DoneDeal headmelters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,092 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

This is it wrote: »
    The standard hatchback ad with what I can only describe as word vomit at the bottom of the ad.

VW Golf 2008 1.4
    Grand car
    €2,000

IS200, Passat, Jetta, E200, E220, C180, Civic, Astra, 320, 520, M3, M5, Insignia, Rolls Royce, blah, blah, blah, and another 30 cars on top.

Christ on a bike.

Quick example

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-accord-diesel/23828256

This will divide opinion here I’m sure, but another good indicator of a messer is the “text only” crowd. Sure there are some genuine reasons, but in my experience most who don’t take calls are eejits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,278 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

Ads for the likes of Subaru's, Gtis, lowered VWs and Seats with tinted windows. Followed by the line " never abused". Lol

The only reason anyone ever had a car like that is to drive the site or of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,110 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Back to DD head wreckers, one that just confuses the fúck out of me is the apes who list a car and say something like "no bother about selling, just testing the waters"
    What's the fúcking point of that then?
    I hear you. Either the asking price is too much or you know full well that they want too much with POA or a made uppy price like €1,234. Because of course a felt spec kitted Audi A4 with cheap nasty aftermarket wheels and knackered suspension with no test but "will fly through" is impossible to recreate and must be worth an absolute fortune.

Another one that gets me is the offer of "CASH"....followed by big paused over the phone. Of course as I have being offered "CASH" for my already low value but well priced car that I am selling as a private individual I should be eternally grateful as it is the holy grail of an offer that I shouldn't even think of refusing. Notwithstanding that the offer of "CASH" is about one third of my asking price on an already very well priced car.
    No doubt if I were to accept and a muppet like that were to show up he would try to knock down the price more because of some cosmetic issue that was already well documented in the ad. I'm all for doing a bargain and a deal with somebody genuine but that kind of muppetry annoys me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,328 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Worst are the ones who want you to hold the car til the weekend for them, then get arsey when you don’t.

The ones who own up to there being some accident damage to the car but then take the photos of only one side of the car or from strategic angles so the damage is not visible or cropped out. Car might look lovely from the back and side but the front could be mashed to smithereens.

Or another one is the crap photos. Things like the main photo being a photo of a phone screen with the picture of the car. Jesus like.

Another one again is an ad showing a nice car and a big description. THen the last line says something like,
    "not the car in the picture but the same as."

Another one is an ad then then says "not selling, just testing the waters".

I get annoyed when you're looking at a car for sale, and they take about a dozen photos circling the car, but never take a photo of the inside. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

kowloonkev wrote: »
    I can see why it would matter to a seller on donedeal. If they have a vodafone number then obviously they're well practiced in getting ripped off. Happy days.
    Funny that. I've an 087 number yet I pay GoMo 9.99 per month for everything.

What a rip off. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nika Bolokov

It's an 089 number don't bother responding.

If it's an 085 number there are going to low ball you. Unless you want it gone don't respond.

If it's an 086 number there generally a bit older and worth answering. Might pay asking.

If it's an 087 number there probably in there early 30s and won't pay asking but a deal can still be done.

089 number is an easy way to filter out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 ashleysantms

Had a trailer around the yard here, not used it in a couple of years so said I'd sell it before it just rusted away. Needed new suspension but other than that body was in good nick. Worth a few hundred, wasn't selling it to make money, more to get rid of it.

Anyway put the ad up on donedeal around 1pm one day just as I was heading to lunch. No sooner did I click submit than the phone was hopping with lads from as far away as Rathkeale, ready to leave now if I agreed to a 50% discount there and then.

I soon realised my error and took the ad down. That didn't stop the calls, I took a few and let the lads in the office experience the variety of accents Ireland has to offer.

Essentially the phone was ringing regularly the rest of the day, with a few follow up calls during the rest of the week who were most disappointed to hear their generous offer was outbid.

Ended up selling it to a dealer nearby for pittance, but worth it for the peace of mind. Won't be putting a trailer up on DoneDeal again.

P.S. I didn't take note of the mobile phone prefixes, would have made for an interesting case study

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭pcardin

If it's an 085 number there are going to low ball you. Unless you want it gone don't respond.

If it's an 086 number there generally a bit older and worth answering. Might pay asking.

If it's an 087 number there probably in there early 30s and won't pay asking but a deal can still be done.

good boy! And now tell us your criteria for county on registration plates. :D:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Ads for the likes of Subaru's, Gtis, lowered VWs and Seats with tinted windows. Followed by the line " never abused". Lol

The only reason anyone ever had a car like that is to drive the site or of it.

Only driven, never rode...

Moo Moo Teamoo, all of my dreams come true…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Worst are the ones who want you to hold the car til the weekend for them, then get arsey when you don’t.

That depends on whether they've agreed to buy or just want to come and have a look though. Fella wants to have a look...not a hope. A fella agrees to buy and agrees a price... no bother.
    (Don't forget that there's plenty of good people out there as well and not everyone can drop everything and drive 60/80/100 miles at the drop of a hat..)

An ad that concludes with something like: No day dreamers no tire kickers no window shoppers no texts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,328 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

An ad that concludes with something like: No day dreamers no tire kickers no window shoppers no texts.

I’d have to think that came from bitter experience in a lot of cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Had a Passat high line for sale about 3 yrs ago. Didnt want to keep it long so I put it up for a really good price, so good in fact that it was the cheapest/best spec Passat for sale at the time.

1st lad rings and asked about the car, he seemed very interested and was going to come see the car the following day, happy out I said I’d hold it for him to get down. He rang the following day to tell me his lift had let him down and he was very interested and had cash in hand and if I had time to bring it to meet him half way he’d not haggle with the price. He was replacing a car he had crashed a few weeks before so I took pity on him a arranged to bring the car from Clonmel to Junction 14 services. We were going to a gig in Dublin so wasn’t a big deal to bring it with us. When we arrived he came over to have a look at the car and immediately started to put the car down, this is wrong, that is wrong, no way it could just have passed the NCT ( car had fresh test a few days before ) after which came the lowball offers of half the asking price. In the end I politely refused and took the car to Dublin. He text me once or twice that night asking if I’d reconsider his offer.

The following day I rang him back and told him that he was probably right about the value of the car and if he was serious about it he would have to meet me in Clonmel. Of course he was straight down the road and was waiting outside the place I had arranged to meet him at and rang him a few times telling him I was running late and could he meet me at work instead so I have him the directions to the local mental hospital, when he got there I told him to go into reception and check himself in as he must me insane if he thought I’d sell him the car for half the asking price...

Unfortunately the same lad had multiple adverts for very cheap horse boxes and power washers online over the next few days. He ended up ringing me begging me to stop as his phone was ringing non stop 😂

Sold the car to a Spanish chap 2 days later for full asking price and he came all the way down from Drogheda on the bus to collect it. I was so shocked to get asking as I always add a little for haggling that I gave him a few quid back for diesel.

Have sold a few cheap cars since I’m DD and in fairness they sold easy enough with no messing. But that lad with the Passat really pissed me off and I swore I’d never travel to meet someone with a car again.

My way of selling is never discuss lowest price etc until the person is there with cash in hand, giving your lowest price over the phone then becomes your asking price and if they find something to haggle about on the car then that’s where your starting.. If someone’s not willing to come see the car then they have no interest at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Max Moment

Where do private numbers sit??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭TigerTim

This is it wrote: »
    Don't answer.

My attitude to all private numbers whether at work or personal business - ignore.

T.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Alucan

What really boils my piss is the lad that advertises something with POA on it then says no time wasters. I can't decide if I am genuinely interested without the most important piece of information. Just put the price on the add. For f sake

When we arrived he came over to have a look at the car and immediately started to put the car down, this is wrong, that is wrong, no way it could just have passed the NCT ( car had fresh test a few days before ) after which came the lowball offers of half the asking price.

Did he genuinely offer half the asking price though or is that something you are just saying? And if it is something you are just saying then what percentage of the asking price did he actually offer? Not saying your intentionally lying or incorrect but sometimes people just make such sweeping factually incorrect comments without actually thinking. I can be pretty bold at times but I wouldn't have the gaul on me to do that, but hey maybe I am somewhat sheltered.

He should probably have being able to get the bogus ads you created removed pretty quickly by reporting them on Donedeal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Alucan wrote: »
    What really boils my piss is the lad that advertises something with POA on it then says no time wasters. I can't decide if I am genuinely interested without the most important piece of information. Just put the price on the add. For f sake

POA always gives me a good chuckle. I'd never bother with an Ad with it up but I'd love to know how they get on. I always assumed they're hoping for one credulous Rube in a haystack of lowballing chancers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

I was running late and could he meet me at work instead so I have him the directions to the local mental hospital, when he got there I told him to go into reception and check himself in as he must me insane if he thought I’d sell him the car for half the asking price...

That same story appears on reddit from time to time. But good effort! :confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,251 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

ted1 wrote: »
    Life of an international consultant..

giphy.gif?cid=ecf05e4761f8daf0ad1fe48171d9e1f1ba84fe7de3b53f36&rid=giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

There are 2 types of ads I can see. The professional type ad from a serious seller that will attract serious buyers, mostly, second the bad-tempered and sparse add that is a beehive to tossers looking for a spoil.

Dan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,725 ✭✭✭Mad_Mike

Seems it's not just Donedeal where this amazing CASH stuff is on offer either!
    300 offer on car listed for 850, but it's CASH, so it's gotta be worth it right?

melt.jpg

Absolutely, the Holy Grail offer of CASH which any sane seller is surely obliged to accept, even if it is around one third of the asking price as in the above case.

Is that a screenprint of Adverts.ie you have there? Adverts.ie is even worse than Donedeal... No doubt some genuine sellers on it but a mecca for penniless clowns too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,725 ✭✭✭Mad_Mike

Yep. Woke up to that PM on Adverts this morning. Made my day! :D

Did he genuinely offer half the asking price though or is that something you are just saying? And if it is something you are just saying then what percentage of the asking price did he actually offer? Not saying your intentionally lying or incorrect but sometimes people just make such sweeping factually incorrect comments without actually thinking. I can be pretty bold at times but I wouldn't have the gaul on me to do that, but hey maybe I am somewhat sheltered.

He should probably have being able to get the bogus ads you created removed pretty quickly by reporting them on Donedeal.

Genuinely offered half price and the fact that I was there it would be a shame to go back home with it.

That same story appears on reddit from time to time. But good effort! :confused::confused:

Not on Reddit myself but it was influenced by a story I heard somewhere before. It did help that we have a mental health unit in our town. I can’t claim credit for originality I’m afraid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

Mad_Mike wrote: »
    Yep. Woke up to that PM on Adverts this morning. Made my day! :D

Get back into him and tell him you'll only accept magic beans.