Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Often becomes easy when the easy is often..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

I can see those guesses ending well!

Wasted opportunity to record max hr?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Max heart rate with one minutes exercise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,482 ✭✭✭Lazare

LMAO :pac:

The annual one isn't till next month.

Didn't realise you had a March birthday as well C!
    Lazare wrote: »
    LMAO :pac:

The annual one isn't till next month.

Solid week, bit of a jump in mileage.

Tue Feb 4th - 8m aerobic, 5:30km average, 129bpm. Good chunky run, felt good to get up and get it done before work. RHR 46

Wed Feb 5th - 4m aerobic, 5:35, 126bpm. RHR 45

Thurs Feb 6th - 8m aerobic with 20 min tempo, felt incredible on this run. Kept the HR to around 125 for 2 miles then tried to push it up to 150. Struggled to get it up beyond about 148 or so, not sure what that means, and not sure if the target is 150. I'll find out tomorrow*. RHR 37

Rest Fri

Sat Feb 8th - 8m aerobic on the plan. Decided to have a bit of a crack at parkrun so went to Waterstown, hadn't ran that one before. Lovely course, the 2 loop bit running alongside the Liffey is really nice. Had a good race with a few lads early on and managed to drop all of them which felt really good. Tough enough finish coming up out of the valley. Ran it in 20:51 and came in 5th. V enjoyable.
    Between warm up and cool down ran the 8 miles.

Sun Feb 9th - 11m endurance on the plan but decided on a gentler aerobic run instead given the previous day's hard effort. Was anything but gentle.
    Waited for what looked like the storm passing and set off. Grand on the out but holy moly on the way back!! Was one of the toughest runs I've ever ran. The last couple of miles nearly broke me. The wind coming up the Naas road was horrific, felt like I was running backwards. Also felt like I was very low on fuel, started feeling crampy. Horrible finish to it. Got in the door famished and demolished two cheese and ham toasties, a lump of cheddar and five Aldi chocolate wafer bars, basically shovelling whatever was near me into my gob. :pac:

39.15 miles for the week.

* Have an appointment tomorrow morning in The Beacon sports clinic where I'm finally going to get all my accurate HR stats. Tests include lactate threshold, VO2max and a full body composition analysis. The guy is an expert in HR training. Am really looking forward to it.

Will be surprised if my max is higher than 177/178. Maxed out at 177 at Waterstown, and that's the reading I got a few years ago in a hospital stress test. Never trusted the hospital figure though as they don't tend to push you to your absolute. We'll see tomorrow.

I'll update.

Had a really great consultation in The Beacon with a chap called Chris Simpson. Was over three hours with him in total. Awesome guy.

Started off with a great chat about my running history and his, he's a 2:50 marathoner, with a 32 min 10k and coaches now, mostly tri athletes, Ironman specifically.

First up was body composition, where I got into a Bodpod, one of only three in the country apparently. Great set up up there.

Body fat is 10.9% so no need to work on that.
    Body fat rating: Lean (Lower body fat levels than many people. This range is generally excellent for health and longevity) Thumbs up to that.

RMR (resting metabolic rate) is 1344 meaning I've to consume just shy of 2800 calories a day to avoid a deficit.

Weight is 57.37kg.

Next up COSMED treadmill Vo2 and AT test. Hooked up to a mask and monitor.
    According to the results I've got excellent VO2 numbers, not necessarily the max which is 51.7 but the VO2/kg at threshold. That's 45 which he says is excellent and shows I've really good potential, particularly at the marathon. He said his own AT number when he ran his 2:50 was about 35. Apparently the smaller the gap between it and your max the better. So that's good news.

I had guessed my AT HR to be around 150, it's 145.

He's given me 5 zones to work with based off that AT HR.

Z1 - <129
    Z2 - 130 - 139
    Z3 - 140 - 150
    Z4 - 151 - 160
    Z5 - >160

Will be running 80% in Zone 2 or less.

He's also offered to coach me on Training Peaks, with a 4 week free trial, but he wasn't in any way pushy about it, was almost embarrassed. Really got the feeling that he'd like to work with me. I'll have a good think about it.

He gave me a few things to look up, particularly a guy called Stephen Sailor who strongly advocates the 80/20 idea.

I really loved it and would strongly recommend it.

Here's a link to their site if anyone is interested.

https://www.beaconhospital.ie/our-services/sports-medicine/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

57.37kgs!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

Sounds really good! You should definitely consider the coaching as it is something you have previously discussed and even better that he knows the heartrate training so well!

Yeah, I'm giving it serious thought.

He told me he would defer the 4 week trial until I begin my half block which was generous of him. He's also asked me to go ahead and link it to my Garmin connect anyway so he can keep an eye.

Yeah, I'm giving it serious thought.

He told me he would defer the 4 week trial until I begin my half block which was generous of him. He's also asked me to go ahead and link it to my Garmin connect anyway so he can keep an eye.

That's brilliant, sounds like he's very interested! What have you really got to loose by giving it a go?

Tbh E, it's the financials of it more than anything. Will have to figure out with my wife if it's do-able.

It's not crazy money by itself, it's €20 per week, it's just on top of everything else, wondering if I can justify it. We'll see.

I feel like a fat b after seeing that!
    OOnegative wrote: »
    57.37kgs!!!

Tbh E, it's the financials of it more than anything. Will have to figure out with my wife if it's do-able.

It's not crazy money by itself, it's €20 per week, it's just on top of everything else, wondering if I can justify it. We'll see.

I get that completely! It's tough running a house, family etc. Sure look you are doing great anyway & educating yourself which is always a good thing so either way i'm sure it will work out for you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭Wottle

Appreciate the detail in your consultation.
    How much did it cost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,808 ✭✭✭skyblue46

I think I'd have to lose a few limbs...

Or take your wallet out your pocket!
    skyblue46 wrote: »
    I think I'd have to lose a few limbs...

Wottle wrote: »
    Appreciate the detail in your consultation.
    How much did it cost?

It cost €250.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

OOnegative wrote: »
    57.37kgs!!!

There I was thinking I was doing all right losing a few pounds. Yet I'm still 20-25 kgs heavier than that :pac:

It's mad, for my whole life being thin has been a negative thing, something I was always self conscious about. Have never weighed more than about 67kg.

Would not have posted that figure up anywhere a few short years ago.

It being a massive benefit for this running lark has changed that mindset :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

What height are you again?

If you were 67Kg then I wouldn't feel so much of a fat lad!

keane2097 wrote: »
    What height are you again?

5'9 or just shy, 178cm I think.

About the same as me then; if I was 57.xxkg/about 9st in old money I would have the energy of a kitten I think.

I'd look at that differently. You're smashing me while running with a dumbell in each hand. :)

Never mind your weight can i just have your height! Had convinced myself i was approx 5'3 but had a health check in work & nope apparently i'm 5'1 and a half :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

Never mind your weight can i just have your height! Had convinced myself i was approx 5'3 but had a health check in work & nope apparently i'm 5'1 and a half :eek:

Height-twins :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭ariana`

It doesn't seem to be holding you back ;)
    ReeReeG wrote: »
    Height-twins :)

And i'm Lazare's height twin but unfortunately not his weight twin :(

Are you sure they didn't get the 5 mixed up with a 6 and you are 67kg?

Might be something to watch once marathon training ramps up; I would be mindful of getting much lighter than that. Although with the right nutrition that's bugger all weight to carry around 26 miles!

Are you sure they didn't get the 5 mixed up with a 6 and you are 67kg?

Might be something to watch once marathon training ramps up; I would be mindful of getting much lighter than that. Although with the right nutrition that's bugger all weight to carry around 26 miles!

Oh it's definitely correct. Was just looking at my stats on Connect last night and my weight was in as 61kg, from the time I set it up.

I am v conscious of not letting it drop further, I now know exactly how many calories I need to consume. Need some better habits though, things like always having food nearby, in the van. Have been caught out a few times with work.

Thing is though, I eat like a hippo. Have a voracious appetite. Every single night after a big dinner I'm raiding the presses for chocolate, creme eggs the current obsession :)

Thing is though, with the right aerobic work and lean muscle building over the next few years my weight should be a huge advantage to me.