wait for the delivery.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,418 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I'm supposed to leave a 6 year old at home alone with 2 dogs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

antodeco wrote: »
    It's 3 weeks until the next extension!

Good!

Whatever it takes