[Cancelled] Electric Picnic 2020 **Discussion Only // No Ticket Sales / Requests **

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,896 ✭✭✭endainoz

Snow patrol on the latitude lineup, surely they are a shoe in EP aswell? I personally wouldn't mind them on Sunday evening, easy to listen to.

Wooderson wrote: »
    Youre not spoiling my buzz at all - respect your opinion. My apols if I've stepped out of line.

I'd have RATM over at least a dozen headliners i've watched in Michael's field. Not having a ticket for the first time in nearly 20 years has me quite pleased with goings on in Stradbally.

No disagreement at all man. Delighted for you and others here as Rage are a huge booking and a good indication of how the main acts will go. I'd not pay €80 to see them at a standalone gig but I'll be near the front for this one. Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭rubick

Maybe the EP Booking Squad will develop a theme for the Friday and we'll have an appearance from Therapy? this year.

endainoz wrote: »
    Snow patrol on the latitude lineup, surely they are a shoe in EP aswell? I personally wouldn't mind them on Sunday evening, easy to listen to.

Never had a problem with Snow Patrol, Coldplay or Keane. I'd not shell out for their shows but each have a handful of very good tunes. Plenty of bland stuff too, but I've never understood the hatred for them.

And as potential headliners go we could do a lot worse as Showpony has pointed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,953 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

Every. Feckin. Year.

STOP!

TFu7Cqn.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭optogirl

ah jaysus - another band with the Coronavirus

rubick wrote: »
    Maybe the EP Booking Squad will develop a theme for the Friday and we'll have an appearance from Therapy? this year.

That's a great call. Caught them in Galway last year and they were excellent. They looked like they were really enjoying gigging still and did a lengthy set, all the usual stuff and Husker Du, Joy Division & Buzzcocks covers. Fab stuff.

And while we're at it can we finally have SLF in Stradbally?

optogirl wrote: »
    ah jaysus - another band with the Coronavirus

As a Down man I'm supposed to show support for them but neh. Watery oul sh*te.
    Seathrun66 wrote: »
    That's a great call. Caught them in Galway last year and they were excellent. They looked like they were really enjoying still playing a did a lengthy set, all the usual stuff and Husker Du, Joy Division & Buzzcocks covers. Fab still.

Good god that all sounds world class!

Never had a problem with Snow Patrol, Coldplay or Keane. I'd not shell out for their shows but each have a handful of very good tunes. Plenty of bland stuff too, but I've never understood the hatred for them.

And as potential headliners go we could do a lot worse as Showpony has pointed out.

Same, I never had an issue with them myself. Would prefer them a hell of a lot more than so many other Irish pop acts.

Oh Therapy could be a possibility, already down to play Indiependence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭showpony1

Every. Feckin. Year.

STOP!

They are both at the very top of the bill of a huge Festival in Mid-august.
    Probably the one year it's actually a possibility Pablo.

Hopefully they can get Foster the People from that Sziget line-up also.
    There's a load from that line-up could imagine being at EP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,458 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

That's a great call. Caught them in Galway last year and they were excellent. They looked like they were really enjoying gigging still and did a lengthy set, all the usual stuff and Husker Du, Joy Division & Buzzcocks covers. Fab stuff.

They're playing the Olympia later in September. Therapy that is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭PabloAndRoy

showpony1 wrote: »
    They are both at the very top of the bill of a huge Festival in Mid-august.
    Probably the one year it's actually a possibility Pablo.

Hopefully they can get Foster the People from that Sziget line-up also.
    There's a load from that line-up could imagine being at EP.

FTFY
    /s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,633 ✭✭✭Wooderson

Was caught short at MadCool between the two main stages and had to experience some of Snow Patrol's set. Grim. Really grim.

I can be funny about gigs, if snow patrol were headlining I’d have a meltdown but if they were on main stage at around half four on the Sunday I’d probably go see them!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭keeponrockin

Even reading the word Keane makes me nauseous never mind listening to them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,953 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

Travis doing a few dates round picnic time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭Fatfrog

Wooderson wrote: »
    Was caught short at MadCool between the two main stages and had to experience some of Snow Patrol's set. Grim. Really grim.

I'd say you have just woken up after the deep sleep!!

Do snow patrol have any kind of following though? I'd argue anyone under 30 would even know them and the >30 year olds that like them probably wont be at the picnic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,870 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Terms like 'Coldplay', 'Snow Patrol' and 'Keane' being thrown around in here willy nilly. Seathrun clearly drunk in charge of a keyboard. Scruff babbling about Travis. I mean what the feck is going on? Who's moderating this shambles of a thread? Lads we're mere weeks away from an actual announcement. Get your **** together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 InTheWoods123

The scale of this years lineup really needs to reflect the increase of capacity to 70k. After all if FR are planning on maintaining a sell out festival at that scale in the future they need to continuously impress with lineups especially given what’s on offer in mainland Europe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭BadTurtle

The scale of this years lineup really needs to reflect the increase of capacity to 70k. After all if FR are planning on maintaining a sell out festival at that scale in the future they need to continuously impress with lineups especially given what’s on offer in mainland Europe...

They will maintain it simply by booking whatever flavour of the month is in the charts at the moment and sticking them on the main stage at 7 on the saturday.
    Who released that Dance Monkey ****? That'll do for them.

BadTurtle wrote: »
    They will maintain it simply by booking whatever flavour of the month is in the charts at the moment and sticking them on the main stage at 7 on the saturday.
    Who released that Dance Monkey ****? That'll do for them.

Well aren't you just a ray of sunshine today?! We just got one of the best bookings in the history of the picnic and your giving out about a hypothetical pop act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,870 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Turtle doing his pantomime villain stuff again. Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭Paddy2012

I'm calling it that Taylor Swift will headline this year.

Snarky Snark Snark

Paddy2012 wrote: »
    I'm calling it that Taylor Swift will headline this year.

Only if she does the show with Def Leppard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭BadTurtle

Well aren't you just a ray of sunshine today?! We just got one of the best bookings in the history of the picnic and your giving out about a hypothetical pop act.

Hardly complaining, that was a legitimate guess. It's been a very effective strategy for them the last few years to book the biggest chart sensation of the year. The last two years it just happened to be decent bookings. This year it may not. They still plonked Picture This on before the Prodigy in 2018, that's not exactly intuitive scheduling, but by booking the former they can afford to keep getting the latter. The tweets from duck faced girls and metrosexual lads about the Rage announcement at R&L wouldnt be a million miles from where EP is now, so they have to balance the genuinely great bookings with whatever it is kids are shifting to at GAA club discos these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

New Tame Impala record out today. If I keep guessing them as headliners, it'll happen eventually, right?...

(album isn't doing much for me - definitely needs a few more listens, though. 8/10 from Pitchfork if people care about that sort of thing)

Q - what sort of slot do people think Run the Jewels will get? On before Rage as part of the package deal or will they get their own prominent spot elsewhere on another day if the weekend is free?

Just before Rage on the main stage makes the most sense to me given that they're touring together. I had the idea that Friday was the quiet day because of the shorter schedule but last year it had Billie Eilish (biggest crowd of the weekend) and the year before Kendrick Lamar, so certainly a precedent from that year at least in using a big headliner early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,289 ✭✭✭Ricosruffneck

New Tame Impala record out today. If I keep guessing them as headliners, it'll happen eventually, right?...

(album isn't doing much for me - definitely needs a few more listens, though. 8/10 from Pitchfork if people care about that sort of thing)

Q - what sort of slot do people think Run the Jewels will get? On before Rage as part of the package deal or will they get their own prominent spot elsewhere on another day if the weekend is free?

Just before Rage on the main stage makes the most sense to me given that they're touring together. I had the idea that Friday was the quiet day because of the shorter schedule but last year it had Billie Eilish (biggest crowd of the weekend) and the year before Kendrick Lamar, so certainly a precedent from that year at least in using a big headliner early.

Same stage, same day. They are touring together and will likely share production crew.

Last RTJ outing had them placed mid-afternoon, I think it was on the Saturday.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

rubick wrote: »
    Last RTJ outing had them placed mid-afternoon, I think it was on the Saturday.

It was chaos. Beautiful wonderful circle of death chaos at around 5.30/6pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

Daughter are touring Europe mid-late August.
    I could definitely see them being added.