Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Often becomes easy when the easy is often..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,482 ✭✭✭Lazare

Similar week, a good week.

Tue 14th - 7 miles aerobic. Nice chunky one for a Tue morn, delighted to be back doing decent running midweek. Love Tuesdays, I'm always on fire in work because of it. Av pace 5:44km, av HR 128. RHR 41.

Wed 15th - 3m aerobic. 5:56km, 118 average, RHR 45.

Did some more chest dumbbell presses again Tue and Wed night. Yay, have lasted two weeks so far.

Thurs 16th - 6m aerobic with 8x 100m strides. The first time using the monitor for strides. Very interesting. Seems I'd previously been allowing too much recovery time. Could well have been the morning that was in it, Thurs being the furthest my body is from booze :pac: but it seemed I was recovering very quickly, dropping to <90 bpm within a minute or so. Meant I really enjoyed the strides, do anyway, but rinsing and repeating really quickly gave me a buzz. Also, bar the last one I maxed out at about 139. Don't know yet what to make of that, but I had expected the HR to spike higher for them.

Rest Friday.

Sat 18th - 6m aerobic with Corkagh parkrun thrown in. 5:30 km, 140 average. No resting stat, forgot to put the watch on going to bed.

Sun 19th - 10m endurance. First time using the monitor for one of these too. Point to point run, collecting my van from Louis Fitzgerald hotel. Had a few pints there last night at a party. Left at 11pm though so not a mad one.

HR seemed quite high from the get go. I settled in to a light pace for the first 4k and tried to keep it to in and around 135. Decided to up it by 5 beats every 4k. Felt like I was working hard for the last mile and a half or so. Good workout. Pace range was 5:48 - 4:53, top HR 155. No RHR stats.

Total mileage 32.1.

Have Raheny next week so will have to tweak the week somewhat. Might up the midweek mileage a bit to allow for it. Hopefully a pb at that next week, hopefully this isn't the year where I stop improving at it. :)

Tiny bit of a twinge in the usual spot, the extensior tendon, I'll have to keep an eye on it.

As always, I welcome any critique on the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Best of luck tomorrow C, run well!!

Cheers B, really looking forward to it now. It's such a great race.

34:42 last year for a pb, looking to get into the 33s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Good luck tomorrow C well capable of getting in the 33s or lower.

I'd like to think I was in that shape a couple of months ago, not sure now but I'll have a fair crack at the best I can do. :)

Cheers C, are you racing it yourself?

I am doing Trim next weekend so not racing tomorrow. Treating it as a see where the fitness is type of race.
    Lazare wrote: »
    I'd like to think I was in that shape a couple of months ago, not sure now but I'll have a fair crack at the best I can do. :)

Cheers C, are you racing it yourself?

Ah cool. Looking forward to chatting to you.

Are you doing Trim aswell? Just read my last message; it is not well written! No Raheny for me.
    Ah cool. Looking forward to chatting to you.

Are you doing Trim aswell? Just read my last message; it is not well written! No Raheny for me.

Aha! I thought you meant you were taking it easy at Raheny because you were focusing on Trim.

Gonna try get a weekly update up but have had a couple, did I say couple? Have had a few post race pints, one that needed downing because of the decreasing availability of a lift home. Got dropped off at my newly built village local to enjoy one more pint. Just one. I think

PBs are to be celebrated! They are hard earned.....see you at a race soon hopefully.
    Aha! I thought you meant you were taking it easy at Raheny because you were focusing on Trim.

Gonna try get a weekly update up but have had a couple, did I say couple? Have had a few post race pints, one that needed downing because of the decreasing availability of a lift home. Got dropped off at my newly built village local to enjoy one more pint. Just one. I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,808 ✭✭✭skyblue46

I'm still drinking. E kindly dropped me at my local :-)))))))))))

Solid week, am very happy with how this is going.

Tue 21st Jan - 7m aerobic. 5:51km - 128bpm - RHR 42

Wed 22nd Jan - 5m aerobic 5:48km - 127bpm - RHR 45
    Plan had 3m, upped it a little with Raheny in mind.

Thurs 23rd Jan - 7m aerobic with 18 min tempo. RHR 45.
    Picked it up to tempo a little after 3k. Guessing a little right now at what tempo/LT is but ran at what felt like it.

Fri 24th - 3m @ recovery. Rest day on plan but again, Raheny. Need to get that mileage up. 5:53 - 121. RHR 49

Sat 25th - 5m aerobic - Dropped the little one off at a birthday party then headed out for a planned 4 miles. Felt real good and the time went so quick that I tacked on another mile. 5:37 129bpm - RHR 48

Sun 26th - Raheny 5 mile. RHR 46

Other than a bit of a freak attack thinking i'd ran too far away on my warm up and gotten lost the day went as every other Raheny 5 has until now. Awesomely.

Got into a decent enough position at the start, was congested as expected but I managed to find myself some space.
    My average metric pace from last year, my last 5 mile, was 4:20 so my target for today was to beat that. Aiming for in and around 4:10 km.
    First km beeped 4:08, great, delighted with it given the congestion.

Got into a nice rhythm then, breathing and form good but like all races, other than snapshot memories, it's mostly a blur. WW passed me at the halfway point. I chatted to him beforehand and told him I was aiming for 4:10kms. He very modestly said he'd try to hang on to me. Well, he smoked me :) I tried to hang on to him but looked down at 4:05 and decided to hang back a little.

Kms were all a decent bit under 4:20 so I knew other than a proper feck up I was on for a pb.
    Loved the hairpin out and back bit. I think I'm alone in this though after talking to a few people. Felt the pace drop a little on the out bit and started to panic a little. Picked it back up on the in bit though. This seems to happen every year. Pace drops a little when I'm facing faster runners and picks up a little when facing slower ones. Maybe it's a confidence thing. Interesting.

Love the last km of this race, it feels like such a build up. Little kick exiting the park. Another at the roundabout at the end of Watermill Park, 600 to go. Another as All Saints comes into view, 400 to go, around the bend, crowd cheering, 200 to go, kick, down the short straight, turn, 100 to go, clock in view, crowds cheering, monster kick, if you have it - Boom.

Stood bent over for about 5 mins trying to catch my breath. 33:44 for a decent 58 sec PB. Another nice improvement at Raheny.

Total miles for the week 36.54.

The Raheny 5 means so much to me. In so many ways.

Started running in Jan 2016. A new year's resolution.

My wife was 8 months pregnant with our second daughter at the time. Our little girl was due Feb 5th.

We lost her.

She died in and around Jan 29th - 31st and was stillborn on Feb 4th.

We called her Sybil. Sybie.

I ran. To deal with it.

In November 2016 I signed up to my first ever race. The Raheny 5 mile.

Running had become such a great healer by then for me, mostly parkrun. I started browsing here and got the bug for racing. Couldn't wait for it. Was so excited about it.

I looked up the route one day and copped that the course ran down a road I'd never heard of before, Sybil Hill Road. I couldn't believe it.
    I knew the race was going to be in and around her anniversary but this seemed like too much.

I arrived out to Raheny that day, my wife dropped me out. I was bursting with nostalgia. I spent most of my childhood out there. My Mam grew up on Watermill Park. I hadn't been there in over 30 years and so many memories came flooding back, the big trees on All Saints, the bushes of St. Annes. Beautiful Sepia memories.

We took off, a rainy January afternoon. I remember turning up Sybil Hill and being overwhelmed with it all. Then I spotted a convent called The Little Sisters and I lost it.

I'll never forget that day. So much going on in my head. Her anniversary, my first ever race, Sybil Hill Road, The little sisters, the nostalgia.

Raheny is always going to be the most special race of the year for me.

Ran it last year and a friend of mine who had no idea of the significance came out to spectate and cheer me on.

He sent me a pic he took of me. Obviously being a runner I spent 10 minutes looking at my feet and my gait and my stride before copping that he had captured me right below the Sybil Hill Road sign.

Was blown away when I saw it. It's my Strava pic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

Well done on the PB yesterday but reading your story it pales into significance to what Raheny 5mile really means to you. It was lovely chatting to you & you always have such a warm smile when i meet you.

Chat to you again soon :)

Well done on the PB yesterday but reading your story it pales into significance to what Raheny 5mile really means to you. It was lovely chatting to you & you always have such a warm smile when i meet you.

Chat to you again soon :)

Ah thanks very much E, was really nice chatting with you too. Congrats on your awesome race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Lump in my throat after reading that C, can see why Raheny is so special to you. Well done on your performance yesterday, am sure your daughter was looking down on Daddy & feeling hugely proud of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

I think your results in Raheny are even more impressive knowing the emotions you're experiencing while racing there. Well done on a brilliant race, and on being so strong in every way possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭ariana`

I'm with V, running at all with all that emotion is pretty amazing and to knock out a big result too wow. Your 3 girls have so much to proud of in their dad, you knock out the early mornings consistently, juggling the two passions in your life without ever complaining about it, results are all hard earned and much deserved, well done.

Thank you so much guys, really appreciate such kind words.

Raheny is always a very happy event for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Wow, thought I had read amazing reports until I came to yours. Just getting the best out of it on the day that it was, for the reasons you cherish. I'm so happy for you that you have such a positive marker each year to celebrate life. Running really does amazing things for people. Thank you for sharing something so personal. Well done on the PB too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Wow. That got me. Fair play for sharing that.
    Running is what running does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

Unreal C, echoing what others have said above, thanks for sharing that with us all. All of them little things such as the road, the picture with the road sign, everything happens for a reason. Delighted for you with the result, well done buddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Nice one man. Fair play for being so open. And super run and pb too

Inspiring stuff C; puts everything into perspective very quickly. Great that you found running for some sort of release.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Sheep1978

Well done C. I remember you telling me that story in the manhattan after the race last year and I was a bit lost for words. Can only imagine how emotional it must be for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,808 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Likewise C you told me about that a long time ago and as many have said it puts everything into perspective. Having gone through a miscarriage years ago and turning to the bottle to deal with it I admire the way you turned to something positive, something she'd be proud of you for.

Thanks again guys. Such wonderful folk on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Fair play C. You've a great attitude to it all. Little did I know at the time just how much Raheny meant to you. Keep it up!

Thanks again everyone for all those kind words, felt good to share that stuff with you guys. Was blown away with some of the comments afterwards. :)

Good week, the little bit of tendon niggle I had a couple of weeks ago has thankfully disappeared.

Rested Mon as usual.

Tue Jan 28th - Plan had 7 miles aerobic. Started to feel DOMMY on Mon night so decided to switcharoo Wed's run with Tue and do 3 miles. Ran at recovery pace. Av HR 123bpm - RHR 46

Wed Jan 29th - 7m aerobic. 5:42km av, 125bpm - RHR 46

Thurs Jan 30th - 7m aerobic finishing with 8x 100m strides. Love the strides even more now since switching to HR training. Very happy with how quickly I'm recovering. RHR 51

Felt a little fatigued this week during the day so decided to rest Friday. Not getting enough quality sleep. Not for the lack of trying though, am struggling with a bit of a sleep issue. RHR 52

Sat 1st Feb - 8m aerobic on the plan. Loaded the running buggy into the van and took the 2 year old with me to parkrun. Don't like running more than about 6 miles with the buggy. Ran 10 miles with it last year and was feeling really niggly afterwards. So was gonna do about 6 miles and be happy with it.

Had to pump the front tyre up before leaving the house and fix the wheel on, don't know what I did but the thing kept pulling wildly to the left. Meant my right arm was aching trying to correct it after a couple of miles. That and the rain cover causing a massive drag made me decide on calling it a day after parkrun.
    Got out later on though and ran 5 miles up and down the canal at Lyons estate. So got the 8 done. Might make doubles a regular thing on Saturdays, worked out really well for me.

Sun Feb 2nd - 11m endurance.
    Second time running one of these guided by HR. Ran the first 4k <130 bpm, the second 4k <135, 3rd <140 and the remainder <145.
    Felt really strong towards the end, felt incredible. Form felt spot on. Very enjoyable run.

No RHR stats for Sat/Sun, forgot to wear watch to bed. Guesses why on a postcard.

Total mileage for the week - 36.43 - YTD - 146.67.

No RHR stats for Sat/Sun, forgot to wear watch to bed. Guesses why on a postcard.

Total mileage for the week - 36.43 - YTD - 146.67.

I can see those guesses ending well!