General Election TV debates

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,012 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Quinn’s mother used the election as an opportunity to highlight how her son was horrifically murdered by men with extremely close links to the PIRA. What would you have had FF and FG do? Ignore it? Tell her to come back after the election? When exactly is a good time to discuss how her son has every bone in his body below his neck broken because he has the temerity to get into a fight with the son of some IRA sociopath?

Fair play to her. It's sad FF/FG couldn't give two f***s every other time over the years. Not since then leader Bertie Ahern said it was among criminals. Maybe Murphy, (Murphy SS?) got his info off of Ahern.
    From 'extremely close links' to 'some IRA'.
    Look, FF/FG couldn't care less and are using the mother for political points. Great she's getting the attention but unfortunate it means nothing. As I said if he were some criminal in Blanchards town they mightn't even comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭1641

Ouch, you're thinking of Fine Gael and the blueshirts.

No. Just a murder gang and a political party joined at the hip but practising (im)plausible deniability.

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    It’s not like his name hasn’t been front and centre in the news and prominent in the debate last night.

Were you watching the debate?

No. Read about it. Dropped in and out. Not arsed learning all their names up there SS. I don't follow the north past bigger issues relating to the country at large. I couldn't name all the FG ministers either to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,480 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

That sounds like a fudge to me based on mimimal infomation at hand 12 years ago.

Why does Paul Quinn's mother say the following so?

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/mother-of-alleged-ira-victim-urges-electorate-to-remember-her-son-when-voting-1.4160675

I suppose she is expressing 'faux concern' as well? :rolleyes:

Again these are not the type of discussions people have about normal political parties.
    But of course SF is more than a party...

SF have an almost 40 year conflict/war in their recent history...where have you been?
    Of course they are not a 'normal party' in the sense the modern FG or FF party are. But they too once emerged from a decade or more of bitter and violent struggle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Decrying using victims to score points. If he were beaten to death in a working class burb of Dublin it would be news for a day or two and forgotten. I doubt Flanagan would even comment. So no, I don't believe the faux outrage and do not like victims or their families being used so cheaply.
    I hope ML stands firm and does not bow to this politically motivated bull****. Leave these things to the authorities. Maybe if they went after the perpetrators rather than ML Mrs. Quinn might get better closure.

So victims of homelessness shouldn't be used to score points, or is it just victims of the IRA supported by Sinn Fein who shouldn't be used to score points.

1641 wrote: »
    No. Just a murder gang and a political party joined at the hip but practising (im)plausible deniability.

No, that's still Fine Gael. Granted historically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,509 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Sarcozies wrote: »
    Does anyone else think it's odd that immigration didn't come up once last night? I don't care what side of the aisle your views are on, the fact it was not even up for discussion is so suspicious.

Be a boring topic considering all 3 parties are pro immigration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭1641

No, that's still Fine Gael. Granted historically.

And Sinn Fein currently. Thank you!

blanch152 wrote: »
    So victims of homelessness shouldn't be used to score points, or is it just victims of the IRA supported by Sinn Fein who shouldn't be used to score points.

Government ministers, like it or not, carry responsibility for how society functions. The homeless are not some social subset different from you or I, they are homeless people. Irish people under the care and authority of the Irish state. Currently run by FF/FG. So FF/FG should be called out on every issue under their remit how ever uncomfortable for their spin merchants.
    You were attacking a homeless charity the other day because they called out FG false figures.
    I'd suggest you contact the proper authorities and the IRA with any gripes you might have. The homeless are FG/FF's responsibility. The Paul Quinn murder has zero to do with ML or SF and Bertie Ahern, when leading Ireland stated nothing to do with the IRA either.

Here's another issue for FF/FG to dodge in this jurisdiction:
    Thousands taking part in protest over childcare 'crisis'
    00138c28-800.jpg
    https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2020/0205/1113244-childcare-funding/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Government ministers, like it or not, carry responsibility for how society functions. The homeless are not some social subset different from you or I, they are homeless people. Irish people under the care and authority of the Irish state. Currently run by FF/FG. So FF/FG should be called out on every issue under their remit how ever uncomfortable for their spin merchants.
    You were attacking a homeless charity the other day because they called out FG false figures.
    I'd suggest you contact the proper authorities and the IRA with any gripes you might have. The homeless are FG/FF's responsibility. The Paul Quinn murder has zero to do with ML or SF and Bertie Ahern, when leading Ireland stated nothing to do with the IRA either.

Here's another issue for FF/FG to dodge in this jurisdiction:

As I thought, once again, different rules for Sinn Fein.

It is transparently laughable.

blanch152 wrote: »
    As I thought, once again, different rules for Sinn Fein.

It is transparently laughable.

In short, people have every right and duty to call the Irish government out on Irish issues.

I can't wait until the election. If the people win or lose at least we'll hear less crap out of FF/FG and their stooges...until the next Bailey, Farrell, Murphy, state contract etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

I'm hoping they do this more.it's going to backfire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,164 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

When will the SF supporters on here realise it's time to stop digging! Even poor old Mary Lou has gone to ground over this debacle.

I don't think many care about the issue on the grand scale of things the country is dealing with, including MM and LV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,809 ✭✭✭✭maccored

1641 wrote: »
    Absolutely - In just the same way as the National Socialist Party had no links to the Brownshirts.

So you say sf are linked to the murder? Jaysus - one couldnt make it up

She is just after doing an interview on it ffs. Murphy has issued the apology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,150 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

If Murphy has issued the apology that should be the end of it.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

The sad thing is that because it has been turned into a political football, by people with agenda's other than the welfare of the victims, the truth of it just gets murkier and murkier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,491 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

The sad thing is that because it has been turned into a political football, by people with agenda's other than the welfare of the victims, the truth of it just gets murkier and murkier.

Like Jonathan Corrie who SF constantly bring up for political football?

I will give you a few minutes to produce ... 3 examples of them using his name in this election campaign. If they 'constantly' use him then it should be easy to produce links.

Your time starts now......1...2....3....

TBF, Jonathan Corrie and Paul Quinn are completely different issues, what ever their merit in being raised politically.

Of course they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,164 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

He's talking to Tommy Orman on drive time now. He's actually making a bigger bollocking of it THAN ML did!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Richard tea

Nobody cares. Its a 13 year old story brought up in order to sling mud at SF. An undesirable got mixed in with other undesirables and it led to an undesirable situation.

Also didnt the media at the time mention the victim was involved in criminality?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,132 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

He's talking to Tommy Orman on drive time now. He's actually making a bigger bollocking of it THAN ML did!

Yup refused to answer where he got the information from

Not a good explanation on the change from Dobbo interview to the debate last night from Mary Lou

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,668 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

SF have an almost 40 year conflict/war in their recent history...where have you been?
    Of course they are not a 'normal party' in the sense the modern FG or FF party are. But they too once emerged from a decade or more of bitter and violent struggle.
    Well at least you acknowledge it happened that is a start.
    What yourself and Matt Barrett are prone to do is pick the nice bits from SF's history and then claim anything else is a political game or points scoring.

Most SF reps just are incapable of being honest due to 'the almost 40 year war' as you put it. That really damages thier credibility. The younger voters may not see how disingenuous this is. But the older voters can as it was more real to them.
    Even 12 years ago is a long time ago when you are in your 30's.
    As the saying goes oh what a tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,668 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

It is a real irony that you use the word murky. If there is any word that sums up SF it is the word murky. Other parties do not have the blessing and curse of that veneer.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Well at least you acknowledge it happened that is a start.
    What yourself and Matt Barrett are prone to do is pick the nice bits from SF's history and then claim anything else is a political game or points scoring.

Most SF reps just are incapable of being honest due to 'the almost 40 year war' as you put it. That really damages thier credibility. The younger voters may not see how disingenuous this is. But the older voters can as it was more real to them.
    Even 12 years ago is a long time ago when you are in your 30's.
    As the saying goes oh what a tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive.

That's lies. Link?
    I never raised any issues about SF/ML outside of the election unless responding directly on something.
    SF have a dodgy past and dodgy candidates with a criminal history and ties to former IRA. Never would deny it or sugar coat it.
    As regards the 2020 election, SF are our best hope IMO. I'd rather the SD's, but I'll back SF too.
    FF/FG are running scared and using genuine victims to score points. So be it. I don't think many are going to be swayed.
    FF/FG will be damaged this time around.