Neighbour on driving ban still drives with newborn in car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Ring the Garda confidential line job done.If she were regularly driving drunk would you need the opinion of Boards to do the right thing?
    For anyone that thinks the guards don't care, wrong. They will be in receipt of 2,000 devices soon that can detect if a car has valid insurance and tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,741 ✭✭✭Effects

they are driving while banned

Same thing. They don't care about banned/drunk/uninsured/untaxed drivers, unless they catch them at a road checkpoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,741 ✭✭✭Effects

For anyone that thinks the guards don't care, wrong.

They don't care. I've reported a few drivers to my local Garda station.
    Their response is they don't have time to do anything about it.
    One is a neighbour who is banned for drunk driving. She still drives regularly, still drunk.
    Another is a guy who works 100m down the street, who thinks he's ok to leave a car on our street while 'working on it', but still drives it with no tax, insurance, NCT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,902 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

My wife and her are pals , she lives 2 doors down
    she was banned just before xmas for no insurance

If you report her, is that going to finish your wife's friendship with her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,641 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

surely they'll be a more careful driver if they have a baby in the car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,570 ✭✭✭arctictree

Sure wasn't Mags caught 36 times with no tax and insurance. No consequences. And the car is definitely not taken away if there are children in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,167 ✭✭✭✭blade1

She is both a neighbor and a friend of my wifes
    didnt say it to her to be honest

Won't take too for her to figure who reported her.
    There can't be too many Ned Kelly's living a few doors from a banned driver.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Ring the Garda confidential line job done.If she were regularly driving drunk would you need the opinion of Boards to do the right thing?
    For anyone that thinks the guards don't care, wrong. They will be in receipt of 2,000 devices soon that can detect if a car has valid insurance and tax

So THEY can do the catching, get the stripes and move up the career ladder, not because concerned Joe Public rang it in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

6/10

Not using your account since last year was a nice touch.

So THEY can do the catching, get the stripes and move up the career ladder, not because concerned Joe Public rang it in.

Well they clearly need help in catching them, as the concerned public seems only interested in starting threads here,. ;-)

Kinda depends what the ban is for ... if it's for some stupid administrative reason I see no reason to get involved ... however if I suspected she was driving under the influence of drink or drugs, I couldn't in good conscience ignore it, I'd make a call to the Gardai.

Just saw you mentioned the ban was for no insurance. Nope, I personally wouldn't get involved there.

So driving with no insurance is an adminstrative issue? It's one of the reasons why car insurance is so high, because those of us who pay also pay a share of the costs for drivers like this lady who don't.

If you can't afford insurance, you can't afford a car.

OP - please report her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭nedkelly123

"Not using your account since last year was a nice touch."

its jan 29th ... ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Well they clearly need help in catching them, as the concerned public seems only interested in starting threads here,. ;-)

You go and report it so.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

She is both a neighbor and a friend of my wifes
    didnt say it to her to be honest

I think if you really cared you would offer her a lift.

Remember, if she does have a accident it is technically your fault, as you knew about her driving around with no insurance and did nothing about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,991 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

As long as she’s a “good” driver it won’t matter that she doesn’t have insurance.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

You go and report it so.

I'm not the OP, however if I become aware of a disqualified driver still driving I'd have no issue reporting them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Far too many complicit citizens knocking around this thread. Soup takers the lot of them.

Driving without insurance is a rich part of our culture that should never be forgotten.

This country gets worse and worser every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Mr.burgess

Why haven't you said anything to your wife yet ? Are you afraid she might think your nosey Norris from coronation street and do a runner ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,167 ✭✭✭✭blade1

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    I think if you really cared you would offer her a lift.

Remember, if she does have a accident it is technically your fault, as you knew about her driving around with no insurance and did nothing about it.

And if op gives her a lift and has an accident he'll be at fault as well.
    Can't win op,you'll just have to move.

blade1 wrote: »

😂😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,201 ✭✭✭KaneToad

As long as she’s a “good” driver it won’t matter that she doesn’t have insurance.

Like the fellas who only have the four pints and drive home slowly on the back roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Gonad

My wife and her are pals , she lives 2 doors down
    she was banned just before xmas for no insurance

Really hope your wife’s friends or family are not on boards .

Considering you posted a picture of the reg of your Porsche 911 in a previous thread and she lives 2 doors down .

So if she gets caught you know who’s door she will coming knocking on .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Great you're keeping up the good old curtain twitching tradition.
    The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is that good OPs do nothing.

blade1 wrote: »

😂😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,991 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

KaneToad wrote: »
    Like the fellas who only have the four pints and drive home slowly on the back roads.

Well, no. Alcohol impedes ones ability to drive so you can’t really say you’re a “good” driver on four pints.

Her “crime” is no insurance. There’s no mention of her being in any accidents so we can assume she hasn’t been.

Would be interesting to know how long she’s been doing this as her “fine” may have been less than the insurance she would have paid.

Also, her “points” will only affect her future insurance premium but, as we know, she’s not concerned with this so that renders them, well, pointless.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Nevin Parsnipp

Effects wrote: »
    Gardaí don't care about trying to catch people like this driving without insurance or under the influence. They only bother doing it at road checks.

How would they catch her except at road checks ? The car she is driving has all the correct documentation....

The gardai can now check via number plate recognition if a CAR is not insured.

But the DRIVER can only be caught at a check point it seems ?

She will prob. be able to drive away in an insured car until the ban expires.

Thts Paddy land for you !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Great until the eejit runs into someone and is uninsured.

Don't worry about that. We all pay a hefty levy on all our insurance policies to cover such eventualities. Nice that we all "chip in" for the people who don't bother with insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Nevin Parsnipp

mfceiling wrote: »
    Don't worry about that. We all pay a hefty levy on all our insurance policies to cover such eventualities. Nice that we all "chip in" for the people who don't bother with insurance.

Whatever about the peeps who "don't bother" about car insurance ....what about the Kernts who are supposed police this, ?

That's the real problem .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I think the fact she has a child in the car is totally irrelevant really. Getting a ban for no insurance doesnt automatically make you a bad driver.

Shes an idiot for doing what she is doing, that said j wouldn't be the one to say anything.

Snitches get stitches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Jonybgud

I think the fact she has a child in the car is totally irrelevant really. Getting a ban for no insurance doesnt automatically make you a bad driver.

Shes an idiot for doing what she is doing, that said j wouldn't be the one to say anything.

Snitches get stitches

If it didn't affect anyone I'd agree with you, but this a**hole is affecting every single one of us trying to keep our premiums down. When this k*nt has an accident it'll be everyone else's fault except hers, she won't stick around the scene and will deny being involved, all to save her own useless skin.

I'd make the call in a heartbeat.