Caroline Flack found dead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

I think Hawe had mental health issues too though. No way do I think anyone in their right mind would do that.

I don't think anyone would kill themselves just over an upcoming trial unless they had mental health issues but I agree that the assault seemed horrific and I can't accept it was just a mere indiscretion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,631 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Celebrity adulation is off the charts...

Watching the R Kelly documentary recently, he is one horrible individual, when he was up in court there were hoardes of young fans there to greet him....the animal actually picked one of them up afterwards and abused her.

We all remember OJ Simpson being cheered along a highway after he was accused of butchering his ex wife.

The age of social media has amplified that madness.

Most people in the public limelight hide terrible abuse and are often highly dysfunctional individuals, fame is a beast that eats you up...this celeb hosted a few vapid reality shows and had a dodgy history of abuse, in an age where so much is being said about giving young women role models, and as distasteful as it may sound, she ain't one of them.

We are getting way too wrapped up in celeb deaths...you're own life is tough enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,367 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

How did she die, was it a cry for help that went wrong, or was it more cut and dry. She didn't seem like the kinda person who would want to end it all, and to let the hounders win.

Oh FFS.
    Bit of a strange comparison all right. She didn't murder an adult and three children.

Celebrity adulation is off the charts...

Watching the R Kelly documentary recently, he is one horrible individual, when he was up in court there were hoardes of young fans there to greet him....the animal actually picked one of them up afterwards and abused her.

We all remember OJ Simpson being cheered along a highway after he was accused of butchering his ex wife.

The age of social media has amplified that madness.

Most people in the public limelight hide terrible abuse and are often highly dysfunctional individuals, fame is a beast that eats you up...this celeb hosted a few vapid reality shows and had a dodgy history of abuse, in an age where so much is being said about giving young women role models, and as distasteful as it may sound, she ain't one of them.

We are getting way too wrapped up in celeb deaths...you're own life is tough enough!
    Chris Brown still has plenty of adoring fans, including women. It's insane.

kylith wrote: »
    This will probably be an unpopular opinion, but frankly she reminds me of that asshole who murdered Clodagh Hawe and her children.

I honestly think that she killed herself because she couldn't handle the fact that she knew what the outcome of the trial would be. Police who attended the alleged assault of her boyfriend said that the place looked like a horror movie with the blood. Caroline flipped over a table and had to be physically restrained by police. Police bodycam footage was to be used at the trial. She knew what it would show, and I think she knew that she would go down for it and couldn't cope. The CPS doesn't proceed with prosecutions against the wishes of the victim unless they have enough evidence to be confident of a conviction. Her ex boyfriend has said that she was abusive in their relationship also.

I agree, i think she knew what was going to come out in court would likely end her career in television.

If what she had done wasn't that bad i'm sure she'd feel reasonably confident the court case would exonerate her in the public eye and after a slap on the wrist she'd be back on Love Island and her TV career would continue.

Its terrible she felt suicide was the answer though.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Jaysus...now shes being compared to Alan Hawe.

She didn't murder 3 children and a spouse. Whatever she did do that night, she ended up taking her own life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

tillyfilly wrote: »
    Yes i think she killed herself to get revenge on the CPS, she presumed people would be making all kinds of tributes to her, whereas if she waited until she was convicted the tributes would be a lot less, it's a sign of her illness
    I don't know how you got that from what I said. I quite clearly said that I didn't think she could cope with the realisation that she would be found guilty and very probably be sent to jail over this. I don't think her ego could handle it. Her career would be destroyed and she would be a known abuser.

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Bit of a strange comparison all right. She didn't murder an adult and three children.
    Jaysus...now shes being compared to Alan Hawe.

She didn't murder 3 children and a spouse. Whatever she did do that night, she ended up taking her own life.
    No, she didn't murder anyone, but she could well have when she hit him.

Hawe killed himself because he was about to be exposed , humiliated, and his career and standing destroyed, and he killed his family because he was a power mad abusive asshole. Caroline Flack killed herself because she was about to be exposed, humiliated, and her career and standing destroyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,617 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

This will probably be an unpopular opinion, but frankly she reminds me of that asshole who murdered Clodagh Hawe and her children.

I honestly think that she killed herself because she couldn't handle the fact that she knew what the outcome of the trial would be. Police who attended the alleged assault of her boyfriend said that the place looked like a horror movie with the blood. Caroline flipped over a table and had to be physically restrained by police. Police bodycam footage was to be used at the trial. She knew what it would show, and I think she knew that she would go down for it and couldn't cope. The CPS doesn't proceed with prosecutions against the wishes of the victim unless they have enough evidence to be confident of a conviction. Her ex boyfriend has said that she was abusive in their relationship also.

'She seemed like a lovely, warm, bubbly person'. Yes, that may be what she seemed like, but it appears that in actuality she was the type of person who would try to cave in someone's head with a lamp while they slept.

'You can't judge her by one event'. Sorry, but when someone tries to cave in someone's head with a lamp while they sleep, I feel pretty justified in judging them. Something similar actually happened to a friend of mine in college; she was asleep in bed when her boyfriend came home after a night out with a group of friends. One of the girls went into the bedroom and, for whatever reason, punched the sleeping woman in the face and broke her nose. You know what happened the assaulter after that? I have no idea, because after she was reported to the Gardai we never went near her again because she was the type of psycho who would attack someone in their sleep.

Maybe Caroline Flack had mental issues, but it's not like she couldn't afford help if she wanted it. I'm sorry for her family that they have lost their daughter, but I find it very hard to have any sympathy for the woman herself.

However reports this evening say she was covered in her own blood i.e. that she had self harmed at the scene.

What was Hawe going to be exposed as?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Is it any wonder the woman killed herself when people on the internet are now likening her to a man who murdered his wife & children, wiping out his entire family, in the most violent manner possible. Jesus wept.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Hawe killed himself because he was about to be exposed , humiliated, and his career and standing destroyed, and he killed his family because he was a power mad abusive asshole. Caroline Flack killed herself because she was about to be exposed, humiliated, and her career and standing destroyed.

I think there had already been plenty exposure and humiliation before she died. There is no comparison between what she did and what Hawe did. Could haves and should haves count for nothing. She didnt do anything close to what he did.

Raconteuse wrote: »
    What was Hawe going to be exposed as?
    He was a secret cross-dresser*, had been accessing porn on the laptop belonging to the school he worked at, and his note said that he had been 'caught red handed' and Clodagh's mother Jacqueline said: “Hawe said he was leading them to a life of ruin and Clodagh would have to clean up his mess. We still don’t know what that mess is". Clodagh's family believe that the details are in his suicide note, but they have not seen it, but they have said that at the very least he had probably been caught masturbating in school.

*Nothing wrong with cross dressing, but he obviously felt ashamed of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 567 ✭✭✭tillyfilly

He was a secret cross-dresser*, had been accessing porn on the laptop belonging to the school he worked at, and his note said that he had been 'caught red handed' and Clodagh's mother Jacqueline said: “Hawe said he was leading them to a life of ruin and Clodagh would have to clean up his mess. We still don’t know what that mess is". Clodagh's family believe that the details are in his suicide note, but they have not seen it, but they have said that at the very least he had probably been caught masturbating in school.

accessing porn is no reason to kill oneself

But she didn’t kill anyone, that’s the difference.
    The only life she took was her own.
    Comparing her to Hawe is in extremely poor taste.

It is if your ego is wrapped up in being a respectable pillar of the community and you've been caught **** in the school whose laptop you were watching porn on. He couldn't handle the shame of people knowing, just like, imo, Caroline Flack couldn't handle the shame of people knowing that she was guilty of domestic abuse.

SusieBlue wrote: »
    But she didn’t kill anyone, that’s the difference.
    The only life she took was her own.
    Comparing her to Hawe is in extremely poor taste.
    The acts are not the same but imo the reason for the suicide is.

Hawe just had the added issue of being a controlling monster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,202 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Caroline's last post was about her dog Ruby, who she loved very much.

I hope someone is taking care of Ruby, who must be pining for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭branie2

May she rest in peace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,304 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I get what kylith means - neither Hawe nor Flack could face the idea of their reputations being left in tatters. It’s pretty common in suicide cases, no need to have used Hawe as an example, even if he is the one that most immediately comes to mind.

It’s also one of the reasons why the male suicide rate is as high as it is compared to the female suicide rate, but where the male suicide rate has plateaued in the last few years, the female suicide rate is rising - Caroline Flack taking her own life could be an indication that she was coping for years with the stress by self-harming and hadn’t intended to take her own life at all.

It is if your ego is wrapped up in being a respectable pillar of the community and you've been caught **** in the school whose laptop you were watching porn on. He couldn't handle the shame of people knowing, just like, imo, Caroline Flack couldn't handle the shame of people knowing that she was guilty of domestic abuse.

Couldn’t handle the shame?
    She’s had months of vitriol, abuse, and threats being directed at her for what she did.
    She’s had months of the press hounding her, publishing the allegations over and over again not giving her a minutes peace. Humiliating her over and over again.
    She lost her job, her reputation was ruined, and her career was over.

She endured more than what most of us will in a lifetime. Certainly more than what Hawe did.
    She handled it as best she could but obviously the burden was too heavy to bear.

Hawe on the other hand, annihilated his entire family the night before the allegations were due to come to light. He didn’t have to endure any of the abuse or humiliation that Caroline did.

He wouldn’t face up to what he did and selfishly took his innocent family with him in the process.
    Caroline tried, but couldn’t.
    If she had taken her life immediately after the incident I’d understand the connection you are making but she didn’t.
    Their situations are in no way similar and should not be compared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭Ironicname

Seamai wrote:
    Whitmore is nothing but a media wh*re.

I've met Laura, before and after, she has been in the public eye and although, yes, she craves and somewhat embraces the celebrity that comes with media, calling her a whore is crass and belittling.

I don't particularly like the show's she aligns herself to, but if you want to label her a whore, it says much more about you than it does her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭Ironicname

Heat_Wave wrote:
    It’s great that people are calling this behaviour out right now, but the sad reality is, it will be short lived. We need regulation. People need to be held accountable.

I accidently thanked that quote.

I disagree.

We shouldn't regulate peoples opinions. That's horrendous.

It’s also one of the reasons why the male suicide rate is as high as it is compared to the female suicide rate, but where the male suicide rate has plateaued in the last few years, the female suicide rate is rising - Caroline Flack taking her own life could be an indication that she was coping for years with the stress by self-harming and hadn’t intended to take her own life at all.

I read a really interesting study recently that found that male and female levels of suicide attempts are actually pretty equal.
    The difference is that women choose ‘gentler’ (I hate using that word, but that was the word used in the study) methods of ending their life, such as taking an overdose of pills and slitting their wrists.
    If they do this, and change their mind, there is a very good chance their lives can be saved, because they will be able to call for help before irreversible damage is done.
    They are also slower deaths, meaning they might be found and saved before it’s too late.

Men on the other hand, typically choose quicker, more violent methods such as hanging, guns and drowning.
    Unfortunately there is very little you can do if you change your mind in those circumstances, and it’s far less likely they’ll be happened upon in time to be saved.

It basically found that men and women attempt it at equal levels, but men are more ‘successful’ because of the methods they typically use.
    It was really sad reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭worded

Suicide - a permanent answer to a temporary problem.

If any one feels they need help pls seek it from the Samaratins etc .

Ironicname wrote: »
    I've met Laura, before and after, she has been in the public eye and although, yes, she craves and somewhat embraces the celebrity that comes with media, calling her a whore is crass and belittling.

I don't particularly like the show's she aligns herself to, but if you want to label her a whore, it says much more about you than it does her.

you....do know that the construction "x whore" is a very well known and widely recognised framing device, right?

pretending to think that the poster just typed "whore" is either facetious in the extreme or utterly clueless.

Ironicname wrote: »

Aye, she works in media - does that mean everyone who works in media is therefore a media whore? Nonsensical comment. Knew of her in college. Very hard working and seemed perfectly down to earth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Ardent wrote: »
    The twitterati claim another life

Are you sure it wasnt the drugs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭MoonUnit75

I don’t think any of that is actually true though. I remember reading an early interview with Clodagh’s mother which said that months before he had confessed to watching porn to Clodagh. That was the only thing claimed as fact and it was then followed with specualtion that maybe he had a porn addiction. And if he had a porn addiction, maybe he was accessing it at school. And if he was accessing it at school, maybe he was caught.

For all we know, and what seems more likely, is that his ‘fall from grace’ might have been his inability to continue working because of mental health problems. Perhaps he felt he was going to make his family destitute. Just speculation.

I’m partly torn by this train of thought. On the one hand its better to know the actual truth and on the other maybe this kind of restrospective reputation destruction could actually be the one thing that prevents some narcissist from commiting such a despicable crime in the future.