Has anything genuinely creepy or unnerving ever happened to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 877 ✭✭✭jk23

Definitely report it, he sounds very strange, definitely the type to find out where you might be hanging out so nip it in the bud I would say and take care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Get a male friend to ring him and let on it's his phone now. On the other hand it's hard to guess how he would react.
    I'd talk to the gardai. He could already have a record for harassment.

Just came onto post that my birthmark is returning after vanishing last year. I was only thinking I kind of miss it, recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭_Godot_

Are you sure it's a birthmark?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭_Godot_

Are you sure it's a birthmark? Maybe get it checked out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭bonny!

Yes, really :confused:

Not creepy or anything of the sort but your post reminded me, there use to be this kid whose granny lived near us growing up. He was around 8 at the time but born premature so wasnt at the same stage as the other 8 year olds.

He would always check peoples cars to see if they were open and just get in and start "driving" and making car noises. He was as cute. Youd come out and see him in a random neighbours car and say "Shane, get out of the car, will ya, you're not allowed in them" :D it was just funny because it was like he became known for getting into peoples cars. Surprising how many use to leave their car doors open back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

I took the advice and blocked him. This is my second time blocking his number so if he finds another way to contact me, ill go to the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

A few months ago, on a night out with a friend this man came over and started dancing with me, we got chatting in the beer garden and he seemed really nice so I gave him my number. The next day he text me, we were chatting, he seemed nice but over the coming days I got a funny vibe off him , he didnt say anything offensive id just lost interest so blocked his number.

2 months ago I got a whatsapp message from a strange number. Unbeknownst to me it was this guy who id blocked. I replied asking who it was, he didnt say his name but from what he did say, I thought he was someone else so started talking to him, just small talk like hows your day, that sort of thing, he asked me to meet for a drink, id no intention of meeting this person at all so just said I was busy the coming and following weekend. He then changed his picture and I realized it was the guy id blocked months ago so stopped replying to him.
    Usually when this happens the man takes the hint and stops messaging, occasionally a guy will persist for a couple of weeks but nothing more than the odd hi how are you? message or a bit of friendly flirting.

This guy has continued a one sided conversation with me for the past 2 months even though ive not responded to any of his messages. That aside, it's the content of his messages that are just bizaar.

It started off with the odd meme or how are u message. This progressed to the odd good morning and good evening messages until he started sending these every single day. This progressed to longer morning messages with him telling me to have a good day and giving me suggestions on what I should do. Its his suggestions that are so strange, he's not being flirty or romantic he's just being weird like telling me to 'go to the local market' and 'if the market is closed to go for a run' this as now progressed to me waking up to poems sent to me through whatsapp that he's made up himself.
    Whats really weird about it is the poems sound like theyre written for children, in the poems he is telling me to put on a warm jacket and boots and go outside. He said in one poem to go find a 'track and do a few rounds but made a point of saying to make sure I go in the day time when it's safe?. Words are put into them just for the sake of rhyming and theyre not very good at all, just creepy but its as if he put effort into them, theyre really long also.
    Honestly, the only reason I havnt blocked him is I feel a bit sorry for him but also genuinely interested in what he's coming to out with next.
    he sounds fascinating ..give him my no.:p

Sorry he upsets you though.

_Godot_ wrote: »
    Are you sure it's a birthmark? Maybe get it checked out.

Definitely, always had it 'til last year :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭citysights

I woke up one morning to a pandemic. I thought it was a bad dream, it wasn’t...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

This happened last week at work: night shift and I was in a section of the building on my own. The building is very old with a tragic history, most people here report odd things going on from time to time.

So I'm in an office doing some paperwork when the work mobile goes. My manager is calling, it's quite late, nearly midnight so I think it's something serious. I answer the phone and I can here a few words but the reception is terrible and it keeps cutting out. I do here "hello" and "attic" clearly but that's all.

So I hang up, leave the office cause reception there is notoriously bad and ring her back. She answers the phone and she clearly has no idea what I'm on about, she says she didn't ring, I said you did, she says I didn't. Let me check I didn't pocket dial and I will call you back. In the meantime I check the call log in case it was someone else and I misread the name but no, it's my managers name and number.

She rings back and says she didn't call, there's no record of a phone call from the phone which was in her bag beside her so it wasn't someone messing. I tell her I heard a vouce, which may or may not have been hers, and heard words. We have no explanation for it but it was fairly creepy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,983 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

A few months ago, on a night out with a friend this man came ...

<<Snipping long post>>

Just a long shot but would he think he's texting someone else?

To thine own self be true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Shady Grady

A few months ago, on a night out with a friend

<<Snipped, long quoted post>>

You got a bit of a freak going on there and your starting to get interested. I know how that is, no need to be ashamed. Otherwise you would just be upfront with him and be rid of it.IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Ultrflat

About 6 years ago I meet a girl on pof, she really sounded cool she was into yoga, (win sexy back) very pretty. Similar tastes of or well I thought.

At the start it was grand easy going chatty messages nothing particularly, serious light hearted getting to know each other.

Turns out to be a serial texter of biblical murderer proportions, she was nuts.

Messages had to be replied to in 30 secs. I went out kayaking for 2 hours and came back to 50 messages. She'd added me to face book. And started following me on twitter.

Needless to say I changed my face book name deleted her and black listed her.

It had me a little uncomfortable. It's very disconcerting how easy it is to be found tgses days learned my lesson. Use kik!

You got a bit of a freak going on there and your starting to get interested. I know how that is, no need to be ashamed. Otherwise you would just be upfront with him and be rid of it.IMO

Tbh, from experience, being upfront and telling men like him were to go, or telling them I have a boyfriend or asking them to back off, just angers them and makes everything much worse. Best thing to do is just not respond, even when they cop youve blocked them, it just makes them annoyed and want to interact more. Not responding, in my experience, is the best option which is what ive been doing as I havnt replied to him on over two months. As mentioned, I blocked him before but he just found another way to contact me.
    If I was interested I would engage with him and even meet him. I havnt done either so dont see how u can say I am interested in him?

Just interested in what hes going to say next, maybe?
    I'd feel kind of like I want to have some idea what hes doing or planning, might get some hint or warning if he was going to become a problem.

It is, believe it or not, possible to get...not attached to, maybe just get used to obsessive oddballs...It's happened to me, without realising it...rationalised " he's harmless, he's lonely, thats quite a sweet thing he said really..." rapidly desensitized to the weird 'daddy' talk.

Just interested in what hes going to say next, maybe?
    I'd feel kind of like I want to have some idea what hes doing or planning, might get some hint or warning if he was going to become a problem.

It is, believe it or not, possible to get...not attached to, maybe just get used to obsessive oddballs...It's happened to me, without realising it...rationalised " he's harmless, he's lonely, thats quite a sweet thing he said really..." rapidly desensitized to the weird 'daddy' talk.

Yes, interested in what he's going to say next, thats it but not interested in him or his attention. Definitely wanting to be aware of him incase he did become a problem and yeah.. weird daddy talk is the word for it. Very creepy.
    Im not in any way attached to him just mindful that he's potentially dangerous.

I read over the texts he sent me months ago before I blocked him the first time. He was asking me to meet and when I said no, he said I was being dramatic and in a following message, after repeatedly asking me to meet and me saying no he subtly told me I was causing drama. This is all out of context, it was subtly within messages along with normal conversation, probably didn't consciously pick up on the red flags it at the time but sub consciously did so just got a bad vibe and blocked him straight away.

It's hard to know how to respond to men like that because theyre not rational. Ive had a few experiences like that in the past with men becoming obsessive. Being nice and letting them down gently doesnt work, telling them to F off doesnt work and can lead to a sh!t ton of drama and abuse - they tend not to like getting their egos hurt as theyre really insecure at is it. It's like they feel very entitled and cant take no for an answer.

Sometimes just ignoring them is the best way to go.. the messages will still keep coming in but I dont have to respond.

As for going to the guards.. they wont do anything over text messages, unless they were very abusive they generally dont get involved unless the person has attempted to cause physical harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

eviltwin wrote: »
    This happened last week at work: night shift and I was in a section of the building on my own. The building is very old with a tragic history, most people here report odd things going on from time to time.

So I'm in an office doing some paperwork when the work mobile goes. My manager is calling, it's quite late, nearly midnight so I think it's something serious. I answer the phone and I can here a few words but the reception is terrible and it keeps cutting out. I do here "hello" and "attic" clearly but that's all.

So I hang up, leave the office cause reception there is notoriously bad and ring her back. She answers the phone and she clearly has no idea what I'm on about, she says she didn't ring, I said you did, she says I didn't. Let me check I didn't pocket dial and I will call you back. In the meantime I check the call log in case it was someone else and I misread the name but no, it's my managers name and number.

She rings back and says she didn't call, there's no record of a phone call from the phone which was in her bag beside her so it wasn't someone messing. I tell her I heard a vouce, which may or may not have been hers, and heard words. We have no explanation for it but it was fairly creepy
    Is there an attic at work, stay the hell out of it. Especially if you hear noises coming from there. For God sake don't be like the silly feckers in horror films that climb the ladder/stairs with a faulty flashlight going 'hello.. is anyone there?'

But I had a thought; was the call on April fools night? If so your boss could be pullin your puddin. In which case get her back rapid.

Is there an attic at work, stay the hell out of it. Especially if you hear noises coming from there. For God sake don't be like the silly feckers in horror films that climb the ladder/stairs with a faulty flashlight going 'hello.. is anyone there?'

But I had a thought; was the call on April fools night? If so your boss could be pullin your puddin. In which case get her back rapid.

Definitely not an April fool, the manager isn't the type and wouldn't have done it on a night shift. We've an attic that no one uses despite it being converted into a lounge area because it's a bit creepy. I once took 40 winks on the couch up there and got spooked by a clock falling off the wall, haven't gone near the place since,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭NoviGlitzko

When I was 11 or 12 I injured my knee playing football out in the yard at an all boys school. Was bleeding pretty bad so needed looking at. The teacher brought me into the gym room to clean the wound. It was locked and there was no one in there. He said I'll clean that for you.

What I remember thinking was strange was the way he went about cleaning it. He was bent down and dabbed on the wound very gently, and would blow softly on it. After a minute or so he bolted upright and said it's fine after there was a rattle on the gym door and left.

A couple of months later the teacher was convicted for being a pedophile. I was too naive at the time and thought although weird, this is what teachers must do. He was a big man. Probably nothing would have come of it but it creeps me out a little that I was alone with him that time and vulnerable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

Definitely not an April fool, the manager isn't the type and wouldn't have done it on a night shift. We've an attic that no one uses despite it being converted into a lounge area because it's a bit creepy. I once took 40 winks on the couch up there and got spooked by a clock falling off the wall, haven't gone near the place since,
    Any chance someone saved their own number under your managers name as a prank?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Anymore like that? Would love to hear them!

"The robin in the garden,

That was me,

I'm still here, Loving you..

Until we meet again. "

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

SingleHugeIberianmole-size_restricted.gif

"The robin in the garden,

That was me,

I'm still here, Loving you..

Until we meet again. "

Well if I'm honest, I didnt have a premonition, but was stressed because my wedding had to be organised as we want to have it in May, but there were many other things coming at us and I often thought, if time would just stop for a few months and the world shut down, it'd be a relief. And I *did* have a conflicting feeling like I shouldnt be planning it for May at all, but it made no sense as we do want to do it and May was my choice of month. "But that couldnt happen" I thought, while feeling like it could, somehow. Just this indescribably weird feeling about the near future.

Where are the ghosts? Anyone have a super spooky ghost story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,218 ✭✭✭khalessi

Years ago as a kid I was camping as part of an annual camp in a place in WIcklow. A nun saw us one evening and came to chat to a group of us kids, she spent over an hour with us and mentioned how she was staying in a nearby house. THis surprised me as myself anda friend being the only girls had a key to the house to use the bathrooms. Anyway next day no one bar me and friend only other girl remembered talking to her.

We went to reception and asked fro her and no one had heard of her and they also said we had only key to that house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Aside from one occasion on Most haunted when a ghost stubbed a fag out on Shaun Ryder’s leg I’ve yet to be convinced. Seems to me they only “appear” if you go looking for them?

What about places that had a spooky atmosphere?
    Lemenagh castle and a famine road in Dingle are two places I felt disinclined to linger (even though the latter is quite beautiful, with a peaty burbling stream and wildflowers and a sea view).
    Ive also always deeply dislike Poulnabrone dolmen. The name suits it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,991 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Years back I was staying in a hostel off out in the “middle of nowhere”. There were a bunch of us there for the weekend, going on hill walks and the like, bit of light “horseplay” and having sessions at night.

On the second night we were out in the courtyard quite late, drinking and “messing” about. It was a really nice night and there was a little fire going. During the first day there one of the staff gave us a tour and a brief “history” of the place.

He explained that people had reported seeing a young women in a certain part of the building and pointed out a room, off the courtyard, where a woman named “Mary” was supposed to have hanged herself. Some reported hearing choking sounds.

We didn’t think too much of it, we’d have been a pretty “levelheaded” group. A few jokes were made while on the walks and that but it was forgotten about pretty quickly.

But that time, in the courtyard, the “sesh” was getting on and there was talk of “hitting the hay”. One of the lads stood up and made to go. Before he did he said something like ‘hopefully I won’t run into “Mary” on the way’ but just as he said the name a door the courtyard just slammed with an almighty “BANG!” that made us all jump.

It came from the “area” the person who worked there had pointed to on our first tour. Scared the crap out of everyone. No one moved for, what felt like, 5 minutes. The guy leaving slowly sat back down. A couple of us went to investigate but the door, itself, wouldn’t open. I think there was one of those old sneck latches on the other side.

I’m not one who puts much stock in the whole supernatural “thing” but none of us went to our rooms alone and I’m not sure many of us slept very well. I’m sure it was all a simple coincidence but it the timing was impeccable and it shut us up instantly.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Is the quotation marks button broken

Anymore like that? Would love to hear them!

We've had people quit over being spooked, nothing specific just a feeling that the place is off, lots of weird anomolies on CCTV, people hearing knocks, doors opening on their own, things falling over...

Some of the people working in the shops nearby bless themselves when you tell there where you work which is a bit disconcerting.

Personally I've heard children laughing, heard music and footsteps thinking it was someone messing but there's been nothing on the cameras. Felt what felt like a finger running across my neck and no one there.

The worst is some of the young children who say they've seen people who aren't there. I'd be the first to say its messing but these are young children. I don't believe in ghosts and I'm the first to look for a logical explanation but some of these I can't explain.