Caroline Flack found dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

We’ll never know exactly what took place that night.

We will. He's going to reveal it over the coming weeks and months. He's going to continue to deny the CPS version of events and the very sad thing is that it's still going to be perceived as a victim protecting the memory of his abuser by some people. People will believe what he said when he was drunk and hysterical, that she tried to kill him with a lamp - which is what he said during the 999 call - but they won't believe what he has to say when he's sober and of a sounder mind. They'll say what you've suggested, that he retracted the statement because of a stigma against male victims of domestic abuse, or that he's just struck by grief and doesn't want to speak ill of his deceased girlfriend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭ToddDameron

If you look at people on twitter blaming the death on the media and trolls on how they reacted to the domestic abuse case of Caroline which she was charged to appear in court on ,

Theses are the same people who had absolute no issues going to town on a certain Conor McGregor for an allegedly sexual assault that he has never been charged off ,

Its funny how they like to follow whatever trend they think will make them look righteous and hypocrisy is forgotten about ,

The same people that are outraged over Caroline Flack's suicide are now on the boyfriend's social media severely abusing him, and placing responsibility on him for what happened. The comments under his last Instagram post are an extremely disturbing read.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

I really don’t see the well if a man did this argument, she’s dead why argue over it now ? Also, I wish people would stop blaming depression the girl was on medication like millions of others, myself included but I never tried to kill anyone or myself. People need to realise she’s in peace now and got what she wanted, millions of us want the same but wouldn’t do it to our family even if they have deserted us due to our illness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,304 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

The UK has started to take cases like this extremely seriously in the last few years and there was a whole spectrum of new laws introduced in the last while. Once you make the initial phone call for help, if there’s enough evidence that an attack took place then it’s out of the victim’s hands. This is done in order to protect them from intimidation, threats or any pressure.

I’m not disagreeing with anything you’ve said, you’re absolutely right and I totally understand why the authorities do it. I’m just saying, as you’ve pointed out- that one of the reasons why so many cases go unreported is because the person knows it’ll be out of their hands once they make a complaint, and there’s nothing they can do to control what comes out. It’s one of the reasons why there’s such a backlash against how these investigations are conducted when the victim has to hand over their phone for example as evidence and the defendants are entitled to use that as evidence in their defence.

The new laws such as “coercive control” are also proving to be controversial, in one case being used to appeal one woman’s conviction for the murder of her husband -

Sally Challen walks free as court rules out retrial for killing abusive husband

The same people that are outraged over Caroline Flack's suicide are now on the boyfriend's social media severely abusing him, and placing responsibility on him for what happened. The comments under his last Instagram post are an extremely disturbing read.

As are the voyeurs rushing to read his responses, you are just as bad leave the man in peace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭the.red.baron

all he ha to do is disconnect and poof they are gone

no doubt there's money to be made from all this

at the end of the day, that's why these people are on instagram in the first place

money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭Hoboo

I can’t speak for anyone else, but I’ve already said it earlier that if someone doesn’t see themselves as a victim (whether it be domestic abuse/intimate partner violence, assault, sexual abuse/violence, etc), I’ve always respected that. What I would never do is try to tell someone they’re a victim, when they say they’re not.

Exactly why the law has changed. So abusers cant hide behind victims. Think a little self education on the psychology/thinking of victims, and why they protect their abusers would be valuable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

SusieBlue wrote: »
    Shows how little they know about Love Island as well, because its been on tv six nights a week since the beginning of January.
    It wasn't due to launch this week at all :confused: What a stupid thing to be offended by.

I know. The 2 posts I quoted were from the same poster, who has really laid into her, they were sure that it was timed to disrupt the show launch! It was a point they used to point out her manipulative nature:confused: And they got a load of thanks for it. No better than the tabloids at forming a narrative.

As are the voyeurs rushing to read his responses, you are just as bad leave the man in peace

Interesting take, me reading comments on his social media is just as bad as leaving vile comments. I take it you haven't read any news regarding this then? As that's obviously voyeuristic. I suppose your grim speculation earlier in the thread is fine though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭AryaStark

Cina wrote: »
    Man why don't you cop the f*ck on? Someone just committed suicide and you're almost trying to justify it as a good thing and bring anti feminist nonsense into it. It's pathetic.

I think that it is terrible that she felt so bad and went so far as to take her own life. It is horrible and her poor family.

I have never liked her though and had huge problems with her dating Harry Styles back when she was. He was 17 and she was 31... that is shocking and I was always amazed that she didnt get more flack for it.

I think it shows that she must have been a bit damaged and stuck as a kid instead of growing up. I think if it has of been Olly Murs dating one of the little mix girls he would not have come back from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Hammer89 wrote: »
    We will. He's going to reveal it over the coming weeks and months. He's going to continue to deny the CPS version of events and the very sad thing is that it's still going to be perceived as a victim protecting the memory of his abuser by some people. People will believe what he said when he was drunk and hysterical, that she tried to kill him with a lamp - which is what he said during the 999 call - but they won't believe what he has to say when he's sober and of a sounder mind. They'll say what you've suggested, that he retracted the statement because of a stigma against male victims of domestic abuse, or that he's just struck by grief and doesn't want to speak ill of his deceased girlfriend.

And they very well might be right.
    Look, I don’t know if I’m living on another planet or what but I’m just not seeing what the majority online seem to be seeing. It’s a tragic situation of course, awful. But the gushing tributes, the looking for blame in every and any conceivable direction, the outpouring of hate for every troll that ever existed and anyone who has ever dared criticise any human ever. I don’t get it? Judging by what is being reported about her not being able to cope with the pressure of a trial, it doesn’t seem to be the case that she killed herself because people were mean to her on social media. She apparently did a horrible thing and couldn’t cope with what the outcome was going to be. Of course the media ran away with themselves with the story but the press being absolute scumbags when they want to is no news to anyone.

I don’t know. I do agree that the whole thing should have been kept away from the media until a (if a) conviction was made but if reports are to be believed she attacked someone viciously and she was rightly criticised for that. That’s not trolling. If people actually want something to change then they need to actually do something instead of retweeting dumb quotes. They need to lobby for cases like this not to be reported on until there’s a conviction secured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭skallywag

AryaStark wrote: »
    ...and I was always amazed that she didnt get more flack for it.

Deary me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

AryaStark wrote: »
    I think that it is terrible that she felt so bad and went so far as to take her own life. It is horrible and her poor family.

I have never liked her though and had huge problems with her dating Harry Styles back when she was. He was 17 and she was 31... that is shocking and I was always amazed that she didn't get more flack for it.

Why? Why did you care so much? Who are you to judge someone else's life choices? It was absolutely none of your business.

This is the problem with social media - it gives everyone a voice, mainly people who's voices aren't worthy of being heard.

Everyone makes mistakes. Count yourself lucky you don't have a hoard of idiots on social media slagging you off when you make an error in life.

RIP to the poor girl, god knows what her twin sister and family are going through right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

I think this case is terribly confusing and causing a lot of conflicting emotions in a lot of people.

Like I think if she assaulted her boyfriend, that's despicable and she should be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law.
    I can also recognise that she's innocent until proven guilty.
    Hitting someone over the head with a lamp is a serious assault, but the media are so prone to exageration that the context and circumstances of the incident are still unclear.
    But if she did it, she's definitely deserving of any criticism that came her way.
    On one hand, I think if she assaulted him, its her own fault if the press are tearing her to shreds. On the other, I don't think its fair to hound someone who has yet to be convicted of any crimes.
    I definitely think there needs to be more accountability for posting honest, factual stories in the media.

But above all else I think its the saddest thing ever that a woman who had already lost everything had so little hope for the future, gave herself no opportunity for redemption and thought that the only way of handling the pain she was in was to take her own life.
    I think that truly is dreadful, just on a human level.

I know everything I said above makes me a hypocrite, but this isn't a clear cut case and I'm so conflicted on it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭magic_murph

Ninthlife wrote: »
    Always thought she was a beautiful looking girl

:(

RIP

I never understood why people comment about looks after a suicide. It's almost as if the better looking they were the more tragic the death.

Interesting take, me reading comments on his social media is just as bad as leaving vile comments. I take it you haven't read any news regarding this then? As that's obviously voyeuristic. I suppose your grim speculation earlier in the thread is fine though.

It’s true, look in the mirror Todd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,405 ✭✭✭ebbsy

But it is all ok, ITV have said it will be back on air soon.

With a tribute no less.

It’s true, look in the mirror Todd.

Interesting that you ignore being called out on your morbid speculation. Yeah, it's me that needs to look the mirror alright.

I have no idea what you are on about, you are trolling through my account like you are of that poor man, for what Todd ? You are part of the problem,
    Speculation and voyeurism are two different things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I think this case is terribly confusing and causing a lot of conflicting emotions in a lot of people.

Like I think if she assaulted her boyfriend, that's despicable and she should be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law.
    Hitting someone over the head with a lamp is a serious assault, but the media are so prone to exageration that the context and circumstances of the incident are still unclear.
    But if she did it, she's definitely deserving of any criticism that came her way.
    On one hand, I think if she assaulted him, its her own fault if the press are tearing her to shreds. On the other, I don't think its fair to hound someone who has yet to be convicted of any crimes.
    I definitely think there needs to be more accountability for posting honest, factual stories in the media.

But above all else I think its the saddest thing ever that a woman who had already lost everything had so little hope for the future, gave herself no opportunity for redemption and thought that the only way of handling the pain she was in was to take her own life.

I know everything I said above makes me a hypocrite, but this isn't a clear cut case and I'm so conflicted on it all.

I think, overall, that’s a pretty balanced view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭AryaStark

jackboy wrote: »
    If this is true she was self harming before the arrest, getting fired and all the social media stuff. This would point to mental health issues rather than something external causing her issues.

Apparently she hurt herself when she smashed the lamp over his head while he slept.

He may have been cheating or pissed her of but there is no excuse for attacking somebody while they sleep.

And he loved her and was also much younger then her... he may have been a bit blinkered by that and that is why he wanted the charges dropped.

I hate the tabloid media and feel so bad for her family. I have personal experience with a family member who commit suicide and it is so horrible for the family and every one left behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

This whole instant celebrity racket is a shocking indictment of modern civilization and its whole lame ethos is nothing more than a vile establishment engineered bully fest for the sale of gutter press rags masquerading as some sort of journalistic newspapers giving a good cross section of people nothing but total useless information that they think they need. Useless information lauding or else crucifying actual people who don't actually make a difference to anybody else except themselves. All the actual useful information, the proper news then can be swept under the carpet or spun into something that it isn't. Its also a platform for ultra, ultra vile people to make some sort of living out of commentating on the people dragging themselves into this modern colosseum hell. Piers Morgan, any other time in the history of mankind this noise merchant would be nothing but a back alley abracadabra shop man, fooling people until they copped on to his shtick then he'd be turfed out into a ditch. Its the likes of this gadge that feeds off this establishment bully celebration. Hopefully the next generation cop on to this lame fame noise and stay the Hell away from it.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

A lot of people seem to be blaming what happened on the media and twitter etc. I don't really follow it but I am not sure she got any more abuse or criticism than most celebs get

An impending trial and the realisation her career was most likely over is probably what got to her the most and led to her seeing no way out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

py2006 wrote: »
    A lot of people seem to be blaming what happened on the media and twitter etc. I don't really follow it but I am not sure she got any more abuse or criticism than most celebs get

An impending trial and the realisation her career was most likely over is probably what got to her the most and led to her seeing no way out.

This is what I feel too. Everything I’ve read so far suggests it was the thoughts of the impending trial and the consequences of that that she could not cope with. She took her life hours after learning her trial would be going ahead and that body cam footage taken that night will be used against her. To me that suggests she was overwhelmed with the thoughts of the trial, was in a state of panic and anxiety and catastrophizing. If the charges had been dropped on Friday evening then it’s extremely likely that she would still be alive right now.

Her team didn’t even mention trolls or anything of the sort in their statement released. They focused solely on the pressure of the impending trial and slammed the CPS for pursuing with the charges. It’s every other idiot across social media who has taken it upon themselves to declare Caroline’s cause of death as trolling and used it as opportunity to write self serving, shallow platitudes about themselves and rage war on anyone who has ever said something critical about someone in the past when it’s a fight that not even her friends and family seem to be fighting right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

This. It's a horrible case.

One other thing that occurred to me was this: If she had been the aggressor and smashed a lamp over his head and this was documented on the 999 call and on bodycam evidence - with the evidence being so overwhelming, would her PR and management not have pushed for her to admit wrongdoing, plead guilty and do the remorseful press conference? While the public love tearing down a villain, they do also love the celebrity that is willing to do the rehab/community service penance and building them back up again. Why were herself and himself so adamant that it wasn't as it seemed, if there was so much evidence to the contrary?

I've more questions than answers about the whole situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,304 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Hoboo wrote: »
    Exactly why the law has changed. So abusers cant hide behind victims. Think a little self education on the psychology/thinking of victims, and why they protect their abusers would be valuable.

In your case I’d certainly agree. People aren’t nearly as one-dimensional as you appear to think they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Once upon a time I was hit over the head by a drunken partner as I slept. I was left scarred for life and it sent me on a path of irrevocable self-destruction culminating in me nearly doing something drastic.

It was a long hard road to come back from where I was and it took a very long time for me to be a stable human again.

Guards were involved and the person that did it went on with their life. I can safely say at no point did she consider ending her life but she needed to pick up some pieces from the damage she caused and move on too. It’s really horrible but this crap does happen.

Now had she been hacked to breaking point by red tops and stalked by papps then I’m sure things would have been different.

The thing for me in this is that ‘social media’ is being blamed, reality is it’s the red tops and gossip websites that did the harassing her. The woman in question could easily have ignored SM but it’s harder to ignore newspapers and ‘news’ outlets when they are writing about you and in some cases following you to take a picture and hopefully catch you at a weaker moment, sticking the bins out or walking the dog. They are vultures and until we as society stop feeding them with clicks or our money then this will continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,769 ✭✭✭Tork

If the CPS didn't think this was serious, why were Caroline and Lewis banned from seeing each other until the trial?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭holyhead

When you make your fortune from being a TV celebrity you are at the mercy of both the public and the press.

We can all lash out in anger but to physically assault someone with a lamp is out of order. If the police were alerted then it was a serious incident. Their willingness to press charges confirm this.

Her behaviour created a story which was manna for the press especially the red tops. It looks to me as though the prospect of a criminal case proceeding over powered her.

The buck ultimately stops with Caroline Flack. We are all responsible for our actions. Increasingly though we live in times where people seek to assign blame elsewhere for their actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,711 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

1. She was accused of domestic violence and it looks (from the point if view of a lay person) that she might well have done it.

2. It's very sad that she died (roughly as sad as anyone else who dies by suicide)

3. The abuse she got recently was harsh, much worse than any normal person (guilty of domestic violence or not) will ever face. It probably contributed to her death.

I've no idea why there's any need to Conflate the issues here.

I heard so robe yesterday say it was just a drunken row; implying it wasn't bad domestic violence. I can't agree with trying to mitigate the crime because it's sad that she died. It's both sad that she died and she might have committed a pretty horrible crime.