Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

I don't know where we're going, but I know where I am (part 9)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Going for pints, don't wait up, have a good night all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭NewRed2

Going for pints, don't wait up, have a good night all.

Enjoy!!! The only thing that's better in life than Saturday night pints is Friday night pints! :D

Have a good one! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Well the chicken is cooked but I am in dire straights. Has to go to bed because everything is fuzzy and moving. Every muscle I own is sore. My neck hurts to turn. My teeth hurt. The sound of the clock ticking is giving me a headache and I’m freezing cold. “You’re getting a dose I’d say” is Florence nightingale downstairs diagnosis. He’s down there making me a hot whiskey ��. I got him a good bottle for Xmas so he better not be fobbing me off with the cheap stuff on my death bed

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 61,796 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Couchside, no pints feck Saturday night craziness with more than a hint of full moon!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,960 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Lots done today , coffee and a smoke now . Sitting looking at some beautiful flowers in the vase , oh and the daffodils are flying up in the garden !
    Off out with daughter and two of the grand ladies tomorrow , always fun :D

https://forumofgames.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭gifted

Well the chicken is cooked but I am in dire straights. Has to go to bed because everything is fuzzy and moving. Every muscle I own is sore. My neck hurts to turn. My teeth hurt. The sound of the clock ticking is giving me a headache and I’m freezing cold. “You’re getting a dose I’d say” is Florence nightingale downstairs diagnosis. He’s down there making me a hot whiskey ��. I got him a good bottle for Xmas so he better not be fobbing me off with the cheap stuff on my death bed

Chicken Pox???......

Sorry Shoes.....I'll get my coat.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

:D:D:D

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    Lots done today , coffee and a smoke now . Sitting looking at some beautiful flowers in the vase , oh and the daffodils are flying up in the garden !

A smoke??? Jesus it just shows about perceptions of people from internet. I had you pegged as a very healthy clean living type person!!!!
    Ya need to gove those things up Mam! :pac:

I'm a smoker myself btw so not judging. The vaping kits are good if ya get the right one. Using that myself at the mo and was off them for a while but stupid vape thing started malfunctioning so smoked yesterday and today, getting a better Vape soon. But they do actually work (imo)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Sharp MZ700

Friend of mine told me of her suicide attempt today as well. Not unexpected but her story how it came to it is. There really is pure evil in the world at times.

She's OK now, but thats now.
    Having a beer, bit morose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Panda Killa

Watching The Mummy Returns in front of s blazing fire :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭The Crazy Cat Lady

Couchside, watching casualty :D

New Red , they're my only vice , slowly reducing how many I smoke a day , I'll get there !

Sharp , hope your friend will be ok , she obviously trusts you otherwise she wouldn't have opened up to you , look after yourself too .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭FluffyTowel

Oh. Could you pass me over a smoke? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Aviary one stop making bird puns.

New Red , they're my only vice , slowly reducing how many I smoke a day , I'll get there ! .

Good luck mate! Strongly recommend the vape to help. I know it's a bit hard to try something dfferent but they really do help imo. Plus motivation of having a daughter and grand-kids who need you around!
    Plus for me, it was amazing to go a while where I could walk into the shop and buy things I actually wanted instead of 13 quid every two days for stuff thats killing me!
    Good luck anyway! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Just sank blissfully into my obliging mattress. Hello, bed. Absence made my heart grow fonder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

Fireside after a day spent out in the rain - my hairdresser couldn’t stop laughing when I arrived into the salon like a wet rat in my wellies! Thinking of wherers going through a tough time. Thinking of Duvet & her hot date (tbh, I added the “hot”!)

I'm so sorry. It affects everyaspect of your life. Work and relationship and your mental clarity and your energy is going into enduring or defending against their behaviour.

I honestly didn't cope. I had to work through serious issues with trust this year. I was convinced everyone was going to turn bad. I hope that he doesn't keep it up much longer because I would hate for anyone to end up like that.

Big hugs Xxx

Thank you Widders.

Yeah. It’s just a thing. I want to help. My terror is that he will be too alone and do something stupid, and I could have helped. It was quite a while since we had contact, and I was just assuming he was ok, so was a bit of a shock.

But then I’m thinking at the moment, I’m some helper person who actually isn’t helping that much and maybe I’m being an enabler where I can say the words or loan the money or just keep somebody’s bad spiral going.

Jaysus. So good that I’m not a parent!!!

Big hugs to you too. XX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,147 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Bad humour.

Started off 2020 on a fitness vibe but hurt my back some way and could barely walk all week. I could barely drive the car.

Have to just accept it as a setback and start a few weeks later.

Wine is helping.

NewRed2 wrote: »
    Good luck mate! Strongly recommend the vape to help. I know it's a bit hard to try something dfferent but they really do help imo. Plus motivation of having a daughter and grand-kids who need you around!
    Plus for me, it was amazing to go a while where I could walk into the shop and buy things I actually wanted instead of 13 quid every two days for stuff thats killing me!
    Good luck anyway! :cool:

I haven't the first clue about the different types of vapes , but I will look into them and get more info on what to start off with , thank you :)

Fluffy Towel , here you go , one less for me to smoke :p
    Hope you're ok too btw .

Thank you Widders.

Yeah. It’s just a thing. I want to help. My terror is that he will be too alone and do something stupid, and I could have helped. It was quite a while since we had contact, and I was just assuming he was ok, so was a bit of a shock.

But then I’m thinking at the moment, I’m some helper person who actually isn’t helping that much and maybe I’m being an enabler where I can say the words or loan the money or just keep somebody’s bad spiral going.

Jaysus. So good that I’m not a parent!!!

Big hugs to you too. XX

You need to get this person to go to see a professional psychotherapist and psychiatrist. That's how you help.

Because it's a dangerous situation if they're borderline suicidal and you're taking on their issues single handedly. If the worst happens one day then you'll take on some of the blame, you're already showing signs of that.
    So you need to urge them to seek professional help to help them and also relieve the burden a bit from yourself.
    Then keep being there for them too but at least you're not responsible.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Deskside still, well I ate the creme egg and now look like this

baby-with-chocolate-on-face.jpg

NewRed2 wrote: »
    You need to get this person to go to see a professional psychotherapist and psychiatrist. That's how you help.

Because it's a dangerous situation if they're borderline suicidal and you're taking on their issues single handedly. If the worst happens one day then you'll take on some of the blame, you're already showing signs of that.
    So you need to urge them to seek professional help to help them and also relieve the burden a bit from yourself.
    Then keep being there for them too but at least you're not responsible.

Thanks NewRed2. Yah. They had a therapist and I’m just trying to get him to ring a hotline at the moment for somebody who can give better advice. It’s just kicking off a bit.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Horizontal on the sofa at home, watching TV with the OH.

Cooked a huge omelette and sautéed potatoes for dinner earlier and went to see 1917 in the Lighthouse cinema with a couple of mates before that. Excellent film - well worth a watch.

Still chuffed about my short stories being published in the book entitled What I Know Now.

Anyone who’s interested in a copy, feel free to PM me! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Fireball81

On the couch watching something the OH chose on Netflix (not liking it hence I'm on my phone on boards!) did something to my back, feel like an old man.(well older than I really am!).

Had very little cheese last month, making up for it tonight (with wine).

Thanks NewRed2. Yah. They had a therapist and I’m just trying to get him to ring a hotline at the moment for somebody who can give better advice. It’s just kicking off a bit.

There could be a crisis nurse to phone at the local health centre. Someone who can step in and hopefully offer help. Although when I phoned I got no.answer! I did get through later in that day but it was worrying considering it's meant to be for crisis.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 21,632 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Couchside feeling off colour, I think Shoes gave me salmonella.

Still drinking though, so the alcohol can kill the bugs. :D

I'll be bug free for life after my whiskey sodden night.eww

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

Homeside since 9 after a great evening with the gang, 4 yes 4 winners on the horses, good times

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 21,632 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Just saw Alecto has closed her account.

Anyone see fmpisces or Redneck Reject lately? They haven't posted in ages.