Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,282 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

auspicious wrote: »
    A trio lads from an ethnic minority were standing in view of traffic in Longford Town joyously hand shaking and hugging each other repeatedly. Obviously giving the middle finger to society.

That's the thing, travellers and other lower rungs of society are never going to adhere to any strict rules that come in. I'm starting to think now maybe we just all need to get it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

wakka12 wrote: »
    Cases in the US approaching 5000 now

Population of the US : 327 million
    Cases : 4,400

Population of Europe: 741 million
    Cases : 51,000

Twice the population with 10 times the number of cases. Very roughly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

Forest Avenue restaurant, Sussex Road in Dublin have their doors open today and there's a queue stretching all the way around on to Leeson Street, with everyone 2 metres apart but as they get to the restaurant, it's a cram.

Money hungry ****ers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,726 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

A friend of ours plastered the photos of their house parties all over Facebook, both Friday and Saturday nights. They’re in their late thirties, married with four kids, ones a nurse, the other works for the council. You’d hope they’d have the cop on, but since some people cant be hit with the common sense stick, the government is going to have move past ‘urging people’ and ‘advising people’, and start increasing restrictions.

They're not stupid as another poster suggests, they just don't care about spreading the virus. Some people only behave because there is a penalty for not doing so, rather than just doing what is best for everyone because it's the right thing to do. Show them what you think of their house party, a little shaming often sets a cnut in the right direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

The coming recession has the potential to kill more people than the virus.

Don't go thinking about that too much though or you might get dizzy and fall off your high-horse.

The 'strategy' you seem to be suggesting would ensure a massive death toll and a recession.

There is no way now to avoid a bad outcome. That is what is dizzying for me. All choices now have some dreadful consequences but we must make them.

We must do so thoughtfully and in full understanding of the best available information. Information which in itself will be imperfect and evolving. With respect you seem to be falling into the trap of thinking there is a 'perfect' way out. There is not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,444 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

On radio they said it's expected over 200k jobs lost this week.

As a species, it just seems that we maybe we are underperforming in the way we construct such tenuous and threadbare social structures such as our economy.

One week of disruption and everything goes to the wall?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

The Panzer (mother) works in the Blanchardstown center and alot of the shops have closed, while a few still remaining open. She works in M&S and she said they were told that it is being kept open because of the supermarket even the flow is next to empty with the lack of customers throughout the day. They have provided the staff with gloves and hand sanitizer at every staff door and at the tills etc but I know my mother has touched her face even tho Iv showed her other ways she can go about doing it, how to remove the gloves correctly and hand hygiene etc She is touch 60 with no underlying issues as far as I know but Im still worried about her all the same.

I explained the possibility of a lockdown which would lead to her having to be off for 2 weeks or more with no income and asked if she had a financial contingency plan to ensure she has money for the mortgage and loans etc. If looks could kill. Has anybody else faced this difficulty when trying to ensure parents/family won't be in any trouble financially? She laughed at me when I explained the reason I was buying the extra bits of food each week since the start of February but she now understands!!! She does not buy full food shops as she lives alone and her situation with working retail, it suites her to buy when she needs it, but Iv been buying for her too. Iv set money aside in my account so that she is sorted financially for at least two months and the same goes for my Dad, who is 64 at the end of this month. He has Bipolar Disorder II and has Aspergers, which is another kettle of fish.

I am, of course, doing my bit to flatten the curve, but the parents are my main concern and I couldn't give a rats arse about my self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

We are going the same way Italy are going with our failure to impose stricter lock downs.
    Load of BS, they keep getting worse even in lock-down mode, numbers climbing up, look at UK no lockdowns and its quite stable, so something doesnt connect.
    china has almost full recoveries now- hard to believe that 1.4bill managed to contain it so good, where italy surpasses them in deaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

Blueshoe wrote: »

Twice the population twice the population with 10 times the number of cases. Very roughly
    Give it time

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

auspicious wrote: »
    A trio lads from an ethnic minority were standing in view of traffic in Longford Town joyously hand shaking and hugging each other repeatedly. Obviously giving the middle finger to society.

We await the first call out video of one of the lads in a string vest challenging the Corona to a fight...

And of course Martin Collins and pavee point looking for compensation or money for to help the marginalised communities....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

Ace2007 wrote: »
    One thing that annoys me is people talking about the government right now - it doesn't matter what they did in the past, it doesn't matter who is in charge, ultimately what we have seen is that Dr. Tony and the crew are making the decisions, and it's really good to see them taking the questions etc - because I feel this removes the political side of things.

It's not the time to talking about funding cuts to hospital and that's why we don't have beds, or that nurses/doctors should get paid more. that's a distraction and just not worth reporting about right now.

This is a time for everyone in society to pull together and help everyone get out of this current situation.

It's actually really great to see so many people helping out in different ways - whether it's sports clubs bringing food for the elderly, or people offering to help mind children of front line service people. As a society we are in this together - everyone of us' actions can impact how bad this gets.

We are lucky as a nation that we are a small country - people will look out for each other, and make sure we are ok.

I also feel that the media should start focusing more on the positives - for mental health and anxiety reasons - doom and gloom day in day out won't help people - talk about the people who make the recoveries, talk about the good that is happening in society - highlight for instance the people helping the front line staff etc.

Exactly. The best advice for dealing with the spread should be applied to how government is run.

They say we should act as if we have it, that will be best deterrent from passing it on.

Our next government should make decisions like their lives depend on it. Make hard decisions, never mind worrying about being elected, do what is required rather than half baked solutions with one eye on being elected in 4 years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Give it time

Sure. Give it plenty of time. As long as you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,712 ✭✭✭storker

One thing IV noticed is how quiet sinn Fein are gone. It's almost like they don't want to be making any decisions . I Wonder why. Could it possibly be that they won't be popular decisions.

Aren't there enough FG shills already playing this record ad nauseam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,856 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Read a book. Work on your memoirs? Learn to play cards? Put a jigsaw together?
    DIY work if you are that way inclined.
    A bit of exercise. People coped with life years ago without Netflix and Sky.

But being a slob and vegging in front of the idiot box is all people know these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭TheAsYLuMkeY

BluePlanet wrote: »

As a species, it just seems that we maybe we are underperforming in the way we construct such tenuous and threadbare social structures such as our economy.

We have been fed the illusion of security, the reality is its all paper thin, that we now see, we are not in control.

A machine engineer said something to me years ago as he was elbow deep in grease under a machine with a spanner that has always stayed with me,

"The entire progress of mankind is only 6 inches of concrete deep, which left alone would be swallowed up by nature"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

Banks can easily help, Mortgages can be suspended for say 6 months and then the life of the mortgage is extended by that 6 months, the banks will still get their money but it will be just 6 months longer than the original end date of the mortgage.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭KilOit

BluePlanet wrote: »

It's not the week it's the potential months this is forecast to last.
    If it was a snow week companies would just wait it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭cosanostra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

Wibbs wrote: »
    Actually yeah T, bloody good point. Today modern tech has made contact tracing very much viable as a tool.

Google probably have a lot of this data on their location services

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭ironingbored

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

Denmark closing borders for 3 months...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭ITman88

Ace2007 wrote: »
    The virus also has the potential to kill more people than WWII

But you don't care.

We need to be carful making fleeting statements to prevent causing panic.

85million were quoted as having died during during that war.

Where did you get your predicted figures

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭joe_99

Blueshoe wrote: »

Twice the population with 10 times the number of cases. Very roughly

The US haven't started testing yet in any numbers

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

So interestingly, on those numbers, it could actually be 2-3, or up to 5 weeks that would be sufficient to flatten the infamous curve enough.

Obviously we will see how our numbers play out but my gut feeling is that we made a good decision at the right time, myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,750 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Burty330 wrote: »
    The walkways are for runners , cyclists and walkers. I keep to the most outward part of the walkway as i can and others for the most part do the same.

But there are always those that think that are above everybody else. You sound like those type of people.

Nope. Just not one of those who expects people to get out my way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

Denmark closing borders for 3 months...

Source?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭ITman88

ziggyman17 wrote: »
    Banks can easily help, Mortgages can be suspended for say 6 months and then the life of the mortgage is extended by that 6 months, the banks will still get their money but it will be just 6 months longer than the original end date of the mortgage.......

Well that is an incredibly simplified view on global banking policies and structures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭strawdog

Tony EH wrote: »
    That sounds like a plot for a bad film.

Charlie Brooker of Black Mirror fame already wrote it, Dead Set, where Big Brother show goes on during a zombie apocalypse. Still on Netflix I think, good watch, tho maybe not at the mo. Not the first time one of his outlandish plots has come true (hints Pigs getting things done to them by British PMs)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

PCeeeee wrote: »
    The 'strategy' you seem to be suggesting would ensure a massive death toll and a recession.

There is no way now to avoid a bad outcome. That is what is dizzying for me. All choices now have some dreadful consequences but we must make them.

We must do so thoughtfully and in full understanding of the best available information. Information which in itself will be imperfect and evolving. With respect you seem to be falling into the trap of thinking there is a 'perfect' way out. There is not.

Only someone utterly separated from reality would think there is anyway the coming GLOBAL recession can be avoided thanks to the actions of the Irish :pac:

The only question left is how big do we want the death toll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,726 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

scamalert wrote: »
    Load of BS, they keep getting worse even in lock-down mode, numbers climbing up, look at UK no lockdowns and its quite stable, so something doesnt connect.

There's a lag between an action and the resulting effect. But I'm sure you know better than that.