Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XII - 4,604 in ROI (137 deaths) 998 in NI (56 deaths)(04/04) **Read OP**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

ITman88 wrote: »
    We can’t, our kids will pay for it

Nah we'll pay for it - government in, emergency budget - hefty 'carbon/ solidarity' tax on carbon products. Kill two birds with one stone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,455 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Gods Gift wrote: »
    AIB

Always In Bother.

Why do people expect bank current account services to be free?? I don't expect my gas or electricity to be free. I haven't heard other services providers being asked to suspend charges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,914 ✭✭✭statto25

AG123 wrote: »
    Do people think restrictions will be gradually lifted on a regional basis?

No as people will just travel to unrestricted areas. Its an all or nothing scenario

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Mwengwe wrote: »
    reading it and it seems to be more an issue with welfare payments
    The 4 weeks is significant as it is the point where they say it begins to stop working working so effectively through public fatigue with the measures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,402 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Miss OMMC wrote: »
    Just hearing about people being turned around and sent home by guards. I can't find any information about this type of work so thought I'd ask here. Will keep going until told otherwise I suppose.

I would think someone working away on their own wouldn't be in breach of any restriction. The only issue would be the 2km limit, but it would hardly be the end of the world if they went outside the limit to do this work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Corkgirl20

froog wrote: »

This is the total amount who have been in ICU not the current amount in there right now.. am I correct in saying that ??

The Fench president has suspended gas, water, electricity, rent and mortgage payments. Solidarity was a one street in 20008 when people bailed out Always in Bother and the other pondlife in the financial services industry. The nation again will experience that one way straight again bailing out banks for the benefit of bond markets not the people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭FVP3

Corkgirl20 wrote: »
    This is the total amount who have been in ICU not the current amount in there right now.. am I correct in saying that ??

No, it decreased yesterday as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭Hrududu

Gynoid wrote: »
    I don't know who Paddy Cosgrove is, never heard of him before, cannot be bothered to google him as I get the impression from yiz all that he is a bit of a prick. But reading this thread is like a litany of his name, repeated again and again. Can we leave him alone now, the bollox. Please.
    To be honest I think the only reason people are talking about him here is because someone, absolutely not Paddy himself, no siree, keeps coming onto the thread and posting his own...I mean Paddy's tweets.

I myself don't follow him on social media. But I might as flippin well with the number of his tweets I'm exposed to on this thread. Hence all the giving out. At least that's why I'm giving out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

Miss OMMC wrote: »
    Just hearing about people being turned around and sent home by guards. I can't find any information about this type of work so thought I'd ask here. Will keep going until told otherwise I suppose.

You have been told otherwise - no unnecessary travel and no work for other than designated essential services. Why wait until you are stopped when you alredy know you should not be out?

The more people that chance their arm and are seen about the place, the less effective the restrictions will be. Everyone could have a valid reason to be out, if it was left up to us. What if you had an accident on the way - eg truck hit Luas yesterday... one more person in a hospital at a time when we are trying to keep a focus on keeping people alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

froog wrote: »

Is this current or cumulative did anyone find out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭ITman88

BarryD2 wrote: »
    Nah we'll pay for it - government in, emergency budget - hefty 'carbon/ solidarity' tax on carbon products. Kill two birds with one stone.

The revenue generated will be rather small due to the substantial drop in employment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

Strazdas wrote: »
    I would think someone working away on their own wouldn't be in breach of any restriction. The only issue would be the 2km limit, but it would hardly be the end of the world if they went outside the limit to do this work.

Not true. Your thinking is incorrect.

6 further deaths in NI, total 28 now. And almost 600 cases there now in total

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭lbj666

Strazdas wrote: »
    He's stirring it every day on Twitter and won't back down. He's not being name checked here over something he said two weeks ago : every day he's coming out with new attacks on the Govt and HSE (he's been posting in the last few minutes).

The current and previous governments have bent over backyards for nearly all the tech giants so much that they don't intend to recover Apples tax bill.
    So it says a lot about their view of Paddy, what his demands and motives were vs the actual worth of that spoofer conference besides filling hotels in Dublin for a week.

I said in a previous post he probably got the 500 health workers infected and took a rough guess 4 of them would possibly die eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Mwengwe

is_that_so wrote: »
    The 4 weeks is significant as it is the point where they say it begins to stop working working so effectively through public fatigue with the measures.

What's the alternative?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭ShayNanigan

New study suggests the two-metre safety distance is nowhere enough. The virus can travel eight metres.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2020/03/27/social-distancing-new-study-suggests-two-metres-not-enough/

Did you see the video where the WHO boss says Covid-19 is airborne?

Meanwhile, I'm still having mild symptoms that are not a regular cold. I've been more or less sick since the end of January. There was about a week in between somewhere and now been ill for over two weeks. It's not getting worse but it's not getting better either. Temperature constantly around 37 to 37.4 so nothing big but still enough to make me feel unwell. Also headache, lung pain occasionally. Chest tightness and feeling of not being able to breath properly is slowly getting better. I don't know what this is but it is annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

WTF is wrong with people
    Gardaí stop woman with Covid-19 out posting letters

Gardaí were left shocked after discovering a woman posting a letter who had tested positive for Covid-19.

The worrying incident happened recently in the south of the country.

Gardaí operating a checkpoint stopped a car and asked a couple why they were out, bearing in mind the current restrictions on travel.....

The female passenger present informed gardaí that she had been recently diagnosed as Covid-19 positive.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/gardai-stop-woman-with-covid-19-out-posting-letters-991239.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

The HSE's inability to present basic facts is leading to rumour and fear. People will start to believe that the HSE are conspiring to hide some of the facts about the pandemic outbreak. People will then move from having a belief in the governments and HSE response and start to believe some of the wilder conspiracy theories that are abroad.

The HSE need to

1 .Tell us how many people have been admitted to ICU units and how many are actually in ICU units at any given moment
    2 .Tell us how many tests have been carried out and processed through labs. Tell us how many test are processed each day.

There is no reason that these facts should not be released.

spookwoman wrote: »
    WTF is wrong with people

Gardaí were left shocked after discovering a woman posting a letter who had tested positive for Covid-19.

Gardaí operating a checkpoint stopped a car and asked a couple why they were out, bearing in mind the current restrictions on travel.....

The female passenger present informed gardaí that she had been recently diagnosed as Covid-19 positive.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/gardai-stop-woman-with-covid-19-out-posting-letters-991239.html

Why the hell did she tell them she had COVID 19?? Sounds like she just wanted to be in the headlines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

New study suggests the two-metre safety distance is nowhere enough. The virus can travel eight metres.

8 metre social distancing?

Unworkable if true, I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

spookwoman wrote: »
    WTF is wrong with people

I suggested that covid19 positive persons should be subjected to gardai checks at home daily. Someone responded, we can't do that because of GDPR!

There should be substantial fines for anyone who tests positive and is found out in the community.

This sh*t has got to stop. That woman could have infected dozens more. The level of stupidity of some people in this country has been exposed in the last month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,148 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Ice Storm wrote: »
    HSE confirm that no nurses have died in Ireland from Covid19.

https://twitter.com/HSELive/status/1244942663142563841?s=20

Everyone should report that Cosgrave guy on Twitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

fritzelly wrote: »
    Everyone should report that Cosgrave guy

Man needs a milkshake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Got to laugh at these incompetent fools they call the Gardai....

Walked past a checkpoint today, guy rolls the window down then the fool proceeds to stick his head in the window breading all over the guy in the passenger seat. At best their faces were 2 feet apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,202 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Not a hope. The restrictions likely to be in place for some months (if we are lucky).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭Steve F

Not trying to be a downer(people will say I am) but once the figures go down and we gradually start going about our business again,the threat will increase again unless the virus completely disappears from the face of the earth(highly unlikely)

We will still have to maintain frequent hand washing,cough etiquette,social distancing etc

Also,I am a firm believer that there will be a "second wave" to this Pandemic.

Our lives won't go back to what we knew as normal before this outbreak for a long time

Our greatest hurdle after the initial outbreak will be complacency

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

MarkY91 wrote: »
    Got to laugh at these incompetent fools they call the Gardai....

Walked past a checkpoint today, guy rolls the window down then the fool proceeds to stick his head in the window breading all over the guy in the passenger seat. At best their faces were 2 feet apart.

I don't believe you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

fritzelly wrote: »
    Everyone should report that Cosgrave guy

I have seen this Cosgrave guy mentioned many times on this thread but I have no idea who he is. I guess I could Google him but the mood music suggests not.
    Why do you read his garbage so?