BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day Part 6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Chevrolet did the decent thing and exited Europe in 2015.

All we were really getting was Korean built nasty stuff.

That long ago, time flies....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a4-2-0-tdi-de/24399820

NTYzNzA3NWY1YmFkYWJkZGZiMzRmN2M4OTNhMzM3NTI74AKiqRGSU7bioUtmVD9eaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDM1MzU4NzZ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

High(ish) mileage B8 A4 with NCT til September and tax til August, €2000

Needs two tyres apparently, too cheap still?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,328 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Too cheap IMO.

Perhaps. I see now the key info bit of the ad is for an A3 and not an A4 too. Still worth a look if its local IMO!

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-e220/24290876?campaign=8

ODNkODFmNGJjNDE5YWYzYTlhMmRkMmE5MzVlMzVjODJmP6u4lFjZqLNU9rBDhBYzaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDI2MDc3ODF8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

ZDM3NTgyYTE4Y2FiOGE2MTc1NmZkNDQxNTU1NWY1YWXSGDZSWfF8uJHm9_w3mpVHaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDI2MDc3ODh8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Very nice looking E220 diesel manual with NCT til January 2021, €900

You don't see too many of these in this sort of nick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,827 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Unusual to find one of those these days that isn't a rotter.

bazz26 wrote: »
    Unusual to find one of those these days that isn't a rotter.

Mightn’t really make a lot of bangernomics sense when you can have something like a TDI A6 and save yourself about €300 in tax, but there’s something very appealing about a nice and original, and most importantly solid, example of one of these. I’d love it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭W123-80's

'03 A6 1.9tdi
    NCT Oct '20
    194k miles

Lots of claimed work done, looks like a nice example.

Asking €900

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2003-audi-a6-c5-1-9-tdi-for-sale-/24400862

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

W123-80's wrote: »
    '03 A6 1.9tdi
    NCT Oct '20
    194k miles

Lots of claimed work done, looks like a nice example.

Asking €900

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2003-audi-a6-c5-1-9-tdi-for-sale-/24400862

Nice find

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

The state of the drivers footwell and the photo angle that avoids seeing the drivers seat makes me think that car is well worn. Right for the money, but not 'clean' as he suggests.

Meh, cream carpets on a 17 year old car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭kalkat2002

Nice looking kia rio diesel

http://www.adverts.ie/19964849

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭SeaDaily

kalkat2002 wrote: »
    Nice looking kia rio diesel

http://www.adverts.ie/19964849

Those wheels are vile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭FionnK86

SeaDaily wrote: »
    Those wheels are vile

They're not included, wish they'd post what actually comes with car - steelers or whatever, they could've uploaded the pics at same time as posting the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭marcos_94

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-e220/24290876?campaign=8

ODNkODFmNGJjNDE5YWYzYTlhMmRkMmE5MzVlMzVjODJmP6u4lFjZqLNU9rBDhBYzaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDI2MDc3ODF8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

ZDM3NTgyYTE4Y2FiOGE2MTc1NmZkNDQxNTU1NWY1YWXSGDZSWfF8uJHm9_w3mpVHaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDI2MDc3ODh8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Very nice looking E220 diesel manual with NCT til January 2021, €900

You don't see too many of these in this sort of nick.

I actually went to check this out about a month ago. Mileage is actually 196k as far as I remember. Was in grand condition but gear changes were mushy and hard to find 2nd/4th!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭rosie16

What are Subaru estates like? Is there a loading on insurance for them?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2010-subaru-legacy-awd-new-nct-test/24390881

You do not want to go near a diesel Subaru. That is a financial disaster waiting to happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭jmreire

You do not want to go near a diesel Subaru. That is a financial disaster waiting to happen

What was the specific fault (s) with their diesel engine?

Crankshaft failure is the most common thing as far as I know.

FionnK86 wrote: »
    They're not included, wish they'd post what actually comes with car - steelers or whatever, they could've uploaded the pics at same time as posting the car.

I see that with a lot of northern lads (part time dealers). Pic of a car for a few grand, and the wheels look great on it. Click into the ad and it's "wheels come with it for £999 extra" and stupid stuff like that. :rolleyes:

I immediately click out and vow to never return to such a wanker of a seller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,575 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

I see that with a lot of northern lads (part time dealers). Pic of a car for a few grand, and the wheels look great on it. Click into the ad and it's "wheels come with it for £999 extra" and stupid stuff like that. :rolleyes:

I immediately click out and vow to never return to such a wanker of a seller.

What's even worse is the ads that block the yellow and black reg in initial picture, you're clicking away and then after getting your hopes up realise it's an English reg, the price was in pounds and you can add another 50% on to it to convert to euro if she's a diesel.

These ads should be banned off an Irish website or at least have their own section.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Crankshaft failure is the most common thing as far as I know.

Crankshaft failure would be more than enough, without anything else failing....:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/alfa-romeo-159-19-jtd-nctd/24312169

What price would you put on this? Big miles and only a month nct, but it looks clean in the photos. And anyone any idea about that clearly very backyard garage dealer selling it?

About 6 or 700 quid IMO. The only thing going for it is the cheap(ish) tax, which is only about 100 quid cheaper than an identical car on cc tax.

You’ll buy a nice example with an decent stretch of test for that money.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2000-vw-golf-1-9-tdi-diesel-90-bhp-estate-nct-2-21/24406582

49636146426_9d175afb23_z.jpg

Diesel Golf estate with tax til May and a years test, €595

Roof bars and all. A grand handy old yoke for the money

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-v50/24406104

ODJhZDljYzg5MjI2YTY4MmY3ZWVkMWQyNTdiNzM3Njk3GlmqrC6xPwJrzguum4U4aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDM1NzQ2ODN8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

2.4 5 cyl V50 with NCT til September, €600

You'll be owner #8, looks a decent thing for the money if you don't mind the tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,575 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

About 6 or 700 quid IMO. The only thing going for it is the cheap(ish) tax, which is only about 100 quid cheaper than an identical car on cc tax.

700 is optimistic in my opinion, it is a lovely looking car but it's an Alfa and the mileage must be in the top couple of % that are still on the road.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭0lddog

rosie16 wrote: »
    What are Subaru estates like? Is there a loading on insurance for them?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2010-subaru-legacy-awd-new-nct-test/24390881
    jmreire wrote: »
    What was the specific fault (s) with their diesel engine?

Selous had a nightmare with one a few years ago :

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=97780430

( Seemed to be 'normal' for a diesel Subaru :mad: )

700 is optimistic in my opinion, it is a lovely looking car but it's an Alfa and the mileage must be in the top couple of % that are still on the road.

I agree, I was a bit too generous. 5 or 600 at a push would be more realistic

But in general, what are the Alfa's like ? Reliability? Costs?