Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭iwillyeah1234

Trump back to his petulant nasty self again singling out the pharmaceutical companies based in Ireland saying we need to make our drugs here in the USA.
    What a nasty piece of work.

Actually, recently on Joe Rogan, Michael Osterholm said pretty much the same , by saying "imagine if all the munitions of the US military were made in China"

Osterholm didn't refer to Ireland, but referred to the huge amount of drugs being made in China for the U.S. market. - but pretty much meant the same thing.

It's an enormous strategic gap for the Americans, that they are only now waking up to, thanks to Corona.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

foxyladyxx wrote: »
    Same here. I am quite concerned by the breathlessness. I was symptom free for two weeks and am now suffering from a chest infection it would appear.

If you haven't done so, definitely talk to a doctor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,477 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Coronavirus can persist in air for hours and on surfaces for days: study https://www.reuters.com/article/us-health-coronavirus-study/coronavirus-can-persist-in-air-for-hours-and-on-surfaces-for-days-study-idUSKBN2143QP are its spreading somewhat inexplicably

shesty wrote: »
    America does not the concept of "society".It is really each man for himself over there and Trump is the worst example of it.Nasty piece of goods.

A vacuous braggart.

https://twitter.com/nowthisnews/status/1240003639118311424?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

A question for medical people, and maybe it's an idiotic one. Is there any difference in immunity gained by vaccine or having actually suffered a disease?

Trump back to his petulant nasty self again singling out the pharmaceutical companies based in Ireland saying we need to make our drugs here in the USA.
    What a nasty piece of work.

Is there a recording of it handy anywhere?

I was a bit confused as to what was his point, couldn't figure out whether he was saying that the US companies make lots of things in Ireland and that they can get supplies from us or was it what you are saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭ZX7R

blade1 wrote: »
    He said that?
    Wow how nasty can one get.

Thankfully even by presidential decree it will not be easy for him to get them to move back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,583 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

What? American president wants jobs in America? The cheek!
    There is a time and a place for Trump to be discussing those things. And not calling COVID-19 the Chinese virus.
    Bit bloody late now anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭joeguevara

I have stated the consequences already. It is not a scorched earth policy once you effectively isolate those most at risk.

It is the best approach. It is much easier to isolate old and unhealthy people for 6 months than it is to isolate the entire population for 18 months.

It is the best approach in a specific set of circumstances which have not been scientifically determined. Unless those circumstances are there, herd immunity is not the best approach. Suppressing it and limiting exposure until more is known is the best way forward. Also if we subject all medical staff to a virus and they are unable to work because of sickness we are banjaxed. Hence herd immunity has been suspended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,727 ✭✭✭Dave0301

My daughter is really upset by this news. It's such a pity that they couldn't run it even with just videos and let people vote.

For some people Eurovision is a highlight of their year and I reckon it would have been boosted spirits (though obviously not for everyone).

Really? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,193 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

EDit wrote: »
    My wife did, she is on the waiting list for a test (she would Probably be considered medium risk) . If she’s got it, I’ve got it.

Best of luck to both of you. I think that's the case with most households. My own house is too small and absolutely not practical for individual self isolation... if anyone gets it, we will all have it.

We had an outbreak of the vomit bug once and despite very best efforts, we all ended up with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    OH works in a builders providers.
    They are crazy busy.

We were talking last night about what people would do in the event of a lengthy non-essential retail lockdown if people needed to do urgent home repairs.
    Stuff in houses breaks - hardware stores are where one gets the 'parts' to fix the breaks. What if the hardware stores are closed?

and as regards commercial building, watching from my window I see 35 lads working on a small site near me in Dublin. They might actually get enough lads to start building houses now?

shocking situation for many in retail and other areas getting hit immediately with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

RugbyLad11 wrote: »
    Schools set to close on Friday in Scotland, I wonder if NI will follow

If Boris Johnson said people should sacrifice all their children in order to appease the Covid19 gods, or some such, the DUP would do it. Whatever Westminister says, the DUP always follows. They're clueless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Humberto Salazar

I emailed a plumber this morning.

They're here now.

The end of days has arrived.

Did you pay him with four ply toilet rolls? It's the new currency I believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭deathbomber

The coming weeks will tell if its been blown out of proportion i suppose.

I am aware of one confirmed case who returned from cheltenham, tested friday so maybe incubating before they left?

3-4 more from same travel party with similar symptoms awaiting tests this week.

Small sample but possibly quite telling.

I cannot back this up with a source, but it's not fake news..

to clarify, i was suggesting Cheltenham was not alone i.e. premier league attendance etc, my view is it should of been cancelled!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

Ger Roe wrote: »
    Best of luck to both of you. I think that's the case with most households. My own house is too small and absolutely not practical for individual self isolation... if anyone gets it, we will all have it.

We had an outbreak of the vomit bug once and despite very best efforts, we all ended up with it.

The ideas around shared lving e.g. Dun Laoghaire not looking pretty now.

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2019/0730/1066058-co-living-dun-laoghaire/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

A vacuous braggart.

The WHO did not classify it as a pandemic until March 11th.

from the CDC situation summary page:

On January 30, 2020, the International Health Regulations Emergency Committee of the World Health Organization (WHO) declared the outbreak a “public health emergency of international concern” (PHEIC).

On January 31, Health and Human Services Secretary Alex M. Azar II declared a public health emergency (PHE) for the United States to aid the nation’s healthcare community in responding to COVID-19.

On March 11, WHO publicly characterized COVID-19 as a pandemic.
    On March 13, the President of the United States declared the COVID-19 outbreak a national emergency

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

shesty wrote: »
    America does not the concept of "society".It is really each man for himself over there and Trump is the worst example of it.Nasty piece of goods.

Is that a fact? No American has the concept of society. You learn something newon this site everyday. Its a goldmine of information

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,708 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

The ideas around shared lving e.g. Dun Laoghaire not looking pretty now.

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2019/0730/1066058-co-living-dun-laoghaire/

They never were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭greenfield21

There is a time and a place for Trump to be discussing those things. And not calling COVID-19 the Chinese virus.
    Bit bloody late now anyway.

They are now relying on these countries for crucial supplies, why wouldn't he bring this up especially if this crisis persists. Strategic importance and removing complex supply chains along with having that expertise and knowledge back home would be huge win for America. Also the US has the most expensive meds in the world and the likes of Ireland are clearly faciliting this through their tax games on patented products.

silverharp wrote: »
    Is that a fact? No American has the concept of society. You learn something newon this site everyday. Its a goldmine of information

That July 4th stuff, having the stars and stripes on your front lawn, "one nation under God" and all that stuff must be a figment of my imagination. Indeed , a goldmine of information here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭tromtipp

Is a basin of dettol mixed with water of any use in the hallway when housemates arrive home to plunge their hands into? Or would it have to be changed everyday I have just one bottle of dettol was thinking to leave it there for a week at a time then refill it

sorry, I'm sure everyone else has already said this and I'm late to the party, but Dettol doesn't kill viruses, dilute Dettol certainly doesn't kill Covid19, and any basin left for days for people to stick their hands in will become germ soup very quickly.

It's hard to think of a more efficient way of spreading infection.

They are now relying on these countries for crucial supplies, why wouldn't he bring this up especially if this crisis persists. Strategic importance and removing complex supply chains along with having that expertise and knowledge back home would be huge win for America. Also the US has the most expensive meds in the world and the likes of Ireland are clearly faciliting through their tax games on patented products.

Trump doesn't like the pharma companies and how they are ripping off his base. The prices over there are unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,727 ✭✭✭Dave0301

UK education secretary speaking later today. All UK schools to close by the end of the week I would assume.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

UK: +676 cases. No additional deaths (yet)....I think they are announced separately/later.

Dave0301 wrote: »
    UK education secretary speaking later today. All UK schools to close by the end of the week I would assume.

Scotland is closing all schools on Friday.

The Coronavirus bill, due to be passed in the UK on Thursday, will give the Education Secretary the legal power to shut schools by order. ( they have a mixture of types of schools in the UK, with some being completely independent of the Department of Education)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,855 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Dave0301 wrote: »

Scotland and Wales closing from.Friday.

joeguevara wrote: »
    It is the best approach in a specific set of circumstances which have not been scientifically determined. Unless those circumstances are there, herd immunity is not the best approach. Suppressing it and limiting exposure until more is known is the best way forward. Also if we subject all medical staff to a virus and they are unable to work because of sickness we are banjaxed. Hence herd immunity has been suspended.
    Herd immunity has been suspended because most experts are in the pocket of big pharma. They want us to sit around for 18 months so none of us have any immunity to it and then they'll sell their vaccine to the entire planet.

Unchecked, 10% of positive tests require hospitalisation. Actual numbers of infected are believed to be at least 15x higher than positive tests.

So 0.6% of infected require hospitalization. We can identify most of those - elderly, diabetes etc. Put these people in very effective isolation and you can easily reduce the amount of people requiring hospitalisation 10-fold.

Then you let the virus run through the population, 0.06% of infected will require hospitalisation. It won't be all at once, most will recover quickly, we can handle that. 99.94% of infected will get no worse than a flu.

In 6 months time most of us will have caught it. A test to identify if you are immune and non-spreading will be over-the-counter, cheap and widely available. You can begin lifting the isolation one group at a time. They will still need to practice social distancing but their family members can all get a test to see if they are immune and non-spreading. We can wear colored badges to notify others that we are immune.

So most coming out of isolation will not get it. The damage to the economy and daily life will be minimal.

Not a fan of Trump and he was bull****ting about being ahead of the curve on this when he actually is late to the party. But he seems to be getting his act together and dare I say it actually looking like something of a leader on this!!

On the Irish Pharma thing he actually said Ireland was doing tremendous work in the context of being an alternative to China in term of as source of Pharma/medical device imports. He THEN went on to say about bringing that industry home.

Here it is https://youtu.be/vvdjqrxSOFk?t=4194