Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

STB. wrote: »
    15,000 by the end of the month.

Honestly do not see where they are getting this from.

Would give us the highest per capita case numbers in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,188 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

RTE should show a decent disaster movie each night where the outcome is positive.

There's the fake news shout. Glad he said it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,495 ✭✭✭✭walshb

So, pretty much telling us that it’s going on quite a bit past March 29.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,998 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Yeah people are scared and you aren't helping Leo.

RTE Player saying it can't show me the speech due to rights restrictions. Christ they're a useless shower of bastards.

Same here. That organisation is an absolute piece of shiiite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Have the news paused to head to the offy as supplies ran out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭sudzs

It's an address to the nation but this will do nothing to make people calm. If anything this will make them more worried

I'm thinking of my folks in their late 80s listening to this disaster movie schtick :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Downlinz wrote: »
    what's the obsession with a lockdown?

Some people can’t get enough drama and won’t be happy until there are snipers on the streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,342 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    **** sake. Same ***** that were having a party last night are having a party here again tonight in Drumcondra as Leo delivers a significant speech.

****!! I feel like letting a roar at them.

Same would happen regardless people will do what they want. You think they could keep people locked up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

He’s a good lad. So relieved to live in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

I'm pretty sure he literally just quoted the Contagion poster.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Stheno wrote: »
    He's laying it on thick here.
    looksee wrote: »
    I don't have enough feckin broadband to get the broadcast on rte. Can anyone tell me what is happening?

I find him particularly patronising tonight. He actually used the sentence "Not all heroes wear capes". Seriously.

A rake of condescending clichés, as far as I'm concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,013 ✭✭✭kingshankly

The contrast in compassion from Leo compared to boris and trump is vast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,481 ✭✭✭NSAman

That's it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,827 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

And with that he was gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,188 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I was expecting all non food shops and public transport to be locked down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Sorry about that

Well done Leo. Great display of leadership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭blackcard

So my ill conceived and badly thought out plan would be as follows.
    Country including airports goes into a lockdown expect for critical front line staff.
    A third of all healthy people including some frontline staff between 0 and 60 are packed off to hotels, barracks etc. Some people with the covid 19 virus are introduced, everyone shakes hands, cough, sniffle etc. until everyone has the virus, they stay there for 2 weeks until they recover. They can then go back to work, open shops, play sport. Over the next 4 weeks, the other 2/3 of the population under 60 are infected and recover. Normal life resumes. You would carry out a risk assessment on the rest of the population and infect those who are lower risk and who are willing. The remainder are given care to prevent them picking up the virus. Country back to normal by May

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,108 ✭✭✭This is it

Honestly do not see where they are getting this from.

Would give us the highest per capita case numbers in the world

It's been posted countless times. ~30% increase a day brings us to that figure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Yeah people are scared and you aren't helping Leo.

Ok, Have to ask, what the fück do you want him to say and/or do?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,398 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Excellent speech IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Leo did a really good job there showed good leadership!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,404 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Mr.S wrote: »
    Shoutout to the boards.ie thread!
    In fairness he has a point...I haven't been on this thread most of the day...all the better for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

He did quite well. I don't rate him myself but he couldn't do much more in an address

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,166 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Good speech from Leo. Why are some disappointed that there’s “nothing new”?? He’s checking in with the nation on our most culturally significant day. It’s important to keep engaged. Not gonna lie I nearly cried when he described the elderly as “our most precious”.
    He’s doing a good job.

Agree 100%. The mention of our most precious hit me like a tonne of bricks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭LRNM

wtf was the point of that? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭mcgucc22

Gardai, fire, and emergency medical services will be unavailable until tomorrow morning at 7 A.M, when the Purge concludes. May God be with you all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,840 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Powerful stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭RugbyLad11

I was expecting all non food shops and public transport to be locked down.

public transport will not be shut down