Garda free coffee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I know for a fact that my local hotel would give free meals to Guards for a nominal fee...

Something not quite right with that story......free for a nominal fee does not compute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,991 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Agreed. It would definitely contravene the official Department of Justice dietary code and encourage the onset of unwanted ailments such as Diabetes. It is difficult enough having a corrupt gang of Gardaí running the country, without having them turn into big fat bastards on their break time.

The state simply cannot afford it. The cheek of them.

It’s in the shop’s own interest too, though. There’s a much higher “acceptable” stock loss on the deli counter than with anything from the “traditional” shop area.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Green Peter

keavebm wrote:
    Thanks and appreciation for what?? Doing their job!Do my job every day which affects millions of lives dealing with sick patient's and not once have i been offered a free coffee or tea. Guards think there above the law but the majority there a useless pack of ***** and before u ask i have asked them from numerous assaults on me and as usual theres feck all we can do. Why u think most guards have big bellys in ireland especially. Maybe different in the uk

"Numerous assaults on me" Is this a pattern you should look into yourself ? ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

It’s in the shop’s own interest too, though. There’s a much higher “acceptable” stock loss on the deli counter than with anything from the “traditional” shop area.

Always good to keep the perishables turning over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,201 ✭✭✭KaneToad

nthclare wrote: »
    So what they get free coffee.
    Working in all weather's, getting **** wages and putting up with a lot of negative press and dealing with scumbags.

The nature of the job is to work in all weather and to deal with scumbags. The negative press is due to the behaviour of some guards. It's unfortunate that the behaviour of the few tarnish that of the many. However it is understandable why media focus on this.

Not sure what you are obscuring with the asterisks but, given the tone of your post, I think you are implying that they are not well paid. Nothing could be further from the truth - they are very well paid and can retire on a full pension after 30 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Yamanoto wrote: »
    I'd wager a couple of nights out on a trawler might give you pause for thought.

I have done some pretty grim work before. I can’t elaborate because of confidentiality agreements and that fact that my inbox would be ambushed because the field I worked in is controversial. But trust me on this - I have done a pretty crazy, at times grim job. I would still take it any day over being at the coalface of suicides, murders and traffic collisions and having to break the news of them to relatives.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭nthclare

KaneToad wrote: »
    The nature of the job is to work in all weather and to deal with scumbags. The negative press is due to the behaviour of some guards. It's unfortunate that the behaviour of the few tarnish that of the many. However it is understandable why media focus on this.

Not sure what you are obscuring with the asterisks but, given the tone of your post, I think you are implying that they are not well paid. Nothing could be further from the truth - they are very well paid and can retire on a full pension after 30 years.

Lol kudos to them.
    But they're well paid from the middle of the incremental scale upwards.

Asterisks is a powerful word but come on, words like that are impressive to some but simplifying the response would have been easier.

Of course its understandable that the media focus on the bad and undermining behaviour of some guards.
    They're hardly going to sell stories about guards doing a flash mob to Tuxedo 2nd time round,wearing tshirt with rainbow coloured psychedelic unicorns.

Suggesting there's a tone in my post is neither here nor there.
    Obviously you may have been triggered with your version of a tone in my post.

I suppose I was listening to fishgodeeps new album inspired by The Outlaw Ocean by Ian Urbina.

Maybe that set the tone to my post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Seriously? Are you completely green? The asterisks are the swear filter. Only via the tone of the post could you work it out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

How about free doughnuts to go with the coffee?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭nthclare

branie2 wrote: »
    How about free doughnuts to go with the coffee?

Absolutely or apple pastries would be nice too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭I see sheep

You know the way usually a big shop or petrol station in some town will give guards free coffees? What's the story with this? Is it the case that the garda station has deal with the shop where they pay in advance, or do the shops just give them out free?

This wouldn't bother me either way. I'm just interested.

The story is you're an idiot.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

nthclare wrote: »
    Lol kudos to them.
    But they're well paid from the middle of the incremental scale upwards..

They're well paid from the first point of the scale. Particularly since it's a job with very low minimum requirements to enter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭normanbond

Small token to give to our emergency services, we give it to fire service, ambulance staff as well. Couldn’t do their job ...... RESPECT!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,097 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

MarkY91 wrote: »
    Everyone has a tough job.

I don't agree. There are many, many people out there who have an easy job. I'm in one right now, it's why I'm posting here instead of working (because there's no work to do right now). It's like chalk and cheese compared to the 9 years I was a Garda. No comparison.
    ...I think you are implying that they are not well paid. Nothing could be further from the truth - they are very well paid and can retire on a full pension after 30 years.
    They're well paid from the first point of the scale. Particularly since it's a job with very low minimum requirements to enter.

30K is well paid? The 'average' wage in Ireland in 2019 was €39k, and it would take a new Garda 5 years to get there, and it increases to the maximum of €52k after 19 years service. Compared to when I joined, it's a lot less than it was. And this 'Golden' pension people keep harping on about, they're taking the figures from the Officer ranks and above. A Garda retiring at 60 (the minimum age, regardless of service) does not have this alleged million euro pension. Jesus, I reckon the young Gardai today will have a massively reduced pension by the time it comes around, what with the way the country is going.

But continue to believe what you want to believe, I don't think anyone will change your mind. Feel free to join though if it's that handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭oceanman

I don't agree. There are many, many people out there who have an easy job. I'm in one right now, it's why I'm posting here instead of working (because there's no work to do right now). It's like chalk and cheese compared to the 9 years I was a Garda. No comparison.

30K is well paid? The 'average' wage in Ireland in 2019 was €39k, and it would take a new Garda 5 years to get there, and it increases to the maximum of €52k after 19 years service. Compared to when I joined, it's a lot less than it was. And this 'Golden' pension people keep harping on about, they're taking the figures from the Officer ranks and above. A Garda retiring at 60 (the minimum age, regardless of service) does not have this alleged million euro pension. Jesus, I reckon the young Gardai today will have a massively reduced pension by the time it comes around, what with the way the country is going.

But continue to believe what you want to believe, I don't think anyone will change your mind. Feel free to join though if it's that handy.
    yes but you are leaving out the huge amount of extra bonuses that are payed on top basic wages.

oceanman wrote: »
    yes but you are leaving out the huge amount of extra bonuses that are payed on top basic wages.

Please, inform me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Please, inform me.

You know someones going to reply with free coffee , don't you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭normanbond

Small token to give to our emergency services, we give it to fire service, ambulance staff as well. Couldn’t do their job ...... RESPECT!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭purifol0

Gardai are famously corrupt, this low level corruption from service stations, pubs/hotels & fast food joints is rife. Anyone who thinks they get freebies and discounts for any other reason other than kickbacks (protection) and blind eye turning (late night licensing laws) should look at what happened in the West. When gardai were found to be taking bribes from SHELL

"Shell subcontractor OSSL have testified in court to having delivered £25,000-worth of alcohol to gardaí on behalf of Shell E&P Ireland. Co-owner of OSSL, Neil Rooney stated that he personally delivered 2/3rds of it to Belmullet Garda Station"

Or in the South

www.independent.ie/regionals/kerryman/news/astonishing-dail-allegations-about-kerry-gardai-36654720.html

Where Gardai took free drinks in exchange for allowing illegal late night openings, all night lock ins, and the pubs didnt even have to pay for a licence.

But what can you expect for the force that fraudently claimed 2 million breath tests and resists clocking in to work?

"Disgruntled gardaí vent anger over new digital clocking-in system"
    www.thejournal.ie/garda-new-crime-rota-4264391-Oct2018/

So all 10,500 members of Garda rank were involved in that yeah?

In the breath tests? Most were and yet no whistleblowers!

In the bullying of Maurice McCabe - senior management & the scum who nailed a rat to his door & the head of the GRA - ZERO ARRESTS!

Every protest pre phone cameras saw gardai physically assault peaceful protesters - none would rat on each other & they routinely perjured themselves in court.

In my example of the Kerrry licesing laws scandal the garda whistleblower was bullied out of his job!

How about when gardai had their union lie to the media about being low paid and sleeping in cars? Despite having an avg salary = to 100k!

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/pay-reductions-see-some-garda%C3%AD-sleeping-in-their-cars-1.2191765

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭beejee

Garda? Free coffee!

Garda-free coffee

Garda, free coffee?

Garda, free? Coffee?

Garda: "free coffee!"

Gard, a free coffee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,616 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

purifol0 wrote: »
    In the breath tests? Most were and yet no whistleblowers!

In the bullying of Maurice McCabe - senior management & the scum who nailed a rat to his door & the head of the GRA - ZERO ARRESTS!

Every protest pre phone cameras saw gardai physically assault peaceful protesters - none would rat on each other & they routinely perjured themselves in court.

In my example of the Kerrry licesing laws scandal the garda whistleblower was bullied out of his job!

How about when gardai had their union lie to the media about being low paid and sleeping in cars? Despite having an avg salary = to 100k!

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/pay-reductions-see-some-garda%C3%AD-sleeping-in-their-cars-1.2191765

where did you pull that figure from? the average garda isnt on anywhere near 100k.

I was gonna debate your points, but your last point made it obvious you're just picking stats that suit your agenda. After 9 years, the most I earned in a year (with a crap tonne of forced overtime) was €66k, most of which went back in tax. Your €100k reference does not apply to Garda rank.

McCabe was only in one area, so not all involved in that. Every protest showed what the vested public wanted you to see. Gardai did not go to protests with intent to assault, that only happens when they are pushed to it. Strange most of those videos are perfectly timed, no? There a couple of pictures of me on t'internet and you would think I'm in the wrong, but it was an opportunistic photo/video that only shows the reaction rather than the action that led to it. The Kerry licencsing stuff is crazy, I agree, but again, not all Gardai were involved from what I've been reading.

Every job/career has dicks in it. How many electricians, plumbers, builders, IT guys, etc do jobs on the side and don't declare the income? Point is, there are dicks in every walk of life, and while AGS have been slow to weed these out, they're getting there, and painting all of them the same as the few bad apples is as bad as saying everyone in a council estate is a scumbag.

Penalty points scandal? Yeah they were all at it. Where were all the good honest plod whistleblowers eh?

This entire tribunal found that every cop in Donegal was corrupt AF!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morris_Tribunal

Just a few bad apples then. Apart from the last two commissioners, and all the gards in Kerry, everyone in involved in the Garda boat club scandal, the Templemore scandal, the thousands of crimes not prosectuted inc rape due to garda inepetitude/laziness last year (www.thejournal.ie/garda-scandal-youth-referral-4445018-Jan2019/)

100K includes pension.
    Did you forget to mention the pension and the extremely early retirement age that gardaí get?
    As well as all the bonus payments?
    Are you debating the pay review completed by former Labour Court chairman John Horgan?

www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/garda-pay-report-undermines-case-for-public-sector-wage-increases-1.2902721

Ah **** it, i'm not getting into this ****e again with someone with an obvious agenda. But I will leave with the usual 'If it's so great, why don't you join" line.

What makes you think I didn't put my name down? 5000 people apply every time. And amazingly those that do become Gards often come from Garda families themselves. Funny how that happens eh.

Also saying I have an agenda when presented with facts that you cant bull**** your way out of is not a great argument.
    Do you think I want to have to rely on a police force as unprofessional corrupt and demonstrably incompetent and as ours?
    All those other professionals you mention may be fiddling their books but may tax doesnt go to them now does it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭oceanman

no.. but they all would have known what was going on..

30K is well paid? The 'average' wage in Ireland in 2019 was €39k, and it would take a new Garda 5 years to get there, and it increases to the maximum of €52k after 19 years service. ...

The first point on the Garda scale is €30,296. However this does not include allowances, this is an important distinction!

For example, all frontline Gardai who work the guards roster get unsocial hours pay.

Such allowances amount to between 25% and 30% of earnings. Source: Dáil statement, MOJ, April 2016.

Therefore, renumeration for a first year guard is between 37,870 and 39,384. Not bad for an entry level job that only requires a leaving certificate (grade D3 minimum in five subjects at ordinary level).