Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Wibbs wrote: »
    I hope she's announced this from her home.

In the East of the country to be precise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

I have one question that I've been wondering since the outbreak of this virus....with swine flu in 2009, why didn't the schools/businesses shut down back then? IIRC swine flu was just as big a deal and serious news for a few months (or at least thats the impression I was given from watching the news at the time).

Didn't have the same attrition rate. i.e health systems not overwhelmed by it. This makes people very sick for a very long time. It makes the people who have to treat the patients very sick. In short it can cripple a country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

bb12 wrote: »
    ciara kelly on newtalk has just announced she's tested positive on-air

Presume she talking from isolation at home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

lucalux wrote: »
    Good news moment:

Drive-in movie theatre at Leopardstown!
    I know it's been mentioned a few times on this thread already

They just had a feature on RTE Radio 1.

Book online, no contact with anyone outside your own car. Tune in your radio for audio!

Shows at 12, 3, 6 and 9pm.

Seems like a great initiative for the times, fair play to them

https://www.retrodrivein.ie/

Was there on Monday evening for The Goonies. Suprised at how much we all (me, wife and 2 kids) enjoyed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

Presume she talking from isolation at home?

I heard she's at a lockin in Temple Bar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

An upside of this virus is that you'll have 1 or 2 "truthers" pop up on your Facebook feed and you can then mute them and disregard anything they ever say again to you in person. Small wins.

There's definitely and increae in plebs that are associating it with 5g.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,719 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Lissoy wrote: »
    RTE reporting that according to IDA Ireland, 50% of ventilators used in acute hospitals worldwide are made in Ireland. Makes sense now that we have been able to resource an extra 300 and 100 per week afterwards. At least we are not depending on them coming from outside the country

where do you think the parts come from ?

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

That's one of the East of the country identified

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

I would actually love to know how Ciara Kelly contracted it, this is vital information in the scheme of things. Not precisely her case, but if people were actually aware of the moment they got it after the fact it would be a huge help to others. Would be quite scary if she has no idea though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

Pinch Flat wrote: »

I've just been assuming those types of posts are parody/satire. Maybe I'm giving too much credit :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,444 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Yes they are to call the GP but realistically what can someone who's trained to be on a phone line taking calls from people who might not have a gp regarding covid do about home help ?
    It's a different department and I know because I have a relative in the same position and it's the care office we contacted. They in turn take direction from the relative hse department

It is precisely the relevant HSE department I am seeking to identify. So far, 4 0hone calls later, no one can or will identify the department responsible for issuing infection control directives to home care workers. I'm trying to find out who, exactly, advised my home help office that it wasn't necessary to supply their staff with ppe before I talk to the office. From what I have been able to gather, the only guidelines issued have been those applied to clinicalsettings. So in other words, no directive specific to a cohort of workers work closely with and in the homes the most at rusk of death group has been issued.

You think that's alright?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Pinch Flat wrote: »

Turns out 5G is the cause of pleb increase, another conspiracy maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,749 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Was there on Monday evening for The Goonies. Suprised at how much we all (me, wife and 2 kids) enjoed it

what was the sound like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

neonsofa wrote: »
    I've just been assuming those types of posts are parody/satire. Maybe I'm giving too much credit :pac:

Yeah I'm not sure about that. Engaged with one of them woke fellas for the Craic. You know, the fake profile with a wolf or Some sort of Celtic motif as their profile picture. One fella challenged me to prove that hand washing works as there's no scientific evidence. I'm guessing that's why surgeons scrub up prior to surgery, but then again Im not medically yrained. There's a few genuine fruit cakes out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

Blanco100 wrote: »
    I would actually love to know how Ciara Kelly contracted it, this is vital information in the scheme of things. Not precisely her case, but if people were actually aware of the moment they got it after the fact it would be a huge help to others. Would be quite scary if she has no idea though

She said she hasn't a clue. This is pretty much everywhere now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Who notifies you of the test results? Presumably your GP ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,749 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I don't want to be cynical but that screams attention seeking to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,823 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

I'd be guessing through interviewing some of the medics treating it. Although probably most of these are done over the phone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Refractions

Has she been spreading it over the airwaves the last two weeks??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭SeaBreezes

I'm classified as a potential case by my doctor.

Some symptoms for two weeks but today quite breathless and sore chest. Could be unrelated chest infection or could be Covid.

Good news is that if it is Covid I am probably not shedding the virus as it has been two weeks. Been told to self isolate for another week as a precaution.

What were your symptoms for the last 2 weeks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,765 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

How is it scary if she has no idea.

I think the majority of cases will not know how they contracted it before the new measures came in.

That's why social distancing is so important.

Ediit: She just said that she does not know how she got it which is completely normal. Before last week everybody was in contact with hundreds of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

Who notifies you of the test results? Presumably your GP ?

Jeremy Kyle.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Source?

Oh God, i don't want to see that :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Good to see the curve of posting on this thread is starting to flatten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

It would be helpful is she could identify the possible anonymous source of it.

I think contact tracing is almost pointless at this stage though. Nearly impossible to contact everyone you've been in contact with. And then you have contacts of contacts.

The best thing is if everyone restricts movement as much as possible and almost take the view they are already infected.

Most of us are going to get it eventually, but the best we can hope for is to slow down the spread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Cheltenham clowns should be treated last.

Then sent to gulag?

Nah feck that, we're civilised round here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

lawred2 wrote: »
    I don't want to be cynical but that screams attention seeking to me

How is that seeking attention? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Whats the procedure for the following?

Person A is currently waiting to be tested for Covid-19.

Person B was with him on thursday evening. Person B is showing zero symptoms?

What does Person B do?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Has she been spreading it over the airwaves the last two weeks??
    Maybe I'm being unkind, but she's been spreading something over the airwaves for a lot longer.:D

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    Whats the procedure for the following?

Person A is currently waiting to be tested for Covid-19.

Person B was with him on thursday evening. Person B is showing zero symptoms?

What does Person B do?
    Self isolate?

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.