Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XII - 4,604 in ROI (137 deaths) 998 in NI (56 deaths)(04/04) **Read OP**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭FVP3

eagle eye wrote: »
    Everything will be fine when this is over. People will be working overtime everywhere to catch up with what was missed. I'm sure some new businesses will come out of this as well, things we were short of when the pandemic hit.

I hope China suffers big over this. I'm not a conspiracy theorist at all but I've just got this feeling in my gut that this thing wasn't accidental. That 1996 book written by two members of the Chinese army is too close to what's going on right now, it's called Unrestricted Warfare.

Sure. Not a conspiracy theorist at all but the Chinese started a biological war against their own people in the knowledge that they could handle it and that the West, particularly the US, couldn't.

I'm not a conspiracy theorist at all but if this is a biowarfare the US is the one likely to have started it. However it was probably accidental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Anyone else convinced this virus is no worse than the flu?

There was a guy a couple of threads back that came out with the same statement, he was aggressive and adamant that he was correct.

He hasn’t posted in a while now after making such a tit of himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

Anyone else convinced this virus is no worse than the flu?

Jesus christ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    There was a guy a couple of threads back that came out with the same statement, he was aggressive and adamant that he was correct.

He hasn’t posted in a while now after making such a tit of himself.

he's probably busy finishing his PhD

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭FVP3

Not really... he is after all supposed to be the leader of the 'free world'.

Nobody uses that phrase except ironically, surely?
    The lies and bull*hit he pollutes the world with daily, is repeated ad nauseam on this board. I have lost count of the number of times 'The warm weather in April will cause it to vanish' has been mentioned.

Any US citizen who voted for him or the Republican party should hang their heads in shame. The world did not deserve a dangerous ignorant manchild like him to lead the free world.

Well I don't disagree there but the poster I was criticising was defending Trump, if I read it correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Many elderly in nursing have signed a DNR or No Heroic interventions form . They would have signed long before Covid 19 reared its ugly head

Fair enough... following the patient's wishes is to be admired and is always correct.

However the lack of elderly in our ICUs suggests to me that even those who did not sign a DNR are being triaged already.

Maybe you know something different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,716 ✭✭✭storker

he's probably busy finishing his PhD

Maybe he's in an ICU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Wombatman wrote: »
    We have higher deaths per million and higher cases per million. Why single out the US?

If one person in Ireland spreads the virus to four others and one person in the US spreads it to 240 others which country is doing a better job of containing an outbreak?

storker wrote: »
    Maybe he's in an ICU.

more probably he's in the RCSI

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Covid19

Just back from trying to get supplies in Tesco, Swinford. I could not get in as the que was at least 35 strong outside the doors. In the town, there were dozens of groups of folks in 3's and 4's, median age of 60, merrily chatting away to each other along the street. The town seemed as busy as a normal Saturday. Then, on the way back home on the N17, a Garda in an unmarked car pulled me over and asked where I was off to. Very conflicting experience.

Covid19 wrote: »
    Just back from trying to get supplies in Tesco, Swinford. I could not get in as the que was at least 35 strong outside the doors. In the town, there were dozens of groups of folks in 3's and 4's, median age of 60, merrily chatting away to each other along the street. The town seemed as busy as a normal Saturday. Then, on the way back home on the N17, a Garda in an unmarked car pulled me over and asked where I was off to. Very conflicting experience.

maybe they were families in 3s and 4s?

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭Wombatman

If one person in Ireland spreads the virus to four others and one person in the US spreads it to 240 others which country is doing a better job of containing an outbreak?

You are talking about ifs and hypotheticals. I'm talking about stats and facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    In Germany if you die of cardiac arrest after coming off a ventilator they are stating you died of a heart attack etc. If you drown while on a ventilator you are dying of pneumonia etc etc. They are not including cause of death as Covid 19. My understanding being that in the future the German health system will look to be classifying exactly what strain of Covid the victims had, they will revise their stats down the line once they are satisfied. Germans are very thorough, they don't spoof. Watch for updates on their statistics.

German's don'T spoof? I must have imagined that whole Volkswagen emissions scandal a few years back.

OscarMIlde wrote: »
    German's don'T spoof? I must have imagined that whole Volkswagen emissions scandal a few years back.

and those gas chambers in 1945

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭endainoz

FVP3 wrote: »
    Sure. Not a conspiracy theorist at all but the Chinese started a biological war against their own people in the knowledge that they could handle it and that the West, particularly the US, couldn't.

I'm not a conspiracy theorist at all but if this is a biowarfare the US is the one likely to have started it. However it was probably accidental.

So sure your not, you had to mention it twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭zinfandel

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Many elderly in nursing have signed a DNR or No Heroic interventions form . They would have signed long before Covid 19 reared its ugly head

this is true, this was one of the first things that was discussed when my parents entered nursing homes years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭rusty the athlete

Sean 18 wrote: »
    I wonder what will happen when the schools open in September must they all repeat a year even in primary school they will have to make their communion next year I can't see them going ahead this year

I think there are far more important things to consider than communions right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,590 ✭✭✭Cody montana

USA getting close to 300 thousand cases.

maybe they were families in 3s and 4s?

Sadly, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭shocksy

Then, on the way back home on the N17, a Garda in an unmarked car pulled me over and asked where I was off to. Very conflicting experience.

You should have told them to mind their own f*cking business and police the towns and not people on a national road ffs. Fools. It's not a crime to drive your car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

Achasanai wrote: »
    I think the benefit is that most older people - who would be at most risk now - have it, although if as you say it was only started in the 1950s that might not apply. I read something about 'learned immunity', but not sure if that applies to this vaccine.
    depends what age the got it in the 50s. if they gave it to everyone 10 and under in 1950. most people under 80 would have had it. if they gave it to newborns only those under 70.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭endainoz

I hope you told the Guard that it’s none of his business. You aren’t committing any crime

Only a person actively looking for conflict would say that. No fan of the guards myself but it's pretty simple just to say they were at the shop instead of agression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

OscarMIlde wrote: »

Soon every country will be spoofing. They are under enormous economic pressure to do so. Tons of people are dying already at home without being diagnosed as with coronavirus. That's just in Italy.

About 50% of the population will like get it and 2%-5% will die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭lastusername

Interesting choice of username! :eek:

I don't go near supermarkets on a Saturday or even the weekend. Better to go on weekday mornings or at least off-peak if you can. Why would you be queuing outside unless Saturday is the only time you can go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

My mother, 70 years old with various underlying conditions - asthma, irregular heart rhythm, under active thyroid and prone to really bad chest infections in the past - has had a bout of something for almost 2 weeks now...ironically started day after Boris announced lockdown here. Started off with vomiting and stomach pain, then an irregular chesty cough and has been up and down since but mainly improving. Today she says she feels back to normal again apart from the cough which has been abating. At the start I hoped to god it wasn't corona but now she seems over it I'm thinking that's some bloody coincidence isn't it? Especially as we are in south east of England. I thought if mum got this then at the very least she would be in hospital but is it possible that even many over 70s with health conditions may just be able to get over this at home? One thing I'd say is all her conditions are very well controlled whereas some people don't have this whether through bad luck or choice. I'm probably clutching at straws but the timing is suspect right?

I don't go near supermarkets on a Saturday or even the weekend. Better to go on weekday mornings or at least off-peak if you can. Why would you be queuing outside unless Saturday is the only time you can go.

Why thank you. 😎

shocksy wrote: »
    You should have told them to mind their own f*cking business and police the towns and not people on a national road ffs. Fools. It's not a crime to drive your car.

The Guards are on O'Connell St! Plus a national road is the right place to intercept people who might be chancing heading down the road to a mate's or to family, etc, when they don't have to. Stay at or near home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Am I right in saying if we were counting deaths the same way as the UK (i.e. only hospital deaths counted) we would only have 15?

Does that show that the real numbers in the UK must be nearly 10 times higher?

there are queues every day!

Dundalk, Co. Louth

there are queues every day!

Depends where you are I guess, I don't see them where I am outside those peak times.