Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Now ye're talking - to a consultant in the HSE [Questions thread]

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Agus

Thanks for taking the time to do this, I think it really helps to have good information out there as much as possible.

1. How soon do you think the number of infected people in Ireland who need treatment will reach a level where the health service is finding it hard to treat them all?

2. I've seen reports that asthma may be a risk factor because Covid might exacerbate the asthma, but the actual Covid illness itself isn't necessarily more severe. In other words, the claim is that the main extra risk to people with asthma is that they will end up with both Covid illness & a severe exacerbation of the asthma, and therefore the additional risk for people with mild asthma is probably not much greater than people without asthma. Is this likely to be accurate or not?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭Purgative

If you're not a public health specialist you have no business providing official COVID-19 advice, even cloaked as personal advice, to the public. It's bad enough with the Whatsapp rumours, but talking about writing your own will at the same time as attempting to give advice in your capacity as a consultant is inapproriate. Regardless of whether it turns into a "war".
    Even if you claim you're not representing the HSE people will still place weight on your words.

Kok. I'm grateful for the advice. Aside from the froth about implied experts, where has he given incorrect or misleading advice.

Aside from his personal insights my main take aways are social isolation, distancing and hand washing.
    Balf wrote: »
    On the button, IMHO.

I'd feel there's about as much foresight put into this thread, as there is into how long we can seriously expect the global economy to go to a halt.

Maybe we should ask him if threats like Covid 19 show the impracticality of organising access to medical knowledge through a tiny bunch of highly paid consultants. I think he'll know what we mean.

If he does I don't. What are you proposing instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,237 ✭✭✭Damien360

Boards admin. This is how these “now your talking.....” threads should be organised from now on. Question thread for all and answer thread solely for one person, quoting the questions from thread number one. The answers don’t get lost in a stream of chaff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Balf

Purgative wrote: »
    If he does I don't. What are you proposing instead.
    Sure how could I respond to the charge that I don't understand what we're dealing with, made by folk implementing measures that they don't understand the impact of?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,061 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

If you're not a public health specialist you have no business providing official COVID-19 advice, even cloaked as personal advice, to the public. It's bad enough with the Whatsapp rumours, but talking about writing your own will at the same time as attempting to give advice in your capacity as a consultant is inapproriate. Regardless of whether it turns into a "war".
    Even if you claim you're not representing the HSE people will still place weight on your words.
    The difference between someone qualified and checked out as such by the Boards office and the whatsapp nonsense is they're not talking utter bollocks, spread by cretins and believed by morons.

And I hate to break it to you petal, but we're most certainly on a "war" footing. Just look at China, Korea, Italy, Spain... Where Italy is now will be us in a few weeks time if we're not very careful and stop acting like retards(which means we will be Italy in a few weeks). And those who will be hit hardest by this hour after hour, day after day, likely for months are the men and women of the health and emergency services. I for one want to hear from them whatever their capacity. If someone doesn't then don't read the thread. Simples.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 916 ✭✭✭1hnr79jr65

Hi OP, thanks for taking the time to answer. I regularly attend hospital clinics for my own health issues and know how hard doctors, nurses and support staff work to make everything work for us, you are all very much appreciated.

My eldest nephew (age 11) has cystic fibrosis, my sister does all his IV's at home, he is on orkambi, lung capacity up and all good stuff at the moment. However with the virus going around there is obviously a concern for him as lung functionality could become an issue. He is very good at washing hands and looking after himself like meds for his age, but there are going to be times where he cant control a situation and may pick this virus up.

Some advice that was given to me today (cant confirm person is a health professional) was that if my nephew showed symptoms then get him to a sauna 2-4 times a week for 30 mins at a time that and the heat and steam of the sauna would kill the virus as it lodges in eyeducts, nasal cavity. Is there any truth to this ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

I watching a UK parliament committee asking about the lack of appropriate PPE for medical staff on the front line of the NHS.

How are medical staff fixed for safety equipment in treating patients.
    Not nice to be treating a broken leg and have someone cough over you and have no protection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Balf

Wibbs wrote: »
    The difference between someone qualified and checked out as such by the Boards office and the whatsapp nonsense is they're not talking utter bollocks, spread by cretins and believed by morons.
    Fine if it's You're Talking To A Florist.

Not so fine for this. Or has the Boards office some wider function in the administration of public health medicine that we're unaware of?
    Wibbs wrote: »
    If someone doesn't then don't read the thread. Simples.
    There we are in complete agreement.

Some advice that was given to me today (cant confirm person is a health professional) was that if my nephew showed symptoms then get him to a sauna 2-4 times a week for 30 mins at a time that and the heat and steam of the sauna would kill the virus as it lodges in eyeducts, nasal cavity. Is there any truth to this ?

I’ve listened to so many podcasts and this came up a couple of times and every time it was knocked down. A doctor on I think pat kenny or Sean O’Rourke said it was nonsense. The sauna is great for your skin but doesn’t kill the virus at all. Even the hottest possible sauna.

• Registered Users Posts: 258 ✭✭Fishorsealant

What do you think of the situation regarding dentists?
    One of the professions most at risk yet very little guidance available. One of the last professions to be considered despite providing an essential role and being at high risk.
    Many dentists taking it on their own to decide whether to open or close.
    Do you think forced closure except for emergency treatment would be wise?

• Registered Users Posts: 916 ✭✭✭1hnr79jr65

Damien360 wrote: »
    I’ve listened to so many podcasts and this came up a couple of times and every time it was knocked down. A doctor on I think pat kenny or Sean O’Rourke said it was nonsense. The sauna is great for your skin but doesn’t kill the virus at all. Even the hottest possible sauna.

The doctor responded with it being dangerous advice.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Keep hearing that the majority of people will get through this fine at home?

Do we ring doctor on day 1 just to make them aware that you're not feeling the best?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭JoChervil

Thank you for your answer in Aswers thread, yet you really didn't answer my question.

I know that there were no Covid-19 tests conducted in Ireland in Dec/Jan. Therefore the link to this simulation prooves nothing. This simulation is based on delived data. If Ireland delivered nothing for that time, so how could it be shown there.

My question was: how these strange disease cases were proved to be a different strain of flu? How many tests were made to prove it (percentage). I would like to rule out the possibility that someone simply assumed it was something not covered by current vaccine without checking it.

I think such question may be helpful because if this disease was already here, so some people could have gained immunity against it and could be in a front line of cobating it instead of isolating themselves.

Buring head in the sand isn't helpful...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,061 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Damien360 wrote: »
    I'd be thinking if the air in the sauna that you breathed in was of sufficient temperature to kill a virus your airways and lungs would be badly scalded and a virus would be the least of your worries. :D Humans have very efficient ways to cool(and heat) incoming air to render it safe and usable for the body. The fact that you find us in polar climates as well as deserts shows this. The fact you can have Scandinavians running from the super heated air of a sauna out into feckin baltic air and into a plunge pool and their bodies are "be grand" a good example.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭locohobo

No questions..Just to say well done to you and you're fellow front line staff....
    From the description you gave of you're own self imposed current isolated lifestyle it should be enough to make people aware as to just how serious this threat is..
    Myself:- Legionnaires disease 10/'19...COPD..Smoker...SO I realise the limitations of my survival through this and have already come to terms with it..will not be expecting to tie up an incubator....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

Thank you so much, it’s great to have so much information in one place. I’m just wondering, as A & Es become overwhelmed with this - will there be seperate areas for people coming in with other problems. Thinking of elderly parents having middle of the night heart symptoms or similar. Would letting people wait in cars be an option?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,304 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Thanks for your inputs, very helpful, and thanks for your ongoing work.

What's your understanding of the risk of outdoor activities, particularly for teenagers? Is there risk arising from a brisk walk, or a chat at a picnic table outdoors? Mental health is a real concern, and they do need to have some contacts outside the family circle.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,891 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

I see you had queries earlier about 3D printing facilities.

I don't know the names of any companies off the top of my head, but I have done a Masters In Bioengineering (engineer by training myself), I would suggest contacting Universities...the likes of Trinity, UCD, UCG, NCAD, and UL- as these all have good programmes in these areas and a wealth of knowledge that would be of help.

Best of luck in the weeks ahead.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,723 ✭✭✭con747

As above, our AMA guest here is a consultant in the HSE. I have verified his identity and that he is a consultant in HSE.

Hopefully his answers to questions will be a valuable resource for everyone and for that reason we are opening this thread for questions and a separate answers thread to keep all of the informative content in his answers together.

Please stick to this format for Qs & As as posts from anyone other than the OP in the answers thread will be removed.

ANSWERS can be found here.

Thanks all :)

Please note, as always do not ask for medical advice.

OP the answers thread is getting responses that need to be relocated.

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Thanks for answering my question.

• Registered Users Posts: 605 ✭✭✭rubberdungeon

IADT also have courses in 3D Animation and 3D design and model making.

They have the printers and students who know how to use them.

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭mrsherself

Hi!
    I was just wondering - I know best advice is to stay inside, but for those of us who will end up going mad, is there anything wrong with going for a walk outside by yourself?
    Is it not a good idea to go to a park where there will be other people?

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭locohobo

Back at ya Bud...and hopefully!!....

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭malpas

Firstly may I thank you and your many colleagues for your dedication and for putting yourselves in danger despite the risks. This is a valuable thread with great information and is much appreciated. I'm not sure if this is an appropriate query but here goes.

My wife and I are in our late 60's. She has well controlled bronchiectasis for c.5 years and I was hospitalised and successfully treated for septicaemia around then also. No major issues, both in good health and walk daily. Would either condition mean a greater risk of complications if we got infected?

We are taking all recommended precautions and don't expect a medical opinion, just any general views you feel you can offer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭Sober Crappy Chemis

Realistically, is it a big risk to go to a supermarket or pharmacy obeying physical distance etc, if one has asthma and is also immunosuppressed?

This question and answer thread(s) has taken me completely away from the main rumour and conjecture thread. It has done wonders for my well being with regards to worry. Yes I know it’s coming and unavoidable but the main thread lacks the sanity in these.

• Registered Users Posts: 33 Olaz

Thank you for your informative and reassuring answers so far.

What is your opinion of small children (aged 5-9ish) playing together in small groups on driveways/on the road while doing their very best to maintain social distancing; children who play together everyday and who, under normal circumstances, are in and out of each others houses almost everyday. They wash their hands immediately after coming in, and door handles etc are cleaned regularly throughout the day. Are they putting us, their parents, at risk? They are isolated from everyone other than their own parents and those few pals. Is this behaviour potentially speeding up the spread?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭up for anything

I met a friend I haven't seen for a couple of years the other day. We were chatting about our children, one 'stranded' on a Spanish island and mine just home. I asked her kind of tongue in cheek about what her husband, a fairly senior detective locally, and his colleagues thought of the whole Covid-19 'business'. She replied that his job description had been changed to one thing, just the one thing. When I asked her what, she replied, "transporting dead bodies". From what the undertakers were told and from general knowledge I know that the bodies of those who die of Covid-19 will be hastened to the crematorium and into the ground as quickly as possible and will need people to be responsible for the process. However, the way she said it and the look on her face seemed to say volumes. Are you expecting many people to die in the next couple of months and what is the figure? I assume a figure must be available from the data from other countries and applied to Ireland. Morbid question, I know.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭up for anything

Oh, another question, if you don't mind. People with Diabetes are very much at risk apparently. Is it more those with Type 1 or those with Type 2 or those who have Diabetes which needs to be treated with insulin rather than Metformin/exercise/diet. Are Type 2s with just over the borderline sugar levels, more at risk than someone without it. If you're not sure, would you be able to point me in the direction of some information please and thanks?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Olaz wrote: »
    Thank you for your informative and reassuring answers so far.

What is your opinion of small children (aged 5-9ish) playing together in small groups on driveways/on the road while doing their very best to maintain social distancing; children who play together everyday and who, under normal circumstances, are in and out of each others houses almost everyday. They wash their hands immediately after coming in, and door handles etc are cleaned regularly throughout the day. Are they putting us, their parents, at risk? They are isolated from everyone other than their own parents and those few pals. Is this behaviour potentially speeding up the spread?

Given that Arklow in particulr is a hotbed for Crona and you like the rest of the population have been specifically warned that children are at high risk and specifically asked to observe social distancing it is difficult to figure out why you think this does not apply to you and your family and children.