Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Election and Government Formation Megathread (see post #1)

Mary will be on the vodka and biscuits after that.... Dunno what MM is into when he's feeling down but he didn't impress tonight... Looked like a rabid ferret half the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭maynooth_rules

Varadkar aced that. Won it by miles. The blueshirt bollix.

Martin didn't have a total disaster in that Mary Lou did.

Which is pretty depressing for those who want the country to move in a leftward direction like it badly needs.

All spot on. If people were being completly unbiased, Leo did comfortably win.
    Mary Lou not siting tonight out will probably cost SF about 10 seats.

Pity Pearse Doherty or Cullinane weren't representing SF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,827 ✭✭✭quokula

I didn't think there was much between Leo and MM, both were decent but neither was spectacular. Not going to change much between those parties.

Mary Lou though... wow... I don't know how any human being could have viewed that debate and still consider voting Sinn Fein afterwards.

Hopefully that leads to a boost for some genuine parties of the left like Labour or SDs.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,695 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

All spot on. If people were being completly unbiased, Leo did comfortably win.
    Mary Lou not siting tonight out will probably cost SF about 10 seats.

She had no other option but to participate tbh. It's not as if she could decline the invitiation.

Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael will learn from this. If she had been included in the Virgin Media debate the dynamic of the campaign would likely have been a fair bit different. Would Sinn Féin even have gotten much momentum if it didn't seem like the media were trying to exclude her from the debates at the start of the campaign? It played right into their 'anti-establishment' narrative. If you strip that away and look at her actual head to head performances with other party leaders, she isn't all that impressive.

Expect Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael to look for her to be included in every single debate *if* it comes to a second election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 tenzindrake

quokula wrote: »
    Mary Lou though... wow... I don't know how any human being could have viewed that debate and still consider voting Sinn Fein afterwards.

It all comes down to rent,housing and pension for many young people and old people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,473 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

easypazz wrote: »
    I think FG will quietly accept defeat, rebuild and bide their time.

Nobody can fix all the issues, and the promises this year of houses, nurses, guards, free everything, solve everything will come back to haunt FF/SF.

This.

This election is reminding me of Labour back in 2011.
    SF will suffer the same fate of over promising in a few years time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

It all comes down to rent,housing and pension for many young people and old people.
    That's the truth of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

markodaly wrote: »
    This.

This election is reminding me of Labour back in 2011.
    SF will suffer the same fate of over promising in a few years time.

Frankfurt's Way or Labour's Way?

Not another red cent?

FG/Labour did nothing to stop the EU forcing private banking debt onto our national debt...we will be paying for it for decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,338 ✭✭✭✭jm08

Mary Lou is getting gutted tonight. Her stuttering over the special criminals court was hard to watch. Glad she was pushed on the question. Leo also rinsed her on Northern Irelands homeless figures. Mary Lou should have turned down the interview. Her popularity was flying due to her not being put to the test in a proper debate.
    Leo comfortably winning this debate. May be too late for him to turn it around though

She wasn't allowed finish on the Special Criminal Court - Miriam interrupted. What ML was trying to say was that it should be reviewed (which is what Amnesty, Irish Council of Civil Liberties, the UN also say).

Are Leo and Michael going to come down off the fence and discuss a C&S?

That would be the very very last option, once all others have been ruled out.

If SF do well in this election, they need to step up. Otherwise they are the same ol SF, the party of protest and no action.

I know there is a narrative from some that FF/FG should just join forces and give SF a free run at it. It isnt going to be happening anytime soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Up to now SF wanted the Special Criminal Court non jury trials done away with.
    MLMc lost ground big time tonight. Whether that affects their vote on Sat is the question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

Pity Pearse Doherty or Cullinane weren't representing SF.

SF wanted in on the party leader debate, they got it!
    Hopefully that leads to a boost for some genuine parties of the left like Labour or SDs.

More I read about the SD's, the more they seem like a good punt for a minority party but they arent running any candidates in my region so :(

So true and there are plenty in Fine Gael who would be happy with such an outcome rather than trying to cobble together a shaky Government. A time to rebuild in opposition can be a good thing. Look at Fianna Fáil.

Also, the next Government could face plenty of its own difficulties. There are plenty of warning signs when it comes to the global economy.

Global economy has been quite good over the past decade, since the crash.
    There is zero gaurantee that the next 5 years will be plain sailing.

Brexit on the horizon as well, fun times ahead for this FF/SF government. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,476 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Gunmonkey wrote: »
    SF wanted in on the party leader debate, they got it!

More I read about the SD's, the more they seem like a good punt for a minority party but they arent running any candidates in my region so :(

Same here.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Same here.

And here.

They're not running a single candidate in the south-east.

Its a shame they can't field more candidates, would be better than some of the headbangers up for election.

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Done well? We have a 3rd world health service, the biggest homeless crisis in the states history, highest rents and gross inequality in the public sector.

No, just no.

Go to a 3rd world country and look at their health service, then come running back with your tail between your legs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,243 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

That would be the very very last option, once all others have been ruled out.

If SF do well in this election, they need to step up. Otherwise they are the same ol SF, the party of protest and no action.

I know there is a narrative from some that FF/FG should just join forces and give SF a free run at it. It isnt going to be happening anytime soon.

What does 'step up' mean?

Step up like the comfy seat merchants of the Greens and Labour etc?

Not a hope I would say. They will make demands and if Michael doesn't agree then it's back to the country we go and see how the electorate feel about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 KimWexler

I didn't think there was much between Leo and MM, both were decent but neither was spectacular. Not going to change much between those parties.

Looking forward to seeing a few alternatives on Thursday night is it?

What does 'step up' mean?

Step up like the comfy seat merchants of the Greens and Labour etc?

Not a hope I would say. They will make demands and if Michael doesn't agree then it's back to the country we go and see how the electorate feel about it.

They can demand all their want, but if the country sees them going into negotiations with their usual bluster and it all falls down without agreement, leading to another election, they will be punished and severly punished at that.

They will be cast as the angry protest vote, but who are not interested in government unless its on their terms only.

SF are kinda stuck either way now. If they make gains and dont make very credible efforts to form a coalition with FF then they will lose seats next time out.
    Once of course they do go in and we can see that their 65k euro houses are not real, like much of their manifesto, their anti-establishment vote will go off somewhere else.
    SF core vote is about 10%, the recent gains is nothing to do with SF being SF, its to do with them not being FF or FG.

No more sitting on the fence, its time for senior hurling now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭The chan chan man

I will vote..but seriously, what’s the fu€king point?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭Whitters22

NIMAN wrote: »
    Its a shame they can't field more candidates, would be better than some of the headbangers up for election.

They seemed a very attractive alternative party to me 4 years ago with Stephen Donnelly leading well. Now he has jumped ship and they seemed to have lost all vision and momentum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭strathspey

Are Sinn Fein not communists?. I see they are aligned with and group together with other communist parties in the European Parliament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,649 ✭✭✭RoryMac

I thought MM was by far the worst performance, he had years to prepare an argument to questions on why they propped up a FG government and then walked himself into it by saying the EU top brass and governments across Europe had changed during the Brexit process so there was now no excuse to continue with FG.

He didn't seem to have any concrete answers to the key issues on housing & healthcare

strathspey wrote: »
    Are Sinn Fein not communists?. I see they are aligned with and group together with other communist parties in the European Parliament.

More marxists.
    I think:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,243 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

They can demand all their want, but if the country sees them going into negotiations with their usual bluster and it all falls down without agreement, leading to another election, they will be punished and severly punished at that.

:):)

With MM and all that he has said?

Have you guys not learned from the polls, people are not fools.
    They will be cast as the angry protest vote, but who are not interested in government unless its on their terms only.

SF are kinda stuck either way now. If they make gains and dont make very credible efforts to form a coalition with FF then they will lose seats next time out.
    Once of course they do go in and we can see that their 65k euro houses are not real, like much of their manifesto, their anti-establishment vote will go off somewhere else.
    SF core vote is about 10%, the recent gains is nothing to do with SF being SF, its to do with them not being FF or FG.

No more sitting on the fence, its time for senior hurling now.

:):) again.

In your scenario if they finish first or second and FF refuse to have talks, then FF will take the blame. Simple as.
    If FF fold and enter talks and don't agree to deliver some of what SF want then it's back to the people. You won't be seeing whipping boys and girls like the Greens and Labour here imo.

SF's ambition is to eclipse FG and FF. They know they have to deliver if they enter into a coalition.

It's not what I see happening if the polls are borne out by the way. I think we will see seismic things happening between FF and FG first.

For now...let's wait and see what happens on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭CPTM

strathspey wrote: »

They did support Communist Maduro last year during the turbulent times in Venezuela

www.irishtimes.com/opinion/sinn-f%25C3%25A9in-reveals-true-self-again-with-venezuela-infatuation-1.3768126%3fmode=amp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,725 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

1. Spoiled votes don't affect the result. As far as affecting the result of the election is concerned, casting a spoiled vote is the same as not voting at all.

2. But the number of spoiled votes is counted and published in the election results. So you might think that by spoiling your vote you are at least registering a protest that will be recorded in some way, and somebody might take note of it.

3. But a vote can be spoiled by accident, and in fact probably the great majority of spoiled votes are mistakes, not protests. So the spoiled vote tally is not generally taken as an indicator of dissatisfaction/protest. So as a mechanism for registering a protest, spoiling your vote is not very clear or effective.

4. You can of course spoil your vote in a way that indicates very clearly that this is a protest, not a mistake, e.g. by writing your frank opinion of the candidates across the ballot paper. But the only people who will ever see this are the clerk who counts the pile of votes with your vote in it, and the tallymen who observe the count, and they don't care very much about your protest.

In your scenario if they finish first or second and FF refuse to have talks, then FF will take the blame. Simple as.
    If FF fold and enter talks and don't agree to deliver some of what SF want then it's back to the people. You won't be seeing whipping boys and girls like the Greens and Labour here imo.

SF's ambition is to eclipse FG and FF. They know they have to deliver if they enter into a coalition.

SF are not going to be the biggest party in the next Dail, I cannot even see them as the 2nd biggest. Their polls are over stated and they will be lucky to break 20% imo/

They will in all likelyhood be the 3rd biggest party, next to FG and FF.
    FG will take a time out from government after 9 years, which means it will be up to the 'opposition' parties, that is FF and SF to cobble together a government.
    MM may well have to walk, but that is for FF to decide.

SF cannot sit on the ditch forever, waiting for their golden chance.
    It will not be FF that will make SF cannon fodder it is the people, because the electorate have unrealistic expectations when it comes to what is achievable.