Garda free coffee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭boombang

I friend used to work in a convenience shop and I'd hang out with him behind the counter. I remember discussing this issue with him. I was all on for giving free coffees till he said they were always coming in to the shop looking for free stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Strumms wrote: »
    Then they can give free coffee to the binmen, the guy who cleans the forecourt, their customers.. you know the people they really ‘rely’ on and depend on the most.... or shît isn’t that a customer.... nahh they charge them..

From the Gardai’s own regulations...

“The acceptance of gifts, hospitality and sponsorship must not influence, be seen to influence or perceived to influence the discharge of official duties, nor to influence, be seen to influence or perceived to influence garda and civilian staff in their dealings with any person, organisation or group holding or seeking to obtain a contract with An Garda Síochána. Garda and civilian staff may not accept any gifts, gratuities, favours, discounts, subscriptions, hospitality or sponsorship, which might be seen to compromise them, now or in the future. Garda and civilian staff will not solicit gifts or hospitality, directly or indirectly.”

Free coffee doesn't compromise them, unless I am missing something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

Local hotel / restaurant has been giving discounted meals to the Gardai for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,190 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

wonski wrote: »

Of course it can be ‘seen’ to compromise them, the word ‘seen’ is in those regulations .... again two calls come in, similar crime, the guy that dishes out the freebies gets looked after,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Because it’s an inducement, if at midnight I call the Gardai and say there are two suspicious characters in my drive, looking at my car, as the phone is put down, another call, Dan at the petrol station calling, he’s just had his sign at the front of the shop broken, with a brick.... where is the available patrol car going...? In the spirit of wànkerisim it’s off to the petrol station to see their ‘mate’ alright...:rolleyes:

From what I know reading the several boards threads on Garda they don't go anywhere and keep drinking the coffee.

So money wasted by the shop. Rolleyes :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,784 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Of course it can be ‘seen’ to compromise them, the word ‘seen’ is in those regulations .... again two calls come in, similar crime, the guy that dishes out the freebies gets looked after,

If they are both dishing out freebies who gets looked after?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,190 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Whoever had the freshest muffins ! Won’t be Mr & Mrs Smith around the corner being broken into...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,098 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

The one that's more urgent, and in the made up example above, the suspicious persons would be attend first, the criminal damage is not going anywhere. But we'll continue to let people who think they know how the Gardai work to continue with their false allegations, because it reads better.

I got free tea during my time as a Garda. I always went to pay for it, and was nearly always refused. Some places charged €1 instead of the usual rip off rate, and they were still making a profit on that. And because of people getting their knickers in a twist over a free paper cup, some boiling water, a cheap teabag and a tiny drop of milk, I just stopped drinking tea in these places and bought a bottle of coke instead, which was never offered for free. I might also be allowed to take a nearly hard doughnut at 4.30am, and that was instead of it going into a bin, so no loss for the company there either.

Did it make me attend calls to that place sooner? No. It was attended in queue like all the other calls, some take priority over others. But I was aware of other members who would take the piss, just like you'll have people taking the piss in all walks of life. Thankfully, they're slowly getting rid of these chancers.

AH ANSWER

When I was a Garda, I got everything for free. Aside from the 14 cups of Tiple Mocha Latte I was getting every day from the local Topaz, on top of the free doughnuts, papers and rolls, Discover Ireland gave me a free 3 month holiday to Abu Dhabi, and the local paper gave me spending money too. I was still "clocked in" for 2 of those months, on a special job which meant I couldn't be contacted so that's how I got away with that.

I get a free new car from Audi every year too. I don't have to pay for designer suits, and the strip clubs used to let us sleep with their employees for free. I'm probably father to about 150 kids, but because I'm a Garda I can have any DNA test tampered with to "prove" it's not mine. I drive at 180kph everywhere, and I get the lads to cancel any tickets from the GoSafe vans. I don't pay vehicle tax, and the NCT is but a suggestion (which I don't need anyway, because of my free Audi every year). Even now, that I'm not a Garda anymore, I still get everything for free. It's why I'm so happy!

Because it’s an inducement, if at midnight I call the Gardai and say there are two suspicious characters in my drive, looking at my car, as the phone is put down, another call, Dan at the petrol station calling, he’s just had his sign at the front of the shop broken, with a brick.... where is the available patrol car going...? In the spirit of wànkerisim it’s off to the petrol station to see their ‘mate’ alright...:rolleyes:

You do know there guards in the patrol car don't decide what call they go to?
    The call centre (if you ring 999) put the call into a computer system, where calls are prioritised & a car, whatever car is available, is dispatched to the call.
    The call centre don't get free coffee in petrol stations.
    So where it what exactly is the inducement for the gardai that are given free coffee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

Last week I happened to be in Texaco Lucan quite late when a couple of 'Mike Alpha' were in the queue behind me. I went up to the counter and paid for their sandwiches. Said nothing.

Maybe they had a night where they did nothing. Maybe they were up in Newcastle assisting with those tragic events, either way a simple anonymous thanks is all I wanted to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭enricoh

A local alco that makes windows n doors beside me would drive home from the local every night full, never any tax or insurance.
    Any cops building a house would nail him n square it for free doors and windows.

He managed to give up the booze, taxed and insured the van and the freebies ended. There hasn't been any checkpoint on my road since!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

wonski wrote: »

Why are shopkeepers offering it, if not as some sort of inducement?

If they were just giving it out of the good of their hearts, it seems strange that the one profession that they picked to the recipient of this unusual grace and favour is one which has a certain level of authority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,217 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Mr Sam is in the defence forces and he gets free coffee too at filling stations. Also got a 10 percent discount at Krispy Kreme last time he was there.
    Shock. Horror. The corruption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Samsgirl wrote: »
    Mr Sam is in the defence forces and he gets free coffee too at filling stations. Also got a 10 percent discount at Krispy Kreme last time he was there.
    Shock. Horror. The corruption.

That's it , we're going to be invaded while Mr Sam is eating a doughnut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,784 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

El Tarangu wrote: »
    Why are shopkeepers offering it, if not as some sort of inducement?

If they were just giving it out of the good of their hearts, it seems strange that the one profession that they picked to the recipient of this unusual grace and favour is one which has a certain level of authority.

If they are offering it with the expectation of gaining something in return, then they are guilty of attempting to corrupt a public official. At my place of work we offer a cup of tea and some biscuits to someone who might come to fix the computers, or do some work on the doors or windows. No favours are expected in return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

If they are offering it with the expectation of gaining something in return, then they are guilty of attempting to corrupt a public official. At my place of work we offer a cup of tea and some biscuits to someone who might come to fix the computers, or do some work on the doors or windows. No favours are expected in return.

If a member of the Gardaí (or anyone, really) had reason to call to my house, I would certainly offer them tea or coffee, and it wouldn't necessarily be indicative of anything.

But unlike you and I, shopkeepers don't usually give away tea and coffee for free. They do seem to do it a bit for Gardaí, though.

I often offer guests a glass of wine - if Gardaí were given bottles of wine every time they called into a particular shop, would you see it as being problematic or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

El Tarangu wrote: »
    If a member of the Gardaí (or anyone, really) had reason to call to my house, I would certainly offer them tea or coffee, and it wouldn't necessarily be indicative of anything.

But unlike you and I, shopkeepers don't usually give away tea and coffee for free. They do seem to do it a bit for Gardaí, though.

I often offer guests a glass of wine - if Gardaí were given bottles of wine every time they called into a particular shop, would you see it as being problematic or not?

You know that not everyone being nice and decent to the Garda are looking for favours.
    During the troubles I often made tea and sandwiches for Garda members who had checkpoints outside my home. I live in N. Louth. I did it for the Foot and Mouth checkpoints too. I expected no favourable treatment either, just being decent to a few Garda and army people who were out in all weathers outside my home. I often saw people coming back from town giving the bags of chips too.
    Decency expects no favours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭amadangomor

You know that not everyone being nice and decent to the Garda are looking for favours.
    During the troubles I often made tea and sandwiches for Garda members who had checkpoints outside my home. I live in N. Louth. I did it for the Foot and Mouth checkpoints too. I expected no favourable treatment either, just being decent to a few Garda and army people who were out in all weathers outside my home. I often saw people coming back from town giving the bags of chips too.
    Decency expects no favours.

You're not a business that might expect a blind eye turned to shady practices in return, it's totally different.

I know for a fact that my local hotel would give free meals to Guards for a nominal fee but the deal was that Guards turn a blind eye to the fact that their night club didn't have a late licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

marko99 wrote: »
    I still have no idea what you mean.

It means not breaking the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

flazio wrote: »
    I believe it's called "being nice"
    You should try it sometime.

Tried getting a free coffee. They ran me out...

So much for "being nice"! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

You're not a business that might expect a blind eye turned to shady practices in return, it's totally different.

I know for a fact that my local hotel would give free meals to Guards for a nominal fee but the deal was that Gruards turn a blind eye to the fact that their night club didn't have a late licence.
    We believe you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭perrito caliente

Recently I was in a Londis in Kildare and I saw some Gards in the queue behind me buying Foxes biscuits, pizza slices, cans of coke, and Minstrels. Told the shopkeeper I'd pay for the whole lot, but to pass on the message to them that "Daithi had done them a favour, and thanks for serving their country too".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

"The Northside Petrol Station Special Branch Shakedown"
    Stovepipe wrote: »
    A friend's sister worked in a petrol station in Dublin's Northside, and it was robbed more than once and the Gardai began to get free coffees there and it turned into coffee and breakfast rolls and then it turned into coffee, rolls and newspapers on the way home, so it grew and grew and the sister asked the manager why this was being tolerated, as some of the Gardai had got to the point that they would fill a basket and "get" a discount. One fine day, a detective filled his basket and walked out without paying for anything. When the manager was challenged about this, it turned out that he'd stopped the detective another day and was told that if he didn't, the place would get robbed and the response time might be rather slow.
    In the end, the manager found his balls, called a Superintendent and the basket filling stopped and the situation returned to normal but the staff were left in fear of a robbery thereafter. Didnt cover the gardai in glory,that detective.

Nice try.

You are either sailing precariously close to the wind here.... or this story is total garbage. I am leaning towards the latter if I am honest. I appreciate that people think that cops are just a pile of chunts… I get it. But you would like to think that if the Special Branch were instigating a racket on a petrol station they would be looking for a lot more than a few breakfast rolls and plastic mugs of tae? The staff losing sleep was too much, if you are going to spin one try to keep it simple. Can you imagine a detective even discussing the matter with a store manager? Pleeeeeeeease.

No sale, sorry.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭nthclare

So what they get free coffee.
    Working in all weather's, getting **** wages and putting up with a lot of negative press and dealing with scumbags.

Its a democracy and there's laws of the land, they might not like everything about their job too, but it puts the food on the table.

So what if they done you for going 15kph over the limit or one if the odd ones have a ****ty attitude.

Giving a guard a free coffee might just make their day, they could be tired, stressed or agitated.

Nothing worse than a bunch of sanctimonious knobs giving out about the guards when they themselves are treating colleagues like **** in the workplace and pulling white collar strokes or doing a bit of banger on their desk just to get through another hour in the cooperative world.

The guards never bothered me tbh

Give them a free car wash too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Still waters

nthclare wrote: »
    So what they get free coffee.
    Working in all weather's, getting **** wages and putting up with a lot of negative press and dealing with scumbags.

Its a democracy and there's laws of the land, they might not like everything about their job too, but it puts the food on the table.

So what if they done you for going 15kph over the limit or one if the odd ones have a ****ty attitude.

Giving a guard a free coffee might just make their day, they could be tired, stressed or agitated.

Nothing worse than a bunch of sanctimonious knobs giving out about the guards when they themselves are treating colleagues like **** in the workplace and pulling white collar strokes or doing a bit of banger on their desk just to get through another hour in the cooperative world.

The guards never bothered me tbh

Give them a free car wash too

Corporate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,075 ✭✭✭MarkY91

MartDublin wrote: »
    They just give them out free because the guards have a tough job and a free coffee doesn't cost the petrol station anything. Plus, not a bad idea to make the local Garda station like you.

Everyone has a tough job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    "The Northside Petrol Station Special Branch Shakedown"

Nice try.

You are either sailing precariously close to the wind here.... or this story is total garbage. I am leaning towards the latter if I am honest. I appreciate that people think that cops are just a pile of chunts… I get it. But you would like to think that if the Special Branch were instigating a racket on a petrol station they would be looking for a lot more than a few breakfast rolls and plastic mugs of tae? The staff losing sleep was too much, if you are going to spin one try to keep it simple. Can you imagine a detective even discussing the matter with a store manager? Pleeeeeeeease.

No sale, sorry.

The giveaway is "a friends sister " similar to a bloke in the pub or a taxi driver I know.

The general tone of contempt, it stank.

I can massively imagine cops taking the piss with the odd coffee and a mars bar. This does happen. But lads rolling up in their civies with baskets.... and then detectives threatening staff.... ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,991 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    The general tone of contempt, it stank.

I can massively imagine cops taking the piss with the odd coffee and a mars bar. This does happen. But lads rolling up in their civies with baskets.... and then detectives threatening staff.... ffs.

Not with Mars Bars, I.

A coffee with a pastry or something from the “hot food” counter, sure, but no bars, soft drinks, crisps, biscuits or, even, canned “goods”.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Not with Mars Bars, I.

A coffee with a pastry or something from the “hot food” counter, sure, but no bars, soft drinks, crisps, biscuits or, even, canned “goods”.

Agreed. It would definitely contravene the official Department of Justice dietary code and encourage the onset of unwanted ailments such as Diabetes. It is difficult enough having a corrupt gang of Gardaí running the country, without having them turn into big fat bastards on their break time.

The state simply cannot afford it. The cheek of them.