CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Was there much need for a TV address, given he said nothing new?

Just maybe people might take things more seriously?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

No we are not at war.relax with the drama

This is what modern war looks like. Have a look at Bill Gates Ted talk from a few years back on this topic. Wish they had listened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

Agree 100%. The mention of our most precious hit me like a tonne of bricks.

Same. Lost my lovely granny last year and in a way i am thankful i do not have to worry about her going through all of this- although i know she'd have had some things to say about it! :pac:
    But grandparents and older people are the most precious people to so many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

[QUOTE=Quantum Erasure;112867185]can easily imagine her doing it, whats your point?[/QUOTE]

well then you would be in the minority............She would go on a rant about social housing and hoping this crisis would bring about a united Ireland... Leo did very well there with the speech, informative, told us want we needed to know and told us that we will be in this for the long haul... no bells and whistles, just told it like it is.. Like any head of state should speak...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,956 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

GREAT fckin speech and way beyond what USA and UK are doing. Thanks Leo.

I've seen and heard many politicians from many countries in my time and he came across as a true statesman to me. Well done.

I know others will complain but I don't give a toss about begrudging nay-sayers who will complain regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,928 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

LRNM wrote: »
    wtf was the point of that? :confused:

To prepare people, to keep them updated and informed and to keep people calm.

That's what good leadership is.

It's not just about dramatic announcements that people here want.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 13,333 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Excellent speech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,712 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Mods I know it is not possible but is there any way possible to ban the would lockdown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭hurikane

LRNM wrote: »
    Far from a good speech imo. The way it was pre-announced it had everyone thinking it was going to be a big important announcement.

But no, just thanks lads you're all doing a great job.

Nothing new. No info. Just back patting.

Wtf did you want? Martial law, shoot on site?

He was excellent. Did what he could to ease peoples fears and set the tone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,568 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

MipMap wrote: »
    Yes - never before was so much owed by so many by so few etc.,,

The important bit was he flagged the term "Cocooning" meaning the OAPs will be told to self isolate for at least 3 months.

Same message as Boris is putting out.

Slight difference is Leo never thought killing off the OAPs was an option.

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

Yes there was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Sitting down now to listen to Leo. Can someone PM me if he mentions calling out the army?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭sterz

STB. wrote: »
    Oh that is coming.

Emergency powers will be passed through the Seanad before they close at the end of the week.

Using the same source as drunkmonkey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,716 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

You got to hand it to Leo he said it as it is and said the truth. Would you rather have Boris or Trump in charge? I know I wouldn't and I am no fan of Leo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,102 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Feck sake if they hold an election tomorrow I'd be tempted to vote for him.

Few weeks ago he was the only person on the ballot I didn't give a preference to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Humberto Salazar

Economic ruin certain. We'll be back into the 1950s after this. A lost decade coming up. We'll have to borrow billions and pay it back jig time. Taxes up, services cut. Recession. I doubt the foreign multinationals will stay or be able too to be honest. Pretty apocalyptic actually, there are no bright lights from this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

Great speech but do not agree with that €30 per phonecall for GPs. That's way too much for very little.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

To all those that voted shinner and wanted Mary who.that was some speech by Leo and I wouldn’t be his biggest fan.fair play to him and I hope the people of Ireland will think of it the next time we vote.dont be hoodwinked by shysters and con men.look at what Boris and trump are and are doing

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 43,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

statesaver wrote: »
    I agree but 15000 cases by the end of March ???? That would mean 1000's over the next weeks
    Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Btw it was a very good speech but this 15,000 by the end of the month number will scare people. That was my point. I realise that it's good to be upfront with people but surely there a better way to convey that message without giving a number. That was my point.

They HAVE to scare people to keep it at 15k. If people don't have cop on, it will be worse, quicker, and more people will die as a result.

This really isn't a scenario where they can afford to mollycoddle people, cause when they did, people ran to the pubs and thought it was a joke...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,579 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

STB. wrote: »
    From modelling, Stephen.

He is pointing out there is a shít storm coming up and VERY soon.

Its is going to go on for months well into the summer.

Asking that older people cocoon themselves and gen public to social distance.

This is all about not overwhelming the limited health resources and ventilators that we have in Ireland.

The modeling doesn't seem to take any impact from the measures already put in place.

They've used the term flatten the curve and we're doing that but they wont be 30% per day say 3 or 4 weeks down the line if the measures being put in place are effective.

Like I said if its 15k that gives us the highest number of cases per capita in the world

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

ArielAtom wrote: »
    I’m not a LEO fan, but that was, honest l, concise and did not sugar coat it. He was short of saying a complete lockdown, but he is being led by medical experts, led by Dr Tony Holohan. Stop sharing bull**** and listen to the experts. Well done Leo.

+1, not a fan of Leo but good speech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 smallfryy

I'm no fan of Leo nor Fine Gael but he is a fantastic speaker. His speeches are not only well written but his delivery is clear and genuine. I do think he is handling this all really well. Political preferences aside, he doesn't have an easy job right now. I know I couldn't do it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Also, older people may not be gorging on online media in relation to it. It may not be news to most of us but the older people may not be like that and it gives them a good status of where we are now and where we are going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

So much back seat moderating now

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Btw it was a very good speech but this 15,000 by the end of the month number will scare people. That was my point. I realise that it's good to be upfront with people but surely there a better way to convey that message without giving a number. That was my point.

There isn't actually.

Unfortunately there are still idiots out there playing this down, ignoring the social distancing advice and generally being a gob****e with no thought for anyone but themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,052 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Well done Leo, serious stuff.

Feels like we're at war, which I guess we are in a way.

Yes, we are at war. Nothing new in it but was fine but no De Valera.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

skimpydoo wrote: »
    You got to hand it to Leo he said it as it is and said the truth. Would you rather have Boris or Trump in charge? I know I wouldn't and I am no fan of Leo.

Trumps press conference today was excellent IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,128 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Quite emotional type speech in parts..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Mr.S wrote: »
    100% agree. I used to be glued to it / the guardian live-ticker etc and now just check it in the evening. Much better mentally. Turned off the RTE / BBC push notifications on mobile.

Same. Had the day off today and spent it with my 4y/o making jewellery, building Lego and dressing up, barely any phone. Quick skim of the news at 8 and watched the speech. Feeling a lot lighter than the last week. Maybe just accepted this is happening, and what happens, will happen.

Side note, 4y/o had a transplant, so if it wasn’t clear already, wash your ****ing hands everyone and keep your distance. Thanks.