What are the little things disappointed you a kid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭the14thwarrior

when my godfather came and stayed with us for a few weeks from America. I thought he was great, followed him around everywhere. the time came for him to leave and i remember holding his hand tightly at the door and he saying " do you just want to come with me" and I said Yes! I'll get my things.
    I came back quick as a light with my plastic sand bucket, spade and my aran cardigan. I can still remember them laughing at me...... and no, he didn't take me with him.

and when i was nearly 4 i was brought to school, big yellow badge with my name on it and brand new uniform. my mother was told to bring me home till next year i was too young. I bawled my eyes out all the way and i clearly remember my father laughing saying something like " we have to have her at home for another year". I don't know what my mother did with my uniform. She must have been in shock. She was 9 months pregnant and probably dying to get rid of me. !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,298 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

when i was nearly 4 i was brought to school, big yellow badge with my name on it and brand new uniform. my mother was told to bring me home till next year i was too young. I bawled my eyes out all the way and i clearly remember my father laughing saying something like " we have to have her at home for another year". I don't know what my mother did with my uniform. She must have been in shock. She was 9 months pregnant and probably dying to get rid of me. !

That would be a brilliant sob story on the X-Factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,921 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Missing out on seeing ET in the cinema, in fact pretty much every film kids wanted to see in the 80s as we lived miles from the nearest cinema and our parents just brought us once (to the Black Stallion).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Having only a b&w tv and 2 channels when everyone else had colour and UK channels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

My aunt told me she was bringing me to the circus and Mcdolnalds She brought me to see the tent from the outside and to Supermacs.

What are the things disappointed you a kid?

I know by the way. This is a terrible thread.

So you were a goat in a former life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

When I got a Sega mega drive game for my birthday that I thought was a platform spaceship game but turned out to be a pinball game!

Was 50 punts as well.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Redneck Reject71

My grandfather worked the fields behind our house. And he would give whoever opened the gate for him a few Pecos. So every time me and my two brothers heard his tractor, we would run and fight to get to the gate first. Often times I ended up being the slowest,heh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭jaxxx

I cried when Godzilla was killed in that horrendously bad 1998 movie with Matthew Broderick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,824 ✭✭✭FanadMan

I was disgusted that there were no smugglers or thieves or spies that I could thwart like in The Famous Five books/tv shows. Was obsessed with those books and was so jealous that they were allowed to do so much and I still had to go to bed while the sun was still up (well, during the summer anyway).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Remember in my grandparents house in Donegal and was told there was Spinach for dinner. Fully convinced I’d grow muscles like Popeye. Especially after being confirmed by my parents. Bitterly disappointed that the only thing that i developed was a noxious gas.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,709 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

I didnt get a red glow round me when I ate ready brekk :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,004 ✭✭✭✭namenotavailablE

My mother decided to wash my favourite teddy bear but after doing so, left him (and yes, it wasn't an it, it was a he to my 4 year old self) HANGING BY THE EARS up high on the washing line, out of reach. To this day, I can still picture Teddy, alone on the washing line, in presumed agony, with a totally blue sky as the background. I'm now 51...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭threetrees

Never having a Girls World head. My buddy even had Super Girls World but the bog standard would've done for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭tmabr

Feckin school trip to knock. Was expecting a seaside resort and sticks of rock.
    Instead got a day of praying and confessing and travel sick on a manky early 80s coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭friendlyfun

Being a fan of Waterford hurling. Debilitating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

Been brought to Dublin on the train for the first time by a cousin of my Dads. My mam had me built up telling me how exciting the train would be and how it would be going through fields to get there, the utter disappointment of when the train didn't go down the middle of a field! Said it to mam when i got home and she said that there were fields either side of the track - for 5 year old me wasn't the same thing at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,703 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Ireland not winning The Eurovision
    Ireland not qualifying for The World Cup or The Euros

I was a child in The 70's

And in my teens the 1st time I had McDonalds' in Dublin :rolleyes: I was looking forward to it for months. Is that it? A small punnet of skinny chips and a shltty burger! And I was still hungry :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

Finding out there wasn't a black and white world in earlier decades like films and tv portrayed in the 30's, 40's and 50's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Lack of giant sweets.

Parents not believing magic is real. They do now though as they are older so i am relieved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,505 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Wanderly Wagon was only about 2ft wide :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

Not a little kid but around 13/14 in secondary school. Theres a school trip for one of our subjects to somewhere ****ty and boring but hey it's a whole day off school so whose gonna complain. Only that there was only enough space to bring say 20 out of the 28 students in the class, and only one trip. Names were drawn from a hat. Remaining 8 students had to go to school as normal on the day

What kind of ****ing teacher does that!
    Yes I was one of the ones left behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

How little quick sand has endangered my life.
    I lost a shoe in a bog once, which is the closest to it, I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

razorblunt wrote: »
    How little quick sand has endangered my life.
    I lost a shoe in a bog once, which is the closest to it, I guess.
    Two things I never understood

1. Why doesn't the sign saying 'danger quicksand!' sink into the quicksand.

2. How on earth do they get the sign out into the middle of the quicksand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

getting dropped for a gaa county final at u13 and the local guards son who hadn't kicked a ball all year taking my jersey. it still hurts me to this day as i wasn't a bad little footballer and i gave it up altogether for almost 15 years. Parish politics is happily on the wane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,298 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

How about the school tour.
    Somebody got sick on me on the bus.
    I got pushed off a raft into the Shannon.(It was UL).
    I fell down a hill and got a luno on my head.
    I bought a pack of cards that people were swapping at the time. I got a very rare card and gave it away by mistake.
    The next day when we were waiting about our tour. People did a special segment on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,921 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

joeguevara wrote: »
    Remember in my grandparents house in Donegal and was told there was Spinach for dinner. Fully convinced I’d grow muscles like Popeye. Especially after being confirmed by my parents. Bitterly disappointed that the only thing that i developed was a noxious gas.

I remember the letdown at discovering that eating Paxo stuffing doesn't turn you into the Incredible Hulk, like in a tv ad of the time (late 70s)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

When Zig and Zag defected to Channel 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,202 ✭✭✭partyguinness

getting dropped for a gaa county final at u13 and the local guards son who hadn't kicked a ball all year taking my jersey. it still hurts me to this day as i wasn't a bad little footballer and i gave it up altogether for almost 15 years. Parish politics is happily on the wane

I had that. Dropped by the school team for the principal's son who was rubbish. In fact he didnt even tog out for the club he was that crap.

Whereas the same year I was starter (and starring) for the club on the U15, U16, Minor and U16 divisional team and going for county trials. I was also playing U16 soccer but apparently I was not at enough school training sessions. The school was generally relaxed with lads like myself as we were training and playing constantly with nothing to prove with the poxy school team but my place clashed with the principal's son.

It was so pathetically blatant it was actually funny but my old man was livid. Nobody gave a crap about the school team anyway. 'We' lost in the first round and I was delighted.

Our captain actually passed a comment at the coach about me being on the bench which was ignored.

I watched with sheer delight as the defence had a complete nightmare and there I was sitting on the bench loving it. You don't leave a budding Seamus Moynihan on the bench while the defence is falling to pieces. May be over 25 years ago but I get great satisfaction from how pissed off the coach was afterwards as we were beaten by the worst team in history- everytime they went at our defence the scored. Turkey shoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭julyjane

Realising how TV production works and that the magic door on Bosco wasn't actually magic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

julyjane wrote: »
    Realising how TV production works and that the magic door on Bosco wasn't actually magic

Stop saying stuff like that!!! It was magical it was.

Bosco was a real boy and he lived in a box and he was going to grow up when he was 5!!