Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part IX - 785 cases ROI (3 deaths) 108 in NI (1 death) (20 March) *Read OP*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭deathbomber

Would it not have been far more effective to completely lock down the elderly and at risk and let everyone else work their way through this?
    just to clarify, young people can also get a bad viral infection from it and require ICU treatment such as ventilators etc, if we let it burn through, the capacity of the hospitals will be reached, 5/1 chance you will be hit hard, personally i don't fancy the odds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,710 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

The virus is a minor illness for the vast majority of people. No worse than a sniffle for most. Great to see people out and about on a fine day instead of being consumed with fear. The hardcore extravaganza of panic and economic suicide will create more damage to people's health and wellbeing than the virus itself.

Don't tell this eejit is still here talking utter crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

gabeeg wrote: »

Haven't seen that, but curious given the origin of ring-a-ring-a-rosey

the worst part is they Playing outside pharmacies and tagging elderly people leaving the pharmacy

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭signostic

Filling stations could be a way of spreading the virus, if you are filling up your car please use rubber gloves, every filling station should have them available to customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

murpho999 wrote: »
    Read it properly, article about Korea is for people voting only.

Is it not more dangerous to be holding elections?

Dont bother arguing with the 2 posters that keep replying to you. I tired to get the same point across about masks last night and just got abuse for it. It's even answered in the thread by a HSE consultant that for the general public they are of no use.

Some people cant get that into their head and think wearing them helps, it doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,535 ✭✭✭techdiver

Looking online, people requested tests on Saturday and are still waiting to be told a date today in Cork and similar from other people online. Seems to be a massive backlog here so could be a lot more people here then we think.

In the same boat with family members in the midlands. In some instances the wait might be so long that those tested might be negative at this stage. That might not seem like a big deal, but it might be important to identify who has had the virus and who has recovered from an immunity point of view.

What I don't understand is how are the government going to ramp up testing to many 15000 per day (https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0319/1124042-coronavirus-ireland/) when there is already such a wait for tests?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Typical of the on-thread nonsense being posted - calls for checks of cars disembarking Ferries (check what exactly?), on the spot fines for people standing talking to each other and now a 'one-shop-a-week' enforcement policy.

Do some lads think we have an army of thousands of bureaucrats on stand-by to monitor and enforce whatever is the latest stupid policy they dream up?

Had a smile to myself reading the bit about standing talking to each other.

Text received from NTA to all taxi drivers a few days ago.
    Following a request from Assistant Commissioner Pat Leahy, we would like to remind you about the importance of social distancing from fellow drivers. Today, Gardai driving around Dublin City centre witnessed groups of drivers huddled together. The Gardai requested that they keep their distance from each other to protect their health and that of their families, together with their passengers. Please practice social distancing and hand hygiene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

RugbyLad11 wrote: »
    I feel like a lot of people are saying they are useless because they were not able to buy any. So now they spout out that they are useless to make themselves feel better

Exactly like the people who on here said "You are stupid stock piling , it's just a flu" then when panic set in they were down in Aldi at the exact same time moaning about there being no pasta and how people shouldn't be panic buying while they themselves were panic buying.
    Mentalers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭iwillyeah1234

UK - "Social distancing needs to be in place for most of the year, say government advisers"

https://news.sky.com/story/coronavirus-social-distancing-needs-to-be-in-place-for-most-of-a-year-say-government-advisers-11960920

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Re 'Not being worn correctly or changed regularly causes infection'. This applies in a CLINICAL setting where the wearer has a higher risk of exposure and/or contact with a vulnerable person than a general member of the public does.

Exactly. But as they offer no extra protection when not in proximity of public, it’s the only time where relevant. Obviously it is better than not wearing them. People don’t wash hands properly usually but it’s better than not washing. Same as I’ll fitting masks. But touching face more often seems to be the big issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

techdiver wrote: »
    In the same boat with family members in the midlands. In some instances the wait might be so long that those tested might be negative at this stage. That might not seem like a big deal, but it might be important to identify who has had the virus and who has recovered from an immunity point of view.

What I don't understand is how are the government going to ramp up testing to many 15000 per day (https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0319/1124042-coronavirus-ireland/) when there is already such a wait for tests?
    There will now be 32 centres and I think they said they now have 6 labs working on tests. Some of the drive-in ones could get through a lot each day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭signostic

The virus is a minor illness for the vast majority of people. No worse than a sniffle for most. Great to see people out and about on a fine day instead of being consumed with fear. The hardcore extravaganza of panic and economic suicide will create more damage to people's health and wellbeing than the virus itself.

Try telling that to the people of Bergamo....

Dont bother arguing with the 2 posters that keep replying to you. I tired to get the same point across about masks last night and just got abuse for it. It's even answered in the thread by a HSE consultant that for the general public they are of no use.

Some people cant get that into their head and think wearing them helps, it doesn't.

Is that your opinion? What makes you so knowledgeable about aerodynamics and pathogen transmission. Please do tell.

sky news - Italian army are being called in to enforce the lockdown.

There's this thing called science. People do experiments, they write down the results. They share them. If it is proven and replicated we trust it. People learn stuff and we improve as a whole.

You should check it out. Google science.

How about you stop being so utterly condescending to people every time they put up a post that goes against your own thinking . Talking to people like they're 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Mwengwe

is_that_so wrote: »
    Most people I see at present are normal with none of that. I also hope most of us don't terrify too easily.

Well consider yourself fortunate then because a large amount of people are pigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Is the population not complying?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

signostic wrote: »
    Filling stations could be a way of spreading the virus, if you are filling up your car please use rubber gloves, every filling station should have them available to customers.
    But they don't. Buy your own, they're only around €5 for a box and keep them in your car.

I still see people handing their debit cards to cashiers TO TAP. Some folk are beyond help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

This game of tag the kids are playing , where they shout covid 19 when tagged is a dangerous disgrace

Did you know that
    "Ring-a-ring-a-rosies
    A pocket full of posies
    A tissue, a tissue
    We all fall down"
    dates back to the Black Death?

The ring-a rosies are the rash.
    The pocket full of posies are the herbs people hoped would keep them safe.
    The rest is self explanatory.

Dial Hard wrote: »
    Joe Brolly who went to Cheltenham last week?

This is typical for what passes for comment on here.

I asked you did he go to Cheltenham last week, you don't answer there's no evidence that he did, you just say he did and yet you get thanks for that. Did he go to cheltenham last week or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭Nermal

wakka12 wrote: »
    Both Singpoare and Hong Kong have experienced a strong uptick in the number of new cases recently.
    Hong Kong, 25% increase in cases today
    Singapore 12% increase today, and 20% increase yesterday

Suppression is a failed strategy.
    This game of tag the kids are playing , where they shout covid 19 when tagged is a dangerous disgrace
    the worst part is they Playing outside pharmacies and tagging elderly people leaving the pharmacy

The kids where you are at least retain their sense of humour and perspective. The adults on this thread don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,743 ✭✭✭✭josip

So, martial law?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Did you know that
    "Ring-a-ring-a-rosies
    A pocket full of posies
    A tissue, a tissue
    We all fall down"
    dates back to the Black Death?

The ring-a rosies are the rash.
    The pocket full of posies are the herbs people hoped would keep them safe.
    The rest is self explanatory.

I learned this as a child, most children do

Dundalk, Co. Louth

Is that your opinion? What makes you so knowledgeable about aerodynamics and pathogen transmission. Please do tell.

And what makes you so knowledgeable, I follow medical advice by the HSE who are the only official source to follow.

I'm not going to follow someone online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,015 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Why doesnt Italy have economic experts like facehugger to save them.

TheCitizen wrote: »
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ekjVAhuEUH8

Just listening to this and Joe is very well informed and interesting on this. He's 100 percent correct, leadership on this has been very poor. It's not been great in the Republic and even worse in The North and the UK. There's racing in Dundalk today, what's that about exactly?

After 30 minutes he says we should have shut the border with Northern Ireland. I think we should have done that as well as much as possible, even if it was just to slow traffic over and back across border areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭maebee

WildWater wrote: »
    Just made a donation.

So did I. Not a huge amount but if we all donated even a tenner it would make a big difference.

signostic wrote: »
    Try telling that to the people of Bergamo....

According to Sky News , the main hospital in Bergamo is one of the "most advanced in Europe"..

There's a report from Stuart Ramsey, of Sky News , from inside that hospital:

https://news.sky.com/story/coronavirus-they-call-it-the-apocalypse-inside-italys-hardest-hit-hospital-11960597

"The city of Bergamo invited us in to show everyone what a catastrophic emergency, that nobody has ever experienced before, looks like.

They want you to see it. They want the world's population to question their own governments' responses.

Because there can be no excuse anymore that nobody knew. Italy did not. Now everyone else does."

How about you stop being so utterly condescending to people every time they put up a post that goes against your own thinking . Talking to people like their 2

This is a forum to share information. I don't want people to be misinformed.
    You shouldn't be misinforming people about something you clearly don't understand.

I've posted information from scientific journals. That's not my opinion. If you minimise the risk more people get it. Did you read any of the links?