Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus Part V - 34 cases in ROI, 16 in NI (as of 10 March) *Read warnings in OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

As mentioned (several times) before all my shooping was completed Dec-Jan.

Might get the odd pint of milk, or newspaper as don't want to crack open the UHT and powderwhite milk yet.

For anyone else unprepared they may get their dry pasta via supermarket delivery, left in a box at their gate.

If things get as bad as predicted, all the Guards will be dead. You could expect some uninvited visitors round to your house to share your hoard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭boege

A slow system for the purpose of.... (cash flows, profits, stocks, shares, bankers).
    Otherwise, start with canceling the big green parade.

Antibodies are good for about 14days, after that, reinfection could loom.

No, the government is saying that EU must act unilaterally, so effectively washing their hands of any decision making. Effectively we have to wait for significant numbers of deaths in Germany before we will act here. Hopefully the French situation will trigger and earlier response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

KWAG2019 wrote: »
    Scarce resources going where they might do some good. This is Western Europe 2020.

This is every nation in every continent ever. You're hardly suggesting that we should have paid 80% tax and halved social welfare rates in order to build empty, fully staffed hospitals that might never be used?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,579 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

spookwoman wrote: »
    https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/100-cuh-staff-now-in-self-isolation-as-result-of-coronavirus-case-986522.html?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter
    Initially when the case was identified, 60 staff were told to self-isolate. However, the HSE has now confirmed that number is closer to 100.

And then they realised they had no cover for them, so fck it send em back to work after a few hours of isolation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

So far its said that a lot of people who contract this, will a)pull through with no intervention.
    B)Some people will require a little help/invention.
    C)Then others could go critical.

Wouldn't the best thing to do is to try and catch it at b) and maybe treat it with home oxygen before it turns critical
    Maybe public health nurses could help.

To reduce hospital load.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

And as has been said already, ofc they can't dispute it. We all know there's a chance of this, that and the other. And they haven't finished their own data model yet - it's too early.
    12wks of growth is expected, the only real question is the period of doubling, it may be anwhere from 2days to 7days (max).

HSE don't throw out a 2m infected figure, without a bit of foresight.
    I'll admit it does sound (a bit) too high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭scotchy

spookwoman wrote: »

Can only imagine my residents association whats app if one of those pulled up outside my house.

💙 💛 💙 💛 💙 💛

• Administrators Posts: 55,029 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

People are wasting their time looking at what has happened in China and Italy and trying to extrapolate those numbers to understand what could happen here. IMO neither are valid comparisons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

And then they realised they had no cover for them, so fck it send em back to work after a few hours of isolation.

and this is where you go if you have a heart attack out of hours in waterford.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Not recommending it but Carraigeen or also Irish sea moss drink was used as a hot drink for lung infections and Pneumonia in the past. Usually taken with lemon and whiskey. I saw that it is supposed to have anti-viral properties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

saabsaab wrote: »
    Chilling interview shows what we are facing. He said he didn't want to get into the debate about the parade and said that in the open air with wind and sun the risk would not be great. However, he didn't mention anything anout the pubs after!

You reckon people will avoid the pubs if the parades are cancelled?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,015 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Absolute moron rambling about "community" for Paddy's day.

Yeah sure this thing certainly will take Paddy's day off for "community" right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Why? Would the ~4.5million who don't get sick all decide to lie down and die?

We had a far worse disaster in this country 170 years ago. Far worse than any multiple of the potential worst case scenarios being outlined now. It didn't lead to economic collapse with no coming back from it.

Yeah the famine was grand. Only took a few generations, a revolution, a couple of wars and a bit of nation building to set us straight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,905 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

Phibsboro wrote: »
    Wuhan was completely locked down when China was at 571 cases/ 17 deaths. Highways blocked, no rail or air traffic in or out. They followed that up by locking people into their apartment blocks. And they still hit 80,000 cases. Italy is the place to look at for population infections, the coming weeks will tell a tale.

100% correct, and very frustrating to see this has to be repeated several times a day on the thread as people keep ignoring those facts.

And beyond that I think what is less well known here is that other chinese provinces and cities didn’t stand idle either.

My GF is chinese and while her home city never had too many cases (a bit over 100 case altogether for a city of 7 millions and I believe only 1 or 2 active ones at the moment), her family have seen changes in their daily lives.

They haven’t gone out of home without wearing a mask for over a month (not only because they want to, but also because it has been mandatory).
    It is the first time in their life her parents spent Chinese New Year at home on their own. It is usually a week full of family gatherings.
    During the 2 or 3 weeks after Chinese New Year most offices were closed and they wouldn’t go out of home more then once every few days to buy food.
    Many shops (except essential groceries and the likes) and all restaurants had been closed since Chinese New Year. They reopened this week but there is a minimum security distance between tables and an obligation for restaurants/cafes to keep a log of their customers names and entry/exit time so that contacts can be tracked shall there be a case related to the establishment.

So not Wuhan style restrictions but still fairly intense impact for a city of millions which only had a bit over 100 cases.

I think most people here are completely failing to grasp what life has been in the whole of China in the past few weeks when they look at Chinese infection charts and assume we’ll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,817 ✭✭✭✭banie01

dan786 wrote: »

The Princess cruise line in particular is not having a good outbreak!

It's me put off ever going on a cruise on anything than my private yacht ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

awec wrote: »
    People are wasting their time looking at what has happened in China and Italy and trying to extrapolate those numbers to understand what could happen here. IMO neither are valid comparisons.

What about what's happened in France, Germany, Spain, Switzerland, UK, Netherlands, Sweden, Belgium, Norway or Austria?

Are there any valid comparisons to make there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

If things get as bad as predicted, all the Guards will be dead. You could expect some uninvited visitors round to your house to share your hoard.
    Live in a 'tight' community, not overly partial to handing out free bread to unexpected guests.

It'll be worse in the uk, they have x10 pop density and are planning on releasing 17yo in cammo, to supervise their postcode zombie ethnic gangs. That's a evens bet as to who'll do get the upper hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

scotchy wrote: »
    Can only imagine my residents association whats app if one of those pulled up outside my house.

Fair play to those that are calling to get tested. At least if seen others know that they may have been infected and will get tested themselves. Better to be open about it

Blueshoe wrote: »
    Boris holding Cobra meetings. UK government talking about pumping money into NHS. "Whatever it needs". Planning how to keep supply chains going.

Meanwhile in Ireland : parade is the main topic of conversation. Leo gone into hiding and the hse don't work weekends

How many times does have be called out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

Yurt! wrote: »
    Yeah the famine was grand. Only took a few generations, a revolution, a couple of wars and a bit of nation building to set us straight.

If anything it made us stronger as a community and was a boost to our economy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,015 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

We need to account for much less effort at all levels.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Some Americans believe the corona virus is a Democrats hoax flamed by the liberal media.

Hard to see the US containing it with citizens that dumb.

Not hard to see how that happened. The media ran a half story in which Trump supposedly said the democrats were making up the seriousness of the corona virus to attack him. When in reality Trump said the democrats were politicising the virus to attack him.

Half stories from the media not doing anyone any favours. Especially those who don't know better and actually believe everything they report.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

JDD wrote: »
    What are Singapore doing so right?? Their first case was weeks ago, mid-January, and they’re only at 150 cases with no deaths???

There was an interview on the last thread with a WHO official I think, he outlined what Singapore were doing, someone can probably link it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

How many times does have be called out?

The hse office is closed at the weekend. Hospitals don't close.
    Differentiation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,579 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Are people here closing off their homes from visitors/family/friends ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Italian authorities are openly discussing a possible need for age limits on admission into ICU, in order to preserve resources.
    http://www.siaarti.it/SiteAssets/News/COVID19%20-%20documenti%20SIAARTI/SIAARTI%20-%20Covid19%20-%20Raccomandazioni%20di%20etica%20clinica.pdf

"Può rendersi necessario porre un limite di età all'ingresso in TI. " and also "I criteri di accesso alla Terapia Intensiva andrebbero discussi e definiti per ogni paziente in modo il più possibile anticipato, creando idealmente per tempo una lista di pazienti che saranno ritenuti meritevoli
    di Terapia Intensiva nel momento in cui avvenisse il deterioramento clinico, sempre che le disponibilità
    in quel momento lo consentano. "

It's not unexpected, but it's still a shock to see it happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭saabsaab

I don't know about that. What else have we got to go on? At least it is an indicator and shows what can be done in the Chinese case to bring it to a stop.

Yurt! wrote: »

Know idea why you said "yeah teh famine was grand" in reply to me. I didn't say that. It is merely context of a far worse disaster and economic collapse.

Apologies. My humour detector let me down here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

The first rule of boards is when there is a problem in Ireland; be it health, housing, a pandemic or the price of cabbage, there is no such thing as a valid comparison with any other country. We are completely and utterly unique in all ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Evidence please ?