Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Avoiding Ticketmaster fees

Options
  • 20-02-2020 2:53pm
    Registered Users Posts: 766 ✭✭✭

Hi,
    I'm new to boards.ie so I hope this is posted in the correct place.

Is there anyway to avoid Ticketmaster fees for concerts etc? I'm planning on going to see walking on cars with a couple of friends in trinity college in July, however the service charge per ticket is €6.25, which in my opinion is ridiculous when lets say your buying 4 tickets it comes to €25 despite the fact I could print out the tickets so Ticketmaster wouldn't even be paying for postage etc.

I have rang up sound cellar on Nassau street but they have no tickets left, apparently their service charge is only €1 per ticket.
    I recently bought tickets at the Ticketmaster box office in Stephens green to see Liam Gallagher up in Belfast but a similar service charge of €6.25 was applied for this transaction too.

Unlike with the Olympia and Gaiety theater there is no box office at trinity college for these events, do I just have to suck it up and pay the service charge or are there any other outlets that would apply a more reasonable service charge that I'm not thinking of?

Thanks in advance for any help.
    James

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 12,373 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

The only thing I can add is buy your ticket from a kiosk or a ticketmaster agent in a shop, you then don't get charged the online transaction fee but maybe just an additional 2 Euro if you buy from the kiosk.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭Zwillinge