Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Election TV debates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Varadkar speaks too much. Real kind of over sharing or waffling going on. He seems extremely nervous as a person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭sailing

Was thinking of joining the surge and voting Sinn Fein. Absolutely no way after tonight. They have been properly found out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    I don't know. Dodgy party history aside (of which they are all guilty of depending on how far you go back), she comes across as the most genuine of the three.

The standards may not be high but we have the polished nasally spin of Leo, and Martin coming across as more as trying not to put a foot too far wrong
    i dont blame her for looking emotion, theyre all human beings at the end of the day as we pull them asunder from the safety of the internet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

Is the country sorted yet lads?

Should be all ok by Sunday. Monday at the latest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Sorry about that

Leo the winner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

CH3OH wrote: »
    Leo not doing well at the end there

He was the best of the three on that one by a margin. Left on an upbeat note off the cuff, and avoided answering the question without it being pinged back to him. Neat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,530 ✭✭✭boardise

C__MC wrote: »
    Jog on Mary Lou
    How the **** are sinn fein topping polls

Something to do with the level of political intelligence of the Irish electorate ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

I would be FG voter as I don’t believe anything should be free to anyone.

But, I’m going SF this time - if we ever get to vote in Tipp, I hope Mattie gets his way - and we have a really good FF female candidate that I’m thinking of supporting but it will kill me to vote FF in - I haven’t forgot the crash and lost my house in that debacle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭CPTM

Leo won that for me. Fastest of 3 slow runners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,154 ✭✭✭Glebee

What a load of sh1te, i should have went to bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,187 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

a slight exaggeration...

...but unfortunately, only a slight one. Grants just haven't worked in general and have been just an excuse for the building firms to up their fees- in my experience.

Eco Eye featured a 3 bed room house in north Dublin that got exactly this €70k plus of upgrades and they qualified for €20-30k grant while actually having a wood burning stove in a built up area, you couldn't make it up how bloody crooked that is for the environement and health in the area.

Big mistake wearing an aqua marine tie Leo: bad move...

hqdefault.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭CH3OH

It was a bit of a stupid last question .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

There were rebates.

There was also a reduction in VRT, i imported one last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭Trizo

blackcard wrote: »
    Her biggest mistake was coming on this debate

Her biggest mistake was not proof reading the SF manifesto lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,573 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I'd call that a draw. With if anyone MM edging it.

Nobody shone, and all performed to type.

'You are gonna mansplain corporation tax to me' was the comment of the night, because that was what he did essentially. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

Poor performance from Mary Lou, her command of the issues is not good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,993 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Well good luck and thanks that’s over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭Wombatman

The other two made Leo look like a winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

sailing wrote: »
    Was thinking of joining the surge and voting Sinn Fein. Absolutely no way after tonight. They have been properly found out.

What? You didn’t know what they are about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

irishgeo wrote: »
    was MLM biggest mistake coming on the debate tonight.

She had to come on, she knew the tricky questions that would be asked and she had to spoof through them.

She failed on Paul Quinn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

Laughable comment

I don't find it amusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,615 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

smurgen wrote: »
    Varadkar speaks too much. Real kind of over sharing or waffling going on. He seems extremely nervous as a person.

Miriam: whats your biggest weakness?

Leo: I'm too honest sometimes

Miriam: I don't think that's a weakness...

Leo: I don't give a **** what you think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

I don't like any of them but think Leo won that hands down but I'm still not convinced the debates have much sway on votes in a general election.

Think they have more of an impact when it's a presidential election or a specific referendum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Leo badly badly rattled by the Dara Murphy line of questioning. They don't represent FG yet he had them remain? Brain fart!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭Millionaire only not

Leo not doing well at the end there

He’s a genius if he makes Taoiseach in next Dail !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

blackcard wrote: »
    Her biggest mistake was coming on this debate

No prep was her biggest mistake.
    though she did hit all the buzzwords until the wheels came off at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Wasnt a long way off whats your biggest weakness-I'm a prefectionist territory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭christy c

It was, but better than the usual pre prepared "I'm going to save the world" crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,252 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

boardise wrote: »
    Something to do with the level of political intelligence of the Irish electorate ?

Ah yes. Nothing wins voters over faster than telling them they're too stupid to be let have a say!

FG supporter? It's straight out of the handbook anyway.