Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2019/2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,798 ✭✭✭brevity

A disappointing result indeed - felt we deserved the win.

Just need to finish out the season now. Hopefully there isn’t the need to postpone games or suspend the league. From a Liverpool fan point of view, it would be a massive punch in the balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Demosthenese

Sickener that. Double kick in the nuts. Can blame Adrian and Gomez but we didn't put away our chances and there were alot. We battered them in that first 90. I was thinking I've not seen Athletico take a beating like that nor us go with such intensity like that in ages. Keeper had a great game too.

Take it on the chin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

darced wrote: »
    I'll be honest and say the CL this year was only a bonus, the grail has been reached this year and thats all that matters.

True, but it's become incredibly anti-climactic.

It could well be for the best if it turns out the league is all but abandoned for the next month, but we'll be sitting on our hole more or less until next August now, wondering at how a seemingly historic season ran out of steam.

There's no question of denying the quality of this team and how brilliant a season it is on an intellectual level, but I'm incredibly disappointed with how it's turned out.

We've essentially lost everything that was possible to lose since Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Less chance of our players catching the virus travelling around Europe now.

So not all bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,072 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Zak Flaps wrote: »
    I'm pretty happy that we actually played well.
    But we need some new blood in the summer.
    Origi must go for starters.

You mean the player who actually won us the champions league last season? Go away out of that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,012 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

If they played ****e it would be easier to take. Played absolutely brilliantly for 100 minutes. Scored 2 goals. Hit woodwork twice. String of misses and Oblak saves.

And then the keeper chucks one in and you have to chase the game and do it all over again in extra time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Zak Flaps

You mean the player who actually won us the champions league last season? Go away out of that

He didn't win us the champions league. He scored the winning goal in the semi final. But he's clearly not good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,655 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Top level football lads. It finds certain players out.

That is just about the best the team has played as a unit all season. Amongst the outfield players, I couldn't pick out one bad performer. Heroes, all of them.

But invariably, at key stages in this competition, against big teams, and specifically elite coaches, tiny margins mean more, and key positions mean more. There is a reason we rave about Alisson. There is a reason people rave about Oblak. In pivotal moments, they make big plays, and make it look routine.

The moment was just too much for Adrian, and he couldn't handle the stage. The ball came to him, easy as you like. All game, he controlled that pass and hit it to the left back position, or he booted it in the air. Liverpool had hit the front 2 minutes previously, and he relaxes. He stops thinking clearly, and he doesn't do the thing he's done repeatedly up until then. He then gets down slower than an old man to the shot. For the second, our defence does what they always do in a counter. They cover a side of the goal (Gomez this time), and trust that the keeper can read that the only place the shot can go is near post. Adrian fails. The third was academic, but even on that one, his angles are entirely wrong.

Our sub keeper could not get to the basic level required. Simeone knows he has a superb, elite level goalie, who he can trust to save most shots from 18 yards or more. He can trust his system, and knew if Liverpool were slightly profligate, at worst he'd still be in it at crunch time. Hell, I'd say he'd have been happy with penalties with Oblak v Adrian!

The narrative will be painful now - that we choked and are overhyped. The truth is we'd one player who wasn't at the level required, and when the weakness showed that one time, Atletico took it.

Nothing more, nothing less.

It means nothing in a results based business, but I'm immensely proud of the performance.

Well done to them, and I cant wait to see Hendo hold that Premier League trophy aloft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

Jaysus, Rugani from Juve has tested positive for corona virus, Juve squad more than likely forced to isolate now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

Really gutted by that tonight, when Firmino got his goal I was sure we would be going through.

I just don't understand what Adrian was trying to do, there was so much space on his left - there was no reason to play a high-risk pass at that moment. So so avoidable.

I'll be over this tomorrow, but right now it really hurts to disappoint in Europe due to a stupid gk mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,203 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Should have scored loads in normal time.

That is where it was lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Pepp1989

Umaro wrote:
    I just don't understand what Adrian was trying to do, there was so much space on his left - there was no reason to play a high-risk pass at that moment. So so avoidable.

Who was he actually trying to hit? Was it a pass?

I assumed he tried to leather it and made a mess of it.

If he was actually trying to pick someone out there it was unforgiveable. Atletico had a good press on and Adrian had the whole left hand side open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,636 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Zak Flaps wrote: »
    Surely that has to be postponed?

Or kick em out and let Liverpool take their place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,031 ✭✭✭daheff

Blanco100 wrote: »
    Jaysus, Rugani from Juve has tested positive for corona virus, Juve squad more than likely forced to isolate now

Makes a mess of the Champions league.

Have a feeling either Juve will be asked to withdraw or the competition will be cancelled for this season... especially if anybody else gets infected.

Upside for this would mean we're still Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,147 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Adrian..... FFS.

Not all on him, finishing was less than stellar TBH, had enough chances to win 5 games, and while Oblak was good, several of those chances he saved should have been buried and not be giving him a chance.

Overall, the performance was very good, back 4 good and fullbacks attacked well, middle 3 very good, especially Gini and Ox. Bobby had a poor first half, but improved as the game progressed, and great to see him score.

However, a monumental Fvck up by outlr reserve keeper. He's always been a keeper who has talent, but is let down by his decision making and how he handles pressure, and he was found out badly tonight, a Fvck up of Karuis proportions.

This hurts.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Lorius Adrian. hang your head in shame.

ebbsy wrote: »
    Should have scored loads in normal time.

That is where it was lost.

Oblak was superb. It happens. As we know from our own past travails, goalkeeper is the most underrated position on the field.

They had one. We didn't.

The team controlled the game utterly, and were ahead with 25 left. No danger, and the keeper fúcks it. We were in position.

The attack gets very little blame from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Really hope we play & win our next 2 PL games.

Because the leagues will all shut down soon.
    The PL shoudl release what the plan is going forward.

Umaro wrote: »

Some people's brains melt in key moments under pressure.

Don't overthink it.

He choked, and couldn't recover. In fact the way he tried to get down to the shot, he actually panicked right after the choke, as he didn't set himself at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Oddly, I feel quite indifferent about that defeat. Not happy of course, but not really devastated either to be honest.

We’re going to win the league title probably by the end of March. If you’d offered that to any Liverpool fan back in August, every single one would’ve settled for nothing more than that in the season. 100%.

Won the Champions League last season, about to win the league title this season and that’s progression for us based on how badly the fans want the league title more than anything. It’s pretty clear what the next step is for next season if we want something really ambitious to aim for.

That was a great performance tonight and there’s no doubt this is still one amazing team. Let the jealous rival supporters enjoy this as much as they want, the season has peaked for all of them tonight and it’ll only go downhill from here. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

And that my friends is why we signed Allison Becker.

Really proud of the reds tonight, what a performance, let down by Adrian the dickhead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,413 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

daheff wrote: »
    Makes a mess of the Champions league.

Have a feeling either Juve will be asked to withdraw or the competition will be cancelled for this season... especially if anybody else gets infected.

Upside for this would mean we're still Champions

Will probably be an announcement tomorrow morning. I'd imagine the Juve/Lyon game will be postponed while the other three games go ahead.

Draw will be done then and the decision made to postpone for a few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Got home from work late, didn't have dinner and tucked straight into cans so I'm like a child who just dropped a 99

That's CL football for you, got pipped away from home, dominated at home, performed well for 99% of it but that 1% has us out on our holes. A moment can swing a game 180 (that moment being Adrian failing to clear properly) but being champions, at home, just gone 2-0 up, you really didn't expect what happened next.

Two players I will single out - Ox was fantastic tonight, as good as I've seen him in red tbqh he deserves serious applause for his efforts and I was sorry we didn't have his impetus late on. Trent looked beat with 5 mins to go, I'm sure he wasn't alone but his head was down and he properly looked like a young fella who isn't used to having a tide turned on him, though I'm sure he was knackered, it should be pointed out to him if he's going to be a leader going forward, hopefully by Milner or Hendo though perhaps I'm looking into it too much and this will be a steep learning curve for him in his career.

First time in a few weeks where we've seen brilliant performances from the many rather than the few. Deflating tonight but hopefully we can see more freedom of play the next few weeks on the way to a coronation as champions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,817 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Our goals:

giphy.gifgiphy.gif

so. many. chances.

giphy.gifgiphy.gif

Will he ever learn his lesson?

giphy.gifgiphy.gif

He's off his feet when the shot is taken, he can't get near it because of that stupid little hop as Llorente hits it:

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Pepp1989

Really proud of the reds tonight, what a performance, let down by Adrian the dickhead.

No need for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

The cock up from the pass is fine. That will happen if you play high tempo anti-pressing football at the back. Whether pressured or not, you'll have some player who's probably the team's worst passer trying to move a ball around the most dangerous area of the pitch, and sometimes it'll go awry.

Alisson has misplaced passes dangerously quite a lot of the time, for a player of his reputation.

The differences are that 1. our defence is poorer as a unit than it has been throughout the rest of the season, so we're dog slow to react to it. And to be fair to them, it happened in extra time, so there's an added fatigue element.

2. is Alisson is, even when he drops a bollock, all but immaculate at actually keeping the ball out of the net. By hook or by crook he probably would've kept those shots out.

And that's not Adrian making a balls of it. It's a million little subtle differences in quality between them that make the difference.
    Ultimately, in situations like this you hope you get away with not having your best players available. Last season that happened with a frankly bizarre game against Barca which we won without Salah and Bobby. Tonight, the lads up front couldn't put the game away and give us the kind of bullet-dodging effect required to make up for the loss of Alisson.

I've always said that players deserve credit in proportion to their performances based on their level, and not on our expectations of them, or who they're covering for. Adrian did normal Adrian things. He's had some good runs of form this season. He's had times when he's ****ed up. He's had times where he's just not been capapble of goalkeeping at the level we needed at the time.

If a player is pissing about in training, if they're being selfish, or egotistical, or any other number of character flaws that don't include not being better than they're capable of being, then they're fair game for getting ****ed out of it.
    The fact of the matter is, we're not likely to ever have a keeper without some seemingly critical flaw as Alisson's backup, so people need to just stop ****ing whining about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭physioman

Maybe Adrian had concussion

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

MD1990 wrote: »
    Really hope we play & win our next 2 PL games.

Because the leagues will all shut down soon.
    The PL shoudl release what the plan is going forward.

The UK government are due to make a decision tomorrow about going to the next phase of the fight against the virus. This could include suspending all sports events including the PL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,613 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

That's some sickner.

The tale of two keepers....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,413 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

The UK government are due to make a decision tomorrow about going to the next phase of the fight against the virus. This could include suspending all sports events including the PL.

If they were serious about stopping the spread then they would have suspended all public gatherings before Cheltenham. Hard to know what direction they'll go in.

One of the biggest sporting events in the UK every year and one that would affect Ireland more than a few weeks of soccer with the amount of Irish who travel over.