Ever ask for something incredibly old fashioned and obsolete in a shop?

• 11-02-2020 10:17PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,371 ✭✭✭

Years ago my granddad told me you could buy the little rubber tube that sits over a bicycle tyre valve separately, rather than buying a whole new valve. Of course I was told they didn't have them since back in the day (i suspect you can probably buy them again now with all the Greta stuff happening now)

Another time I tried to buy a blade for a really long bushman saw and I was told to "go for an easier life" :D

If only I could record it covertly I'd go into the local co op and ask some young lad/wan who is just after starting for a well chain

"Ya know the chain for lifting the wooden bucket out of the well?"

"You don't? ahh you must be using a rope at your gaff so. An auld hemp rope will do if you have one"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,513 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

A sheath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,450 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

You can still get those valve rubbers in puncture repair kits

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭ab4248

Class reunion a couple of years back. Few of us went to pub after and said we’d chip in for 10 Carrolls like the old days. The barman had a right laugh at us. Took us a while to figure it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,800 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

I asked for mouse flavoured cat food in Tesco once, many years ago, the girl went looking for it too.

Alas, she couldn't find any.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

Draught excluder. You used to see them all over the place in the 80s and 90s, different designs like ones that’s looked like dogs or whatever.

Recently went to a number of shops and could not find one for love or money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

A sheath

Is that like a Geronimo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Good service...

A relic of the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

A number plate light assembly for a Fiat Panda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,991 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

No, but I once had to wait, far longer than I’d have liked, behind a woman who was asking for a “Raider” bar.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

When I was a teenager and e-commerce wasn't yet a taken for granted thing, a compilation of prehistoric songs for my dad who was born in 1946, which I know is old, but it's also the same age as (and younger than) the most pioneering musicians and artists of the 60s/70s, and his tastes are actually like those of someone 20 years older. The poor young lad in Golden Discs was stumped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Recently ....a Scart lead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Borax, and suet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Steyr 556 wrote: »
    Draught excluder. You used to see them all over the place in the 80s and 90s, different designs like ones that’s looked like dogs or whatever.

was looking for a scissors yesterday - might as well have been looking for a unicorn. But saw draft excluders in Home Store, Woodies and Harvey Norman - of all places. Harvey Normans had saussage dogs on them - was tempted!!!

spent a considerable amount of time looking fir a spool of navy thread to sew on work shirt buttons last summer - apparently buttonless shirts are now disposable items - thread as rare as winning lotto numbers - lots of rumours and I heard of a man who knew someone who saw it in x place . but no substance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I asked one of the staff in Lifestyle for a pair of indoor non marking runners for sports once.
    He'd no idea and suggested I try a sports store...

Style, streetware /athleisurewear has taken over it seems and real sports gear shops are gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

was looking for a scissors yesterday - might as well have been looking for a unicorn. But saw draft excluders in Home Store, Woodies and Harvey Norman - of all places. Harvey Normans had saussage dogs on them - was tempted!!!

Be down to Harvey Norman tomorrow! You are a golden god, may you live to be a thousand years old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,713 ✭✭✭✭looksee

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Recently ....a Scart lead.

I threw one away yesterday - its somewhere in an almost full skip...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭Ladybird18

Tights in a local shop. You would swear I had asked for heroin.

I actually saw some in the front window of Guineys on Talbot street around Christmas time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,722 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

A coal scuttle...literally looked at me like I had two heads. I was in a big hardware store btw not topman.

Oh and Milton the disinfectant...no clue

whiskeyman wrote: »
    I asked one of the staff in Lifestyle for a pair of indoor non marking runners for sports once.
    He'd no idea and suggested I try a sports store...

Style, streetware /athleisurewear has taken over it seems and real sports gear shops are gone.

Yep, try getting a pair of size 13 runners in any of them, not a hope in hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

A bottle of 'Clinic' Shampoo. blank expression.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Your Face wrote: »
    A number plate light assembly for a Fiat Panda.
    Sounds like a fair swap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭un5byh7sqpd2x0

Ladybird18 wrote: »
    Tights in a local shop. You would swear I had asked for heroin.

It was a men’s clothes shop wasn’t it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭careless sherpa

spent a considerable amount of time looking fir a spool of navy thread to sew on work shirt buttons last summer - apparently buttonless shirts are now disposable items - thread as rare as winning lotto numbers - lots of rumours and I heard of a man who knew someone who saw it in x place . but no substance

There was a haberdashery out in donabate would sort you out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭sondagefaux

They have them in Aldi at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭lucalux

gmisk wrote: »
    A coal scuttle...literally looked at me like I had two heads. I was in a big hardware store btw not topman.

Oh and Milton the disinfectant...no clue

Coal scuttles, I can only imagine they live in houses where the heating is a switch on the wall:)

As to Milton, I buy the Lidl or Aldi own brand one, the Aldi one is in a blue bottle (Mamia is the name), regular stock items!

It was a men’s clothes shop wasn’t it?

No! And I know they aren't sexy but I needed them for an interview asap due to a ladder :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Ladybird18 wrote: »
    No! And I know they aren't sexy but I needed them for an interview asap due to a ladder :(

For a ladder ? Was it an interview for the Fire Brigade?

No but I do recall they said I was hot.

Getting coat :p

I asked in a pharmacy for Vicks Throat Drops, and then mused "They probably don't make those anymore, do they?" to be told "Not in about 20 years, no."