Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker **Spoilers from post 2076**

• Registered Users Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Wedwood

Yet, everyone who ‘hates’ the movie will still go out and buy it. Hmmm

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Runaways

Wedwood wrote: »

No love for the prequels. So much potential there badly mismanaged and badly told. But will very occasionally stick on Revenge of the sith in the background. It’s pretty good. The middle one is actually soulless. I wouldn’t Call rise of Skywalker soulless. It’s a hot mess but it’s heart is in the right place

• Registered Users Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Says who? I don't see anyone here who dislikes the film, or indeed any of the sequels, saying that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

Eh, no they won’t!

Having re-watched the entire Skywalker saga over the past few weeks, there’s no question in my mind that the prequels were over complicated with mostly dreadful scripts and acting. The sequels looked great but were a disjointed mess story-wise.

I wish Lucas and Disney had just left it at the OT.

I’m watching The Mandalorin now on Disney+. I think it’s really good so far. More enjoyable than any of the non OT stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭SMC92Ian

ZV Yoda wrote: »
    Eh, no they won’t!

Having re-watched the entire Skywalker saga over the past few weeks, there’s no question in my mind that the prequels were over complicated with mostly dreadful scripts and acting. The sequels looked great but were a disjointed mess story-wise.

I wish Lucas and Disney had just left it at the OT.

I’m watching The Mandalorin now on Disney+. I think it’s really good so far. More enjoyable than any of the non OT stuff.

I think the originals are the worst of the lot.

This is the first of four on their schedule still. I’d wonder how the current situation is affecting it though. They’re usually working two or three years ahead of release

Meanwhile

I don’t know how any of this is achievable but here we are

https://twitter.com/waltdisneyco/status/1246168638417014784?s=21

The state of the comments in that tweet, I'm so glad I can just sit down and watch a movie and enjoy it for what it is. It's not like the originals were masterclass acting and writing pieces... don't get me started on the prequels. I see why people love the originals, the cast, people loved the characters but when I tell them I'm the same with the new films they don't understand. Just wanna hate.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

Man it sucked so much!

A total overblown mess, the best they could do is a palpatine clone :mad:

JJ should walk away embarrassed with his sacks of cash

Episode 8 was deadly, what a rubbish way to end the saga

But episode 9 was the mess it was because of episode 8 destroying the original direction JJ was going to take. They are both awful.

BloodBath wrote: »
    But episode 9 was the mess it was because of episode 8 destroying the original direction JJ was going to take. They are both awful.

I’d love to hear what this direction jj was taking in tfa was.

He left whoever took over in his usual mystery box cliff hanger bullsh it. A complete predicament. I liked the way that tfa ended. But Rian johnson has nowhere to go except The road he took.
    You don’t like it and many didnt. That’s fine. ‘They’re both awful’ is your opinion it’s not a fact though. Luke especially is far more interesting and real in that film than he’s ever been.

And he comes back at the end having realised his mistakes and does the most powerful jedi thing ever and saves the day. And pays the Ultimate price for it. Willingly.

I don’t know what else anyone wanted from this. He’s our vehicle into that world and he has the best arc finalized and completed in last Jedi.

And these aren’t the original characters films. They’re for the new characters. And he still got a beautiful if painful ending. It was perfect.
    Apart from the robot arm disolving with him

Runaways wrote: »
    I’d love to hear what this direction jj was taking in tfa was.

He left whoever took over in his usual mystery box cliff hanger bullsh it. A complete predicament. I liked the way that tfa ended. But Rian johnson has nowhere to go except The road he took.
    You don’t like it and many didnt. That’s fine. ‘They’re both awful’ is your opinion it’s not a fact though. Luke especially is far more interesting and real in that film than he’s ever been.

And he comes back at the end having realised his mistakes and does the most powerful jedi thing ever and saves the day. And pays the Ultimate price for it. Willingly.

I don’t know what else anyone wanted from this. He’s our vehicle into that world and he has the best arc finalized and completed in last Jedi.

And these aren’t the original characters films. They’re for the new characters. And he still got a beautiful if painful ending. It was perfect.
    Apart from the robot arm disolving with him

Killing the main villain before we even found out who or what he was a massive mistake. Snoke never got off the ground and it killed the trilogy and the order that star wars normally has. Johnson could have done so much with the character voiced and acted by the brilliant Andy Serkis but he decided to kill the character off for a bit of shock value.

Feck the trilogy and story arc and the fact that we needed a main villain without establishing a new one in the same movie. In fact he killed off most of the villains leaving no time to establish a new one which is why the palpatine addition was required despite how messy and stupid it was. This is 100% Johnson's fault.

If bringing back palp was the plan it should have been done in the TLJ, perhaps even having him kill Snoke himself and revealing himself to be Rey's father in that scene would have had a far bigger impact and left JJ with less to do in the finale.

Or he could have gone with Snoke is Plagueis line which many predicted and would have been more interesting than what they did. Or both. If palp was plagueis's apprentice then perhaps they both had dark side powers that helped them cheat death with both manipulating Kylo and Rey with a battle between the 2 Sith lords giving us something we haven't seen before.

I think JJ had maybe planned for Snoke to be Plagueis to tie the whole thing together. The music used for Snoke was very similar to the music played when Palp was talking about the story of Darth Plagueis the wise in the prequels. I guess we'll never know for sure.

His treatment of Luke was a joke. Another wasted opportunity but I'd split the blame with JJ on that 1. The amount of screen time wasted on crap that did not advance the story or characters is simply bad storytelling. The entire Casino trip was pointless.

Killing the main villain before we even found out who or what he was a massive mistake. Snoke never got off the ground and it killed the trilogy and the order that star wars normally has. Johnson could have done so much with the character voiced and acted by the brilliant Andy Serkis but he decided to kill the character off for a bit of shock value.

Feck the trilogy and story arc and the fact that we needed a main villain without establishing a new one in the same movie. In fact he killed off most of the villains leaving no time to establish a new one which is why the palpatine addition was required despite how messy and stupid it was. This is 100% Johnson's fault.

If bringing back palp was the plan it should have been done in the TLJ, perhaps even having him kill Snoke himself and revealing himself to be Rey's father in that scene would have had a far bigger impact and left JJ with less to do in the finale.

Or he could have gone with Snoke is Plagueis line which many predicted and would have been more interesting than what they did. Or both. If palp was plagueis's apprentice then perhaps they both had dark side powers that helped them cheat death with both manipulating Kylo and Rey with a battle between the 2 Sith lords giving us something we haven't seen before.

I think JJ had maybe planned for Snoke to be Plagueis to tie the whole thing together. The music used for Snoke was very similar to the music played when Palp was talking about the story of Darth Plagueis the wise in the prequels. I guess we'll never know for sure.

His treatment of Luke was a joke. Another wasted opportunity but I'd split the blame with JJ on that 1. The amount of screen time wasted on crap that did not advance the story or characters is simply bad storytelling. The entire Casino trip was pointless.

I’d agree with most of that except Luke. It would have been so tired and predictable he comes back and saves the day. I mean he pretty much did but in a better way. Again, this isn’t about him. Even Lucas didn’t plan for it to be about him. Just an obi wan figure padding on the torch. Which we hit in exactly the same measure as obi wan in the original.

I was all up to it being plagueuis too. But it wasn’t. It was Palpatine all along. Which makes more sense to me having read a few of the surrounding books in the new canon.

Haven’t seen the film since the cinema. I just remember it being a hot mess but loads of fun. And it punched you in the head and heart what with leia then Han. And even Luke. Mileage may vary. And We’re so lucky to have had adam driver in these at all. He’s immense and gives an outstanding performance.

Personally don’t think I could make a call on the success or failure of this trilogy until I get to sit and watch all three back to back. This one is as bonkers and all over the place as ROTJ is. Much like last Jedi is the darker perilous no happy ending as Empire was.
    But let’s see.

• Registered Users Posts: 237 ✭✭ErnestBorgnine

The Last Jedi was a middle finger by Johnson to Lucas, SW fans & JJ by someone who see's themselves as above the material.

Listening to the Emperors New Clothes reviews of it on here by the usual suspects is hilarious.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

The Last Jedi was a middle finger by Johnson to Lucas, SW fans & JJ by someone who see's themselves as above the material.

Listening to the Emperors New Clothes reviews of it on here by the usual suspects is hilarious.

That is total and utter bollocks.

Yeah there’s kinda no getting through to that kinda take.

How? Because he dared try something new and fresh with the SW films?

SMC92Ian wrote: »

Save that for the spinoffs. Ruining the main franchise and the current trilogy with his subversion didn't work at all imo. Pretty much any hack writer or fan could have came up with a better storyline and he completely screwed JJ for the final episode.

How 1 of the biggest franchises in the world was allowed to be managed so poorly by Kathleen Kennedy and co is beyond my understanding. Not setting a story arc out in advance for all 3 movies was madness.

Save that for the spinoffs. Ruining the main franchise and the current trilogy with his subversion didn't work at all imo. Pretty much any hack writer or fan could have came up with a better storyline and he completely screwed JJ for the final episode.

How 1 of the biggest franchises in the world was allowed to be managed so poorly by Kathleen Kennedy and co is beyond my understanding. Not setting a story arc out in advance for all 3 movies was madness.

Lucas didn’t have a story arc before he started. The story as we know it was made in the editing room. And made as it went along on the following two. Cost them €4 billion and they’ve nearly made it back twice over in just 6 years. That’s hardly poor handling.

I suppose torpedoing the franchise could be considered 'new and fresh'.

Copying and pasting multiple scenes from ESB & ROTJ and substituting substance with subversion not so much.

You can spot the fart-sniffers from their constant need to talk about themes when defending the film whilst ignoring the idiocy of the plot, the lack of continuity, the need for characters actions & motivations to make no sense so the plot can be forced in certain directions, the complete changing of certain characters to force the eye-rolling 'drama', the junior infants level social commentary, the Twilight bollox...Jesus it gets worse the more you think about it.

Rancid stuff altogether

Lads you make me laugh, it's a ****ing film, if you didn't like it then off you go and what your old ones. Why are you getting so worked up over it? You didn't like it, let the hate go and move on. SW isn't for you anymore. It's for us who did like the new direction and characters. It's a film about magic space wizards. It's a kids film. Laser battles and cool sword fights is what I expected, it's what I got and a bit more.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 35,941 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

The notion of Rian Johnson as a cackling villain, out to shred the nostalgic love of a franchise for his own jollies, is hilarious. I get Last Jedi isn't everyone's cup of tea, but taking a swipe at those who DID like it isn't on.

pixelburp wrote: »
    The notion of Rian Johnson as a cackling villain, out to shred the nostalgic love of a franchise for his own jollies, is hilarious. I get Last Jedi isn't everyone's cup of tea, but taking a swipe at those who DID like it isn't on.

The notion that the biggest entertainment corporation in the world gave 300 million dollars to a rogue director to *give a middle finger to the REAL fans*

I mean where do you even start with that

Runaways wrote: »
    The notion that the biggest entertainment corporation in the world gave 300 million dollars to a rogue director to *give a middle finger to the REAL fans*

I mean where do you even start with that

You're the only person who said they did that, so start where you want i guess.

The course correction of ROS and the cancelling of Rian's trilogy would suggest they realise they made a big mistake.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,369 ✭✭✭Homelander

While I like The Last Jedi (mostly), when you get to "it's a kids film, it has lasers and space wizards and explosions" in defense of the plot, continuity, scripting, et al of The Rise of Skywalker....you're losing.

It didn't work for the prequels and it doesn't work for TROS, most particularly in the context of it being a closing chapter to a trilogy. It also didn't work for Game of Thrones S8, where some people tried to argue that because it has dragons, magic and the undead, it was somehow immune to valid criticism of the seismic shift in quality, attention to detail and trademark, raw, unpredictability.

I also don't agree that JJ had nowhere to go because of Rian Johnson. The Last Jedi was fine, there was ample room to move forward without having to cobble together the crap-fest that JJ ended up going with. They could easily have either a) run with his theme of letting the past go and moving into the unknown or b) gone back to type and, for example, made the Knights of Ren a major protagonist alongside Kylo.

I don't know how real that supposed leaked script for Trevorrow's Ep9 is, but I will say while it doesn't seem great either, it's a far more logical conclusion to what we got in the prior two movies and has far better continuity at least.

The only middle finger in the trilogy, as far as I'm concerned, is JJ giving just that to both his own kick-starter film and The Last Jedi with TROS.

As people have said, all of it could've been avoided with a clearly pre-defined plan going into the trilogy. Saying it was the same for the original trilogy is completely different as when Lucas made Star Wars, it was a brave new step in a new direction. No-one even expected it to be a success.

In comparison, the new trilogy was a billion-dollar franchise to begin with.

Homelander wrote: »
    While I like The Last Jedi (mostly), when you get to "it's a kids film, it has lasers and space wizards and explosions" in defense of the plot, continuity, scripting, et al of The Rise of Skywalker....you're losing.

It didn't work for the prequels and it doesn't work for TROS, most particularly in the context of it being a closing chapter to a trilogy. It also didn't work for Game of Thrones S8, where some people tried to argue that because it has dragons, magic and the undead, it was somehow immune to valid criticism of the seismic shift in quality, attention to detail and trademark, raw, unpredictability.

I also don't agree that JJ had nowhere to go because of Rian Johnson. The Last Jedi was fine, there was ample room to move forward without having to cobble together the crap-fest that JJ ended up going with. They could easily have either a) run with his theme of letting the past go and moving into the unknown or b) gone back to type and, for example, made the Knights of Ren a major protagonist alongside Kylo.

I don't know how real that supposed leaked script for Trevorrow's Ep9 is, but I will say while it doesn't seem great either, it's a far more logical conclusion to what we got in the prior two movies and has far better continuity at least.

The only middle finger in the trilogy, as far as I'm concerned, is JJ giving just that to both his own kick-starter film and The Last Jedi with TROS.

As people have said, all of it could've been avoided with a clearly pre-defined plan going into the trilogy. Saying it was the same for the original trilogy is completely different as when Lucas made Star Wars, it was a brave new step in a new direction. No-one even expected it to be a success.

In comparison, the new trilogy was a billion-dollar franchise to begin with.

What I said wasn't in and defence of the plot, it was a hint at STFU it's a kids film, you are taking it way to serious. Move on. I hated Birds of Prey, I'm not going around the forum going mental spreading my hate. So what you didn't like the new films? Did they delete over the original 3 so they're no non existent anymore? That's how people are acting over this. No Disney didn't ruin your old films, they're still there, just as woeful acted and shot as always. You can blame mostly the fanbase for ROS because the racist bigotted scum wouldn't shut up on Twitter about TLJ.

Multi-billion dollar corporation Disney course corrects to satisfy internet racists? This is an actual opinion you hold?! Jesus wept :pac:

They followed the money, as they always do.

Multi-billion dollar corporation Disney course corrects to satisfy internet racists? This is an actual opinion you hold?! Jesus wept :pac:

They followed the poor booboo baby die-hard SW fans who cried over TLJ.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 35,941 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Clearly they didn't follow it to well, considering Episode IX performed worse than the apparently sacrilegious Last Jedi. By quite a margin too. EpVIII ruffled feathers but the story wasn't so irredeemable that a script could have built on its trailing edges. Instead Disney OK'ed a panicked trilogy capper than indulged in pleading nostalgia, via a clumsy brainless script that read like fan fiction.

This manoeuvre was akin to that old tactic of the panicky reshoot after first internal or test screening. No better recent example of that than something like Josh Tranks Fantastic 4. Only here, the reshoot was the entire production. And yeah, Last Jedi had themes, motivations and choices. You may not have liked them, that's your perogative, but they were there. Episode IX was like a hyperventilating child with a play-set. 50 million death destroyers, with death star lasers and and and and they'll shoot every planet!! Lord.

pixelburp wrote: »
    Clearly they didn't follow it to well, considering Episode IX performed worse than the apparently sacrilegious Last Jedi. By quite a margin too. EpVIII ruffled feathers but the story wasn't so irredeemable that a script could have built on its trailing edges. Instead Disney OK'ed a panicked trilogy capper than indulged in pleading nostalgia, via a clumsy brainless script that read like fan fiction.

This manoeuvre was akin to that old tactic of the panicky reshoot after first internal or test screening. No better recent example of that than something like Josh Tranks Fantastic 4. Only here, the reshoot was the entire production. And yeah, Last Jedi had themes, motivations and choices. You may not have liked them, that's your perogative, but they were there. Episode IX was like a hyperventilating child with a play-set. 50 million death destroyers, with death star lasers and and and and they'll shoot every planet!! Lord.

The fact that people don't give a **** anymore and didn't turn up in the numbers of previous flims doesn't change the reason they tried to change course. All their graphs pointing towards the floor and JJ giving the finger back to R Johnson.

You don't need to tell me how bad ROS was, JJ served up the expected Hot Mess.

ROS was brilliant.