Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part IX - 785 cases ROI (3 deaths) 108 in NI (1 death) (20 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Fleetwoodmac

storker wrote: »
    My 13 yr old: "But it's lonely!"
    Me: "You're all in the same boat and you have WhatsApp and Skype - you can all be lonely together."

My teenage boys are gone old skool and I hear them wooing and courting the women via the old fashioned method of phone conversations... one obscure bonus to this quarantine!
    Reminds me of the times we hung round the phone boxes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,943 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Dublin is 55% Cock City 15% Rest very low

Bit of an oul edit there boy eh? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

When these pubs licences are up for renewal, people should object on the grounds that they irresponsibly opened during a pandemic. I doubt it'd make much of a difference but it'd be more negative publicity anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

neonsofa wrote: »
    Yeah, I've seen multiple people still spitting. Also kids coughing in peoples faces deliberately as they walk by, im assuming they find it funny.

There may be a simple answer answer to someone spitting.
    I'm a bit forgetful, on the odd occasion I have touched My mouth and just remembered my hands are not clean(cv unclean). Then spitting is a natural reaction to not wanting to swallow a possible virus load.

Before we All turn into police maybe we should just think. We are human, some of us a bit older and maybe a bit slower. Yes we all need to switch on, this is serious. Humans are not all perfect, virus or no virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭makeandcreate

After a few mini meltdowns, they got over it. We do live in the sticks but close friends up and down the road. Luckily, all the parents on the road agreed we would not give in.
    I can imagine it being harder if your in an estate and can see friends outside though
    My girls have it a bit harder as I was in isolation in St.James's for all but a year(had the whole bring in the family/priests thing twice) -
    and then all but lockdown for the following year and hospitalised twice - only saw me every 4/6 weeks for a year and then every 2 weeks since. Every Winter we have to be careful and as we (I) finally thought we could have a cracking year, no hospital this Winter and had approval to take them abroad from Hospital team - this happens.
    We've planted seeds - first year I could touch soil, so that's something!

Some commentators are noting that Italian family structure may be an important factor too. Alot of 18-34 year olds apparently live with their older relatives. If alot of these young people are exhibiting no or very mild symptoms it still makes them extremely dangerous to the older people in the house. Doesn’t take much to imagine what happens next unfortunately. Hopefully the Irish ‘flee the nest’ approach might save alot of our older people in contrast.

A very interesting paper from 2000 comparing British and Italian statistics on the co-residency stats of children living with their mothers. The data is from the mid 1990's I think, but I'd guess it hasn't changed all that much since. See table 5 on page 735. The differences are quite startling and I think play a big factor in whats happening in Italy right now.

Attachment in PDF format.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Fair play him. License should be revoked and the people in them should be named and shamed in the papers. Anyone who knows a pub opening should report them.

https://twitter.com/SimonHarrisTD/status/1241443006324097030

I have no interest in politics at all.

But Simon Harris has conducted himself very well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

You have some serious issues with younger people, going by your post on here. What's all that about?

My only issue is that adults should be setting the rules and giving the orders.
    Teens should be told what to do and obey and there should be consequences if they don't.

What was the point in closing the schools?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭SlowBlowin

elperello wrote: »
    Bit of an oul edit there boy eh? :)

We know it as Cock city as well ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Fair play him. License should be revoked and the people in them should be named and shamed in the papers. Anyone who knows a pub opening should report them.

https://twitter.com/SimonHarrisTD/status/1241443006324097030

Virtue signalling by Simon!

There are enough laws to close these pubs, licencing laws etc. If they want them closed, send the Guards out to clear the houses, prosecute them for opening, bring them to court and fine them, fine anyone 'found on', revoke their licence, and object when they apply again.

There are laws there, fvcking enforce them! Never mind making up new ones.

(This is not to excuse pubs opening, if they should be closed, they should close, and it's obviously a waste of resources chasing them, but FFS the country still needs to be policed, and we never had more Gaurds!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Never thought I'd say this but I hope the weather for the foreseeable future is atrocious. Keep people inside.

Let it piss rain all it wants but I would welcome an increase in the temperature. This winter has gone on long enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Never thought I'd say this but I hope the weather for the foreseeable future is atrocious. Keep people inside.

Having the kids play in the back gardens is a God send after nearly 3 months of storms. I hope the fine weather continues for their sake. Bad enough keeping them in but they need a bit of fresh air in the garden as well.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

JRant wrote: »
    Having the kids play in the back gardens is a God send after nearly 3 months of storms. I hope the fine weather continues for their sake. Bad enough keeping them in but they need a bit of fresh air in the garden as well.

Unfortunately not many parents will be as responsible as you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭coastwatch

https://www.gov.ie/en/press-release/f0c391-statement-from-the-national-public-health-emergency-team-saturday-21/

Hospitalised by Age Group

age range, no., percent
    .... >5..... 2 ..... 1%
    . 5 - 14 ... 1 ..... 1%
    15 - 24 ... 9 ..... 5%
    25 - 34 ... 24 ... 14%
    35 - 44 ... 18 ... 10%
    45 - 54 ... 28 ... 16%
    55 - 64 ... 31 ... 18%
    .... 65+ ... 60 ... 35%
    *all statistics measured at midnight 19 March 2020

Dont think you can take too much from those stats.
    A lot of those (initial cases) were in hospital as an isolation measure, and not for medical needs

Let it piss rain all it wants but I would welcome an increase in the temperature. This winter has gone on long enough.

Yes late Spring.

Gardeners need a break.

Would also cheer up those who lost holidays over this.

Can't beat the feel of a bit of sun on your back.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

jobeenfitz wrote: »
    There may be a simple answer answer to someone spitting.
    I'm a bit forgetful, on the odd occasion I have touched My mouth and just remembered my hands are not clean(cv unclean). Then spitting is a natural reaction to not wanting to swallow a possible virus load.

Before we All turn into police maybe we should just think. We are human, some of us a bit older and maybe a bit slower. Yes we all need to switch on, this is serious. Humans are not all perfect, virus or no virus.

My oh is ten years older than me in his fifties.

He doesn't follow the news, works from home and is generally quite unaware of what is go OJ ng on in the world.

Due to my work and this thread/s I started stocking up in February and he laughed
    I sent him to buy surgical spirits and a thermometer and he laughed
    He stopped laughing when he discovered he got the last of both in the supermarket

His attitude has completely changed now but sometimes people find it hard to believe reality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,981 ✭✭✭connachta

Chloroquine
    Coronavirus is old story in 1 month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

My only issue is that adults should be setting the rules and giving the orders.
    Teens should be told what to do and obey and there should be consequences if they don't.

What was the point in closing the schools?

Teenagers are not Automatons which you can program to behave the way you want.
    While not fully mature they are intelligent and rational human beings. they need to be educated like the rest of us and will rebel if treated the way you prescribe.

I have no idea of your background so wont presume. but maybe try talking to a few teenagers if you get the chance.

Painting them all with the same brush is lazy and for the most part plain wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Italy all non essential business's are closing.

They should have done this far earlier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

complete lockdown in italy, essential supply chains only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,583 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Why the Flying Duck is Glendalough allowed to stay open? What ignorant bastard is running that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

GM228 wrote: »
    Ireland Coronavirus Statistics - Day 22 - Saturday 21/03/2020
    Some of the percentages for your mortality rate on your table are incorrect.

No. Cases|No. Deaths|Mortality Rate
    1|0|0%
    2|0|0%
    6|0|0%
    13|0|0%
    18|0|0%
    19|0|0%
    21|0|0%
    24|0|0%
    34|0|0%
    43|1|2.33%
    70|1|1.43%
    90|1|1.11%
    129|2|1.55%
    169|2|1.18%
    223|2|0.90%
    292|2|0.68%
    366|2|0.55%
    557|3|0.54%
    683|3|0.44%
    785|3|0.38%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Aj007

Hi all. Just my 2 cents here. Hope I'm not breaching any rules.
    I've had some symptoms progressing through out the day today and I had to do some deliveries to customers so I was a bit trigger happy in trying to get talking to a doctor for some advice.
    Being a Saturday i knew my GP would not be working but I dialed the primary care centre incase there would be any info given in the "We are unable to take your call message". I guess that would be a bit much to expect.
    I then went to the HSE website for the info I needed. Advice given was:
    Don't go to a hospital, doctor or pharmacy. Call your GP and they will asses your symptoms and organise a test if necessary. Yeah we have all heard this before.
    Anyway I Dialled the local out of hours doctor MiDoc. This seemed logical but didn't turn out that way.
    When the doc answered, I obviously started to explain that I believed I may be developing symptoms of the coronavirus but she abruptly stopped me in my tracks saying that she could not do any assessment or provide any test and advised me to contact my GP on Monday.
    So I asked her what I should do If my situation deteriorated.
    She replied, follow the guidelines on the HSE website.
    I then explained that that was what I thought I was doing right now.
    She then said she couldn't help me.
    I asked her if the coronavirus is a deadly virus?
    She said it is.
    I replied, yet I have to wait 48 hours to raise the issue with a doctor? Can I go to A+E.
    She said absolutely not, just follow the guidelines on the HSE website.

Moral of the story is don't get Coronavirus at the weekend.

Does this scenario sound balmy to you guys ?
    Does anyone know if you can just rock up to a drive thru testing centre without a referral? I'm thinking not.

connachta wrote: »
    Chloroquine
    Coronavirus is old story in 1 month

You are not being charged by the word.
    What's your sceal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭SlowBlowin

JRant wrote: »

I must admit I fear if this gets as bad as some people are scaremongering a big storm hitting could be the straw that brakes the camels back. We were out of power for 2 days in recent storms, my guess is that if the same storm hit in the next 2 weeks power would be out for much longer. No power, no cash points card payments etc etc.... social disorder... Please lets pray the weather is fine/soft no storms..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

Some of the percentages for your mortality rate on your table are incorrect.

No. Cases|No. Deaths|Mortality Rate
    1|0|0%
    2|0|0%
    6|0|0%
    13|0|0%
    18|0|0%
    19|0|0%
    21|0|0%
    24|0|0%
    34|0|0%
    43|1|2.33%
    70|1|1.43%
    90|1|1.11%
    129|2|1.55%
    169|2|1.18%
    223|2|0.90%
    292|2|0.68%
    366|2|0.55%
    557|3|0.54%
    683|3|0.44%
    785|3|0.38%

Which ones?

All are correct based on number of cases versus deaths on day of death reporting.

Edit: Just day 22 was input wrong, corrected now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

The key number surely will be established when they develop a test to show who has had it. It might be that loads of us have.....a huge multiple of those reported. Until we see that number it’s really hard to know the trajectory of this. It a large number of us (many tens or into the hundreds of thousands) have had this already, then I’m confident that the lockdown will not have to last long. And we’ll finally know the denominator for the death rate calculation.

That doesn’t have any bearing, of course, on the absolute number of people being admitted to the ICU now and over coming days. But it would tell a lot about our trajectory

I just dont get how anyone can predict anything until we have that number. Everything is a guess

You can't test everyone. You can test a representitive sample of the population akin to an opinion poll. You can then extrapolate from this that a certain percentage are infected. It might also tell you where clusters are. Unfortunately I don't think we have the resources for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

bekker wrote: »
    No necessarily correct ..

'After extensive analysis, the Milan team has not yet identified the individual at the root of the worst outbreak in Europe, but they have matched the Italian genetic sequencing of the virus here to a case that emerged in Germany in January.

“The sequence closest to the base of the branch, which is the one that probably precedes the others, came from a person infected in Munich in all likelihood between Jan. 19-22,” said Massimo Galli, head of the university research group and of the infectious-diseases department at Milan’s Sacco hospital.

Galli added that the German patient had caught the virus after contacting someone who came from Shanghai.

He said their analysis showed that the Italian outbreak must have started between Jan. 25-26, well before the first patient was officially diagnosed in the northern town of Codogno.

“We can imagine that a person who contracted the virus in the context of those infected in Munich came to Italy and the area where the virus first spread without showing any symptoms,” Galli told Reuters.'

Reports all over German media <> fact

Yes

And also confirmed by Nexstrain - data from the GISAID Initiative - the international sharing of virus sequences.
    https://www.gisaid.org/

"a decent fraction (10/43) of sequenced viruses sampled after Feb 1 belong to a particular genetic lineage
    This lineage contains viruses sampled from Germany, Switzerland, Finland, Italy, Brazil and Mexico
    At the base of this lineage lies the sample Germany/BavPat1/2020. This was "patient 1" in Bavaria who was infected by a business colleague visiting from China.

Incredibly, it appears that this cluster containing Germany/BavPat1/2020 is the direct ancestor of these later viruses and thus led directly to some fraction of the widespread outbreak circulating in Europe today"

https://twitter.com/trvrb/status/1235104921260675072

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

Teenagers are not Automatons which you can program to behave the way you want.
    While not fully mature they are intelligent and rational human beings. they need to be educated like the rest of us and will rebel if treated the way you prescribe.

I have no idea of your background so wont presume. but maybe try talking to a few teenagers if you get the chance.

Painting them all with the same brush is lazy and for the most part plain wrong.

I know exactly what teens are like they are impossible and I use to be one.;)

Me having a little rant is not painting them anyway and I am sure they don't care anyway.

Having teens in groups is spreading this thing and by the way I was calling people packing pubs in Dublin the other weekend selfish pricks and they were adults.

We need to get EVERYBODY to play along to try and get on top of this thing.

It will be a nice chat to have with little Timmy to explain that he has killed is Grandma it is that serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Aj007 wrote: »
    Hi all. Just my 2 cents here. Hope I'm not breaching any rules.
    I've had some symptoms progressing through out the day today and I had to do some deliveries to customers so I was a bit trigger happy in trying to get talking to a doctor for some advice.
    Being a Saturday i knew my GP would not be working but I dialed the primary care centre incase there would be any info given in the "We are unable to take your call message". I guess that would be a bit much to expect.
    I then went to the HSE website for the info I needed. Advice given was:
    Don't go to a hospital, doctor or pharmacy. Call your GP and they will asses your symptoms and organise a test if necessary. Yeah we have all heard this before.
    Anyway I Dialled the local out of hours doctor MiDoc. This seemed logical but didn't turn out that way.
    When the doc answered, I obviously started to explain that I believed I may be developing symptoms of the coronavirus but she abruptly stopped me in my tracks saying that she could not do any assessment or provide any test and advised me to contact my GP on Monday.
    So I asked her what I should do If my situation deteriorated.
    She replied, follow the guidelines on the HSE website.
    I then explained that that was what I thought I was doing right now.
    She then said she couldn't help me.
    I asked her if the coronavirus is a deadly virus?
    She said it is.
    I replied, yet I have to wait 48 hours to raise the issue with a doctor? Can I go to A+E.
    She said absolutely not, just follow the guidelines on the HSE website.

Moral of the story is don't get Coronavirus at the weekend.

Does this scenario sound balmy to you guys ?
    Does anyone know if you can just rock up to a drive thru testing centre without a referral? I'm thinking not.

How bad are your symptoms. If they are not and self isolate yourself until Monday