Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 4.0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Panda Killa

Clegg wrote: »
    Thanks, lads. I know I'm behaving irrationally, but it's good to hear that from others too.

We're all freaking out in one way or another... worried about our kids, our parents, our own health, impact on the future....it can be a little overwhelming...
    All you can do is just protect your little patch, if you're feeling stressed.. stay in and take walks very early in the morning or late at night...just to clear the head..it's quiet then and you can hear yourself think.
    Only go out during the day for essential shopping... other that that ..we have 2-3 weeks sharing each others company here.... You can always unload in here...safe space to have a shout and unburden your worries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,834 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Hi lads, thanks for all the replies to my post about mental health last night. Fell asleep with my mind at ease. Then started reading the Boards thread on the virus and started getting anxious again. It's not in my best interest to read it and only doing me harm, so I'm ignoring it from now on. Especially because there seems to be a minority who relish posting any bad news coming out about what's happening.

Went out for a run earlier. Feeling a bit better about things now.

Hi lads, thanks for all the replies to my post about mental health last night. Fell asleep with my mind at ease. Then started reading the Boards thread on the virus and started getting anxious again. It's not in my best interest to read it and only doing me harm, so I'm ignoring it from now on. Especially because there seems to be a minority who relish posting any bad news coming out about what's happening.

Man that main thread is absolutely poisonous. Even the number of posts gives it a frantic feeling. Boards is not the place to get your info about corona right now imo. You just reminded me its time for my meditation :)

I read some of it easier, it is an absolute trash fire. People trying to whip themselves up into a frenzy basically, or ignoring the established facts about our own testing regime, or screaming "lockdown, lockdown, lockdown!" etc. It's an awful thread.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I read some of it easier, it is an absolute trash fire. People trying to whip themselves up into a frenzy basically, or ignoring the established facts about our own testing regime, or screaming "lockdown, lockdown, lockdown!" etc. It's an awful thread.

Ah here it's just like every other thread in CA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/472f64-covid-19-coronavirus-guidance-and-advice/

Take a quick look at that once a day or watch the news in the evening. It's the only info you'll need on the coronavirus.

Otherwise try not to stress and worry. Use the time at home (if you're working from home/not in work at the moment) to catch up on jobs around the house, catch up on Netflix/prime/whatever, learn a few new skills. There's plenty on the internet to keep occupied. Get up in the morning and make checklist(mental or otherwise) of a few things to get done that day and get through them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

I started painting a few spots on the wall inside the room thinking sure it'll only be an hour or two.

Big mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Rigor Mortis

Pick one news source, Times, Journal, RTE whatever and make that your online Covid outlet. Even too many reliable news sites can get you down. They are all basically saying the same.
    In circumstances like this I like to avoid any media outlet that didnt exist 20 years ago when it comes to getting my information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

I started painting a few spots on the wall inside the room thinking sure it'll only be an hour or two.

Big mistake.

Do a wall a week and you might be finished the house by the time this all quietens down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Pick one news source, Times, Journal, RTE whatever and make that your online Covid outlet. Even too many reliable news sites can get you down. They are all basically saying the same.
    In circumstances like this I like to avoid any media outlet that didnt exist 20 years ago when it comes to getting my information.

This is wise. I have tried to do this and it is working.

I tend to try to keep my news quantiative (personal prefernece) but also I don't need every individual story of tragedy right now. There are just too many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,212 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Wow. I'm impressed with how many of you are getting into the healthy side of this lockdown with regular walks/runs, eating healthy, good sleep and no alcohol.

I've gone the other way - staying up later (no commute so I get to sleep in), constantly grazing on all the food in the house, the gym and pool are shut so no exercise (I hate walking/running) and a drastic increase in my alcohol intake. I'm loving this lockdown :D Apart from the lack of live sport :mad: I think the 19 in Covid19 refers to how many kilos I'm going to put on before it is all over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Did they really have to close the golf courses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Synode wrote: »
    Did they really have to close the golf courses

I think the problem is that we can't let anyone have any fun, because people will see pictures of it on social media and want to have fun themselves.

It's the same with the beaches and the parks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    Wow. I'm impressed with how many of you are getting into the healthy side of this lockdown with regular walks/runs, eating healthy, good sleep and no alcohol.

I've gone the other way - staying up later (no commute so I get to sleep in), constantly grazing on all the food in the house, the gym and pool are shut so no exercise (I hate walking/running) and a drastic increase in my alcohol intake. I'm loving this lockdown :D Apart from the lack of live sport :mad: I think the 19 in Covid19 refers to how many kilos I'm going to put on before it is all over.

*internet high 5*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

There’s absolutely nothing irrational about feeling anxious at the moment. In fact it would be more irrational not to be, as we are faced with a genuine reason to be afraid, an existential threat. Pretty much what our stress response was designed for, keeping us alive. Problem being it wasn’t designed to deal with a neocortex that can figure out hundreds of different possibilities at one time, each creating it’s own physiological response in our bodies. Depositing stress hormones that leave us predisposed to being anxious and have a heightened sense of awareness. That’s why now more than ever we need to have the ability to stay in the present, to keep away from those thoughts about what if and maybe. These are some of the resources I would use in work, some of you may find them useful now.

Some information on mindfulness http://www.freemindfulness.org/download

Also meditation might help with your sleep and generally with the unwanted thoughts, this app may help.

https://www.headspace.com/headspace-meditation-app

Also if you are having difficulty sleeping progressive muscle relaxation can help, there are guided versions on YouTube. The process and other relaxation techniques are covered in this article.

https://www.helpguide.org/articles/stress/relaxation-techniques-for-stress-relief.htm?pdf=11830

Here are some more links and podcasts relating to meditation and mindfulness practices.

https://meditationstudioapp.com/untangle

https://www.tarabrach.com/guided-meditations/

https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/meditation-minis-podcast/id963597166?mt=2

Body Scanning is a useful tool to help focus yourself on the present, especially if you are feeling overwhelmed by stress.
    https://www.verywellmind.com/body-scan-meditation-why-and-how-3144782

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,834 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

This is an excellent guide. Thanks very much.

Sounds like the hospitals are starting to come under pressure. Lot of sick healthcare workers which is extremely worrying.

America is about to become the epicenter of this disease. The growth rate there is very worrying, I'm beginning to wonder if the reality of this is dawning on the wider population at all, from what I've heard first hand from friends there is a huge amount of denial.

The UK have pulled the 'oh I didn't see the email' on the EU ventilator scheme. This will play great with the brexit crowd and give them fresh red meat for the looming deadlines. I honestly can't see it as anything other than playing with fire however. They are turning their backs on established manufacturers with years of track record and instead investing in well known Brexit campaigner and British industrialist James Dyson and paying him (no doubt substantially) to create, manufacture and distribute millions of ventilators within weeks.

Why would they take a gamble like this. Seems incredibly cavalier given the current stakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

10 dead today. RIP to all of them.

Think this is the start of our 'surge'. Thoughts with all the healthcare staff that are going to be run off their feet while putting themselves in harm's way for the next few weeks/months.

Stay safe folks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Zzippy wrote: »
    10 dead today. RIP to all of them.

Think this is the start of our 'surge'. Thoughts with all the healthcare staff that are going to be run off their feet while putting themselves in harm's way for the next few weeks/months.

Stay safe folks!

Nearly 30 garda vehicles involved in chasing down some scumbag joyriding around Glasnevin and finglas about an hour ago.

Think if he is injured in any way he should be just left to rot.

Civil service is shutting down all but essential services as of tomorrow

Its a scary time for a lot of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

BoJo has Covid-19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Neil3030 wrote: »
    BoJo has Covid-19

Fair play to the guy for doing his bit for herd immunity. A leader by example.

swiwi_ wrote: »
    Fair play to the guy for doing his bit for herd immunity. A leader by example.

The party leadership is so dishonest, manipulative and sociopathic that when I read he had contracted the virus I found it hard not to wonder was this genuine or some political opportunism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Is it wrong of me to hope that he doesn't die but does get a bad dose and needs a ventilator for a while? It might give him a bit of perspective on his recent management of the crisis...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Zzippy wrote: »
    Is it wrong of me to hope that he doesn't die but does get a bad dose and needs a ventilator for a while? It might give him a bit of perspective on his recent management of the crisis...

As long as it’s an untested Dyson one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

The guy who said last week he went around shaking everyone's hand in a hospital(it's grand because he washed dummies) has contracted Covid-19? I'm shocked

Gonna kick the booze for a month. Everything is in place except one crucial piece:

What do I call a booze free month of April? Can't get on board without a catchy name. So far I have AA April

• Administrators Posts: 55,127 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Gonna kick the booze for a month. Everything is in place except one crucial piece:

What do I call a booze free month of April? Can't get on board without a catchy name. So far I have AA April

Seems like a terrible time to try kick the booze! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Panda Killa

Personally I think alcohol is the only thing that's going to get me thru April !?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Aprialysis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Dry January / Arid April?

Tomorrow ill be two weeks off the booze for me. Prior to that it was also two weeks, so we'll see how the next two weeks goes.