LUXOBARGE (sub5k) of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,691 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

traco wrote: »

you mean we wont be seeing an S600 here for below 5k any time soon? :D

the first gen 8 series are now 30 years old, wonder how much they can be picked up for now? the earliest ones would have classic tax this year, if you used it as your daily and assume you pay for tax by the quarter on a barge now, you are looking at a motor tax saving ok 2k a year!!!

looking at these lads, why even with ok bhp,why is the 0-100 so relatively slow? is it the auto boxes in them primarily?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭traco

Idbatterim wrote: »
    you mean we wont be seeing an S600 here for below 5k any time soon? :D

the first gen 8 series are now 30 years old, wonder how much they can be picked up for now? the earliest ones would have classic tax this year, if you used it as your daily and assume you pay for tax by the quarter on a barge now, you are looking at a motor tax saving ok 2k a year!!!

Nope - can't see 600 hitting the 5k bracket and if one did I think you should run a mile. A used coil pack that's supposed to work is around €700 on ebay so two good ones would be 1500 in parts value. Nice wheels and a few other bits and bobs and you'd be close to the 5k.

I do too much miles to run any of these as a daily so that slog falls to a 2.0 tdi unfortunately. I wish we could tax for 1 month or whatever multiple. This 3, 6 or 12 is plain stupid.

The 280 tax is up end of April so thinking Box for May, Jun, Jul then the 600 to end of Oct. Ideally M J J A for the Box and then 3 months either side for the 600 would be ideal. I'd really like to get the 600 on the road for a month in May to test it properly but I'm not paying 3 months tax just for that.

Stupid system

there is virtually no enforcement here... no ANPR etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,017 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

The proposed legislation infers no fossil fuel vehicle will be issued an NCT after 2045. As to whether FF cars after 2006 will be allowed become classics I don't know.

Can you point to that because it is bizarre as a concept. There will still be an NCT requirement and there was no stated policy to drive all ICE cars from the road just to minimise the number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Well the NCT/2045 bit is in reference to the Climate Action Plan:

https://www.gov.ie/en/policy/e9ec84-transport/

Again, as to whether this will affect what can and cannot become a classic i've no idea.

One would assume a 2007 car could still become a classic in 2047, but I wouldn't put it past them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 913 ✭✭✭A Law

Again, as to whether this will affect what can and cannot become a classic i've no idea.

One would assume a 2007 car could still become a classic in 2047, but I wouldn't put it past them...

Is classic tax not at 30 years old?

Thanks for that; I can see where it refers to that as a “decision” on page 92 but it sounds aspirational. It seems difficult to believe that a situation can arise whereby a 2005 car car be a classic and NCT exempt but that a 2007 could not. I could imagine that additional restrictions could come into play but it seems unlikely that 2005-2030 cars would have to be put off the road pending classic status.

Is classic tax not at 30 years old?

Yes but NCT/DOE exemption kicks in at 40 years.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,584 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

If there are no ICE vehicles on the road who will supply the fuel?

Is it not just the NCT?
    The Climate Action Plan 2019 lays out specific goals for Ireland including:

developing the electric vehicle network to sustain at least 800,000 cars by 2030
    banning cars powered by fossil fuels by 2030 and stop granting National Car Tests (NCT) by 2045

There will still presumably be ICE commercial yokes maybe?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,682 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Having a ****e day at work (am a doc) show me some nice flashy barges to lift the spirtis !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭KevRossi

RobFowl wrote: »
    Having a ****e day at work (am a doc) show me some nice flashy barges to lift the spirtis !!!!

Slightly OT, but Doug De Muro does some slightly different car reviews, focusing a lot on the "quirks and features" that you don't get to see in most reviews. He's very west coast USA, and maybe a bit marmite, but I like him.

The Lagonda review is very good. Back around 1995 I almost picked one of these up for around €30-32,000 - it was DM 65,000 but the dealer wanted it gone. I met the new owner of it about 6 months later at a petrol station, he loves every minute he drove it, but it had cost him thousands in repairs at that stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Idbatterim wrote: »
    there is virtually no enforcement here... no ANPR etc.

When did APNR stop? I see them all the time (parked squad cars)

cadaliac wrote: »
    When did APNR stop? I see them all the time (parked squad cars)

I didnt think they had ANPR...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Not only did they have it but it's been vastly expanded at the moment. The in-car setup is gone now, it's all mobile phone based using the camera. Being rolled out at the moment, Every guard is due to have it by the end of the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

How will that work, will we see Gardai holding up phones behind us in traffic? Or is it a case of pulling someone over and then check?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cadaliac

How will that work, will we see Gardai holding up phones behind us in traffic? Or is it a case of pulling someone over and then check?
    Tied into the in-car camera, afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,517 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Buy an older diesel and run on veg oil

Both. Can go in a holder on the window and gives a notification or cars/driver's can be checked when it's already stopped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭traco

Both. Can go in a holder on the window and gives a notification or cars/driver's can be checked when it's already stopped

Does that mean we can get rid of all the wallpaper on the windscreen.

If they set up a portal where you could upload your drivers license, insurance certs, NCT and then tax by the month I'd have no problem sharing the info.

I could then have an app on my phone with a QR code that they could scan with their app and up comes all my info. Simple.

Anybody fancy doing some coding??

If they set up a portal where you could upload your drivers license, insurance certs, NCT and then tax by the month I'd have no problem sharing the info.

I could then have an app on my phone with a QR code that they could scan with their app and up comes all my info. Simple.

Hopefully. Make life easier for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Not a hope we are getting rid of paper in the window.

Look what happened in the UK when they got rid of tax discs.

What happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭rdhma

Your nearest small airfield.
    AVGAS 100 octane piston engine aircraft fuel can be yours for €2.40 a liter.
    Of course the car will need de-catting as it's leaded fuel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭scamalert

not sure what happened in uk but that's actually great idea in concept, would free up loads of unecessary checking if say few cctvs would be able to scan any info regarding tax insurance, as many still risk and get away without those two, given how little and rare checkpoints are.

scamalert wrote: »
    not sure what happened in uk but that's actually great idea in concept, would free up loads of unecessary checking if say few cctvs would be able to scan any info regarding tax insurance, as many still risk and get away without those two, given how little and rare checkpoints are.

Getting rid of motor tax and putting it on fuel would be a better idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,769 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Discussed to death already at this stage. We already pay very high tax on a litre of fuel and motor tax is designed as a ownership tax these days, not a usage tax so it's going nowhere. Make the motor tax more affordable on these big engined cars and watch their value go up. The high tax is the main factor they cost so little to buy many years later.

bazz26 wrote: »
    Discussed to death already at this stage. We already pay very high tax on a litre of fuel and motor tax is designed as a ownership tax these days, not a usage tax so it's going nowhere. Make the motor tax more affordable on these big engined cars and watch their value go up. The high tax is the main factor they cost so little to buy many years later.

And long may that continue in my eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

went from 0.6% to 1.8% of vehicles. I dont know if it would help or hurt but id gladly estimate 15-20% of irish vehicles are untaxed. Revenue would kill to lower it to 1.8