Caroline Flack found dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Seamai wrote: »
    Whitmore is nothing but a media wh*re.

Where does this hate come from? What's wrong with you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭Ironicname

Heat_Wave wrote:
    Calling someone a cnut online is not an opinion, it’s abuse.

That depends on where you draw the line. Should I be able to say I hate leo varadkar or is that abuse too?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Hammer89 wrote: »
    Journalistically The Sun and tabloids did their job. They reported the facts, but what they also did was manipulate the narrative in a disgusting way.

In the first paragraph, the most paragraph, you'll read about Caroline Flack whacking her boyfriend with a lamp. Then as you scroll down, you'll see a picture of the blood-laden apartment, and you'll read the quote about the 'horror movie' from the police officer, which heightens the drama. What are you thinking at this stage? You're probably thinking, 'Jesus it must've been some whack'. That's what you're supposed to think. It's by design, because you won't read about her wrist lacerations until later, and it turns out it's a massively important bit of context because they were the source of the blood, not his head wound, but they can't mention that higher up the article, where you're most likely to read it, because it completely ruins the narrative. It spoils the picture that they're trying to paint, which is that Caroline Flack is a psychopath.

I wonder how much of what they published was fact. Some one posted a link to the Mirror earlier in the thread and the headline claimed Caroline 'attacked' boyfriend.

Why the inverted commas? Is it to cover their asses legally, ie instead of using allegedly. Or did they know full well there was more to the story and putting attacked in there would grab attention, but threw the inverted commas in there as a get out of jail card?

Ive personally known news storiesand the difference between the reality and the media twist on it is startling. Like, they put a clear spin on a story and morphed it into something it never was.

I think the tabloids play it very fast and loose with a story. There was nothing to report since December (I think that was the last court date. So why were they still filling their papers with it? Save it for the trial, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

NIMAN wrote: »
    I genuinely don't know who she is.

I'd never heard of her either but I wouldn't be one for watching the Love Island, Ex-Factor, Dancing Stars, type programs, not my kind of thing. Anyway, was reading about her in a couple of yesterday's newspapers and she appears to have been quite a volatile kind of character. The assault of the boyfriend and impending court case seems to have spelt the end of her celebrity career and ultimately tipped her over the edge so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

The boyfriend needs to get the hell off social media whilst its all going on. Seriously, whinging about abuse, your gfriend just died instagram should be last of your worries.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Blanco100 wrote: »
    The boyfriend needs to get the hell off social media whilst its all going on. Seriously, whinging about abuse, your gfriend just died instagram should be last of your worries.
    Agreed, an attention whore's gotta whore. Needs that dopamine hit.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

It waz de meedja dat kilt hur!!! Idiots.

Absolutely nothing to do with the upcoming court case against her.

I'm sure it was a combination of both but people are squarely dismissing the legal case as a large contributing factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,320 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Blanco100 wrote: »

I gotta be honest, Caroline Flack seemed to have a knack for attracting lads who fed off drama themselves -

Caroline Flack’s ex-fiance Andrew Brady called an ambulance to her home claiming she had threatened to kill herself

The pair of them (Andrew and Lewis) seem to be hamming it up on social media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I was just wondering if the roles were reversed and it was the boyfriend who was about to be tried on a charge of assaulting her, what would the media reaction be in the event that he committed suicide.
    I suspect there would be little sympathy?
    I know it's a long thread but that has been said countless times. Did you not see any of those posts before you posted?

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I was just wondering if the roles were reversed and it was the boyfriend who was about to be tried on a charge of assaulting her, what would the media reaction be in the event that he committed suicide.
    I suspect there would be little sympathy?

I suspect you’d be absolutely correct.

You’re talking about a completely different scenario though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Lonesomerhodes

Why could she not tell the media to phuck off?.

Come out with a statement she will kill herself if they don't back down.

Too thin skinned some of these 'insta celebs'.

Like could she not bear losing her presenting job?.

Not the end of the World.

Funny the media that drove her to it making her life a circus have now turned her life into a circus too. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,817 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

GoneHome wrote: »
    I'd never heard of her either but I wouldn't be one for watching the Love Island, Ex-Factor, Dancing Stars, type programs, not my kind of thing. Anyway, was reading about her in a couple of yesterday's newspapers and she appears to have been quite a volatile kind of character. The assault of the boyfriend and impending court case seems to have spelt the end of her celebrity career and ultimately tipped her over the edge so to speak.

Its bizarre to blame the media in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭statto25

Why could she not tell the media to phuck off?.

Come out with a statement she will kill herself if they don't back down.

If she did that she would be accused of looking for attention and not facing up to her situation. We don't have a clue as to what was going on in the womans head and sadly we will now never know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Lonesomerhodes

VICIOUS WOMAN BEATER TOPS HIMSELF RATHER THAN FACE JUSTICE

That would be the headlines in a nutshell.

Media for some reason doesn't take domestic abuse against men serious at all.

Smashing a hard object like a lamp onto a sleeping persons head should be seen as attempted murder.

Could easily kill someone doing that. Media

Media give her sympathy now after hounding her. The hypocrisy is staggering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

, because you won't read about her wrist lacerations until later, and it turns out it's a massively important bit of context because they were the source of the blood, not his head wound,

We have no idea whose blood it was because the trial will never take place.

She would hardly be the first abuser to use threats and acts of self harm as a manipulative tactic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭statto25

kylith wrote: »

She would hardly be the first abuser to use threats and acts of self harm as a manipulative tactic.

She also wouldn't be the first abuser/person to use those threats as a cry for help.

That would be the headlines in a nutshell.

Media for some reason doesn't take domestic abuse against men serious at all.

Smashing a hard object like a lamp onto a sleeping persons head should be seen as attempted murder.

Could easily kill someone doing that. Media

Media give her sympathy now after hounding her. The hypocrisy is staggering.

The media don’t take domestic abuse against men seriously simply because the general public doesn’t take domestic abuse against men seriously. In this particular case, the guy doesn’t see himself as a victim of domestic abuse, so who do you hold responsible then for not taking domestic abuse against men seriously, the men who don’t see it the same way you do?

It’s as though you believe the media exist to serve the general public with facts and only the facts, no spin of their own and no drama. The media exist to push their own agenda and ultimately exist to make money for themselves. Journalists generally couldn’t give a shìte for what personal circumstances a person is going through, they’ll flip flop and present whatever narrative they imagine will sell more newspapers, get more clicks, etc. When Piers Morgan has a point, he’s simply expressing an opinion which he knows will resonate with the public, he’s still the same prick he’s always been.

The evidence the CPS had unlikely supported a charge of attempted murder in this particular case. It’s not that Caroline Flack couldn’t have been charged with attempted murder if the evidence had supported it and the CPS were convinced they could secure a conviction. It’s easier go for a lesser charge and secure a conviction, than go for a more difficult to prove charge and fail to secure a conviction. It’s not that they couldn’t have charged her with attempted murder if they’d wanted to, it’s just very unlikely they’d have been able to secure a conviction as the evidence didn’t support the charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

kylith wrote: »

That's the point. It won't take place - ever - so to continue to call her an 'abuser' who tried to 'cave' in her boyfriend's skull is monumentally wrong. She would've gotten away with it because the only witness denied CPS' version of events. That also ruins your 'she knew she was going down so she killed herself' angle. You also compared her to a man who killed three children. Your take on this is reprehensible in my view. Way too much exaggeration, sensationalist language - like 'abuser' - and confirmation bias and not enough compassion or balance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

The media don’t take domestic abuse against men seriously simply because the general public doesn’t take domestic abuse against men seriously. In this particular case, the guy doesn’t see himself as a victim of domestic abuse, so who do you hold responsible then for not taking domestic abuse against men seriously, the men who don’t see it the same way you do?

If a woman presented with a serious enough injury, caused apparently by her partner hitting her in a jealous rage, and then subsequently declared they weren’t a victim and there was nothing to see here would we all be happy to say domestic abuse of women is really all women’s fault for not pressing charges and women needed to take it seriously? Or would we, rightly in my view, ask what factors could lead to this contradiction: coercion in a controlling relationship? Fear of being disbelieved or ridiculed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,955 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

That's the point. It won't take place - ever - so to continue to call her an 'abuser' who tried to 'cave' in her boyfriend's skull is monumentally wrong. She would've gotten away with it because the only witness denied CPS' version of events. That also ruins your 'she knew she was going down so she killed herself' angle. You also compared her to a man who killed three children. Your take on this is reprehensible in my view. Way too much exaggeration, sensationalist language - like 'abuser' - and confirmation bias and not enough compassion or balance.

While I agree with most of what you say ,
    I think your wrong in your assumption she would be found innocent ,
    The police would not go ahead with the court appearance if they thought she would get off in fact they would not be allowed to have a court sitting without there being a strong chance of wining the case,

So its certainly not as clean cut and straight forward as you think

She is also is reported to have completely lost it when she was told it was going ahead, again she would have been advise on possible outcomes and her reaction would tell you she was not confident of being found innocent,

Her boyfriend rang the police the call would be recorded , and they attended a crime scene , they can't just pretend it never happened,

But I agree with the rest you said ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Steve F

Shelga wrote: »
    Bloody hell. Would not have expected that. I thought poorly of her a couple of months back when she was arrested for assaulting her boyfriend, but no one knows what is going on behind closed doors or in someone’s head.

I presume it was the torrents of abuse she surely received on social media, fuelled by the cruel British media.

This is extremely sad. RIP.

Agree 100% with what you say plus I think there might have been depression and other psychological issues?? Made worse by what you outlined above
    Very Sad

tritium wrote: »
    If a woman presented with a serious enough injury, caused apparently by her partner hitting her in a jealous rage, and then subsequently declared they weren’t a victim and there was nothing to see here would we all be happy to say domestic abuse of women is really all women’s fault for not pressing charges and women needed to take it seriously? Or would we, rightly in my view, ask what factors could lead to this contradiction: coercion in a controlling relationship? Fear of being disbelieved or ridiculed?

I can’t speak for anyone else, but I’ve already said it earlier that if someone doesn’t see themselves as a victim (whether it be domestic abuse/intimate partner violence, assault, sexual abuse/violence, etc), I’ve always respected that. What I would never do is try to tell someone they’re a victim, when they say they’re not. I’ve always seen that as an attempt by someone else to undermine a person’s perception of themselves to fit that person’s agenda. I might disagree with them, but who’s opinion is more important to them, theirs or mine? I’m not going to criticise someone who doesn’t see themselves as a victim.

We could still ask ourselves what factors could lead to this contradiction, and for me the answer is very simple - people don’t want their private lives being made public, it’s basic self-protection. It’s the reason a lot of crimes go unreported or are underreported. People don’t see themselves as victims or they don’t have the same idea of what constitutes abuse or exploitation as someone else. I don’t think it’s any different than some people thinking that Caroline Flack should have been charged with attempted murder or comparing her to Alan Hawe, and me thinking that’s just a tad dramatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

She is also is reported to have completely lost it when she was told it was going ahead, again she would have been advise on possible outcomes and her reaction would tell you she was not confident of being found innocent

Well that's no less of an assumption than me assuming she would've been found innocent. Her friends say, unquoted, that it was the idea of going to court itself - not the potential verdict - which had her distressed, the idea that a courtroom would have to watch bodycam footage of her half-naked, bleeding, drunk and shouting, the idea of those details coming to light. Even if she was innocent, I imagine there's still profound shame and public humiliation to live with, not to mention the strong possibility that she thought her career was over either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

“If someone doesn’t see themselves as a victim of domestic violence then I’ve always respected that”

Well that’s good for you. But the job of the police is to protect the public and they wouldn’t have been doing their job if it was as clear as day that an attack took place and then decided to ignore that because the victim changed their mind. And it wouldn’t be the first time that happened, be it down to intimidation, regret, embarrassment or what have you. Remember Lewis is a Male who was apparently attacked by his girlfriend, cases like this are underreported as it is due to the stigma of being bet up by a woman so it doesn’t really surprise me that he retracted it.

They obviously have enough footage (along with his initial phone call) to prove that she was a serious threat to him that night. Apparently he was heard screaming on the street “I was normal until I met her”, and they were both in absolute hysterics and Caroline had to be physically restrained. It sounds vicious. And that’s all we know. We’ll never know exactly what took place that night but the CPS typically don’t move forward with charges unless there is sufficient evidence that an attack took place. Reports now suggest she was absolutely terrified of this footage being made public and she couldn’t cope with the pressure of it. It would make you wonder what was actually on it. The no contact order was done because they believed Lewis was a victim of violence, and despite subsequently denying anything took place; sometimes victims need to be protected from themselves. Now whether she would have been actually convicted is a whole other conversation, and it’s something we will never ever know.

The UK has started to take cases like this extremely seriously in the last few years and there was a whole spectrum of new laws introduced in the last while. Once you make the initial phone call for help, if there’s enough evidence that an attack took place then it’s out of the victim’s hands. This is done in order to protect them from intimidation, threats or any pressure.

Having said all of that, the whole thing is a horrendous tragedy and one of the saddest things I’ve ever read about. But the CPS aren’t to blame here for trying to do their job. If they hadn’t pressed charges and god forbid Lewis died down the line, they would have had blood on their hands and a whole other social media storm would have been created.

Well that's no less of an assumption than me assuming she would've been found innocent. Her friends say, unquoted, that it was the idea of going to court itself - not the potential verdict - which had her distressed, the idea that a courtroom would have to watch bodycam footage of her half-naked, bleeding, drunk and shouting, the idea of those details coming to light. Even if she was innocent, I imagine there's still profound shame and public humiliation to live with, not to mention the strong possibility that she thought her career was over either way.

I feel sorry for the girl and her family as its a horrific .

But if you commit a crime its your own fault that you have to go through that ,I do realise its worse for her as the media will make it public which I agree is wrong ,

I seen people criticizing the police which again is wrong they are only doing there job .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Rodin wrote: »
    People just need to stop with the social media obsession.

The "boyfriend" composing a message for her and posting it on social media... though she'll never read it....ridiculous. And attention seeking.

This is it in a nutshell. The world would be a much better place without twitter, facebook and instagram. It has turned people into vain narcissists.

I think there will come a day when some social media platforms are officially declared as major health risks akin to smoking etc. Absolute poison for the mind.

We are a long way off but it will come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Ironicname wrote: »
    I've met Laura, before and after, she has been in the public eye and although, yes, she craves and somewhat embraces the celebrity that comes with media, calling her a whore is crass and belittling.

I don't particularly like the show's she aligns herself to, but if you want to label her a whore, it says much more about you than it does her.
    Raconteuse wrote: »
    Aye, she works in media - does that mean everyone who works in media is therefore a media whore? Nonsensical comment. Knew of her in college. Very hard working and seemed perfectly down to earth.

I think Laura just wants her new job on Love Island to continue so wants the show back on

From all accounts of her time on SCD she is not very nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

I have no doubt that the media and social media were partly responsible for her fragile state of mind. They build these celebrities up and can tear them down. But as per the Oscar Wilde quote - There's only one thing worse than being talked about, and that's not being talked about - there's not a chance that she or her management/PR would have told the media not to write about her, presenting careers can be gone in an instant and while she hadn't actually been found guilty of anything, it wasn't worth silencing the hand that feeds.

On the other hand, it was pretty clear she had some mental health issues. Her family knew it, her close friends knew it and she herself alluded to it in a previous social media post. She had been open about being on anti depressants and suffering depression after winning SCD. It's been claimed she had self harmed before and that the majority of blood on the bed was hers - by the boyfriend that was actually there at the time. I haven't heard the transcript of the 999 call but he said that she hit him on the head with a lamp while he slept - but has since said that didn't happen.

Now, as has been stated many times on this thread, victims of domestic violence often retract their statements and stay with their abuser. Sometimes because of the fear of being alone, more often for the fear of family and friends finding out (bit late in this case) or for financial dependency. There's an element to this that may ring true here - his tennis career hadn't amounted to much, but she had been steadily working on top TV shows for more than a decade. The cynic in me says this might be an explanation, if the charges against her were proven to be true. But it's still all speculation and conjecture by joe public and of course what the tabloids want you to think.

One thing that puzzles me about the bloody bed picture - why is it out for public consumption? Surely the photo of this is considered evidence and public images produced by tabloid gutter press are influencing potential jurors in the case? These images tend to come to light after the case has been heard and a verdict handed down. As stated by Lewis Burton, this wasn't his blood, so if this was one of the damning pieces of evidence, were the legal team aiming to strike it out if the case went ahead? Nobody will know. Tabloids know full well that the clickbait headlines of a bloody bed are the money shots. If it turns out that it's not exactly true, then a retraction doesn't need to be on the front page, just buried in a later edition. It's a lot of blood, but where was his head injury?
    Look, this is what happens when someone dies, no matter what they did in life they are canonised in death. I've never watched Love Island I don't follow her or read tabloids very often but this woman killed herself hours after the Crown Prosecution Service told her that they were going ahead with the Court Case and the day before the show she'd been fired from was due to air.

Now it's all about glossing over the fact that the woman seriously assaulted a man while he slept and painting her as a victim in all of this. The reality is that men are the victims of domestic violence too but they don't really get much coverage. I'll get eaten alive for saying it but this just seems very selfish and manipulative timing. She isn't the victim here, the man she attacked and could have murdered in his sleep is the victim. Yes she's dead, yes it's sad but she's wasn't a saint so lets not pretend that she was.
    I'm sick of hearing that 'she was vulnerable' and shouldn't have been prosecuted, what that means is she was an effing nut job with a short fuse and a violent temper. Manipulative to the last she waited until the point where she got the maximum attention she craved and did as much damage as she could to kill herself. She could have done it next week or next month but no, she went for the day before Love Island was due to air. I'm appalled at the amount of people who think that her being nuts means that she shouldn't have been charged let alone prosecuted and that it should all have been covered up.

This particular poster I've quoted really seems to think that Caroline Flack was nothing more than a violent, manipulative, selfish bully. It's almost a stereotype for the image that the tabloids have been presenting as fact. And one thing I would like to point out about their assumptions is that even though I've never watched Love Island, I'd flick through enough telly to know it is on EVERY bloody night when the series is running, not once a week, not a launch on a weekend - so she did not "time her suicide" for maximum impact on the show she used to present. I dunno, I think it's very sad that a woman who has mental health issues, who seems to have difficulty holding down a relationship (perhaps because she has trust issues and needs anger management) killed herself the day after Valentines day, an inconsequential hallmark day that treats single people like pariahs. While her boyfriend was standing by her, she couldn't speak to him so she was very much "alone". She had probably heard about the CPS case on Valentines day too, just for good measure.

One thing I do know is that a family has lost their sister and daughter, a woman who had obvious anger issues, but by her own account was told that she "was draining" when she reached out for help for her own mental health. I wonder how that person is feeling now.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Shows how little they know about Love Island as well, because its been on tv six nights a week since the beginning of January.
    It wasn't due to launch this week at all :confused: What a stupid thing to be offended by.

If you look at people on twitter blaming the death on the media and trolls on how they reacted to the domestic abuse case of Caroline which she was charged to appear in court on ,

Theses are the same people who had absolute no issues going to town on a certain Conor McGregor for an allegedly sexual assault that he has never been charged off ,

Its funny how they like to follow whatever trend they think will make them look righteous and hypocrisy is forgotten about ,