CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,184 ✭✭✭Ms2011

Why did that speech make me so emotional....!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,917 ✭✭✭GM228

Jimbob1977 wrote: »
    He referenced Churchill's Battle of Britain speech.

Solid speech.

If there was a General Election after the crisis, he could get a result

Never say never.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭threeball

I'm always polite to service people and appreciative of them anyway, but they are especially standing out to me lately. A lot of us can stay at home, some of us have no choice and were made redundant, but the people manning the shops that we need to stay open are Trojans IMO.

That's why I was beyond pissed off earlier tonight to walk into the shop of a local filling station to the scene of 5 scrotes tormenting the cashier. It doesn't matter what happened next, but it got a reaction out of me and is still pissing me off. I encountered the same situation at a garage in the vicinity 2 years ago, but at that time we didn't have a national crisis and global pandemic. Not to excuse the scrotes of 2 years ago, but those of tonight are beyond comprehension.

These vermin are an absolute drain on society at the best of times, and now during the worst of times while we're all banding together, they could not give one fúck and are scumming on as per usual, just making things worse. Where are the parents? I think we all know the answer to that in most cases.

I will be quite content to see a heightened Garda presence in the next while. Otherwise, little fúcks like these will run riot. Waiting for some kind of conscience, common sense or parenting to kick in is pointless.

Its a state of emergency, just shoot the fcukers. We don't have time to be dealing with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭sterz

ixoy wrote: »
    The people you meet in the City Centre don't necessarily represent all of Ireland though. Give people some credit.

True. But I guess it was just extremely noticable this weekend as to how many people I saw totally ignoring the advice given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

I’m not a LEO fan, but that was, honest l, concise and did not sugar coat it. He was short of saying a complete lockdown, but he is being led by medical experts, led by Dr Tony Holohan. Stop sharing bull**** and listen to the experts. Well done Leo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭micar

Excellent speech.

Cocooning is the new word. Something we all have to get used to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Ninthlife

Clearly they envisage this to get alot worse and its only a martter of time before we are looking at a full lockdown please dont leave your house scenario

Im no fan of Leo but he and his colleagues have been impressive in these unprecedented times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,617 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

We are gonna wait and see type situation kick the can as we don't know how long this is gonna last, hse agenda to the letter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭Jim Root

I’m not a Leo fan boy but that was an epic speech. True leadership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭dougm1970

channeling his inner churchill at the end there.
    also, him referring to it as a "global and national emergency".....have the government referred to it as a national emergency before ?

anyway...a good speech that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Well, I'm going to do what the Taoiseach recommended ......... and stepping away from this thread.

And break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,860 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Well done Leo, serious stuff.

Feels like we're at war, which I guess we are in a way.

No we are not at war.relax with the drama

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Vivienne23

People should be afraid otherwise they won’t conform everyone at this stage should realise how serious it is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Syncpolice

If they don't wear capes what do the wear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

LRNM wrote: »
    Far from a good speech imo. The way it was pre-announced it had everyone thinking it was going to be a big important announcement.

But no, just thanks lads you're all doing a great job.

Nothing new. No info. Just back patting.

People have to be recognised for what they are doing in all this. Tough times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

it's like the presidents speech in " independence day "

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

I normally get one cold per year. I'm just sitting here wondering when will this bitch arrive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,568 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

I for one, welcome our new Storm overlord.

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

This is it wrote: »
    Get a grip of yourself ffs.

There's a group of posters with political axes to grind, some against SF, some against FG, at least one against the EU. It's best to ignore all of them. Particularly in the current crisis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Where’s all the 11 am Tuesday morning drama queens gone?wheres the shut down ye were waffling about?

Oh that is coming.

Emergency powers will be passed through the Seanad before they close at the end of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭MipMap

The storm is coming.

Also, is he quoting Churchill?

Never before how so much been asked......

Yes - never before was so much owed by so many by so few etc.,,

The important bit was he flagged the term "Cocooning" meaning the OAPs will be told to self isolate for at least 3 months.

Same message as Boris is putting out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,597 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

wtf was the point of that? :confused:
    Was there much need for a TV address, given he said nothing new?

Christ above. Some people can't be helped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

Far from a good speech imo. The way it was pre-announced it had everyone thinking it was going to be a big important announcement.

But no, just thanks lads you're all doing a great job.

Nothing new. No info. Just back patting.
    Oh you know it's just the leader of our country addressing the nation on our national day of celebration during the biggest pandemic any of us has or ever will see. :rolleyes:

You'd be on here moaning if he didn't say a word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭tototoe

Not sure what the point of that was tbh...but if it helped someone, work away. It did have a bit of a hollywood disaster movie thing going on

...but then so does most of these last few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,712 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Mr.S wrote: »
    100% agree. I used to be glued to it / the guardian live-ticker etc and now just check it in the evening. Much better mentally. Turned off the RTE / BBC push notifications on mobile.

100% agree but find myself staying on it must stop it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,907 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Btw it was a very good speech but this 15,000 by the end of the month number will scare people. That was my point. I realise that it's good to be upfront with people but surely there a better way to convey that message without giving a number. That was my point.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Very ominous. Powerful speech in fairness to him. The calm before the storm part really drove it home.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Very ominous. Powerful speech in fairness to him. The calm before the storm part really drove it home.

Once the health care system gets overwhelmed it's game over and the after effects of this crisis will bring out a new age of austerity to pay for it.
    Dark times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Juwwi

GP's charging the government €30 per phone call ,, ffs that's a disgrace talk about taking the piss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,003 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Didn't give any specific details or info really, but did a good job of impressing upon us the realisation that this is pretty damn serious.

It reminded me of war speeches made by leaders, and some of the wording makes me think that was the intent too.