Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Clarence Boddiker

PmMeUrDogs wrote: »
    Not a FG voter, and I don't agree with everything they've done so far wrt the pandemic (but then I'm not a politician), but I really do have enormous respect for how they've handled this. I can see Varadkar going down in history for his handling of this. Fair play to them. It's definitely making me re-think my voting preferences.

Govt shill detected. Tone it down a bit and it'll come across as more realistic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Could you imagine Enda Kenny trying to handle this?? Fook
    I'd say he'd do a good job actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭madcabbage

The supervalu i work in everyone has gloves on now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭babybuilder

are the staff in the supermarkets stocking the shelves wearing gloves
    Clean down any wrapped foods with wipes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Syncpolice

vladmydad wrote: »
    Yep and the team around him are amazing

He's ahead of the curve, the beautiful curve

Said so himself

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

I had to log on specifically to thank this post.
    People should never underestimate just how vital it is for the population of a country to be reassured that their leaders can be trusted to do the right thing in a crisis.
    Leo, Simon Coveny and Simon Harris, have all gone up in my estimation as a result of their actions during this crisis.
    That speech was needed tonight, and was perfectly weighted for the point we are currently at on the curve.
    There will be more of these needed unfortunately, as we move into different stages, and implement new measures, but I rest assured that these guys genuinely have our best interests at heart.

How ironic it is that a few weeks ago FG wanted to go into opposition and now may well be in charge of the country at the time of its greatest crisis since WW2 maybe since the foundation of the state.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Duke of Url

statesaver wrote: »
    Did you watch Trumps press conference today ?
    If not, i think you should. Was measured just like Leo's but without the scaremongering of Leo's.
    Go watch it and see.

What do you mean scaremongering?

He was being serious about a deadly serious issue we are facing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

I remind people here that Dr Tony Fauci, America’s leading Immunologist, said Trumps weeks old China ban and his EU ban has saved lives and bought America time....Leo could of done the same for us with the Italian flights but nope his EU masters wouldn’t give permission.

The speech was to underline whats ahead of us and reemphasise what we need do as a small island, slow it down by distancing ourselves from others.

Take your political shíte elsewhere. by the way, the Americans have fúcked up rightly with coronavirus.

This country will have more emergency powers by the end of week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭EB_2013

Or Brian Cowen

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,398 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

You mean the Government. Not the Country.

Probably the regional authorities. But I can see central government quickly holding them to account.

Talk of the world taking revenge on China for this pandemic is nonsense. Just look at industrial meat production all around the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

He would have done fine imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Grueller Baby

Shoutout to those who felt both emotional and inspired during Leo's speech.

As a person who wouldn't usually give him the time of day, he pulled no punches and was direct, to the point and delivered a speech in such a manner that you could not fail to be impressed.

We will get through this and we'll be stronger on the other side. Look after yourselves and your families.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,322 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

silver2020 wrote: »
    whatever your political views, (and mine is not blue), that speech was out of the ball park in terms of calmness, information, a small amount of humour and general common sense.

Whilst all the SF types are probably throwing up (Thank F"CK they are not in power) most sensible people will have been comforted by the speech.

I like the way he gave us a load of bad news in the speech and made no attempt to spoof his way out of it - the type of thing Winston Churchill would do.

Govt shill detected
    I think this kind of shyte should get carded.

Pandemic and people still obsessed with telling people they are shilling for simply expressing a view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

She is hiding

Why can't her husband mind the kids? I genuinely don't get it, would this be the case when she is Taoiseach?

Like her or not she is a massively influence on people in this countries. Id hope shed row in behind the country now

• Administrators Posts: 55,044 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

How ironic it is thatba nfew weeksa go theybwanted to go into opposition and now may well be in charge of the country

And how lucky we are for it.

If there was an election tomorrow I know who I'd be voting for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭basillarkin

statesaver wrote: »
    Did you watch Trumps press conference today ?
    If not, i think you should. Was measured just like Leo's but without the scaremongering of Leo's.
    Go watch it and see.
    i saw the one yesterday where he simply ran out, man is so out of his depth, was a hoax first. A fraud of a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,877 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

That speech was right up there with his love actually comments. Like a naked gun pi$$ take.

Anyone getting any sort of comfort out of it needs their head checked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Downlinz

China will have to be held accountable for this virus. The disgusting wet markets and vile dog eating habits must end. Also the vital information they suppressed for 6 vital weeks.

Not like we didn't have plenty of warning to prepare from what happened in Italy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

How exactly did austerity not work, the Irish economy recovered and has been booming for a number of years.

It prolonged the pain far too long. We'd have been much better off now had the government been allowed to borrow all round, leave services as they were, and invest in the economy. The evidence was available in the UK: Under Gordon Brown's stimulus measures, they had turned the corner. Then the Tories came in with ideological reasons to pare back the state and everything went to hell in a handcart.

Also, not just my opinion but also the IMF and others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 877 ✭✭✭jk23

It was a good speech tonight but it won't be much use in a month's time if our parents and grandparents are in hospital very soon,lockdown the country is the only and close the factories for a few weeks it's the main thing that will save lives

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Syncpolice

Or mental mickey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Thank you so much kind person on the internet. Much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

That speech was right up there with his love actually comments. Like a naked gun pi$$ take.

Comfort wasnt the target, it was to make idiots take this seriously

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,398 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Shoutout to those who felt both emotional and inspired during Leo's speech.

As a person who wouldn't usually give him the time of day, he pulled no punches and was direct, to the point and delivered a speech in such a manner that you could not fail to be impressed.

We will get through this and we'll be stronger on the other side. Look after yourselves and your families.

Well said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,322 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

madcabbage wrote: »
    The supervalu i work in everyone has gloves on now

Yes I was in SuperValu this evening and everyone had gloves and there were gloves for the customers too.

It was surprisingly busy as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

silver2020 wrote: »

Whilst all the SF types are probably throwing up (Thank F"CK they are not in power) most sensible people will have been comforted by the speech.

Why are posters continuing to try and score political points like this? It's childish and petty in the extreme given the circumstances.

I voted SF in the last election and I wasn't 'throwing up', I though he did a sterling job of addressing the nation. Perhaps not all SF 'types' have the hive mind you assume they do. Grow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Soulsun

Yep I feel the same, political speech and a lack of clarity for me.

It really wasn't whatsoever like your first paragraph. People need to think for themselves and stop throwing out that kind of stuff for the sake of it.

Who the hell would get comfort out of it? It was totally ominous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Clarence Boddiker

I hope people realise theres a multitude of Government shills right now on these very boards expressing their gratitude at how well the government are handling the situation.