Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Jeju wrote: »
    Daughter has has bad cough, throat and other symptoms since Friday. The OH got through and booked a test for the 3 if us. Got a call saying I was only to attend. I managed to get my daughter included as she has the worst symptoms. Went to Mahon popup centre and they were very good. When leaving the guy who was going to the cars taking the names and escorting the people into the centre was helping an elderly gent when approached by 2 ferrile youths who were shouting "Test us for Corona"
    He told the to get lost and was met with "Fkuc u ya Langer , what ya gonna do"

Thanks for posting that's good to hear your experience

As for the ferals, words fail me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,623 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

How and where not to wash your hands

giphy.gif?cid=790b7611d26235c783c86c1ff6eed2f3ffdde4af77b9b753&rid=giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    "The objective is to flatten the curve and slow down the infection rate so that it can be manageable for the NHS"

Pubs open, schools open, advise to not congregate in crowds.

These lads are an absolute shower of grade A spoofers.

Saying one thing and doing the opposite.

Got it in one. They don't even understand what flattening the curve means. They are going to end up with a huge spike in numbers and deaths at the start. If they do flatten the curve it will be at a very high level of deaths like Italy. And they will export cases to Ireland. Europe needs to cut the UK adrift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭dummy_crusher

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    Was it? I don't have access to the article now.

If you're quoting figures like this you should probably link a source...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Their should be a surge in deaths before this thing gets better. If the number of people getting infected is decreasing or flattening this is a very good sign.

The point at which people get really ill seems to be about 9-10 days after infection, so we will still see deaths increasing as people who have been ill for more than 10 days succumb to the virus as well as new patients hitting the 10 day threshold.

If new infections continue to fall we can see the light at the end of the tunnel for Italy.
    There have been reports in various places recently that the situation in some areas in Italy has stabilised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

No unfortunately not in my opinion, there just too many factors that could result in an apparent reduction of reported cases and deaths that could mean the reduction is an anomaly and not indicative of the true trend/pattern.

That’s not to say it isn’t true that the numbers might be reducing just that one days results really aren’t enough to show a decline, if however tomorrow and the day after we continue to see declines then that would be absolutely great news and here’s hoping!

But really one days results at this stage (coming from a place where people are undoubtedly in utter crisis) would have to taken with a grain of salt at this point imho.

I have been talking to people in Italy, they are taking the lockdown seriously and if you are outside without a reason you will get a big fine. It will have an effect on the numbers getting the virus at some stage hopefully that is what we are seeing now but it may be too early to tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭TheAsYLuMkeY

Yurt! wrote: »
    Absolutely devastating for Italy, another two weeks of this is absolute cruelty.

agreed, but given the lax approach from Irish society, that us in the very near future,

I fear for my country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

pH wrote: »
    So given the relative population sizes, up to now the UK (44,000 tests) and Ireland (4,300 tests) have been doing pretty much exactly the same thing.

also ...

Our Pub closure was announced a mere 12 hours ago, the only major difference is the schools situation. I think they will be closed in the UK by the end of the week, things are changing hour by hour, and everyone's an expert!
    Comparatively UK should have done >49k, individuals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Stheno wrote: »
    Decrease in both news cases and deaths today, is it possible they've peaked?

Too early to say, really. Needs a few days of consistent decreases, I would think.

Not even sure how well they're managing and counting the people left to fend for themselves that were given a low survival rate. Could be a lag in numbers for that alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,788 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Boris saying "should do this", "should do that"

No action.

That struck me too. The language too loose and suggestive.

“ as your prime minister and having listened to at length, the views of the experts I am required to ‘DIRECT EACH AND EVERY ONE OF YOU’ here in the UK to ........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭bdmc5

niallo27 wrote: »
    That's just plain bollox. Only 2 people under 40 have died up to last saturday.

Thank you for taking the time to correct that post. The absolutely ridiculous misinformation from people be it honest mistake or not is unbelievable

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,404 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Vudgie wrote: »
    Would it not have been prudent to check the source before posting it as fact?

Just going by memory.

Edit: I was incorrect. It was Iran not Italy.

Apologies..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,623 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

PTH2009 wrote: »
    How so ?

A drop is a drop, its so much better than a rise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭pH

Have you been following the news? Pubs are closed. Restaurants and cafes to soon follow.

yes but Varadkar isn't practicing eugenics just because there hasn't been a legally enforced shutdown of cafes and restaurants in Ireland as of 5pm mon 16th March. Both countries are taking very similar steps perhaps with slightly different emphasis.

Ireland isn't trying to euthanize older people because they haven't recommended total isolation for them. In fact some irish retailers are saying older vulnerable people should get out and come to their stores(take advantage of priority checkouts and such) rather than get other people to do their shopping for them.

It is really hard to know what will produce the best results, all of this is uncharted territory. We need to stop attributing malicious intentions to decisions which are certainly not malicious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

So lockdown in Italy hasn't made a difference yet ,

Why do you say that? The fact that the infection rate did not increase means it did. Even logically by people not meeting means the virus cannot be passed on. Do you understand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Southern European countries seem to do really badly once cv takes hold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Seamai wrote: »
    I can see this being an issue in many work places, these sort of people are everywhere. 4 weeks ago were jokingly taking bets on how long it would be before our resident work shy colleague would use COVID19 as an excuse to take time off work, even though most of us are taking her claims of infection with a grain of salt, people are still worried. I had a bug last week (the other end, no worries) and worked from home, I haven't taken a sick day in over 18 months and this one doesn't give a flying fúck about her colleagues

We did the same about this fella! I should have known it was coming when on Friday, he claimed people parents taking days off to mind their children was discrimination against non parents.

Over the weekend, he's suddenly in 'self isolation' with a fookin cold. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭BLIZZARD7

I'm getting sick of these posts criticizing a foreign countries intervention, one might as well criticize Iceland's. We have issues here and I don't see enough critical appraisal of that. Just a morbid fixation on Boris and his cronies. If it was Corbyn you'd probably be praising him.

Ffs this is bullsh*t. We share an open land border with this 'foreign country' as you put it. Its not like comparing with Iceland. How many flights are there a day between London and Dublin alone? 178 on average, it's the busiest air route in Europe. The UK's response to this crisis is extremely relevant to Ireland and so far it's completely disastrous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭td2008

bdmc5 wrote: »
    Thank you for taking the time to correct that post. The absolutely ridiculous misinformation from people be it honest mistake or not is unbelievable

It was Iran, can't find the original guardian article but read it there yesterday

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020/03/irans-coronavirus-death-toll-jumps-113-day-200315200034111.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Jeju

Stheno wrote: »
    Thanks for posting that's good to hear your experience

As for the ferals, words fail me

Oh, forgot the results will be known in 48 hours, they will tell us if positive or not. The helpline had told me that they will only contact positive results in 72 hours and longer if negative. So now happy that it's actually 48 hours for both results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭Reckless Abandonment

I think I read somewhere the median time from onset of symptoms to death has been shown to be about 14 days.

That means that the deaths today are likely to have had first symptoms maybe 14 days ago. Lets say it took 4 days to seek help and be diagnosed (that's generous), then we have another 10 days of increasing deaths even if new cases are falling.

I'd imagine that any experience gained, or lessons learned from the earlier cases would be outweighed by the increasingly stretched resources over those 10 days too.

From a "is the quarantine working" it's now all about new cases. Deaths unfortunately are probably going to skyrocket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,026 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

The DOW and NASDAQ are both down about 9% so far. Anyone silly enough to be buying that bouncing dead cat this past week, is losing her/his shirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I'm getting sick of these posts criticizing a foreign countries intervention, one might as well criticize Iceland's. We have issues here and I don't see enough critical appraisal of that. Just a morbid fixation on Boris and his cronies. If it was Corbyn you'd probably be praising him.

I absolutely will criticise the actions of the government under whom I live thanks. And considering the actions of said government also affects 20% of the country in which you live, separated from the state in which you live by a completely porous and invisible border - comparisons with Iceland are hardly accurate are they?

Corbyn is f*cking irrelevant here by the way, I’m agreeing with the WHO; I’m suspicious of the one lad in Europe who seems to be doing a Trump and thinks he has it all covered in contradiction to the advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

China put Wuhan into lockdown on January 23rd.

Cases peaked in China on February 4th or 12th depending on different methods of testing.

Using same time period for Italy we should see cases peaking on Saturday 21st or Sunday 29th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭An Ciarraioch

Croke Park will serve as a drive-through testing facility:

https://twitter.com/irishexaminer/status/1239600307295977472

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,246 ✭✭✭jos28

HSE Press release not until 8pm this evening ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Jeju wrote: »
    Oh, forgot the results will be known in 48 hours, they will tell us if positive or not. The helpline had told me that they will only contact positive results in 72 hours and longer if negative. So now happy that it's actually 48 hours for both results.

Hope it's good news for you!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

jos28 wrote: »

Where did you see that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭An Ciarraioch

jos28 wrote: »

Presumably takes longer to process the increased volume of tests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

Whats also shocking from that is the subway pic from today
    ETN6DlbXkAIzfY-?format=jpg&name=small
    Thats absolutely insane if true.

Ignoring idiots who comment "far right" because they don't even know what it means