Grumpy Moore Street Traders

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭amadangomor

The oul wans should be bought out and the place remodeled as a diverse market that you would be proud to bring people visiting or recommend for a tourist to go see. Something like a smaller version of Albert Cuyp market in Amsterdam. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Albert_Cuyp_Market

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,616 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

i remember hearing years ago that the junkies stick their needles in the oranges to sterilize their needles, probably an urban myth but it put me off buying anything there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

pgj2015 wrote: »
    i remember hearing years ago that the junkies stick their needles in the oranges to sterilize their needles, probably an urban myth but it put me off buying anything there.

I think its kinder to call them addicts, and yes that would be an urban myth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

The whole O'Connell St area is an absolute ****hole in serious need of a revamp. Its embaressing.

You can feel the contrast in the air at night as soon as you cross the bridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I think its kinder to call them addicts, and yes that would be an urban myth.
    It's a myth that it is to clean the syringe/needle.

Afaik, citric acid is needed when cooking up. Users either get it in sachet form, or if stuck will use an orange.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

our-tan-judges

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    The whole O'Connell St area is an absolute ****hole in serious need of a revamp. Its embaressing.

You can feel the contrast in the air at night as soon as you cross the bridge.

Agree!

The differance between Henry/Grafton street is night and day. Parnell street is another kip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    Moore Street has always been a mess. Somebody suggesting the street is very, very clean is not looking at the same street.

I went to film there in the late 80s as I had a lend of a video camera. They suspected I was from revenue or social welfare gathering evidence. After the 2nd punch to the back of the head from behind they tried to steal the camera.

Luckily there were 2 of us and we were able to fight back enough to get away. Gardai didn't want to know and said we were stupid for going there with a camera.

There was no way 2 long haired hippies were gather information for revenue or social welfare.

It’s people from that very same county who will claim that they’re keeping the rest of the country afloat, despite the fact that residents of Ireland from outside Dublin pay the same rate of tax and get a fraction of the services people in the capital get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

The oul wans should be bought out and the place remodeled as a diverse market that you would be proud to bring people visiting or recommend for a tourist to go see. Something like a smaller version of Albert Cuyp market in Amsterdam. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Albert_Cuyp_Market

I actually never knew that Street Trading, with the exception of niche creperie rip-offs in posh suburb "farmers markets", could be anything but dodgy, unpleasant and ugly until I was abroad before Christmas and saw how they do it elsewhere in Europe, where I saw a smaller town with pleasant and high quality stalls in its piazza. All I'd ever known was the nasty and sometimes criminal street trading you get in Dublin on the likes of Moore Street, Meath Street and Henry Street at Christmas.

It's the perfect symbol for the civic neglect and poor appreciation of the public good that this country excels at.
    EDIT: Actually given the examples of quality street trading elsewhere in Ireland mentioned below maybe it's fairer to say it's the perfect symbol for the civic neglect and poor appreciation of the public good that Dublin City Council excels at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,513 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    It’s people from that very same county who will claim that they’re keeping the rest of the country afloat, despite the fact that residents of Ireland from outside Dublin pay the same rate of tax and get a fraction of the services people in the capital get.

Your idiocy when it comes to Dublin knows no bounds, I know you hate the place but you aren't going to get away with bullsh*t like the above

https://www.dublinchamber.ie/media/news/february-2018/dublin-ranks-2nd-lowest-for-government-capital-spe
    The Chamber’s analysis of government spending across all 26 counties over the past 7 years found that the county of Dublin - made up of the four Dublin Local Authorities - was the second lowest recipient of capital funding on a per capita basis.

Dublin Chamber said that the findings counter the commonly misplaced claim that Dublin is a dominant recipient of Government investment.
    David McWilliams: Dublin generates 56% of Irish tax, but can’t keep a cent of it

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/david-mcwilliams-dublin-generates-56-of-irish-tax-but-can-t-keep-a-cent-of-it-1.3682876

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,513 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    I actually never knew that Street Trading, with the exception of niche creperie rip-offs in posh suburb "farmers markets", could be anything but dodgy, unpleasant and ugly until I was abroad before Christmas and saw how they do it elsewhere in Europe, where I saw a smaller town with pleasant and high quality stalls in its piazza. All I'd ever known was the nasty and sometimes criminal street trading you get in Dublin on the likes of Moore Street, Meath Street and Henry Street at Christmas.

It's the perfect symbol for the civic neglect and poor appreciation of the public good that this country excels at.

Check out the market in the people's park in Dun Laoighaire on Sundays if you want to visit a nice market done well. Great food and you can buy fresh fruit and veg too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Captain Flaps

George's Market in Belfast and the English Market in Cork are good examples of city centre stall trading done right. I know that they're both covered, and Cork especially is a bit more established shopfront trading at this stage, but they're all locals or visitors selling fresh produce and handmade stuff that for the most part you don't find elsewhere. Dublin could easily have something like that but I'd wager many of the aul wans still trading on Moore/Henry st wouldn't take kindly to a change like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

pgj2015 wrote: »

Some junkies will use lemon or vinegar in needles but not for sterilizing ( I think)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

This is the reason the "Christmas markets";) on Henry street are so woeful. Cheeky charlieees and fake new york Yankee hats. If someone wanted to set up a stall doing nice cakes or handmade stuff they would get torched out of it by these horrible people.[/QUOTE

That applies to a lot of street markets. I could name a few...;) I traded at them for many years..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,616 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

pauliebdub wrote: »
    I have no idea how they are still in business considering there's a Lidl on Moore st that also sells fruit and vegetables. The whole street is so run down and unattractive.

Have you not heard? Lidl are robbing us. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭gourcuff

Always found the traders a little aggressive, especially being a non-dub... they have a big issue if you try and pick a piece of fruit yourself..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Bambi wrote: »
    Some junkies will use lemon or vinegar in needles but not for sterilizing ( I think)

I've worked in needle exchanges in drug services and still work with addicts in low threshold environment and have never heard of an addict using vinegar , or sticking a needle into an orange for citric effect.
    Years ago addicts briefly used lemon juice before exchanges were properly resourced , the risk with lemon juice is that it's not sterile and can cause an infection causing blindness. I've never heard of an addict using lemon juice in Ireland.
    As for sticking a needle in an orange, the first thing it does is blunt the needle and then if you decide to use that needle to inject you risk infection .
    No addict ever wants to inject impurities into their veins, the risk of that is called a dirty hit causing crippling headaches for days.

Never heard or know of an addict injecting vinegar, lemon juice or jabbing their needle into a lemon or orange in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

MarkY91 wrote: »
    Imagine a tourists first sight as they turn away from the spire is a 3rd world ****hole of a street with people that look like they could play the cast of a prison movie.

Absolutely embarrassing.

I’m not sure how their first sight turning away from the Spire could be Moore Street?

And do people think no other major city has run down streets in its CC? Because literally every city I’ve visited has had them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

George's Market in Belfast and the English Market in Cork are good examples of city centre stall trading done right. I know that they're both covered, and Cork especially is a bit more established shopfront trading at this stage, but they're all locals or visitors selling fresh produce and handmade stuff that for the most part you don't find elsewhere. Dublin could easily have something like that but I'd wager many of the aul wans still trading on Moore/Henry st wouldn't take kindly to a change like that.

Yeah and lots of locals shop in the English Market so that’s a great sign.

When I lived in the UK, I lived in a city with an open air Saturday food market in the central square. It was wildly popular. I bought all my fruit and veg there and some meat too. All quality produce.

Based on my experience of both the English Market and that UK one, I am confident that one could do well in Dublin if done right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

For the record i love Moore street and all the characters iv'e met there over the years. Not everyones cup of tea which is fine but don't understand the abusive language used here towards the women in particular who work there day in day out in all weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

The farmers market in Limerick is excellent also. There's always a great buzz there on a Saturday morning and the stalls sell some quality stuff. I'm very surprised that there's nothing like this in Dublin city. I think there should be a revival of the Smithfield Market with nice food/craft stalls and musicians. It would be a huge boost for the city if it was done properly. Moore Street is a dodgy seedy dump and shouldn't be anywhere close to being the standard bearer in the city. A revitalised Smithfield Farmer's Market well away from the seedyness you see in Moore street is what's really needed.

”If I offended you, you needed it!!” - Corey Taylor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Haven't been to the Limerick one yet.

Belfast's St Georges Market is very good.

Cork is a poky place full of butchers / fishmongers and rest of the stalls are overpriced tourist traps. Stinks a fair bit and none too clean pay toilets. Overated for what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭carltonleon

Are they not creating one up in Smithfield ?? nearly sure I read that somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Count Down

I used to live in Dublin but moved to Cork over 30 years ago. Whenever I visit Dublin city I sometimes take a shortcut through Moore Street and it's always the same - poor quality produce (black bananas, bruised apples) and dirty/smelly generally. When I lived in Dublin in the 70s and 80s there was more variety and more stalls.
    I always remember every Halloween the ol' wans selling bangers and stink bombs - they'd come up to ye and open their coats and say "Want any bangers love - only 50p for ten?" Inside there'd be a big bag of them.
    One day they were in an awful panic. They were rushing towards Parnell street, pushing their way through the crowds. One of them shouted to the others "He's comin' this way!" I asked her what was wrong and she said "There's a feckin' guard coming - he's after takin' off his cap so's we can't see him comin', the sneaky fecker!"
    Great days. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Captain Flaps

I somehow completely managed to forget about the Temple Bar food market. That used to be brilliant, we were somewhat friendly with one of the cheese vendors and used to hang out by his stall a fair bit. Last time I went through there half of the market was taken over by a pop up oyster bar of all things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭AlphabetCards

I've worked in needle exchanges in drug services and still work with addicts in low threshold environment and have never heard of an addict using vinegar , or sticking a needle into an orange for citric effect.
    Years ago addicts briefly used lemon juice before exchanges were properly resourced , the risk with lemon juice is that it's not sterile and can cause an infection causing blindness. I've never heard of an addict using lemon juice in Ireland.
    As for sticking a needle in an orange, the first thing it does is blunt the needle and then if you decide to use that needle to inject you risk infection .
    No addict ever wants to inject impurities into their veins, the risk of that is called a dirty hit causing crippling headaches for days.

Never heard or know of an addict injecting vinegar, lemon juice or jabbing their needle into a lemon or orange in Ireland.

There are a range of acidic solutions which can be used to produce heroin salt from free base heroin. Citric acid is a popular one, less harmful to the veins long term (not a potent acid tbh) and research from a school of pharmacy has shown that for brown/base heroin, lemon juice, orange juice and vinegar have all been used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Haven't been to the Limerick one yet
    Good. Successfully blends a Moore St. feel with the hipster craft thing under a permanent 'open' circus tent canopy. Doubles as a concert venue on occasions.
    Potentially a model, but only does Sat morning. Would not mind seeing a scaled-up version open every day of the week in Dublin - maybe Smithfield plaza?

Live+At+The+Big+Top+tent.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭w/s/p/c/

Jesus I love a bit of hazlet, or fresh sliced cornbeef on Brennans bread :)

I've still got family in Matt Talbot, still living in my Nanny's old flat.

I was born in the tenements in Summerhill (on the corner of Ruthland St), we moved to Ballymun but my Nanny and most of the neighbors moved into Matt Talbot and surrounding area's.

Its hard getting 'townies' out of town. When I got married I lived in Sheriff St for awhile, then turned posh and bought a house in Eastwall.. When my son was knocked down in Eastwall I wanted to get out of the city and bought out in Portmarnock, my wife thought we were moving out to the countryside and moaned that she'd never see anyone again lol

I mostly like the new Ireland, I'd say over 50% of my friends now weren't Irish born but I do miss the Dublin character too.

My mother in law died recently, at her funeral in Sheriff Street my now grown up children and me had a laugh listening to the accents and remembering how they couldn't understand my mother & sister's accents.

''Ah hereeee leeeeve ih ouh' (or whatever way its spelled) is my wifes aunt and still living just off Sheriff St.

I recently reread Strumpet City, a brilliant read for anyone interested in a little bit of Dublin history.

Now there's something I haven't had since I was a kid... does anywhere even sell Hazlet anymore?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

topper75 wrote: »
    Good. Successfully blends a Moore St. feel with the hipster craft thing under a permanent 'open' circus tent canopy. Doubles as a concert venue on occasions.
    Potentially a model, but only does Sat morning. Would not mind seeing a scaled-up version open every day of the week in Dublin - maybe Smithfield plaza?

Live+At+The+Big+Top+tent.jpg

Sorry are people raving there, or buying bananas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Removalist

If people think the moore street market is bad they should have a look at the markets in Marseille.

Be careful what you wish for.