Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

Read somewhere that survival rate for CV was 98.2%.

Would you pay to go on a flight with those odds?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Just went into Londis on parkgate street

Get a roll made, picked up a drink and a snack

Guy on the till wouldn't pick up any product to scan it and made me clear up the barcodes so he could scan from a distance. Also made it a point I pay with card.

Bit OTT and arrogant if you ask me.

Arrogant because of the way he went about it "stretch out the barcode for me, I like my health I'm sure you do too" being a condescending prick

You sound like a right prick to be fair if you consider that arrogant and OTT.

We will have to get you counselling after such a traumatic event, you crator.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

scamalert wrote: »
    did you not read the part about economy, these last few weeks tanked markets back past 2008, any further delays will put us into 3rd word country, and funny part in a sick way is, that most will still have to suffer though corona virus eventually. forget the flat curve and all those BS words. this wont help if people will be out on the streets and no one to feed them.

I am fully aware on how the global and Irish economy will fare. I am never prone to exaggeration but it will be unprecedented. Unlike 2008, there will be nobody capable of bailing us out because so many countries will be financially impaired. Our failure to deal with government spending and the spiralling national debt (2008 to 2016) will come back to haunt us.

https://www.financedublin.com/debtclock/

Having said that, nobody will/should starve and we will muddle through. We've had some very indulgent decades - I guess every generation has a major crisis or two. There will also be opportunities nationally and globally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Duggie2012 wrote: »
    Could there be an eventuality where people savings are raided by the state? Is that possible?

If this was to be suggested there would be a run on the banks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

ITman88 wrote: »
    Are you serious?

I completely serious. Why should I be bailing out someone who had an investment property they couldn’t afford the payments on. No one was left without a home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,234 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

I didn't see the NSFW tag
    My 6 year old daughter is wondering why that naked an has a monkey on his back

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,188 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Guy on the till wouldn't pick up any product to scan it and made me clear up the barcodes so he could scan from a distance. Also made it a point I pay with card.

Arrogant because of the way he went about it "stretch out the barcode for me, I like my health I'm sure you do too" being a condescending prick

You're the ignorant one. Prick.

Mod-Banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

yeah how dare he worry about contracting the virus from the hundreds of people he has to serve every day making sure people have food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭saabsaab

elperello wrote: »
    Actually Dev really was an accomplished mathematician so he'd probably have done the numbers.

True and Collins was a book keeper/accountant and civil servant so he would too.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

ITman88 wrote: »
    Are you serious?

Back then there were more than enough people with 2nd/3rd properties that house/home were not necessarily one and the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭Adiboo

Smart if you ask me. Perhaps he has someone vulnerable at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

RugbyLad11 wrote: »
    Yeah it sounds like he just want's an excuse to be a prick
    For the 1.30 it takes, let him. You're not bonding with him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

People just don't understand social distancing. My workplace has staggered breaks and loads of space and people come sitting down beside me. Now I have to let people sit down before me and I take my seat after and away from people. I have no problem sitting on my own. But others seem to have a problem with being on their own.

I am going out to sit in my car for breaks.

People sneezing and coughing on tables no thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭pH

If anything the UK seems to be taking a softly, softly approach. They seem terrified that
    the economy might absolutely tank. It will have to get to biblical proportions before they consider a full lockdown imo.

I struggle to understand what many people posting here see at the major difference at present between the UK's response and ours.

The only major difference is schools being open

As of today(and tomorrow) in Ireland :
    Public Transport running.
    Cafes/Restaurants takeaways open (UK pubs are technically 'open' but advice is not to use them) - you could just as easily ask why are our fast food chains open ?
    Many people (builders/shop staff/drivers etc.) going about their daily business.

Neither country has yet instigated a 'lockdown' like Italy with police patrolling the streets/curfews and where nobody can be outside except with a good reason.

Oh and :
    https://ourworldindata.org/covid-testing

UK 450 tests per million pop/Ireland 370 per million (to be fair slightly different dates) - so much for "The UK aren't testing"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

walshb wrote: »
    Euro 2020 gone till next year.

Tokyo 2020. That surely can’t go ahead?

It 100% won't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭john_doe.

BluePlanet wrote: »
    Yes and people that have recovered show 20 and more percent less lung capacity.
    It's unknown if their capacity will improve in time through exercise, but it's presumed it will.
    They also show CT scans of 'frosted glass' throughout the lungs.

I think people are not understanding this.
    It's been communicated at moment about at risk groups, eldery etc.
    This is seriously worrying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Thats me getting hit again so, and when i started working in a company many years ago now i thought it was brilliant that pension contributions were mandatory.

Should have stuffed it under the mattress.

If you “stuffed it under mattress” there would still be less in your mattress then in your pension if your employer is contributing and you are getting tax relief. Even less if you are getting higher percentage tax relief. Some index funds are back to when Trump took over.

A lot of fear I understand, but people are losing the run of themselves. Im a financial broker and have been advising all my clients that this is just another savage cycle that will pass. Everybody is invested in these markets so it’s in everybody’s interest for them to recover. As such they will take similar (different types of measures) measures that were taken in 2008 to make sure that most people can and will recover. The system doesn’t work if everybody loses everything.

If there’s one thing 2008 thought me it’s that people who make emotive decisions on investments usually lose the most in the long run. If you don’t have to spend your pension funds for another 10 years then the lowering value is not an issue for you now. Same as your house, the value only matters when you are selling or buying.

Prob gonna be really low interest rates for awhile longer now and all sorts of financial packages offered to countries. Ireland is not on its own which means there will most likely have to be some sort of consensus solution that helps everybody. I don’t see the country running out of money anytime soon, as it’s constantly getting loans , it’s not just tax revenue that’s used to run the country. In short, it’s not that simple....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

One thing I am genuinely worried about is the impact of this crisis on mental health. We already had quite high suicide rates.

Job losses, pub closures (only social outlet for many), cooped up inside is an absolute cocktail for disaster for those already struggling.

Have the Govt mentioned anything around increased mental health supports? It's something worth thinking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭ITman88

I completely serious. Why should I be bailing out someone who had an investment property they couldn’t afford the payments on. No one was left without a home.

Fair enough

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,315 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

frillyleaf wrote: »
    We are heavily reliant on China for a lot of products. China is also helping fight this pandemic.

I also don’t think is fair to start placing blame even though I completely disagree with wet markets etc. ....collectively every country should look at how we are treating and intensively farming animals. Unfortunately it was It was probably only a matter of time before something like this happened.
    The BIG difference is that western style farming methods massively reduce the chances of a viral outbreak, including in places like the Far East where they practice them(the wild animal wet markets aren't just a Chinese thing). If we didn't have East Asian wet markets(and other dubious practices like housing pigs and fowl in close proximity) we wouldn't have nearly the number of yearly influenza outbreaks, or SARS or Bird Flu, or Swine flu, HIV wouldn't be a thing either(African bush meat). That's before we get to the unreal savage medieval cruelty going on in such places, or the very real threat to endangered species in those areas.

So no, I'm sorry some sense of western fair play moral equivalence can feck right off when it comes to a bunch of primitives who want pangolin and civet cat for din dins.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DevilsHaircut

Effects of social distancing in Italy https://twitter.com/donmoyn/status/1239239417715396609

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Seriously?

Thousands of people could lose their homes, or best case have their credit rating destroyed, and you want to shoot the breeze on the cost of houses at some point in the future?

It doesn't matter what houses cost if people can't afford to live in them.
    actually not true, if you look at any rich person they made their fortunes during worst times, even buffet said that.

when all this crap is over housing prices will drop massively, not bad if your in the market and have funds allocated.

same for the job market, even thou will take forever for economy to recover those wanting jobs will find it easier then ever before to get employment, the ones that will suffer are usual people who live beyond their means, not talking prepper crap but those that never put aside cash for emergencies. Plus the tool it will take on those who have morgages and families to support when theres no pay and money just going out, its no brainer to see that many wont recover easily without going into deeper debt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

bb12 wrote: »
    yes watched a fantastic documentary on this on smithsonian channel the other night...the US was the ground zero for spanish flu...they believe it originated in the mid west and a soldier who had just been drafted for the dying days of WW1 was patient zero...he was the cook for the army barracks...it then spread like wildfire...

the authorities decided to keep it quiet as they needed to keep drafting soldiers...journalists were even prosecuted if they mentioned anything about it in american newspapers...massive parades to earn bond money for the war effort were still allowed go ahead despite the outbreak

as it was running wild throughout the US, Woodrow Wilson was advised by his own doctor not to send the last of the convoy ships full of soldiers to europe...in the end he refused and that's how europe got it...

apparently the german soldiers were only 90 miles from paris when they started coming down with it and they credited the flu with perhaps changing the outcome of the war.

ironically wilson himself got it when he was conducting peace talk in europe...he survived but they said he was not the same afterwards and believe his brain functions had deteriorated

ironically the cook who set the whole thing off survived the flu and after the war opened a restaurant and lived to his 70s

The German soldiers were about 90 miles from Paris for the whole 4 years of the war.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Nothing wrong with anyone trying to protect themselves

I didn't say he was ignorant for the action, I said it was how he said it, a real arrogant, condisending asshole.

I work with the public too and in work through all of this and yes we are taking precautions too but we don't talk to people like they are **** or they have the plague, we talk to them like normal people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Almost 5000 cases in Madrid alone now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,510 ✭✭✭✭walshb

J Mysterio wrote: »
    You're the ignorant one. Prick.

How is he the pr1ck..?

The assistant sounded like a condescending pr1ck..virus or no virus, there’s etiquette and style and manners..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

You are in the wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

Drumpot wrote: »
    If you “stuffed it under mattress” there would still be less in your mattress then in your pension if your employer is contributing and you are getting tax relief. Even less if you are getting higher percentage tax relief. Some index funds are back to when Trump took over.

A lot of fear I understand, but people are losing the run of themselves. Im a financial broker and have been advising all my clients that this is just another savage cycle that will pass. Everybody is invested in these markets so it’s in everybody’s interest for them to recover. As such they will take similar (different types of measures) measures that were taken in 2008 to make sure that most people can and will recover. The system doesn’t work if everybody loses everything.

If there’s one thing 2008 thought me it’s that people who make emotive decisions on investments usually lose the most in the long run. If you don’t have to spend your pension funds for another 10 years then the lowering value is not an issue for you now. Same as your house, the value only matters when you are selling or buying.

Prob gonna be really low interest rates for awhile longer now and all sorts of financial packages offered to countries. Ireland is not on its own which means there will most likely have to be some sort of consensus solution that helps everybody. I don’t see the country running out of money anytime soon, as it’s constantly getting loans , it’s not just tax revenue that’s used to run the country. In short, it’s not that simple....

Fair point but each time you change strategies in your pension fund you are buying and selling

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

Yakult wrote: »
    You sound like a right prick to be fair if you consider that arrogant and OTT.

We will have to get you counselling after such a traumatic event, you crator.

He'll probably be into his solicitor first thing in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

You were probably served by a grade a drama queen.they are thriving in this environment.
    did he seem like he was doing you a huge favour in a life and death kind of way by just serving you?
    You had right to tell the drama queen that if the bar codes were proving difficult to scan,he should politely ask the deli staff to put them on carefully so they don’t get squashed and prove difficult for the drama queen to scan.
    It’s not like the customer is running a marathon relay between the deli and the till and using the roll as the baton.
    As for the card you should have told the boll1x that cash is king and he could take it or leave it.leave the price of the goods on the counter in cash and walk off with the produce,adding a “happy st Patrick’s day you gobsh1te” as you left the shop.a 2 finger salute may also accompany the above well meanings.